Hyde Park Lane Bungalows

3.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(38 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
13
Good
16
Average
3
Poor
0
Awful
6

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hyde Park Lane Bungalows

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Great value for money

"We stayed for 10 days last year and have just booked to go again in March this year. We have opted for the air con option for comfort - but will have to adjust to the rather hard beds. We enjoyed the smaller pool and found the walk to the seafront easy. This is certainly excellent value for money!"

by Big Alan B
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Pleasent, affordable accommodation, a good base to enjoy the island.

"The staff are helpful when possible, the reception is well staffed with English speaking staff. The onsite supermarket is convenient for those self catering but it is very expensive, the island as a whole is expensive. (£3 for a soft drink, and you need lots of them)it is cheaper to walk to Puerto Del Carmen (20 minutes) shop at the spar and get a taxi back, (3.5 euros)

A bit off the beaten track, you will need to be able to walk 400m to the main road and beach. (up hill on the way back)

Hire a fan for 16 euros per week and an apartment safe for 6 euros per week. The built in bedroom ceiling fans can be quite noisy but they need to be on all night so can disturb your sleep. The beds are not great, quite hard and shabby bases. TV in the room had limited reception 3 or 4 English channels with quite poor reception. (room 83)

The grounds are well maintained, lots of plants and lighting is sufficient to make your way back to the room safely in evening. The pool area is clean with an attendant/lifeguard on hand. The bar is next to the pool and they sell bar meals all day and pizzas (7 euros) of an evening. Entertainment is basic and not every night.

A family site with lots of young happy children, parents sunbathing while the kids enjoy the pool. Some topless sunbathing but not a great deal so be prepared if it's something you are not comfortable with. Not a site for the single 18 - 25 party animal!

Remember your tour rep is there to sell you the trips at very inflated prices you can buy them MUCH cheaper in Puerto del Carmen. The pick up from your tour rep (Thompsons) might not even be from your hotel, be prepared to walk for 15 minutes to the bus stop. Book your own taxi (3.20 euros each way door to door)for the Texas Rancho and pay at the gate. The Rancho Texas is also the best waterpark. Take your own food and drinks.

Vacate rooms by 12 noon when leaving.I was unable to keep my room on until pick up time due to demand so it is obviously a popular complex.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with Skytours
  • Advice: Accept its a cheap and chearful holiday location. There are many minor faults but helpful staff will remedy if possible.
by KR-UK-13
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lovely complex

"great holiday , the bungalows are great nice & clean / bright , the bar was a bit empty but we did go in october , yes the beds are a bit hard but you get used to them 2/3 good pools , on site supermarket , reception & maids nice & friendly , nice stroll to the entertainment ( about 5 mins )all in all a nice well kept complex i would say well above average , we are returning in 2 weeks time so that about says it all , oh & if you like live music visit the dubliner ."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, Booked Independently
  • Advice: try a night in the dubliner
  • Good For: Beach
by john_downey
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Holiday

"We regularly take our holidays in Lanzarote and have been there for the last 10 years. During these holidays we have stayed in Costa Teguise and Puerto Del Carmen in hotels and apartments. In October 2011 my wife scanned the Internet and decided on the Hyde Park Lane Bungalows. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Elizabeth in Reception and given all the details of the complex. We found our bungalow neat, tidy and comfortable and any special requests were dealt with immediately. We could not find anything that we disliked. We will be returning and would recommend the Hyde Park Lane which we thoroughly enjoyed."

  • Holiday details: Nov 2011, Self Catering, booked with Holiday City
  • Good For: Beach
by happy traveller
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

best holiday ever

"carnt wait to return next year, went with a large group of family 7 adults and 4 kids, two of which was wheelchair users... my son who uses a electric wheelchair found it easy to get around and loved it... staff was great and always there to help, it was really quiet when we went but thats how we like it.. matagorda is bout 20min walk on the seafront but taxis are really cheap aswell..the bbq is a really good idea, as we did a cuple of nights and every one enjoyed it, yes the beds are hard but didnt put us off, fantastic holiday......"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, self catering, booked with Thomson
by lynn
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Bit to far away from centre

"Just returned from Hyde Park Lane Bungalows, had a relaxing time but would have liked a top bungalow! or one that overlooked the biggest outdoor pool. Beds were the hardest I have ever slept on, even tried the floor on one night as my back was so sore, that didn't help. I then had a great idea and took the mattress from the sofa bed and used that on my bed, problem solved ;)

Hyde Park was near enough to the beach but not as near to the centre, ended up with blisters on my feet! take some good old trusted comfy shoes!!

Had read reviews before I went and paid a visit to the Python bar from the beer for 1 euro 50, yes was the cheapest in the area. Python is left away from the main strip in Porta Del Carmen and I found the restaurants were a little cheaper that end as well.

We sampled the entertainment in the bar and had a great laugh, no it wasn't a commedian but a singer who sang like a smurf..lol.. Simon Cowell would have loved it!!

Overall the holiday was good but I wouldn't return due to the beds and distance which seem to get further as the week went on!!
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
by ME
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hyde Park Lane Bungalows

"ACCOMMODATION

This accommodation is a bit too far away from anything decent. It's a shame because it has a nice pool and a fab kids pool. The staff are nice and everything is kept clean and well maintained. Our room was cleaned & fresh towels were left on 6 of the 9 days we stayed.

We had a nice omelette in the pool bar on one occasion but then an absolutely disgusting "english breakfast" on another. My advice is don't eat there. We ate in a different restaurant every night but the only edible food was found in the English bars. If you plan to do any of your own cooking, the shop on site is OK but the one down the hill and to the left is cheaper - and you only get 2 cooking rings (no oven) and a microwave. Also, take as much food with you as you can (pasta, cereal etc) as everything is REALLY expensive. There's no air con in the room but you don't need it - Lanzarote is windy so if you have the windows open it's not hot inside. Please note that you have to pay extra for EVERYTHING, the safe, the TV, a fan, and even a parasol for the pool area is 16 euros!! and there is no shade around the pool area whatsoever.

LOCATION

If you are already booked to go there, make sure you don't pay for a transfer as it's only 10 Euros in a taxi (no stopping at 10 other places before yours). Some of the other reviews say it's a 15/20 minute walk to the bars & restaurants etc which is kind of true, but 15/20 mins will only get you to the END of the main strip - you are looking at more like 30/35 mins to the centre of it where everything is and if you want to see the old town at the far end you can forget walking altogether - also very hilly around the immediate area with huge curbs so quite difficult if you have a pushchair. The taxis are all on meters though so you don't get ripped off and its only about 4 Euros to the centre which is fine if you factor it into your budget. Just ask in reception and they'll call one for you.

OTHER STUFF

We did the trip to Costa Teguise Market (6Euros for adults & 3Euros for kids over 3) but would not recommend it as it's mostly tat and every stall is exactly the same.

The weather is great, lovely & sunny but always a breeze so you never get too hot, and the temperature drops off in the evening so by about 19:30 you can shower and go out comfortably.

The holidaymakers there are about 80% Irish.

The beaches are clean and never too busy - would not say the water was safe for kids to swim though as always quite choppy due to the breeze
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: take lots of spending money for meals
  • Activities: The Toby Jug & The Barge Inn
by watchdog1
6 / 10

19 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Road works !

"Good self catering accommodation-maid service 5 out of 7 days with clean towels at every visit.

Our two parties were given semi-detached bungalows with adjoining door - very convenient.

If you head downhill to the beach and then turn left it was much less busy.

Walk 10 mins-excellent Chinese restaurant at nearest end of block, then excellent fillet steak at other end of block.

Follow pavement nearest beach for another 5 mins -look for English run cafe serving english breakfast,homemade cakes and mugs of tea/coffee - lovely!

If you head right at the bottom of the hill onto the main drag, there are dozens of restaurant,shops etc but it seems the whole stretch is roadworks and will be for months!

Workmen,JCBs,pneumatic drills - we didn't go back until evening when the noise/dust had settled.

Excellent small restaurant on the sea side of the road-El Marineiros(or similar!)

Would definitely go back to resort but only AFTER roadworks are finished.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Peurto del Carmen is excellent for walking but will be better AFTER extensive roadworks are finished
  • Activities: Only went on the 'blanket' trip-didn't buy any bedding but a good half day sightseeing for free!
  • Good For: Beach
by stephbaggott
8 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excellent holiday

"just want to say what an excellent holiday we have just had. these bungalows are lovely, very clean and spacious. location in a quieter area but only a short walk from the best beach on the island, great for kids and no bustling crowds. the bungalows are only a 3€ taxi ride from the main town or a 30 min stroll (down hill and turn right) if you want a nite on the town. also make sure you go down hill and turn left for other bars and restaurants, there are plenty to choose from in los pocillos and matagorda area which are a lot cheaper than the main town. we only found these on our last 4 nights there as all reps say to turn right! the bar we found and used on all our last 4 nights was pythons only a 10 min walk away opp beach they boast at being the cheapest on the whole island for drinks and we could not prove them wrong! dont make the misake we did and not find this area until our last few nights.

overall great holiday and would definately go back.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: definately a lovely area
  • Activities: pythons bar, volcano trip
  • Good For: Beach
by michelle127
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

These Bungalows are very clean,...

"These Bungalows are very clean, spacious and the maid came in most days over the 14 days to clean and change the towels. The pool area was lovley and the pool was cleaned every morning, you could always get a sunbed. The Pool Bar and Restaurant were also very good and served snacks etc at a very reasonable price. There was a little park and a pool table for the kids. We had a lovley 2 weeks and the weather was fab what is always nice about Lanzarote is that there was a nice breeze to keep you cool. There was nornally a singer on in the pool bar of an evening but cannot comment on how good he was. There was also a child's entertainer on once a week, with face painting and games etc. The reception and supermarket were brilliant and had every facility you needed. The only downside of this resort is that I would class this as Puerto del Carmen. It is a little set back from the main strip and is a little walk away from the main road to access Puerto Del Carmen and Matagorda with rather a steep hill to walk back up but a very pleasant walk. There are always plenty of taxi's which Reception are happy to call for you and they are also very reasonable.

What a Fab place Lanzarote, just clean well looked after and filled with great Bars and Restaurant's and if you are looking for a busy, good nightlife, shopping and nice beaches you need to stop in Puerto Del Carmen. If you want relaxing, good food and wine and like Planes then Matagorda is the place to stay without a doubt. You can stand on the beach next to the Airport and watch the planes take off and land and even get that close that the pilots will wave to you if you are lucky.

I would recommend anyone to stay at either the Sol Lanzarote or the Costa Sol Bungalows or the Guacametra in Matagorda all faboulous Apartments in a Fab location
"

by M ICKE
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I don't think much to the Bar, the...

"I don't think much to the Bar, the Pool, or the Restaurant however the Bungalows are Bright, Spacious, and Clean & Cheap. We have stayed here before and only use the Hyde Park to cook Breakfast & Sleep.

Positioned just outside the noisy resort of Puerto Del Carmen, you can experience peace and tranquillity when you want by staying in your peaceful Bungalow or go into town and Boogie. The best of both worlds!
"

by David J McCormack
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I have been to Lanzarote 8 times and...

"I have been to Lanzarote 8 times and it never fails to impress me. Alot of work has been done to the area especially on the beaches. I have always stayed at Hyde Park Lane, and it has always been a great place to stay. The staff are so friendly and helpful if you ask them for anything. It’s like a home from home. You can come and go as you please from the bungalow. and not have to worry, there are security men always walking round during the night and they are very friendly too. The entertainment is naff, but it doesn’t stop you from walking to the local bars or hotels to take advantage of the entertainment there.

The best restaurant is in a small place called Tias just up the mountain. Iguaden is amazing the food is delicious. If you stay at Hyde Park, I wouldn’t suggest using the restaurant as the menu is limited. But if you’re around the pool and want a quick burger or sandwich to eat outside, then the small bar is perfect, everything is cooked fresh while you wait. Look for the good restaurants in Puerto Del Carmen and you will be so full with the portions you get for your money.

Lanzarote is a very relaxing holiday. Timanfiya, catamaran or boat trips, submarines, Costa Teguise market, Medieval night was great for "here we go" holiday fans. So much fun to have!

I definitely think the Lanza-grote days are over.. It’s a beautiful place, they have spent alot of money to bring in tourists so seriously take advantage of it and get a car to explore the island to find beaches in the middle of nowhere...

Lanzarote is the best... Hyde Park lane is Home from Home.
"

by L Linskey
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Hyde Park Lane Bungalows Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 2.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hyde Park Lane Bungalows
  • by happy traveller

    " If you want most of the sun pick a bungalow that has a balcony. "

Similar hotels around Puerto Del Carmen

Hotels near Hyde Park Lane Bungalows

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hyde Park Lane Bungalows?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hyde Park Lane Bungalows? Share your insight.

Hyde Park Lane Bungalows is also called:

  • hotel hyde park lane
  • hyde park lane hotel

Address: Calle Hungria, 6, Lanzarote 35009, Spain