Gold Safran

Obagol Mevki Fatih Cad. No:36 Alanya Merkez, Alanya 7400, Turkey
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5  / 10
(38 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
5
Good
10
Average
3
Poor
5
Awful
15

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 6.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Gold Safran

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Gold Safran, Alanya

"Family of 4 went to Gold Safran Alanya for 2 weeks for the first time so we did not really know what to expect. Yes, hotel is a bit dated and rooms need new furniture...but really how long do you spend in your room on holiday? For me the best thing was that everyone was really friendly and helpful,polite and eager to please. We love food so for us the food was great....huge selection of cold starters,salads and hot meals...something for everyone and snacks in between every meal....rooms were made and cleaned every day...covers made into a bow...entertainment beside the pool was absolutely great...the boys and girls did their best to find time for everyone,kids and adults. After 11 o'clock in the evening they took young people to the club and brought them back safe and sound and looked after them the whole time. The drinks and food was completely unlimited...you could bath in the drinks if you wanted to...Transfer to and from hotel was on time and the buses are all with a/c so not bad at all. Also air con in the room was fantastic....really can not understand some people who can give the bad review..in the end you get what you pay for...we had huge family room 2 rooms in fact like an apartment because our kids are 18 and 11...and I actually booked standard room but they upgraded us with no extra cost as well. I do not know what else to say but all in all we had amazing time and definitely would go back again.

http://www.lokalilanlar.com
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by truvahorse
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Gold Safran does it again

"Again another great holiday in the Gold Safran. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great choice of foods throughout the day. I've got a 5 yr old and a 2 yr old and they can be fussy eaters. There was plenty to chose from so i didnt need to worry about them. The kids club at night is good just doesn't last long enough. For those with young family's you'll love it. It's not 5 star quality but you do get more than you pay for here. A taxi for 6 will only cost £10 to the town centre. Most the bars and restaurants in town have a free pick up service and you make your own way home.

The rooms are spacious and clean.

If your friendly and patient this goes a long way in getting any issues resolved.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Lastminute
  • Good For: Beach
by Anthony K
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

very different accomodation to what we expected

"The hotel although clean was completely different to what we expected from the photos we'd seen pre arriving. We met all different people varying from mid 20's to 65+ and their view was excatly the same. THe food was pretty awful and i was made to feel like a naughty school child taking a drink to my room. Enternatinment well Pinochio and team did the best with what they had but using a cardboard cutout to play mini golf just sums up the place. Childrens park consists of a battered slide,an animal bouncer all placed next to the grill where they cook dinner ! My child got himself a cup of water from dispenser and we was shocked to get boling hot water from a machine at kids height. We would definately never go back to this hotel and would not recommend to anyone who wishes to stay in a 4 star resort i have stayed in better 2 stars."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012
  • Advice: dont stay at all
by karen.hayes
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Why the complaints??

"My family and I just got back from the Gold Safran on the 20th April 2012. We booked through in independent agent on Teletext Holidays. At £250 pp for 2 weeks All Inclusive, we didn't expect much, especially considering the reviews.

We were greeted at 1am by the friendly reception staff who spoke English almost perfectly. Taken up to our rooms which were (bear in mind £250 each) massive. A double bed, fridge, wardrobe, balcony, remote control air conditioning, bathroom with shower, and separate bedroom with 2 single beds.

The food was brilliant, always fresh, always plenty to choose from. It was sometimes cold, but most Turkish food and salad is served cold anyway (hint to those that complain about nothing). The food did become a *little* repetitive on the 2nd week, but is was so nice that we didn't really care. The 3 kids (8, 5 and 3) were always happy with going up and getting plates full of food and puddings (lol).

If you complain about not getting English food in a foreign country, maybe you should stay at home, or pay and eat out. Seriously, it's Turkey where they are Muslim and don't eat pork. Why should they abuse their own religion to suit some inconsiderate tourists that want sausages or bacon? Go out of the hotel, turn right, walk across the street, go 50m and go to the restaurant that serves a Full English for about 15 Lira pp.

The entertainment was great when it was on, but so early in April isn't a great time to go, as there were only 80-90 guests at the time and therefore the staff were a little relaxed. This was fine until the last few days when we just got too homesick (missed the dog).

Pinocchio, Charlie (Mesut), and Snoopy are a great team, always tried to keep us all happy, messing around and having a laugh. The kids loved them to bits and were sad to go home.

Yunus the "BAD barman" (holiday joke) for this season is brilliant! Always has a smile on his face and happy to serve drinks for the guests, even though many are ignorant and can't be bothered to say please and thank you, which really annoyed us!

All in all, you get more than what you pay for, hence the 9/10. It was a little quiet, but it was the first 2 weeks in April. My advice, if you don't like the heat, book May or September/October. If you don't like Turkish food or expect English food everywhere, stay in England.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Roy J
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel for kids. Friendly staff.

"I have been reading the reviews for this hotel and although there are allot of negative ones this is one of the best hotels i have stayed at in Turkey I and have been going to Turkey for the last 10 years. The food is good and staff very friendly. It is about a 1 and 1/2 miles from the town centre but the local bus runs every few minutes and it only costs 1 euro. Staff and managers were always approachable. I will be returning again this year"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: For anyone with small children, there is allot of food to chose from and there are afternoon snacks available at the bar
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by kyle
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Location!!

"I loved this location of this hotel it is on a busy street with good restaurants and shops, not far from the beach or the centre and directly next to a taxi rank.

The food was good too - if you are looking at having english food then you will be slightly disappointed - they do try and we did have the odd day of fish, chips and pizzas but all in all the food is Turkish - not suprising as we were in Turkey. You can always get your fix of English food a few doors down where they served a Full English.

The staff were very friendly and always helpful. We did have to nag the cleaner to have our room cleaned for some reason they didn't do that without a nudge. The rooms are a good size and with 3 of us we never felt on top of each other.. balcony view was a added bonus.

The entertainment was amazing - every evening after dinner we all joined in to some sort of activity which catered for us all not just the Russians. They also arrange a van to take us clubbing in the city after the entertainment and we always felt safe and well looked after by Arif who was the Head Entertainment Guy. I must congratulate Arif on all his hard work and effort he makes with all the guests.

The pool is always clean and refreshments always available - the only downside was that they closed the free bar and free refreshments at 11pm which i think is too early!!

Overall a great holiday and experience - made that extra bit fun and special by a good hotel!!!
"

by Sammy29
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hell

"We arrived at midnight and were disgusted by our first sight. Tt is in the middles of nowhere, once we got out of the cab we were confronted by a monstrous green building covered in towels and other items left for drying. The air condition didn’t work and they had overbooked. None of the staff or the guests could speak English. The food was horrible and generally finished as the German and Russian guests would take food up to their rooms. Cleanliness was terrible and the facilities were in need of repair. We stayed there for 2days and requested an upgrade - we enjoyed the holiday once we were out of this hotel. However, all of this said, a hand full of the staff were lovely. It is no way a 4 star hotel, at best i would rate it 2*."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Alanya is lovely - just leave this hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by Master P
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont do it

"This is the worse hotel i have been to , Staff were rude unhelpful , they over booked so i ended up sharing a room with my two mates not the best start ,

Food there is awful they do not catter for english people , Cleaning staff were lovely and only exception was everywhere was lean and tidy

Only good thing was the surrounding nightlife especially Que Pasa they were amazing in there
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: do not stay at this hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by scatty
3 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brill

" It was very good though I havnt been on holiday for years.The hotel is very,very clean...the pool is very clean too with one water slide dont worry parents.There is mini disco for kids entainment,very entertaining.The food for English is not very good there is egg,chips,chunky chips,salad,rice,chicken but thats it there is surrounding restaurants across the road which do English breakfasts very nice.The pool side has alot of sunbeds but not enough spare, but they are in the sun.There is ice-cream but you have to pay for that,the all inclusive drinks are very good great for the kids.The hotel staff are very friendly but most do not speak English.The maids are friendly but do not speak English, the bar men understand English but i dont think they speak it.Entertainment staff speak full english they're there all the time apart from sundays (day off).Its a very good hotal and I would go there again dont I dont know what all the bad comments are about.Oh and there are few Germans there and few English there theres mostly Russions and Polish there.I hope you go."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: im willing to go there again-fab
by becka
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont Do It

"I pity anyone going to this hole, sorry hotel. I had food poisoning for 5 days and never have I seen some many people arguing with the hotel staff in all my life! Lack of rooms when people arrived, the late check out thats are paid for then denied all knowledge of, the recycled food (personal fav). No wonder-this place is a dirty nightmare. Plus its con after con and it wears you out. The pervy Turkish men, the dirty rooms in need of serious repair, the hopeless rep (you have lived in Turkey 15 years??!!), and the cheek to give themselves a 4 star rating-I wouldnt give it 1! I'd advise you to get your money back and go for something at least 5 star further up the coast in Side."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, booked with holidaydiscountcentre.co.uk
  • Advice: never in a million years
by snowboader-girl
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

worst ever hotel

"im from turkey my self and i cant belive what gold safron did to us on our arrival to the hotel they said that we was not booked evendough we paid way in advance from alpharooms. i just want to warn everyone that is about to book this hotel please dont it is the worst hotel with the worst reseption, the staff are worst then each other and no way it is a 4 star hotel we were told that it was put down as a 4 satr hotel to get away from the tax. i live in london and went to my own country to have a good time but thanks to gold safron it was the worst time with young children we were left to find some where else to go."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Alpha Rooms
  • Advice: dont book it please
by sibel
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Super time

"Just back from gold safran and had great time. Hotel clean, spacious rooms and well air conditioned.Staff friendly and helpful. The entertainment animation team are amazing and really helped make holiday memorable. Food fairly good and is as much as you could ever expect from all inclusive. Drinks are ok and beer super. Would go back anytime. Juliano who does the photos and is a must if u want pictures of truly exceptional quality and unforgettable reminder of what for me was holiday made special by all mentioned above."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: alanya great friendly city with lots to do
  • Good For: Beach
by sevegwilson
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Gold Safran

Travellers also viewed

Gold Safran photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Gold Safran
  • by Roy Jamison

    " Drink plenty of water (free in the room fridge), drinks in hotel are 10TL, 2-5 Lira cheaper than elsewhere in Alanya. "

  • by Anthony Kyle Slavin

    " Book a taxi or a private bus if you've got kids and prams. It's a long enough journey and the transfer time is over 2hrs if you don't "

Similar hotels around Alanya

Hotels near Gold Safran

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Gold Safran?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Gold Safran? Share your insight.

Gold Safran is also called:

  • gold safran alanya
  • gold safran hotel alanya

Address: Obagol Mevki Fatih Cad. No:36 Alanya Merkez, Alanya 7400, Turkey