Oasis Apartments

Ammudia, Skiathos 37002, Greece
3 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9.5  / 10
(30 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
24
Good
5
Average
1
Poor
0
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9.5/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Cant wait to go back

"Stayed at these apartments in June 2011, apartments were best we have stayed in on any of the greek islands.

Mike his wife and family are the nicest people you could wish to meet and they go out of their way to make you enjoy your holiday.

When we arrived it was like a big family holiday every body there had been going there for years and they made us very welcome.

My husband spent his birthday there and Mike had a bottle of bubbly for us and guests to enjoy.

One of the best ever,walk into town near all restaurants etc.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: No need for transport mins walk to town
by Millers from geordieland.
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The best Greek Island Holiday yet

"We have had a wonderful stay here. (I am writing this as I wait for my return flight home using the free internet facilities). From the moment we arrived, Mike made us very welcome. The staff are brilliant and the accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Plenty of free entertainment at the complex. Singers, Greek night, Quiz etc.

Lots to do and see in and around the town, and the boat trips were excellent valus for money. Do not pay the inflated prices the travel companies try to charge you for these trips. Just walk to the harbour and pay at the boat. Less than half the price Thomas Cook were charging.

Special thanks to young George (Mike's son) for befriending our son. They were inseperable all holiday.

The best part of the holiday, according to our son, was when Mike took a group of the older boys out on his boat to swim in the sea and surf the waves from the back of the boat.

The gardens are beautiful and there is no shortage of sun loungers, hammocks, pool bar seating. Lovely shaded areas and a gym, ping pong, pool table, internet etc which are all free.

We would highly recommend the Oasis and will be aiming to return asap.

Lesley & Dave
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: It is an oasis. Beautifully set in a huge garden area and plenty of amenities free of charge.
by Les & Dave
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

House Villa Jasmin Ag. Aparaskevi Skiathos - Absolutely Wonderful!

"We found House Villa Jasmin perfect for our requirements and set in a great part of Skiathos - the resort of Ag. Paraskevi.

As a family of 5, (two adults, twins aged 7, and a little one age 3), it is the ideal location for a family looking for a safe, tranquil, and beautiful base to enjoy a holiday in Skiathos. (Whilst not being too far 'out of the way')

The Villa comprises 3 floors and can be rented as a whole or in 2 parts. We took the option to rent the main house which is the top 2 floors for our family holiday. (The ground floor has a separate apartment and entrance, comprising 2 double bedrooms and open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area.) Whilst we could have comfortably rented the downstairs apartment for ourselves we were blown away by the pictures on the website so much so that we 'pushed the boat out' and opted for the main upper 2 floors of the Villa - which has 3 double bedrooms (all with air-conditioning) 2 bathrooms, huge kitchen / lounge / dining area, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi internet, hand-crafted spiral staircase, DVD player, huge balcony, etc, etc... Simply stunning!

The Villa is outstandingly beautiful. It has been recently built and finished perfectly with real care and craftsmanship - if we were to be buying a Villa abroad ourselves, I really don't think I would have changed any single detail of the materials, fittings and furnishings used in Villa Jasmin - it was evident on arrival that the images on the website probably don't do the Villa justice - it was even more perfect and stunning than the images portrayed - and we were sold on the website images alone!

Moreover, not only is the Villa well built and thought out, it really did provide everything that a family could possible need to enjoy a comfortable and luxurious holiday. The little touches of decor and facilities for everyday living were impressive - the owners had thought of everything you could possibly want - making it a real 'home from home'.

The Villa is set in a large, secure, and private garden with electric gate with a view up the mountain in front. It is located around three quarters of a mile from the main ring-road in Skiathos in a resort called Aghious Paraskevi, which is small, but has tens of superb tavernas and shops (Including a few of the best rated restaurants on the Island within a short walking distance). Stefanos and Jasmin (the owners) had recommended we hire a car which we opted for and this was arranged by them (cheaper than we could ourselves) with full insurance and 3 child seats as requested. We collected this at Skiathos airport on arrival and called Stefanos who gave us simple directions to the Kassandra Bay Hotel where he met us and took us to the Villa.

Whilst we were told that 'a car was recommended' I would say this is not strictly the case. Don't get me wrong, Skiathos has some of the best beaches in Greece (60 in total) which is impressive for a small Island. But the Villa is located only a few minutes walk from complexes operated by the tour operator Thomson and we met many families staying in these resorts that did not have a car and felt they had no need for one. As I said, you have some fabulous Tavernas/Restaurants in easy walking distance, great pools, supermarkets, etc. And the beach at Ag. Paraskevi is stunning - and only 900 metres walk away along a quiet, flat lane - no stairs or mountains to climb in the heat!

If you want to get around and explore, the Island has one main ring road running from the main town/port right down to the large and beautiful Koukanaries beach. It has a popular bus service running every 15 minutes around the Island meaning that you could essentially get anywhere you wanted to both quickly and cheaply. We did enjoy the freedom of having a car obviously, but come 4 or 5 o'clock I like to have a beer or a glass of wine so we really enjoyed just walking to the local Tavernas for our evening meal and never felt like we were trapped or stuck 'out of the way'. (Tripadvisor rates 3 or 4 of the local Tavernas amongst the best in Skiathos! If you're staying local in Ag. Paraskevi make sure you eat at 'Calma, Mesostrato, Infinity Blue, & Maistrali - the food is good value and tasty also at Pegasus which has a park out front for the kids to play. If heading to Skiathos town the Windmill and Bonoparts ).

The standard of the Villa and it's facilities speak for themselves, but what we really enjoyed was having the freedom to allow our children to play unsupervised in the large gardens outside. As it was secure and safe from cars and passers by, it was less worrying than allowing them out to play in our street at home! The other big factor is the beautiful 'quietness' around you. There really is a lot to be said about 'noise pollution' as we have never, ever, relaxed so quickly on holiday before. It took a few days to work out why this was, and it was because the only 'noise intrusion' is really from the odd passing car, the crickets, or the distant chime of small bells from the goats grazing up the hill in front. I was honestly amazed that the lack of voices, music, cars, moped engines, really could help you relax so fully and quickly - which for us meant we have never had such a great holiday, accommodation or location!

If there was one downside to this Villa, it would be that it did not have it's own swimming pool. However after staying a couple of days we soon felt this was a benefit in many ways - no one adult had to stand constant 'watch' over the children playing outside for fear of an accident or drowning! (I'm sure many parents understand exactly what I'm talking about here!) And realistically, we had a choice of 3 or 4 good pools only a short walk away - we used the Ariadne which was large, clean, reasonable priced for drinks and lunchtime snacks.

We also went water skiing most days at Stefanos Ski School on Vasilias beach (below Kasandra Bay Hotel), He's a trained water ski instructor with many years of experience. We had never tried water skiing before, however both myself and my husband were skiing on our first lesson! We're now hooked! Stefanos is a great teacher, he's very relaxed and calm and not arrogant like some ski instructors, he really wants to help you to learn. We also hired a boat for the day and visited lots of the beautiful little islands, the beaches were out of this world and a lovely and quiet!

All in all, Villa Jasmin is a winner! I can whole heartedly recommend it to families, couples, groups, anyone. Quality is quality, and we can all appreciate that!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Macewan Family
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

a wonderful stay

"I have just returned from another wonderful stay at the Oasis Apartments in Skiathos Town, this is the fifth year running that we have stayed there. The apartments are beautifully set in their own grounds, which have an array of palm and fruit trees and are well kept.

The owners Mike and Eleni are family orientated and treat their guests like extended family. They are very approachable and helpful.The staff are always accommodating and willing to help.

The rooms are more than adequate and they are very clean. There is a clean pool and bar area with a good menu, where you can order anything from a full English breakfast to traditional greek food. There are adequate sun beds and parasols and if you really want to relax there are also hammocks.

For fitness fanatics there is a gym and also free internet access.

Overall a wonderful base for a holiday and I will definately be going back next year.

Kindest Regards,

Dave and Chris (Oasis Boomerangers)

Newcastle
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: skiathos is my paradise island cannot wait for next year
  • Activities: you are spoilt for choice on all accounts
  • Good For: Beach
by oasisboomeranger
10 / 10

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Repeat visit after 7 years no regrets

"We visited Skiathos after seven years and stayed at Oasis Apartments with no regrets at all. The gardens have been extended and landscaped further and it is certainly a liitle oasis. The rooms are very clean and have everything that we needed. The owner and his family are lovely and have an interest in the guests and were very kind to take ourselves and another two couples to visit the local monastry. The Manos rep was very good and was available many times for help and advice. The Town is vibrant at night. restaurants too numerous to mention . The quality of goods in the shops were also of a high standard. A holiday I would recommend ."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Manos
  • Advice: vibrant
  • Activities: hellinikon taverna
  • Good For: Beach
by farm
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

how now

"this was excellent holiday accomodation, we would like to book againbut since the demise of Excel/Kosmar cannot find this accomodation with any travel company. Help."

by oyster123
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My husband, daughter & I visted...

"My husband, daughter & I visted Mike & the gang in June 08, our 7th holiday at the OASIS, as usual it was fantastic! We had booked for our usual two weeks next June & my friend & I were due to return on 19th September for a weeks R&R, but disaster struck in the shape of XL leisure.

We were devastated for ourselves but more so for Mike & Eleni.

Great news to see on your website today that Mike has a contract with Cosmos for next year, can't wait for the brochure to come out so that we can rebook.

I've just phoned the other guests who we've been meeting at the Oasis each year, they too were delighted to hear the news.

best wishes to Mike, his family & all his hard working staff. see you next year
"

by  S McDonald
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Having stayed in The Oasis Apartments...

"Having stayed in The Oasis Apartments in June 2007, and having enjoyed every minute of the holiday, from the lovely mike and all the rest of the staff, we decided to go back June 2008, again, we were not disappointed...........fantastic time again, The trip in Mike's boat, the friendly people, great time was had, so again booked for September, due to fly the day XL went bust, great disappointment, but we managed to get booked in Troulos for the following Wednesday, we visited Mike on the Thursday, and great news Mike having lost alot of money, is able to stay in business next year, he is contracted to Cosmos, but is keeping a couple of apartment to hire out privately. so anyone who wants to go back next year, Mike and his staff will be there, but unfortunately there will be no bigger pool, he had planned, or TV in rooms, but he will be there, we be there mike..... LOVE EVERY MINUTE WE ARE STAYING IN OASIS. Brochure out in December"

by J Cassells
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

we went to the oassis last year and...

"we went to the oassis last year and this year we had afantastic holiday , great location and mick and his family were great we booked for next year but we have been told we cannot book the oasis because of xl like every body else we really want to go back , does anybody have micks private number , you can get flights there but what is happening to the oasiss please try and let us know . thank you the tipler family"

by  S J Tipler
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We used the Oasis for a couple of...

"We used the Oasis for a couple of days when XL went bust, the owner was extremely kind and got all the information for the people worrying about going home. He made everyone welcome and we were all able to keep in touch with home through a free internet service we could all use.

The Oasis deserves to be used by other companies from the UK and told how much the clients using and staying at the apartments are in his debt. We are very grateful and would like to be able to use these apartments next time we go to Skiathos.

Well done to Mike the owner and his family.

Linda Kirby
"

by  L Kirby
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Visited the Oasis Studios in June for...

"Visited the Oasis Studios in June for our 10th visit over the past 7 years. The studio accomodation is basic and clean. The owner Mike and his very friendly and really acommodating staff are what make the Oasis such a lovely place to visit. Small pool with large number of sunbeds which were never full. Food at Oasis is of a good standard and extremely good value for money. Its a very pleasant stroll into the harbour where the restaurants are the best of any Greek Island (15 in total) that we have visited. Bus service around the island is superb, running every 15 minutes well into the early hours, and so cheap. Went to The Oasis with Kosmar Holidays which has just gone into liquidation having been bought out by XL. Now trying to find a way of re-visiting for our 11th visit - ANY IDEAS ANYONE???"

by  J Jenkins
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely greeting from Mike the hotel...

"Lovely greeting from Mike the hotel owner and we had a free cocktail there waiting for us. Nice, clean apartments and very green and lush surroundings. Staff were very friendly and (along with Mike and his wife) created a welcoming family atmosphere. Sunbeds, pool table, ping pong table etc, volleyball, gym, internet, etc were free. Food was also very good with alot of additional extra's. Location was excellent. Very close to town but without the noise from the town. Excellent holiday and plan to go back soon."

by LG Gover
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Oasis Apartments Closest airport: Nea Anchialos (VOL) 37.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Oasis Apartments
  • by Macewan Family

    " You must try this place! - Especially water skiing at Stefanos Ski School on Vasilias Beach "

Similar hotels around Skiathos Town

Hotels near Oasis Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Oasis Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Oasis Apartments? Share your insight.

Oasis Apartments is also called:

  • oasis hotel skiathos
  • oasis skiathos

Address: Ammudia, Skiathos 37002, Greece