Sun Maris City Hotel

Cildir Mah 103. Sok, 21, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

3  / 10
(54 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
1
Good
8
Average
4
Poor
6
Awful
35

Rating by feature

Room: 5/10
Service: 6/10
Value: 5.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Sun Maris City Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
worst hotel i have stayed in

"We had paid for 2 weeks all inclusive to sun maris city

food was rubbish

drinks were rubbish, we ate out every morning and every evening, which we had not intedid on doing since we had already paid for food at our hotel..

Bar staff were very kind and friendly but the same cannot be said for reception staff.. we had a problem with drunks at 4am running about banging on our door blasting there music and shouting, we phoned down to reception to complain but nothing was done, and then receptio staff phone us dwn at 4.30am to make a written complaint there and then, but nothing was still do about it, even the next morning when the manager was meant to be comming i to sort it out, we waited for him but he never appeared and when we tried to discuss it withreception they just walked away and ignored us and a another couple who was also complaing about the drunks from the night before....

have been to turkey 7times now and i decided to stay in the sun maris city instead of my usual hotel and i wish i hadn't, soor any one looking to book i highly recommend the golden orange apartments that is where we are going back to this year...
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont stay at the sun maris
  • Good For: Beach
by l15mkn
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotels not for us .com

"booked two weeks holiday for my mum myself and my sister to take mam away for what should have been her golden wedding anniversary as we only lost our dad nine months ago.we had booked into the sun maris city and when we got there we where told there was a problem with water in our room so we had to go an other hotel. a man came in a car and took us to the sun maris beach and when we got there we where told to follow this young boy who then took us to an other hotel across the road the sunflower but this was bed only and had to go to the sunmaris beach for food and drink.well what can i say the food was the same ever meal time chicken was the choice every dinner time and evening we where all bad and it was a hassle for my mam to go all the time for drinks . all incusive holiday payed for but we had to spend more money to eat out holiday from hell not the word for it.the sunflower hotel is like a doss house two weeks and still waiting for them to fix the leaking toilet they just dont care .please dont book and of these hotels thanks .dawn bell."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by bella
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Vile place and please believe the bad reviews i never and wish i did !!

"Arrived at the hotel at 0600 on the 9/10/10. Our room wasn`t ready and they were refusing to give us another room both my friend and her 6 year old son were expected to sit and wait till 2pm that afternoon till our room was ready !!!! eventually we managed to get them to give us a room which, OMG was worse than a prison (see pics) the shower curtain was held up with coat hanger there was mould in the shower cracks in the tiles and that was just the bathroom. The couch was covered in white stains and the curtains never even covered the windows which again were covered in mould! We waited in this room until 11am and went to speak to the reception staff who after again persuading them they gave us another room!! haha bathroom again was manky! shower curtain was again held up with part of a coat hanger but was marginally better than the last room. so we were so fed up by this point , so we accepted this room. The food was bland and very poor in choice ! nothing for the kid to eat apart from chips the only good meals in the full week was the soup! the AI bar closed at 22.30 and even when it was open you were only aloud one drink at a time, so i couldnt go up and get my friend and the Kid a drink they had to go up there self. I don`t drink vodka but again OMG it was like drinking water in my Fanta ! one night in particular i drank 25 of the apparent Vodkas and still felt like i had not had a drink !! The music from the bar down stairs and the surrounding bars went on till 4am and i am by no means an early bedder! but you could be lying in your bed listening to a mash of sometimes 5 different songs going at once !The staff were very unhelpful and you knew they were constantly talking about the guests! The pool if that is what you called it was small, and because of its positioning with the surrounded buildings was always cold even on the roasting days !. I have attached some pictures although some of them don`t look that bad due to the flash, if you are brave enough to go to this hotel you will see for yourself. I have been to Marmaris 5 times before and have always loved it! but this stay is enough to put me off going back ! and if this was your first time there you prob wouldn`t want to go back . There is so much more i could tell you about but belive me this is just a summary, and was getting angry just writing this.!! Cant manage to put all my pics on this site but they are all on Trip advisor!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Stay Away Please believe the bad reviews, Wish i did.
  • Good For: Beach
by G_Man
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Don't believe all the bad reviews.

"When we arrived at the hotel we were'nt expecting much after reading the reviews. however we found after our ten day stay that the staff were all very friendly. The hotel was clean, daily maid service, might not be the best of decor but what do you expect for a 3 star hotel. Food was better than expected it was not just chicken and rice. For what we paid I think that we definately got value for our money. The hotel is located at an ideal spot and plenty going on out and about it. joined on to it is the Black Mirror Bar which i would highly recommend anyone to visit. I sometimes wonder if I was a different hotel than the rest. When we were there, there was alot of people complaining about everything if you want to have english food then i recomend you stay at home. You go to turkey you should expect turkish !!!!!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: You get what you paid for
  • Good For: Beach
by Wee bron bear
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

OMG.This hotel is a joke!!

"Me 19 and my to friend 19 and 23 went to this hotle. Within 6 hours of being there we had £700 stole out of our room. Made it worse because the money was in envelops in a zipped up bags in a locked room. So could have only been someone who worked there. The food well dont get me started. We didnt eat anything for 3 days as we couldnt afford to eat out and the hotel food was sickening. We basical went away to get drunk and have fun but no chance of getting drunk in this hotel or evan drinking pop or water.The bar stops at half 10 and after 9 you can only get one drink each. It tastes of **** !!!!!!!!!!

The manager and staff are ignorant ****(sorry for the language but im getting angry).

Dont go. The balconys are no bigger then a coffee table and air con dont work. Shower and the whole room floods. There were no bulbs apart from one. A gas pipe held by a cloths peg and tape. The phone didnt work. The wardrobe didnt have any doors, the beds were broke and waited till 5am the next day for a new one.

Please go to turkey and have a good time because it brill but dont go to this hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach
by paige27
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

hell on earth !!!!!!!!!

"we booked this hotel because of its location near the beach, its the worst hotel i have ever been too. it was dirty !!!!!! we complained and seen the rep after 5 days there, she wasnt prepared to do any thing about it. the management wasnt prepared to talk. the staff were just plain rude in every way, we took photos of food being prepared and LEFT outside in the sun. plugs with bare wires. tiles with jagged edges. we complained and no one wantrd to know, we tried the food the 1st day we was there then spent a fortune eating out because the food was so bad, its such a shame because the turkish people as a whole are such lovely people. i had lived in turkey and knew that this wasnt the 'norm',when we arrived home we tried to complain to the travel company who just didnt want to know, it was a complete and utter waste of money i will never book with that company again,i understand quite alot of turkish and it was disgusting to hear what the waiters where saying about the women!!!! WE ARE NOT FUSSY PEOPLE BUT WORDS OF ADVICE. HAVE A LOVELY TURKISH HOLIDAY BUT NEVER IN THIS HOTEL!!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, All Inclusive, booked with imperial travel .com
  • Advice: hell hole
  • Good For: Beach
by well travelled lady
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holiday from hell

"this was the worst holiday i have had in turkey out of 22.the hotel was a danger zone with ambulances coming nearly every day due to accidents due to safety issues,it cost my friend £50 to have a xray on her foot due to slipping on wet floors with no warning signs.the local hospital must have made a fortune out of people in this hotel due to safety issues.we had to change rooms 3 times eg the first one was very dirty,damp and small,2nd was a lot better with sea view but due to noise from disco bar at the front we couldnt get more than 1-2 hours sleep a night, so moved into 3rd room on the 7th day which was better. the bar in the hotel closed at 10.30pm and then the disco bar opened but this was not all inclusive.1 would not recommend this hotel to anyone.The only thing that kept us sane was Andys bar over the road where they had a nice pool and no hassle they were very good to us. very dissappointed pensioners."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Andys bar
  • Good For: Beach
by wenmorris
1 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Worst holiday ever

"Booked the Sun Maris Beach hotel in Marmaris for our summer holiday this year but on arrival found ourselves in the Sun Maris hotel.After complaining to everyone and calling the uk we had to stay here as our hotel was fully booked.I have never stayed in a worse hotel.The pool was really small,only got sun in the afternoon.The room was even worse small,damp and smelly would be good words to describe it and as usual not nearly enough sunbeds.On arrival home and after following the complaints procedure as asked Sunsave holidays didnt want to know.Do not book your holiday with this company in my experience if anything goes wrong they dont want to know."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Sunsave
  • Advice: Favourite restaurant was Alibabas authentic kebabs fantastic.Take the jeep safari to see the sights
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by stevieshields
1 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Beware!!

"I booked to go as a group of 8 girls with bookable holidays. We were put in two seperate hotels, the Sun Maris BEACH and the Sun Maris CITY. They are two very different hotels and to nowhere near the same standard. This was the tour operators fault and they did not care what so ever. It really did spoil our holiday as the two hotels were a 20minute walk apart. We booked the Sun Maris Beach and were very dissappointed to be in the Sun Maris City the pool has 8 sun loungers and Mainly full of ignorant Russians, the food was good however, you are allowed one drink per person and there is always a que, This gets very frustrating.

As a group of girls wanting a lively holiday we are not fussy by any means but we were in a triple room in which all the beds were pushed so tightly together there was no space between them and we were unable to even sit at the dressing table as there was no space in the room for a chair, we literally had to walk across the beds to get into the room. It was awful. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean. Only book to stay here if you get it extremely cheap! It is is a good location however the pool and lack of space at it means guests can not relax there during the day and have to go to the beach and pay for drinks and snacks when it should have been included in the price. It is definately not suitable for families with children and If you don't spend too much time in the hotel sunbathing it will be fine!! The all inclusive is pointless as you can not take any advantage of it.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Bookable Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by karlaxox
2 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The worst hotel in Turkey

"The Worst Hotel In Turkey

Myself and my partner checked into the Sun Maris City hotel on 11/07/2009 following our booking with Holiday Click and Youtravel.com, bear in mind we paid 429.00 GBP per person for a 14night stay all inclusive

When we arrived the transfer A2B transfers dropped us about a mile away from the hotel, saying that he could not get his little shuttle bus down the street, We realised later that he was told not too as the sun maris city is an embaresment and they didnt want to be seen near it.

We arrived at the hotel and checked into room 113, this room was small, dingy, smelly, the air con did not work, and there was no hot water, and was the wrong room for us as we booked and paid for doublebed with a balcony/terrace, this had neither.

The Staff were extremeley rude, and border line racist towards english people, infact the one of the barman even told me to my face when i questioned him about his rudeness, he said that he didnt like english people as he thought we were scum, they prefered russian.

There was so many russion people staying at the hotel, IT IS A RUSSION ORIENTED HOTEL with no regard for the British

The hotel has stupid rules, they shut the Bar at 10:30pm to all customers including all inclusive, then decide to put entertaintment on at 11:00pm and charge you for your drinks, and if you try to questions, the hotel staff are rude to you and pretend they dont understand.

The food was exactly the same, chicken and rice for two weeks, no variation what so ever, the food was served in dirty scummy sliver trays.

A terrible experience that has left us very upset, every one in the hotel was not happy with it, but the sun maris do not care.

A man even got trapped in a lift.

BE WARNED !
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, booked with youtravel.com and holiday click
  • Advice: Marmaris is beautiful, just dont stay at the sun maris city hotel
  • Activities: Puppie bar
by dazpurplehaze
1 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our fornight at Sun Maris

"The first thing that struck us was the state of the sun beds as we walked into the hotel. They were filthy, the grass in the garden area was almost non exsistant mainly a muddy area were water laid on top of the parched earth.

The receiption area is fine and the staff very helpful. The room Oh My God! The bathroom was a disgrace, mould around the grouting & no silicone around the wash basin. A grubby shower curtain with mould and broken rings. Tiles missing, toilet loose. The bedroom was basic looked quite clean until we went to put our cases under the bed. This area was full of fluff & dirt. Air conditioning didn't work properly okay for first 15 minutes then cut out, reported this to hotel they sent an engineer 3 times however problem never resolved, This was very uncomfortable at night we requalary woke up in pools of sweat. The hotel advised the air conditioning may cut out when it reached a certain tempreauture. We had this set at 16 degrees in a heat of 30 degrees night time tempreatures it was impossible to cool down in such a sort space of time. I asked if this was the case why did it not automatically come back on then when the tempreature increased? I got no response. The diining room and bar staff were very pleasant and helpful. Less could be said of the food the salads were nice however one got fed up after 14 days of eating salads and water melon. The hot option was either boiled chicken an undescrible fish full of bones meatballs or burgers. This was very sparely dished out as were all the hot options. Generally every were needed a lick of paint. Would not call this a 4 star as sold to us in our paperwork not even a 3 star 2 would be generous.

Oh watch out at Dalaman Airport they charge you £5 per kilo over weight on your luggage even if you are half a kilo over by their scales. Also the cost of refreshemnts at this airport is scandalous.

Don't think we shall be going back to Marmaris or Turkey in the near future nice country with scenic views however the hassel you get when just trying to walk out of an evening and shopping is awful. Also they try to fill up the resturants & bars by pulling people in wistling the waiter to come over and asking seated customers to move tables in order to fit more people in. We felt like we were in a mad house.
"

by mrobin
4 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

decent hotel, basic but what we wanted

"I stayed at the Sun Maris Beach Hotel along with 3 friends, all lads, all 19 years old. The room was fine, a good size and clean. Air conditioning wasnt the best but kind of did the job. Hot water tap ran cold, cold tap ran hot water which took us a couple of days to figure out. Balcony was quite big however we had the lovely view of the waste bins. we didnt find this a problem at all as we hardly spent any time on the balcony. The staff were always helpful when we needed anything. Maid did a great job as our rooms tended to get messy but as soon as she had been it was always clean and tidy. The pool was large, however all one level, so maybe a problem for younger children or less able swimmers. The beer was ok, wouldnt choose to pay for it, but as it was free we drank it. However the vodkas that we normally had with coke or orange, were very strong. We didnt mind this as it set us on our way nicely. The barmen were very good. The one drink per person after 9 o clock (at night) was annoying as the plastic cups they served the drinks in were rather small. One disapointment was the food, which we all felt was poor. We ate only once or twice in the restaurant and very little each time. If you dont mind chicken in a different sauce each night then you may not mind the food. We ate out a lot, normally at a Burger King or McDonalds but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. There is a bar opposite, that we always went to, called Andys Sexy Bar. We went there every night and the fishbowls we had there were great, good music n really friendly staff. Definitely try one! The four of us always left this place having spent quite little n very very drunk. We loved the resort as a whole, plenty of bars and clubs. Great atmosphere on the beach front and on bar street. Bar street much more expensive though. Overall, we had a great time. The other revies for Sun Maris beach Hotel seem very unfair. If you are going for great cuisine then id say this isnt the hotel for you but apart from the food it was fine. Marmaris is buzzing and would love to go back there. Id recoomend this hotel for groups, but there was a good number of families there aslo which seemed to be enjoying their holiday as well."

by prez19
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Sun Maris City Hotel Closest airport: Dalaman (DLM) 30.9 miles

Travellers also viewed

Sun Maris City Hotel photos (5 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Marmaris

Hotels near Sun Maris City Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sun Maris City Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sun Maris City Hotel? Share your insight.

Sun Maris City Hotel is also called:

  • hotel sun maris city
  • sun maris city marmaris
  • Sun Maris Hotel
  • sun maris hotel marmaris

Address: Cildir Mah 103. Sok, 21, Marmaris 48700, Turkey