Marino Tenerife

Calle Minerva 2, Tenerife 38630, Spain
3 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(25 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
11
Good
9
Average
2
Poor
1
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 6.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Marino Tenerife

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Great apartment crap location

"The hotel is absolutley fantastic. We were in a one bedroon apartment, we had 2 on suites, and 2 great balconies, our room was directly above reception, facing out on the main rd, if i had the chance beforehand, i'd have picked this room myself. The onsite restuarant is bobbins, although you have kaygan's bar on site also which is a bit better! The resort itself is absolutley boring though. The shops shut at 21:00 and the bars not much later! I can not reccomend caths corner just up the road. Stay away from neils diner, the food is rubbish, though the lad serving is a great kid. You can get the bus from opposite the dino hypermarket to los cristianos or las americas for a euro each and they are every 20 mins!!!!!

When you check in, the staff will tell you las galletas is the nearest beach, stay away it is rocks and stinks of seaweed and *****.

The entertainment at the marino is boring, it is the only thing that let's it down. Oh and stellas is one of the worst breakfasts we have had. Exiles bar is also well worth a look.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: prepare for hot sweaty nights
by alex. stockport
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A wonderful relaxing holiday

"We stayed at the Marino Tenerife for two weeks at the end of July/start of August 2011 - myself, my husband and our 6 year old daughter. We had a great time.

We had carefully read the reviews before we left and there are some truths in the negative ones so I'll get that out of the way first because most of my review is very positive. Yes, the resort is a bit tired looking. The rooms could do with a bit of an overhaul - new kitchens etc and more plug sockets. Saying that though, they were spotless and cleaned regularly. We had a two bedroom apartment which was a very good size and had 2 double beds, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies and an open plan kitchen/dining/living area. We also had a washing machine which was very handy (although the first one didn't work and it took 3 attempts to get it replaced!) It was meant to accomodate six and could have done so easily. There were big wardrobes in both bedrooms so lots of space for clothes. Others we spoke to who had one bedroom apartments did complain about the sofa beds in the living room and I wouldn't have wanted to sleep on the ones in our living area. There is also no air conditioning in the apartments but there are ceiling fans. This was fine for us as the temperature does cool down a bit on a night, and we could create a good through-breeze on an evening by opening the windows and patio doors. However, some people whose apartments got the sun on an evening found it harder to cool down. We arrived in the middle of the night (flight delay, not the hotel's fault) and were checked in by a night security man who was perfectly polite but seemed to miss out vital information, like the fact that we needed to put a little card from the key fob into a box by the door in the apartment to make the electricity work! (You don't have to do that in all of the apartments). He also didn't tell us there was a lift so we carried our cases up 2 flights of stairs. (There is a lift in one part of the hotel where apartments starting with a 1, 2 or 3 are but I couldn't see one for the other part with room numbers starting with a 4 or 5. We were in 311). He did take a copy of my credit card as a deposit and I got that copy back when I checked out. Nothing was taken from it.

So, the hotel itself. It was a perfect size for us, as the pool area was just right for us to be able to sit and watch our daughter play in the pools or on the kids playground or be in and out of the mini club room. There are no parasols but you can take a sunbed and put it wherever you like, and there are shady areas if you want them. You are not supposed to be able to reserve sunbeds (although people do!), but I never saw them run out. Also around the pool is a small 'supermarket' (more like a biggish corner shop size really) which stocks essentials, although there are better and bigger only a short walk away. Go out of the hotel and turn either left or right, and there are bigger supermarkets in both directions. We liked the one where you turned right (its a 'HiperDino', I think it used to be Netto) best for fruit as you could pick up your own. If you turned left you got to a Hermusa supermarket which was better for some things (water was cheaper) but the fruit was behind a counter and you had to ask.

We had a look around the local area a bit (mainly when going to supermarkets) and there doesn't seem to be much there really. There are a number of places to eat but I can't comment on them as we didn't eat in any. The shopping centre (Chapparel) does look a bit run down. We didn't go in, but saw it when we went to the bus stop, which is about a 15 minute walk from the Marino. We tried to buy a Bono Vita card and were told by hotel reception that we could buy one on the bus - however this didn't seem to happen. We went out twice on the bus - once to Los Christianos and another time to Playa de las Americas. We found it very hard to know where we were or when to get off the bus! We also went to Aqualand on the bus which picks up from the hotel - 2.50 euros each return for the journey (book through reception). It was good and the dolphin show was brilliant. (I think there are bigger slides at Siam Park but this was good for younger children). Take your own food though because what they sold was overpriced and not that nice.

We went self-catering and most nights we ate at Kaygans bar, which is a small bar/resteraunt on site by the pool. (We didn't eat at the hotel resteraunt so can't comment on that). Steve and Amy, who run Kaygans, are just the friendliest people you will ever meet and Amy's cooking is wonderful. Everything is freshly prepared and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed everything we ate there and a special mention must go to Amy's homemade Bailey's Cheesecake which is to die for! Most evenings we sat there and had a drink and watched the evening entertainment rather than at the resteraunt. There was entertainment every night which started at around 9pm - 4 nights out of 7 with a children's disco for half an hour, and then some kind of an act (clown, singer, dancer etc). In the height of summer this all takes place outside and finishes between half 11 and midnight. Unfortunately this means that you hear it whether you like it or not - or you certainly do if your apartment faces the pool area, like ours did. And it is pretty loud. Most nights it didn't bother us too much but it would have if our daughter was younger or a poor sleeper. Apparently earlier and later in the season it all happens in the nightclub on site (Koko Bongo!) as it gets a lot cooler in the evenings. There was also some entertainment during the day too - AquaGym in the pool, some adult activities such as darts, or rifle shooting, and kids games too (the highlight being the Thursday chocolate party where the aim was to play games and get covered in chocolate!)

On our last day our flight home was not until 6.30pm and we had to check out by 10am (despite what Jet2 told us!). However, there is a courtesy room where you can leave your bags and have a shower. Bizarrely there appears to be no electricity in this room except for in one of the two bathrooms? Anyway, it was good for what we wanted it for and meant we could enjoy our last day by the pool knowing we could get cleaned up before our flight.

All in all we had a great holiday and would go back.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Self-catering, booked with jet2 holidays
  • Advice: Tips - take lots of suncream as it is fearsomely expensive, and also take some Raid Ant and Cockroach killer for the tiny little ants which are everywhere and the odd cockroach (we only saw one in our apartment but it was quickly exterminated!)
by Neil&Jo
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday

"room had everything including washing machine iron and hair dryer was slightly dated but who sits looking at walls on holidays

kaygans great bar great food lovely staff

20 minutes from los christinos and americas only 1.25 euros nice clean public transport

WOULD RETURN HERE TOMORROW IF WE COULD HOWEVER IF YOU HAVE TEENAGERS THEY MAY BE BORRRRRRRRRRRED OUR 2 DID TOWARDS END OF 2ND WEEK
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with SUNMASTER
  • Advice: Have a really good walk on 1st day check bus stops etc
by NURSE PAT
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Marino Tenerife

"Just got back from Marino Tenerife where we had a lovely time. The Marino is a clean family friendly hotel situated in a quiet mainly residential area. The staff were very helpful and cheerful,rooms were cleaned daily,towels changed twice a week and bedding once. In need of some updating and very minor repairs but that doesnt distract from a good experience.Rooms had fridge ,microwave ,iron and board,cooker, telly with only 2 english speaking channels,hair dryer (though it was a big one not particularly made for tricky hair dressing!)and clock radio.We had a large patio with plastic table ,chairs and sun loungers.We ate mainly at Kaygans which was run by Steve and Amy who were welcoming and friendly,the prices were very reasonable and the food was freshly made. The pool area was clean with lots of loungers and activities for adults daily as well as the childrens club. The entertainment was poolside in the evening stopping at 11pm but continuing in the nightclub til late.There are a few places to eat locally probably about 10 mins walk away which is also on the way to the bus stop taking you, on air conditioned coaches to Los Cristianos and Las Americas. Bus fares were cheap and that was about the only bargain as exchange rate is rubbish."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Room Only, booked with Going on Hoilday
by susanw6475
9 / 10

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Enjoyable

"Firstly, Silencio is not a holiday resort. The hotel is clean and peaceful, albeit with plenty going on. Our room was spacious and comfortable with all you need. It may not be bang up to date, but it's true that you get what you pay for. We had a couple of minor problems with the room, which were dealt with quickly and efficiently, regardless of the time of day. Staff were all friendly and helpful. There is activity taking place throughout the day if you want it, and nightly entertainment at the onsite club, Koko Bongo free of charge. Quality of act is variable, but there is a good atmosphere around the place and it is very friendly. Half board, personally I had no problem with the food, though some reviewers have. Dishes can be repetetive, but there is a choice of 4 meat dishes per night, plus a cold counter for salads. Breakfast is either cooked or continental, so I don't quite know what some people expect. The surrounding area is residential, but there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity. There are a few supermarkets, the best being Hermusa, go left out of the hotel and it is at the end of the road a few hundred yards aaway. Other shops, bars, restaurants etc turn right out of hotel. Cristianos and Las Americas are both a bus ride away. The buses are frequent, and the stop is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The fares (06/09) were 1.30 to Cristianos and 1.65 to Las Americas. Day trips can be arranged on site via Karen your rep. We went on an island tour taking in Tiede, the volcano on which Tenerife stands. Well worth it, spectacular scenery. There are various tours up the mountain takin in different other places. We also had a day trip to La Gomera, another canary island a 45 min ferry trip from Cristianos. Again, an enjoyable day out with some great scenery and photo opportunities. Lunch is included in the price for this one. Overall, a very enjoyable holiday, relaxing, peaceful and met some nice people too."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Ideal for older couples and/or young families
  • Activities: Tiede, A must see on Tenerife.
by jim58
8 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont take the half board

"GREAT Stay at this hotel with plenty to do for my two children age 7-13 entertainment day and night be it activities round the pool in the day or cabaret' magic'comedy shows ect at night. Although the hotel itself is a little dated its clean and tidy. The only down side to this holiday is that on arrival we were talked into taking the half board package and although it was only 12 euros pp we still felt ripped off. We went to the resteraunt every day for the food but every day we left and went to the bar at the side of the pool and ate as it was always cold the evening BBQ was a joke if you call food cooked in the oven in the afternoon then served up at 8.00 in the evening a BBQ They do a pielle demo on sunday morning and sell it on but whats left is put out for the evening meal Great if you want deli beli Kaygans bar at side of pool brill. Great food decent price and very freindly and helpfull staff They also do BBQ real BBQ that is cooked in front of you and served straight away Allin all great value"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
by jubilee
7 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Accomodation

"We stayed at the Marino for a week on a half board basis in Feb.

The hotel itself is great, the apartments are equipped with everything you need, there's a 4 ring hob, oven, microwave, kettle, iron and ironing board so anyone staying self catering will have ample facilities to cook a half decent meal without too much trouble. The balcony was a decent size with patio furniture so all in all it was good for facilities.

There's a shop on site with everything you need but there's a bigger Netto store up the road for a bigger shop. The staff were polite and helpful.

The restaurant was a good size and the food was ok but not the greatest. It filled a gap if you couldn't be bothered to go out but we did end up eating out a couple of nights to break the manotiny and get out to somewhere with some life.

The pool area is nice but the sun only shines on one side so all of the beds are cramped in one area and the nearest beach is a good 30 min walk and it's not much too see and wouldn't really call it a beach.

There's not a lot to do in the area and even the nearest town is a bit of a ghetto so would avoid if possible.

We hired a car for the week and spent most days on the beach at Los Christianos or Playa De Las Americas, it was a 10 min drive, easy to find and everywhere has free parking so no traumas trying to translate a Pay and Display machine!

I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay here but I wouldn't recommend the resort (and I use the word loosely). We're not party goers and was looking for a relaxing holiday but even this resort had us looking else where for something to do in the evenings.
"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2009, Half Board, booked with Sunshine.co.uk
  • Advice: Great hotel - not a great resort to stay
by PennyP
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good all round hotel

"My partner and I (in our 30's) just spent a 4 day break at the Marino Tenerife. As already stated in other reviews the hotel is quite dated (and a first put us off), but clean everywhere. The staff are the friendliest I have ever known at a hotel or resort. There were mainly English guests staying when we were and everyone made an effort to join in the entertainment provided. The main entertainment guy, Siso, was great at encouraging everyone to join in the water polo, French boules, mini mini golf, shooting and evening entertainment provided at the on-site "nightclub" (think 80's decor) called KoKo Bongo. Without making the entertainment sound "cheesy" it really was quite good fun, and was a great way of getting talking to other guests. The hotel is located in a nice area, within about 10 min walk of the bars and restaurants in Silencio. We went into Silencio on the Sat night and had a drink in one bar, it seemed to be full of English ex pats on their Sat night out. We didn't try any other bars but to be honest they weren't that tempting. Were were half board at the hotel, and the food was very good. It was buffet style breakfast and evening meal, the breakfast was more than adequate and the evening meal was a choice of loads of salads to start and either fish, pork, beef (done differently each night) with various potatoes, or rice (one night) and vegetables. Pudding was cakes or fruit. Drinks were reasonable with a very good glass of house red at 1.50 euros. We paid £163.00 for 4 nights half board for two and thought the food was very good value. We ate at the pool bar (owned by the hotel) each lunchtime and the food was very good there - excellent pizza's and one lunchtime they made a huge paella in front of everyone and it was 6.50 euros per person including a glass of sangria. We had a few drinks at Kaygans bar but didn't eat there, though other guests said the food was good. It had the English football showing, so handy if you want to keep up with that. The pool was a nice size, plenty of sunbeds, though half the poolside was in the shade all the time; there was a sun terrace one floor above the pool area which was quiet if you wanted to keep away from the pool. We walked to Las Galletas a couple of times but as previously mentioned it is very run down and we couldn't see anywhere decent to eat for lunch. We didn't venture beyond there, though have visited Los Cristianos in the past and its worth a bus ride to have a look a the nice square, plus if you wanted the beach for the day - there is no beach at Silencio. All in all we felt that the Marino Tenerife was great value for a break in the sun."

by jan.robinson
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotel marino

"just returned form week here was nice holiday, the hotel was pleasent, clean, room or apartment was spacious, we were HB to.. had kitchen seperate bedroom washing machine etc., 2 bed settees. 2 balcony's,

the hotel is little dated and in need or paint job but its nice clean friendly and was fun, the food was basic but ok buffet for HB with good selection all round,, 2 bars one at pool during pool hrs and the other is kaygans owned by english cpl, peter and jo who were fab,, mind of info and the food was lovely to.. food all day here and open til late with sky tv and sports on.they made big part or our holiday thankd guys!!

. pool large and well maintained life guard on duty who sorts out games in it to..

it is little out of the way but if all u want is sun and relax with nothing major to go see etc then its fine.. although the latger bustling resorts are only 6 miles away and taxi are not bad priced.
"

by k&g
8 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotel very clean, hotel staff very...

"hotel very clean, hotel staff very helpful, room cleaned every day. room had all facilites, including hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cutlery, even cork screw, microwave coffee maker toaster fridge hob and oven, some rooms even have washing machine . All round very enjoyable stay , and would recommend to any one. On site there is a super market , dive centre restaurant and snack bars open in the day.

2 places that impressed us the most for evening meals was chicken taverna , which was 5 mins walk turning right outside the hotel at the end of the road. Tijl was very good siuated on the main road to Las Galettas Tre bol i think, very very good ala carte food and owners very pleasant , certainly worth the spoil. average we paid for 2 persons with wine 3 courses 70 euros.
"

by D Brandley
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Apartment was a good size and...

"Apartment was a good size and reasonable layout but in need of maintenance and decoration. Built in wardrobes smelled really badly of damp, sofa was greasy and smelly, bed cover the same. I don't think either had been cleaned properly in a while. Fridge had a shelf missing and no door on the freezer compartment, cooker had seen better days too. The patio door frame was rotted and some patio tiles were cracked. On site Kaygan's bar did good food, reasonably priced but mainly English, the owners were friendly and helpful. In the resort itself everything seemed to be aimed at the Brit abroad who actually doesn't want to meet locals or eat local food. Union Jack's, English breakfasts, Sunday Lunch, Karaoke and pub quizzes everywhere. The ONLY saving grace was a cafe bar called Camaleon (Canas y Tapas) they had a decent tapas menu with a specials board aswell. It was run by an English couple Lisa & Steve and did have an English menu but they weren't 'in your face' about being English and the food was very good. Las Galletas which is the nearest town had a very rundown feel to it and there were areas on the walk between the resort and it that I genuinely did not feel safe in. The place is cheap and the weather hot if that's all you care about then go there."

by E A Mathie
4 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic hotel, booked it last...

"Fantastic hotel, booked it last minute (day before) and was a bit hesitant due to the cheap price that we paid... was very pleasentley surprised at the hotel.. great facilities, great room with a lounge / bedroom / kitchen all with an over head fan...

would recommend this hotel / resort for couples and families looking for a quiet break away from the strip - we are under 30 but after 2 weeks in ibiza last year we fancied something more chilled out...

if you like local food stay away from the brittish pubs.. there is a great belguim restaurant about 10 minutes away.. come out of the hotel, turn left and go straight! and a great local tapas restaurant, turn right and walk towards the english bars

dont get a taxi to los christiannos or las americas,, the bus is about 15 minutes walk away and a good service

overall a very well run and clean hotel.. would return!
"

by Mk Kelly
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Marino Tenerife Closest airport: Tenerife South Reina Sofia (TFS) 5.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Marino Tenerife photos (2 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Marino Tenerife
  • by jubilee

    " siam park whales and dolphins trip kaygans bar great food "

  • by susanw6475

    " Went whale and dolphin spotting from Los Cristianos, Kaygans onsite and Little Italy offsite. "

Similar hotels around Costa Del Silencio

Hotels near Marino Tenerife

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Marino Tenerife?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Marino Tenerife? Share your insight.

Marino Tenerife is also called:

  • marino tenerife costa del silencio
  • marino tenerife hotel

Address: Calle Minerva 2, Tenerife 38630, Spain