Villa Cojimar Resort Hotel

Villa Cojimar, Cayo Guillermo, Cuba
3.5 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(60 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
28
Good
18
Average
5
Poor
3
Awful
6

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 5.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
Fussy people

"I hate people who think they are something they are not.If you want 5 star

go to barbados(oh sorry you cant afford it?)but you think you can.Then go

to Greece you will have something to moan about.I have been to resort twice

(because i was born not rich)or think iam.The resort is great value so all

you long face yougurt nitters and dont want to hear your sad stories.
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012
  • Advice: people who moan stay away
  • Good For: Beach
by Duggie1999
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excellent holiday

"Just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel.

we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff.

The accomadation was in the new blocks of cabins and were very comfortable.

Bedding and towels were changed each day.

The food was very good but was positioned in the wronge place on the serveries as you had to sqeeze between the ques to get some food from the selection trays.

We had a really good holiday here and would certainly recomend it to my friends.

The bar staff are brillient (beware of the throwing of icecubes)they do catch most of them.

The only downfall to this hotel and a problem which will not be resolved, is that of smoking.Afraid as a non smoker ,there was no place to sit in the evening where you could get out of it.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by satesfied holiday maker
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

basic to poor

"went on a late deal to this hotel because the price was quite good .The first thing we notice was we were put up in bungalow type rooms and how hot and smelly the rooms were.Next we went to dinner only to find the food was poor and cold.The staff were very helpful but i wouldnt advise anyone to go there.The entertainment was not very good as it was basic and often repeated on other nights.The only plus side was the beach and the swimming pool ."

  • Holiday details: Nov 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by orrettspurs
4 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Holiday Hell

"We stayed here in august and it was the worst holiday experience I have ever had. Thomas Cook should hang there heads in shame. IT was filthy the food was not cooked properly and not heated to the right temperature in fact it was cold most of the time.There was excrement all over the toilets including the walls and urine all over the floor. There were about 70 people all with severe stomach cramps and violent diarrhoea. The rep was little more than useless telling us it was acclimatisation and we would get better, needless to say we didn't. There are a number of us demanding full refunds from Thomas Cook and we will not stop until we get it. Please anyone considering going think twice there are better places in Guillermo."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Please think twice
  • Activities: None, too ill to leave the hotel
by S11UTD
1 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

BEST trip I ever had in my lifetime..found paradise

"I went to Cayo Coco (stayed at Cojimar Villa Hotel) in March and stayed for nearly one month..Enjoyed the food tremendously, lost some weight without even trying, because I ate more fish that I have ever had in my life,and the fruit was out of this world..

I am a non-driker, smoker, but really enjoyed the beaches, kayaking, catamaran, walking ,snorkeling, attending the concerts every night, participating in the skits, going to the disco after and dancing my head off for hours..

Very friendly staff of dancers,hotel workers,staff in charge of entertainment and the waitresses and men who served and went out of their way to make my trip so pleasant..

I enjoyed it so much that I went back in April, 2009,an also June 2009..

Have been going to Florida for over 70 trips,Jamaica, Freeport,Barbados and other Islands, but Cuba was a paradise for me,and I will continue going until I leave this earth...Will have memories that will last me a lifetime,and "what happens in Cuba, stays in Cuba"..

Vic Albota
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by vic Albota
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Go To Another Hotel AVOID THIS ONE

"Terrible, firstly the room the aircon was top notch, the views and beach were lovely holiday completely ruined for us and nearly all other british tourists at this hotel. Food was terrible and made us ill for 12 of the 14 days, this with me only eating beatroot sandwhiches for the last 11 days of the holiday.. Hotel was dirty and over-run by Cuban Tourists, pool had slimey floor and paint flaking off dirty water marks around sides. there was also lots of cuban children who would just openly pee around the hotel randomly, a fellow guest witnessed a baby's bottom being cleaned in the pool also, Iam completely aware that it was a three star hotel but being able to eat food without being violently ill really is a must!!!, plastic cups for any form of drink.. the dining room was hot and tables were dirty. one day i witnessed the food going under the heat lamps uncovered a full 40 minutes before the dining room opened. Queues here are shocking the grill in the daytime allow an hour to get any form of food or drink. WAS AN ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE I REALLY WOULDNT WISH THIS PLACE ON AN ENEMY.

Oh the facilities that are advertised forget about the gym that is used for storage mattresses and units tennis - in terrible state plus no equipment. Archery - closed Water polo - never happened There was a nightly disco that started at 11pm but i cant report on this as we were too ill and never made it out that late. please contact me if you have any questions or wish to see photos of this place, all the other hotels in the region the people had a great time please save up and go there ....
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Airtours
  • Activities: Pilar Beach a must
  • Good For: Beach
by mcrlegend
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wonderful

"its about time i told you all about our stay in cuba, me my wife and three children went here for 2 weeks, we loved it,we had 2 rooms next door to each other, 1 room had 2 double beds and the other had 3 double beds so there was plenty of room to spread out, the rooms were clean and had air con, the kids were so safe as the beach shelves very gently, the beach is the most beutiful in the world, well to us it is, the staff are lovely, they couldnt do enough for you, the grounds are beutiful and so is the sea, the food is ok,there is a dive center just a short walk along the beach, a walk we enjoyed every day, the sunrise and set are worth getting up for, i dont know about you but when we get to the end of a 2 week holiday we are ready to go home, not this one we could have stayed for ever, thats why we are going back next year, worth every penny and these cubans need all the support they can get, go on, book this holiday and have a wonderful time."

  • Holiday details: May 2008, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: its amazing
  • Activities: my favourite sights were of the beach
  • Good For: Beach
by playa
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dream come true!

"My husband and I loved this resort. You could walk from the room to the beach. The beach is long and beautiful. You can see other resorts as you walk and you realize that they don't look any better then Cojimar. The room was furnished with 2 double beds. The furniture is old but in good shape. The safe was secure and worked well. Others told us that their safe (at other resorts) did not work. The bathroom was large and freshly tiled with ceramic tile. There was lots of hot water. The air worked too good and we slept with it off and our sliding patio door open (on the main floor) every night with no problems or concerns. The food is delicious. Something for everyone. It is a huge buffet area and lots of seating. You rarely had to wait in a line unless you wanted an omlete made on the spot. The Italian a la cart restaurant was a let down... food was not good. The Cuban a la cart was delicious... wonderful fish!

The evening entertainment was fun and lively. The disco started at 11pm each night. It is way down at the end of the resort away from the guest rooms so you don't even know its there. It is very loud when you are there and the cuban music is non-stop. It was tiring. We love to dance but we are too white to dance well to that music so we only went a few times.

The all night bar stays open all night! It was very enjoyable to sit on the patio by the lobby bar in the evening and soak up the warm air.

The pool was nice and mostly empty. It was not too hard to find a lounger by the chair but by late afternoon it was filling up. There were loads of activities going on all the time. The staff at the whole resort was very friendly and unassuming. They did not treat you any different if you didn't tip every time. We were never harrassed for money or to buy things.

We took several day trips that were so great. One into Moron and Ciego de avilia. Also, you must visit Pillar beach... 5 min from the resort. It is steeped in Ernest Hemmingway history and the most beautiful thing you'll ever see. The lunch at Pillar was absolutely delicious... lobster tail and shrimp! The motor boat excursion is very fun as you get to take a boat out alone and then snorkel in a coral reef!

We did not run into any obnoxious, drunk teenagers as was the case at other resorts as we heard later at the airport. There are just over 200 rooms here so nothing is overcrowded. Relaxing, peaceful, fun... we highly recommend it!
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Signature/Skyservice
  • Advice: We will go again and stay in the same resort!
  • Activities: Motor boat, city tours, snorkeling
  • Good For: Beach
by carolincanada
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

cuba holiday

"My wife and I have just returned from this resort on the cayo coco islands and would advise the following,

Hotel accomodation and layout is first class, small individual bungalows quite well furnished and the grounds were lovely. marks out of 10, 9 plus.

Food was suffice but nothing special one could always find something to satisfy ones appetite, marks out of 10, 6

Beach was very nice, cleaned daily of seaweed etc, sand was nearly white, sea was clear blue but very shallow, waist high at deepest ideal for children.could be very windy at times but one should expect this at this time of year. marks out of 10 8 plus.

Entertainment was not very good more like a very ameuter butlins camp and family centered, the shows that we saw were by well intentioned ameuters who gave 110% effort but there was no waiters service, only chairs to sit on, no tables. marks out of 10, 2

Trips were very expensive but had a large choice to select from, would reccomend "The Cuban Way" this gives you a full day of a variety of activities and destinations. but be advised the cubans do expected to be tipped. Value for money marks out of 10, 6

Weather can be a bit of a gamble at this time of year, we experienced a cold spell and had to wear extra clothing in the evening but by and large it was quite good, enough to give you a very good tan, marks out of 10, 7 plus

To sum up the holiday I would say its ideal for a young family, the only big drawback is that if the weather not nice then there is nothing to do, nowhere to go, you are compltely isolated on these islands which are no more than salt water marshes and could be dangerous if you wander from the main road, no one lives here, theres no villages or towns to wander round. Please be advised to take a something warm to wear in the evenings when the weather can be a bit cool with the wind and for the man that likes a pint of beer take a tankard or flask as the beer served at the bars comes in very small plastic beakers. Had a very nice holiday but would not return to the Cayo Cocos.
"

by bmkendal
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Holiday Nightmare from Hell

"This hotel is in the middle of a mango swap, so you are eaten alive. The room is something out of a butlins holiday seedy camp. The furniture had no paint on, writing on chairs and tables, mattresses had springs coming out. Wardrobe had filthy hand prints, electricity wires exposed. We had no toilet for 5 days, we had to go outside and turn on the stop tap so we could flush the toilet and turn off quick so as not to flood the room. The food was horrific like school canteen. You had to que for everything and all inclusive drinks were served in plastic cups with cheapest local spirits. Thomas Cook have a nerve having this in their brochure. 6 went in the party 2 out of the 6 had food poisoning."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2008, All Inclusive, booked with Airtours
  • Advice: Dont go their
  • Activities: Nothing
  • Good For: Beach
by Lilly234
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This hotel came very highly...

"This hotel came very highly recommended so we were looking forward to our 2nd visit to Cuba {our 1st was Varadero} on arriving our 1st impressions were good until we were shown to our bungalow, horror would be an understatement it was in desperate need of a good clean and a total refurbishment after speaking to Alex {our thomas cook rep} we were moved the very next day no questions asked, what a difference.

On day 2 the pool was shut down due to contamination{never seen pool cleaned once}. In restaurant on day 3 the air con broke down management did not know when it would be repaired their comment was that Cuba is a poor country.

This hotel was also open to Cuban holiday makers {the only one on the island} who were very ignorant and aggressive.

The food and entertainment was only catered for Cubans the hotel staff tried everything they could to make our holiday better unfortunately senior management were not as helpful, with things getting worse by the hour our biggest fear was we would end up with food poisoning or catch some bug due to the untidy state of pool and poolside on day 4 we felt we could no longer stay at this hotel we had no option but to ask our rep to get us out of this hotel he told us he was expecting us to ask sooner 2hrs later 10 tourists were moved to the playa oasis. We would highly recommend this hotel what a difference everything was spotlessly clean and food was lots better. We would like to take this opportunity to thank Alex for everything as he could not do enough for us, which made it worse when we had to be moved but he was very understanding and knew we were not happy. The remainder of our holiday was very enjoyable.
"

by T Preston
2 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We booked this Hotel as a 4 star,...

"We booked this Hotel as a 4 star, when we arrived I was so disappointed it was terrible. The Hotel was dirty and food inedible, there was building work taking place and the overall health and safety was appalling. The pathways had holes in them, my partner got an electric shock off the plate warmer in the dinning room these are to name just a few things. We were serviced raw chicken, we lived off melon for four days and then had to pay to move to the Daquari next door. I found that people just put up with the appalling conditions as they believe that all Cuban hotel's are of this standard, please do not believe that at all, Cuban hotel's and the cuban people are nothing at all like this place. My advice do not book this hotel it is a hotel from hell and a total nightmare."

by PD Charles
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Villa Cojimar Resort Hotel Closest airport: Cayo Coco (CCC) 11.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Villa Cojimar Resort Hotel
  • by mcrlegend

    " its quiet but gorgeous, if you like birds you will love it here, vultures flamingos etc... "

  • by vic Albota

    " Pilar Beach for snorkeling "

  • by orrettspurs

    " trip to havana but very expensive "

Similar hotels around Cayo Guillermo

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Villa Cojimar Resort Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Villa Cojimar Resort Hotel? Share your insight.

Villa Cojimar Resort Hotel is also called:

  • gran caribe cayo guillermo
  • gran caribe club cojimar
  • Gran Caribe Cojimar
  • gran caribe hotel cojimar

Address: Villa Cojimar, Cayo Guillermo, Cuba