Paradise Island Hotel

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Stayed at Paradise Island Hotel?

Share your opinion.

Write a review

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(126 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
38
Good
33
Average
16
Poor
19
Awful
20

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 7/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 6/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Paradise Island Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

« 13 4 5 611 »
Better than expected

"After reading some off the previouse reviews i was not expecting the holiday we had. The rooms were basic with some insects but they are all over the island and cant be helped, the pool was cold first thing in the morning but as the day got hotter so did the pool we never ever had any problems getting our sun loungers no matter when we went to the pool, the restaurant we were not looking forward too but i have to say the selection was great the food tasted great possibly some times slightly cold, The entertainment team worked really hard and helped keep the kids busy. If i was to have a gripe its a bit far from the beach and town centre."

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by al200674
7 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a place Paradise by name only

"What does anyone see in this Hotel.Dirty disorganised dining room to canteen standards.Tables free for all generally with previous diners crockery and left overs on it.Food was terrible pork every day bar one.no alternatives other than 2nd rate chinese.Staff rude showed bias to spanish guests even in queuing.Take a tip dont go and spend a few quid more and get value for money.Cant remember the last time on AI we had to pay for tv hair dryers air con RIP OFF AS THIS BUMPS THE PRICE RIGHT UP.pUT US OFF LANZORATE"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont go spend couple euro s extra
by ABBA
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

terrible terrible

"after planning from aug 09 we as a family of 6 were looking forward to our holiday in april 10 but what a let down the food was very poor we had to eat out there was no adult entertainment at nite the rooms god a lot to be desiredcwe were eaten alive with bed bugs we asked what was the eurine smell in our room and told it was probaly the fumigation which had been crried out alarm bell s should have rang then we were ai so we were so angry that we were only able to eat breakfast which we all only took taost n boiled egg n tea 2000 pound wasted we went to thomas cook rep about bed bugs and was told message would be passed on what consolation was that i would not take a free holiday to paradise island if offered 1 the good points nice kept grounds and pool area staff at canteen not so pleasant but ground n cleaning staff very pleasant not recommened cater only for spanish english n irish not thought of"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: stay well away
by marymo
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant Holiday

"Me & my boyfriend just cum home frm spending a week out in Paradise Island. We really really enjoyed ourselves out there, it was such a great holiday. The weather was really nice. (Only day we had a little bit of rain or any bad weather was the morning we were leaving which cleared up anyway.)

The apartments are very spacious and very clean. They get cleaned 5 times a week. (Wednesdays and saturdays r the days they dont.) Usually the maids wait until u are out of the room to clean them but there was one day where the maid cleaned whilst we were out on the patio which was really good as we got to see how much they actually do clean the apartments. So if you're anything like me you will be put at ease to know they do wipe down and clean everything.

The entertainment was brilliant. Every night there was something different on which we really enjoyed & the staff were really friendly too. We also went out on a few trips which were amazing. WE RECOMEND GOING TO THE TITTI TROLLOPS WHICH IS A DRAG ACT. We absolutely loved it, so much fun!

The beach is only a 30 min. walk but if u want a taxi it will cost 3 euros which is not bad.

Drinks you help yourself too and the food is a buffet. The only bad thing really about this holiday was actually the food. The chinese buffet was a big let down. The childrens food was much better than the adults but apart from that everything was great.

*We paid for a safe to keep all our valuables in which cost 12 euros for a week and a 10euro deposit which you get back.

*We also bought the TV channels which were a bit rubbish we had sky news, sky family movies and cartoon network which cost 16euros. You have to pay also for the remote control which was 5euros but that you also get back.

You also have to pay for air conditioning if you want it.

Recommend this holiday to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by S. Shannon and R. Ellis
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant

"I went on holiday with my mom,dad,brother,grandparents, auntie and my cousins. It was a lovely place clean hardly any litter brilliand entertainment staff freindly barstaff, Great food and the trips out are amazing i went up timanfaya volcano and on the free trip both were brilliant days out, however when you want to go to the shops you have to get on a bus but make sure you are outside the hotel early as seats are limited. But i do think its one of the bes holidays ive been on :D"

by Megan876
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Stranded in Paradise

"Me and my 2 university friends spent an extended holiday at Easter at the Paradise island resort!

We had a great time! The staff are extremely friendly, and really take time to get to know you! The food is good but could do with more variety; however the addition of the chinese buffet is great! a definate winner! food cooked in front of you!

The apartments are spacious and have everything you need. The hotel itself has a range of activities to suit all tastes! The animacion team are always on hand are are really friendly! There is a kids club and at least 4 different activities both morning and afternoon for both adults and teenagers! In the evening there is a range of entertainment also (bingo is a hit! and so is the karaoke!) Although all inlcusive drinks finish at 11pm just get friendly with the staff/entertainers/barmen and you'll be fine ;) BTW - THE POOL IS FREEZING! be warned lol

The hotel is a little way out of the main resort of playa blanca but there is a free bus to take you down to the beach and the taxis are only a couple of euros and always available! The beach is lovely and the market is worth a visit on a wednesday!

We were stranded because of the ash cloud from iceland for an additional 7 days and were looked after and entertained marvellously! Couldn't have asked for a better hotel! No extra costs!
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Manana, tomorrow
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

if'y to say the least

"we were delayed at manchester because of bad weather so a six hour delay meant we would arrive at midnight instead of 6pm we dont do pillows on short haul flghts was the abrupt answer from a less than helpful cabin stewardsurely a four our flight with a six hour delay constitutes a long haul but whatever!

the hotel is obviously a time share block that has not sold and been converted

the rooms are spacious, clean and if you are lucky get the sun all day the hotel is a little way out but all is in reach via taxi (marina with great restaurants 5 euros)

there is a dutch girl in the reception bar who is very good but the blonde with the pony tail has all the manners of i dont know what if you speak spanish she will stop and serve you otherwise if she doesnt feel like it you will have to wait

the reception staff are very helpful and show the so called rep how to amswer all the questions ,go straight to them,

the food, ah the food, sprouts, carrots, green beans and that was for breakfast it is not very good although her indoors thought it was ok

this is a THREE STAR hotel so dont expect to much and by the way dont eat the bacon

would i go back? no would she who must be obeyed?i doubt it

actually i am suprised Thomas Cook put their name to it

dont go to the welcome meeting you would be as well listening to a tape recorder

she was HOPELESS
"

by joekincaid
3 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

value for money holiday

"brilliant weather,a good value for money holiday,mostly a family hotel as part of holiday round half term week,pool could get very busy and noisey,lots of entertainment for chilren,hotel provides a free bus to beach x 5 times a day as beach not with in walking distance,resort of playa blanca plenty of restaurants,nice shops in resort,marina nice shopping,2 markets,best one in marina wed and sat,designer shops in marina shopping centre.food in hotel,plenty of choice as much as you want,depends on youe expectations on quality,chinese restarant 5 nights a week.nice beach in playa blanca.all in all a good holiday,would go back,maybe try different accomadation next time,had read some reviews before i went and was worried by what i read,"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by cooke04
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

OMG!!

"Just awful the place smelt of sewage most of the time the food was dreadful i flushed my toilet and sewage came up in the bath, the entertainment was dire. I you have been unfortunate enough to have already booked take some food and spend you days at the beach unless you are prepared to get up at 6 am to get a sun bed!! Never never never again!!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: beautiful place
  • Activities: anything away from the hotel
by burndengirl
2 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

superb

"fantastic. relaxing break very shocked at the reviews, all staff were so very friendly and work very hard nothing was too much trouble. accomadation was cleaned every day and was very spacious, the food excellent so much variety and cooked well, you certainly didn't go hungry. the entertainment for the children was enough, they were kept entertained even around the pool.

buses that were free to the beach were on time,even though you could walk to the beach within 15 to 20 mins.taxi drivers plentiful and reasonable.

general maintenance in certain areas need to be up dated.

there were plenty of trips to keep you busy and were skillfully arranged for the comfort and pleasure of the tourists.

good value for the money and we fill well worth visiting. we would certainly go there again.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: go to fire mountain for an eyeopener experience
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by potty 58
8 / 10

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

LOVED IT!!

"me and my boyfriend booked 7nights at paradise island... wanted to stay fo another week!! please ignore all the bad points on here!! this hotel is 3 star... alot of people on here it sounds like they were expecting 5 star plus!! rooms were cleaned every other day, bathroom was spacious, included a bath & shower always hot water. big double patio doors onto the balcony (which was quite big to).. we had a lovely view of the sea, then patio doors from the bedroom leading onto a smaller balcony. but at the end of the day, we didnt go to spend time in our room!! 9 out of 10 people were english :)

we always got a sunbed around the pool quite easily, but there were alot of towels on beds that didnt even get used throughout the whole day which is quite frustrating. pool bar was alot bigger than expected, not alot of variety of snacks... chips, nuggets, croquetts and cheese and ham sandwiches (which were lovely under the toaster!!) mini pots of ice creams too. i dont no what people expect of the food as it is only 3star, however we found it really nice. if you like spanish food you will love the food here. the bread was delicious!! salads lovely and fresh. chinease restaurant was nice too.

late bar downstairs till 1am (you have to pay for drinks after 11pm) i mainly drank the 'san fransisco' cocktail :) kids entertainment is brilliant too!!!

we are no looking to book again at paradise island... please dont be put off by the bad comments... the holiday is what you make of it. would definately go back!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: we walked the mountain outside the hotel... you MUST do it... views are amazing!!!
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by charleno69
8 / 10

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wha!!!!!!

"We fancied a last min 5 day break to get a blast of sunshine before the winter came. We quickly booked online after looking at the photos,and reading the info supplied by the holiday opperator(plus the price suited us). Only after booking did we look at the reviews on here. Some seemed extreme, but I can only say what I truthfully thought of our experience there in a 3* hotel.

Ok, we arrived in blazing mid-day sunshine by private transfer from the airport and checked into the hotel. After a few mins writing our details down we were given our AI wristbands & given directions to our rooms, which were easy to find. The hotel and rooms were the same as in the photos, and it was bright, clean & pretty looking with a great back drop of volcanoes & hills. Lovely landscaped plants etc.

The main room was a decent size, with a fridge, 2 electric rings and cups/plates, saucepans, knives /forks but no kettle/toaster. Bedroom was a good size but we found the beds a bit too firm for us. Bathroom ok with plenty of hot water all day long. The tv was payable to get English chanels, but it still was limited on what you recieved(no itv or bbc). All large glass patio doors had safety stickers on them.

The hotel pool bars drinks were mostly a help yourself type of thing during the day, which was much quicker than waiting to be served. The snacks they served at 4.30 were limited in variety and weren't adverised enough. The main bars in the evenings were a bit slower because you had to wait to be served, but not enough to cause complaint, just some people seem to think that as they are all inc, it gives them the right to be served in one millionth of a second, if not they get the hump!

FOOD

I'm not a snob or fussy eater and will normally eat anything from hot spices to salads. You could find something but,In total, it was not really up to much at all. Not seasoned nor hot enough, repetative, bland and generally un-appetising to look at as well as to eat.The salad wasn't always fresh and the chinese restaraunt was a bit of a joke. We were only there for four nights & it was a bit of a struggle, for 2 of those 4 nights my wife ate chip butties because she could'nt find anything she fancied. Best thing about it was the puddings.The table cloths were sticky & needed changing more often.

Nothing to do with the hotel but a lot of the fellow guests loaded their plates up to the max, dropped half of it the table and floor and generally were slobs. Not thanking the people cleaning away plates etc. Definately the worst part of our stay.

BEACH

Lovely pretty place where we spent all of our days. Great beach with 3 euro lounger hire per day. The hotel run a shuttle service to & from the beach, first coach leaves at 10.10am and I think the last one back is around 3.30-ish, but we used to get a cab back later normally costing 4-5 euros. We walked back once but to be honest it was a bit of a slog, well worth a taxi ride. The hotel is a bit out of the way but again the cab fare into playa blanca is 4-5 euros & takes a few mins.

POOL AREA

Nice pool, great if you have kids. Let down by the usual fools putting towels on sun loungers early in the mornings but never actually come to lie on them. Things going on throughout the day from the animation team, again good for the kids.

IN GENERAL

A nice looking clean safe 3* hotel with friendly staff. Way below average food. Don't go if your expecting 5* accomodation cos you only get what you pay for. Good if you have young kids

WOULD I GO AGAIN - NO.

Accomodation 7/10 Food 3/10
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by smutt
7 / 10

19 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 13 4 5 611 »

Explore area

Map for Paradise Island Hotel Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 15.4 miles

Similar hotels around Playa Blanca

Hotels near Paradise Island Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Paradise Island Hotel?

Stayed at Paradise Island Hotel? Share your insight.