Paradise Island Hotel

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Stayed at Paradise Island Hotel?

Share your opinion.

Write a review

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(126 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
38
Good
33
Average
16
Poor
19
Awful
20

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 7/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 6/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Paradise Island Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 4 511 »
the BEST holiday EVER

"We got there the staff were lovely we got to the room it was really nice my kids went to the pool and they loved it my youngest daughter did some activities with some of the staff with other people they met some other kids when you went to the pool in morning music would come on and then they would great you and say good morning they did this dance after each activity you did and adults can join in my mum and dad went to they loved the market and every thing my dad went in the pool whith kids we all luved the holiday"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2008, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: u will luv it
  • Good For: Beach
by sandra
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

paradise hell

"our first impression of parsdise hotel was good reception were helpfull when we booked in unfortunatly that was as good as it got when we got too our apartment the painter was still working in our bedroom an the phone was'nt working to complain i walked back to reception while my wife waited outside the apartment. The food was poor and if you did'nt get there early you found yourself clearing your table before you could eat the crockery was dirty an chipped and in short supply as it was. The bar service consisted of 1 person an was really slow an you were lucky to get a glass otherwise it was paper cups my wife asked for a slice of lemon in her drink and was told NO FRUIT an the in house entertainment was a joke."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: too far from resort an don't expect too much from the hotel
by goldie
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3 star with good entertainment

"We have just returned (4th Nov. 2010) and did not expect much from this holiday after reading the reviews.We got a last minute, all-inclusive deal for under £250 per person so went prepared to book in elsewhere if it was a nightmare.(we have paid this much for the flight only before!) Very surprised at the accomodation and the facilities however. Rooms big and spacious and nice bathrooms-all very clean. The entertainment was very good and varied and was some of the best variety we have seen in a 3 star resort with Owl Shows,Animations,Fire Walkers,Salsa, Sword Swallowers etc. Lots of daily activities with water polo, dance lessons and archery being some of the best.

Only problem was one day when it rained heavy, the drains could not cope and our bathroom flooded with sewerage. Staff at reception dealt quickly with this and moved us into another room with the proviso that we could return when our room was fixed if we wanted to (which we did). Saw two cockroaches but as they are abundant in the Canaries and fly into rooms at night they did not bother us-hotel always on the lookout for them.Food ok and plentiful but at the price we paid for the holiday, it did not really matter if it was bad as we would have eaten out. Food could be 'samey' at lunchtimes but we never felt we needed to go elsewhere,. Breakfasts good and also evening meals. Did not try the snackbars or the afternoon teas with cakes, as we were full all the time! Beach about 15mins walk but went down in the mini but and could return in a taxi for 3 euros.

Trips to Timanfya volcano expensive from resort at 30 euros each. Book online before going and get the prices down to 15-20 euros. Worth seeing and experiencing.

As long as you are not expecting a 4-5 star holiday and pay little for it, this place is good. We have been in much worse places over the years and one of our daughters is curently holidaying in a neighbouring 4 star hotel not as good as this one.
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: It's quite good
by Judith Smith
7 / 10

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our first family holiday abroad

"after booking this holiday in the agents i then made the decision to look at any reviews available - big mistake. i was dreading going away after reading some of the reviews on sites like this one but to be honest i feel some of the people must have been very unlucky or thought they had paid for a 4 or 5 star hotel when it just isnt that. our accomodation was fine, clean, no safety concerns or anything. as for the food yes there were some staple things put out everyday, like chips, i mean how many diff types of salad do u expect to be offered? i found was always plenty of choice, they always had a diff main dish everyday like beef,pork, chicken etc and paella for example and myself and my 5 yr old are fussy eaters, none of us ever went hungry, we didnt have the need to eat inbetween meals, only had icecream which was always available. we never had a problem getting a sunbed by the pool (and it didnt mean we were up at the crack of dawn to get one either) the only downside i would say is the later you leave it to eat breakfast or dinner in the restaurant it did get busier for getting a table and clean cutlery became a prob but if you there for when it opened in eve between 7-7.30 you get a table no problem and the same for breakfast if you got in by 9 most days. some ppl have commented that had to pay for drinks after 11 but no-one stops you from getting in as many drinks as you can before this time so you wouldnt have to pay. but we went with a 5 yr old and 2 yr so latest we stayed out was probably 10.30 so never had that problem. the entertainment team are fantastic, they certainly work some hours. our 2 boys loved the mini disco and after being home a few days now they are still singing the songs and doing the dances they learnt to them :) all in all our experience of this hotel was a positive one"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: you get what you pay for, this is not a 4 or 5* hotel
by mummy
7 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

As execpted 3 star

"There was 12 of us that went to this hotel for my partners 30th bday 4 kids under the age of 10 and 8 adults and to be honest I really enjoyed it, the rooms were alot better than I expected and always cleaned, kids always had fun at the mini disco, even though we were all waiting for the doors to open to get in for a seat. The only thing I will complain about is the food, omg!! the same thing every day, just gets really boring, and for paying all inclusive prices to get nothing after the entertainment at night just wasnt good enough, I mean if u wanted to stay for a couple of drinks after the shows u had to pay for them??? and there just wasnt anything to eat, we ended up cooking noodles when we got into the apartment, another plus for the room, as u can buy in a drink to drink in the apartment :)

All in all, the weather was great and ppl were great, food well just wasnt so great, but it was ediable xx
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Food not great
  • Good For: Beach
by w3ndy01
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Bad Bad BAD

"just got back from a 10 day break wih my partner. on first impression the hotel seemed quite good. the accomodation was clean and the rooms were big, but when we started to dine in the restaurant at the hotel are holiday was ruined the food is disgsting, unedible and poorly presented. after spending nearly £1400 for our holiday we expected the food to be half decent but the only words i could describe itr as a experience is SCHOOL DINNERS. after speaking to some of the animation team and other holiday guests i realised i was not the only person to think this, DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL IT IS A TOTL RIP OFF."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: do not go
by ant1
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lovely family holiday!!

"After reading some of the reviews on this site i was a bit apprehensive about what to expect but we had a wonderful time! are family was 2 adults early 30's a 4 year old and a 2 year old. each room had a kitchenette and fridge small balcony and front area with a table a nd chairs. food was really nice always chips if kids get bored and food without sauces on cut up in front of you ie whole roast chicken cut into legs, breasts etc and put out for you to help yourself another night sausages, thin pork loins etc for breakfast eggs are fried in front of you to take small sausages scrambled egg beans fruit and cakes there is a kids section and there is a section with fruit cakes and ice cream for lunch and dinner. glasses were a little dirty so give them a wipe over before helping yourselves to drinks. some nights (prob every other) there is a seperate buffet serving chinese which was a change - about half way through the week the food did get a bit boring but was still ok. the pool ares are really clean and the pool bar serves cheese and ham toasties all day and cakes and little pots of ice cream also slush puppie type drinks are availiable. beer is on tap to help yourself and so are fizzy drinks. there is a park for kids and crazy golf and tennis. there are games to play next to the pool area most of the day and the evening entertainment is also really good with entertainers hired in parrot show flamenco dancing, snake and bird show contortionist,drum and dancing show and before this there is kids disco and things like bingo. There is also a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach which is 10 mins away and the beach is beautiful i wouldn't bother waiting around for the bus and having hastle of wath=ching the time as a taxi is only between 3.5€ and 4€ so doesn't break the bank. With regards to towel on sun beds - put them out on way to breakfast no need to be sooner there are a lot of spanish here think it is like a butlins for them and annoyingly they put out towels in morning and were at pool then go off for afternoon sleeps but leave towels out so no one else can use them and we did find that they were last ones in for dinner, last ones in for entertainment but wanted to get all the chairs so be prepaired to take things to put on chairs in evening if you are up dancing with kids etc- i have never felt i needed to be so posesive over a chair!! overall this hotel is 3 star rating so you won't be getting 5 star, we did see a few coackroaches but this wasn't too much of a problem the only problem i would say is more bar staff are needed as there was often a queue for drinks. and also a few areas could do with being modernised ie the bar under the pool area where the night entertainment is (mainly the seating) and the toddler club area, the entertainment team are really good and reception staff very helpful. i would return to this hotel with my family."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Cosmos
by the wards
8 / 10

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday had by all

"well have just read some of the previous reviews and had to laugh someone said the staff were rude i went with 3 children and the staff were great really got involved with everyone and made a real fuss of kids the apartment were nice clean and got clean towels most days the maids cleaned the rooms 5 out of 7 days the food was good with a good choice for every one if u went hungry it would be ur fault we all had a great holiday thanks to the staff who all put some hours in"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by kaywayne
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent!

"I stayed a week at the HL Paradise Island, the entertainment was faboulous. I couldn't fault the meals but it was repetitive. The receptionists were very helpful. I couldn't fault the staff. In the whole 7 days I stayed there I only saw 2 cockroaches: 1 in my apartment and 1 outside. Overall it was excellent!"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: It has excellent entertainment.
by Brad here
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

ok, maybe if you have kids

"having read the reviews of the hotel, i wanted to give it the benefit of the doubt. We are not ones to really complain about the accomadation. You pay a good price and the weather is generally good so what more can you ask for!!!! Well it was full of spaniards who had no manners what so ever, i understand the language barrier can restrict us, but a smile breaks that barrier in all languauges. We didnt have any children with us and it is a family hotel really, seems to be a lot for youngsters to do, even in the blistering heat. food was ok, but the chinese restaurant was rubbish. we stayed A/I so drinks were free except for the british branded ones. ok if you drink lager as it was san miguel, but i dont so i worked my way through the hilighted drinks menu available to the A/I it was crap. I ended up drinking their version of malibu and coke. Iv felt more merry eating chocolate liquers at christmas. Also the bar staff often filled the spanish drinkers glasses nearly full with the spirits that was offer, us english got an accuratr measure so having watched this we grew wide to them and asked the staff to put a little more in without being rude!! Overall the weather was hot, playa blanca is beautiful and got good places to eat out. do the grand tour this takes you all around the island and up to fire mountain brilliant!! but dont book with the hotel too expensive use the last minute booking office in playa blanca really cheap. No i wouldnt go back to this hotel"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: its like being in a cattle market at meal times
by stormyskie
4 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

School Dinners

"We booked this holiday with On The beach Holidays, we arrived at the hotel about 11:00p.m, we booked in and were given a map to find our apartment,we tried to book a safety deposit box in the room, but were told to come back the next day. Once we found our apartment,and went in it was very basic but clean, the air con is based in the living area of the room, and would have been better if it was in the main bedroom, as it was too warm to sleep, and if you opened the patio doors all the mozzies came in.

The next day we went down for breakfast, it was so disorganised, and it was like a dinner hall from school, first you had to find a clean table, and while one of you sat to the table to make sure by the time you had got your breakfast you still had somewhere to sit, the breakfast was the best meal of the day, so to speak......

eggs, bacon, hot dogs, cold beans, fresh tomatoes with herbs on them, or you could have fruit or yoghurts, drinks of fresh juice if the machines were switched on that is.

The accomadation was clean and comfortable, never saw one cockroach, the food was very repetative, fish fish or fish, salted potatoes, and not much else, i usually try all kinds of different foods, but i was living off bread rolls and cheese slices,all inclusive never again we spent more money on eating meals out, i would recomend as a base to stay but to be honest it is quite a way from the sea and anything else around, there is one supermarket attached to the hotel and thats all.

They do have a shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach, but the last bus picks up from the beach at 3:15p.m, and most people would still be enjoying the sunshine then, so it was costing us 3.8 Euro for a taxi back each day.

The beach is fantastic, the sea is so clean and clear, lovely to have a swim in, Mollies Irish Bar on the front next to Burgerking, they do a really nice sunday dinner, we found most of the staff very unhelpful, and not once during the week we spent there did we see any of the staff smile.

This was the first time we had been to Lanzarote, weather great, beaches fantastic,but can honestly say it has put us off trying again, even a different resort.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: If you like good food and value for money this hotel is not for you
by jujumarie
5 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

sticky tablecloths

"for the two weeks we stayed the tablecloths were never changed once. They were only wiped down and sprayed with "something" which made them sticky. they were stained and dirty. the food was okay but due to the food stained walls, sticky tablecloths, lack of cutlery, sometimes no glasses you were constantly trailing round the restaurant looking/asking for something you needed. the rooms were basic and generally clean but the pool areas were disgusting. you couldnt walk around without sandals as the sunlounger areas were dirty with old food, drink stains, sticky substances, cigarette ash/stubbs. The sunloungers were dirty too with years of filth underneath them. we payed £1200 for 2 adults and 1 child for two weeks all inclusive. this was value for money and therefore we didnt mind going out regulary for food and drinks elsewhere but this defeats the object of all inclusive. we would not recommend this hotel."

by kittyhol
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 1 2 3 4 511 »

Explore area

Map for Paradise Island Hotel Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 15.4 miles

Similar hotels around Playa Blanca

Hotels near Paradise Island Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Paradise Island Hotel?

Stayed at Paradise Island Hotel? Share your insight.