Hotel Tropico Playa

Calle Paseo del Mar 38, Majorca 07181, Spain
2.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(101 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
44
Good
32
Average
12
Poor
6
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Tropico Playa

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 39 »
Amazing Staff

"We arrived at the hotel to find out there was not a kids club,the staff were amazing and we got moved to a different hotel which was great for kids.The hotel Tropico was lovely and clean and the food was great. The shows at night were also good fun. We have never stayed in such a friendly hotel and cannot wait to return to the GranIsla in Santa Ponsa in October."

by S Downie Glasgow
9 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

amazing

"The hotel was fab, the bar staff especially Alex and Pedro were really funny and nice people, would love to know their last names if anyone knows it would be helpful. The food was good also, loved the hotel rooms, they were very clean. The balcony was quite big so was good. Loved the experience and am going to happily go back hopefully early next year"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Shannon L
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

will be visiting again !

"my husband and i have just returned from a weeks stay at the hotel tropico, very friendly staff and very helpful. room basic but very clean and maid service 6 times a week . food was nice and plenty to choose from , fussy eaters may not agree . had a 3rd flooor room over looking the sea . lots of trips available if like us your not sun seekers . went to see the pirates reloaded show and was absolutley fantastic . a good week was had by us both . read reviews before we went and was a little worried by some of them but made up our own mind and thouroughly enjoyed our stay . will deffinately go to the tropico again"

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomson
by Nicola G
8 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont Go,made to feel like scum

"Group of six young guys going to enjoy ourselves. When we arrived Fernando at reception was very nice and helpful,this was the case with all the Spanish staff. However the next morning we encountered Vicki,a very rude and ill mannered Scottish receptionist. After our first night out, three groups of young people had been thrown out and we were warned not to be loud,even though we had been very quiet upon coming back to the hotel at night. Later on we came across another older Scottish lady who was just as ill mannered and disrespectful,upon telling her that our bathroom light had blown she replied,"Well there is nothing I can do you'll just have to wait till tommorow" Great customer service or what? The only nice British member of staff was Terry the barman. Never have I been to a hotel where I have felt so unwelcome,every morning we seen Vicki or the older Scottish lady there were no "hellos" or "how are yous" they just completely blanked us and growled. When Julia was working however she would always say hello and ask how we were doing,she was most definently the nicest and most helpful receptionist. Maybe the Scottish receptionists should take a leaf out of the Spaniards book and be a bit more mannerly towards the people who are paying their wages at the end of the day. I know that we were a group of young lads but at no point were we loud or disrespectful towards the staff or other guests. I believe we were stereotyped early and the 2 Scottish receptionists were looking for any reason to throw us out,we were walking on eggshells for our whole holiday. To conclude,I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone whilst Vicki and the older lady still work there,they need lessons in manners and customer service before they should ever be allowed in a hotel again."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Dont go to the hotel in the first place
by EvC
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Value For Money !

"Visited the Tropico from 27th May 2011 for 1 week. Age's of visitors, Mid 50's x2, Mid 30's x2, 4 YO and 1 YO.

I visited this hotel for one week at the end of May. Never had any problems whatsoever. I read a number of negative reviews on various sites and travelled with some uncertainty. I need'nt have worried.

The hotel was clean and our room was made up daily with fresh linen. The foos was quantiful and varied. Full English for breakfast with all the trimmings. Eat as mush as you like. Drink as much fruit juice and coffee as you can !

Lunch was excellent every day. All you could wany and more. Lovely salads !

The evening meal was satisfactory. Still a good choice but maybe they do need to up the quality of the evening meals slightly. Altogether though had no complaints.

The hotel seems popular with OAP's but that suitd us as the pool was empty and the hotel quiet.

Drinks at the bar were great. Nothing watered down or anything. Pool bar with the lovely Gail throughout the day serving everything including slush, cocktails and ice creams.

Pool table, internet, TV, Kids play area and video games all close to pool with a great crazy golf right next door.

Hotel situated right over the road from the excellent plama nova beach and close to numerous shops, bars and restaurants.

Great entertainment every night. Childrens entertainment followed by bingo. Then we had a quiz night, 2 singing acts including Leapy Lee, a hyponist and a group who put on a animal show with snakes, lizards and other creepies and let the kids handle them. Fantastic !!

Slight negative if you can call it that was there was a few steps leading up to the pool but nothing really to worry about.

All in all we had a great time and may well visit again. Would definately recommend.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Hughsey1
8 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

changed to all inclusive-wrong choice!

"We came here last May and thought we had found a nice quiet hotel, right on the beach. Went again this May to find out it had gone all inclusive as well as half board-big mistake. Drunks in the bar, noisy drunks later in the night! The food quality and choice had been cut to accomodate the all inclusive and it was horrendous. Such a shame that thomas cook and thompson are refusing to take hotels unless they take all inclusive now-we dont all want to be part of drunken, loud misfits and kids running around everywhere thank you...."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go untill it stops being all inclusive
  • Good For: Beach
by fussy ones!
5 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our Stay

"We have just arrived back from our weeks stay at the Hotel Tropico. The staff are very friendly especially Gail at the pool side bar. On our first day my boyfriend badly sun burned his legs and she got him an aloe vera leaf to put on his sunburn and it worked wonders. All the waiters are very helpful especially Miguel. We went all incusive and found it very hard to get drunk as the beer and spirits are just local cheap drinks. The food was very good, there was lots to choose from at every meal time. The entertainment wasnt very good but there was quite a few older guests in the hotel so they might have enjoyed it. The rooms are cleaned every day but are very basic rooms. The beach is on the doorstep. You have to pay for the sun loungers but we just put a towel on the sand. Lots of shops nearby and only a ten minute walk into Magaluf. Its not really a hotel for younger couples, more a family hotel or older people."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach
by carla
8 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Disabled Access to pool

"If you have trouble with stairs keep away from this hotel as the pool,sunbeds,television and afternoon snacks and some of the bedrooms have no lift access you need to climb up a flight of 14 steps.When I complained to the female manager that my wife was excluded from using the pool etc.she replied that we were lucky that the beach was across the road,I hope that she never has to try and use a three wheeled walker across sand although I would not give her any sympathy or assistance if she did.

KRR

8th./15th.May 2011
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: If disabled check all hotels with travel agent before booking
by Bashful Brummie
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Without doubt the worst hotel we've ever stayed in!!!!!!

"Normally i would never write a review, but then i have never stayed in such a disgusting hotel.Firstly we had requested a sea view but instead we had the view of a plain white wall and a huge satellite dish.There was no lift to our room therefore we had to carry all our luggage up the stairs and then listen to other guests dragging their cases up each stair at all hours of the day and night for the full week.

The beds were made of a tatty metal frame and a piece of hardboard, covered by a thin matress.On day three of our holiday there was a blockage in one of the bathrooms above our room which with a lot of noise unblocked into our bath and sink.There was actual sewage from other guests floating in our bath.There was also small insect cocoon's all over the walls/ceiling of our room and in the passage way leading to our room.

We knew before we went that the pool was on the small side which wasn't a problem but the rotten smell of sewage which came from the drains around the sides of the pool made it an unpleasant experince to sit outside for long. This hotel is not designed for sun bathing as once it gets past two in the afternoon there is very little sun gets to the pool area.

Although we were halfboard we didn't eat any of the food in the hotel but even if we had wanted to there was always a queue outside the restaurant to get a table.

The only thing which we actually liked about the hotel was the location. Palma Nova is a beautifull resort with plenty to do for all ages, this is the reason why we have been four times. We have stayed in a variety of hotels but none of them have ever left us counting the days down until we could go home like this one did. Before we went on this holiday we read previous reviews on this hotel which mostly seemed ok but since staying there we have found that we are not the only ones who feel like this, we have spoken to three other couples who all had a similar experience to us.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, half board, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Palma Nova is beautifull,Hotel Tropico is horrible!
  • Good For: Beach
by Gem25
2 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Front of house service gripe

"Hotel in main was great, location excellent food could have been a bit more varied. Most of the staff were excellent and went out of their way to help, apart from who I assume to be the manager or senior receptionist. The night before my departure I asked what time the taxi had been booked to take me to the airport, she said we did not have a correct reference number and refused to ring the taxi company to find out what time it would be there. A quick phone call to the travel agent back home got me the info I needed, but I shouldn't have had to do this as receptionist could have got the info for me"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Geordie
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brill

"the hotel was clean, entertainment was adverage nothin spectacular but the staff was amazing awful friendly, especailly gail!! i still talk to them and am planning to go back :)"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: maguluf very close
  • Good For: Beach
by robbieeeeee
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lovely 10 days

"Perfect setting right across from the beach. Quiet hotel which suited us. All staff friendly, room basic but fine, beds a bit hard!!! Food was good quality and plenty of choice, but being a vegetarian there was no choice, but used to that!!! A bit lacking in entertainment but what they had was very good. 10 mins walk to Magaluf for a change of scenery. Palma Nova is a lovely place with plenty of places to eat and have a drink and plenty of shops selling tack...... If you like a walk after tea, its perfect. Weather fantastic and will definately return."

  • Holiday details: May 2010, half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: its perfect for the beach, walking and 5 mins walk to night life
  • Good For: Beach
by coked nicely!!
9 / 10

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 39 »

Explore area

Map for Hotel Tropico Playa Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 10.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Hotel Tropico Playa photos (10 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Hotel Tropico Playa
  • by paulinep2009@live.com

    " best restaurant tony`s and brittiania jet boat ride to palma. "

  • by Griffiths family

    " lovely for families and beach holiday.close enough to magaluf if you want a mad nite out15 min walk "

  • by connor dixon 123

    " Bannana Joes And Ruby Tuesdays "

  • by Millenwagon

    " Wester Water Park is without a doubt the best day out, Marine Land was also a good half day out. "

  • by Millenwagon

    " Wester Water Park is without a doubt the best day out, Marine Land was also a good half day out. "

  • by Ali67

    " Marineland, Western Waterpark,Tropico cocktail Bar and Koompas. "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " just to be aware of the scratchcard touts the can be abit of a pain. "

Similar hotels around Palma Nova

Hotels near Hotel Tropico Playa

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Tropico Playa?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your insight.

Hotel Tropico Playa is also called:

  • tropico playa hotel
  • tropico playa palma nova

Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, Majorca 07181, Spain