Hotel Catalonia Consul

Passeig del Moll 15, Majorca 07559, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(29 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
7
Good
11
Average
4
Poor
5
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Catalonia Consul

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
nightmare

"just arrived back from the catalonia on arrival the hotel was massively overbooked, y friend and i and several other people were all sent to sillot to their sister hotel catalonia columbo, th hotel was right near the beach but the food was attrocious, we were told we would be there for five days, we spoke to a cafe owner who told us it happens every year the columbo is only open 10 weeks to take the overspill its just a ham to fill this hotel which was mainly occupied with italians,we kept telling the receptionist we were very annoyed about this as we had been o the catalonia five times before she eventually got us moved back there it absolutely disgsting and i think prospective holidaymkers should be forwarned"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Alpha Rooms
  • Good For: Beach
by sandylo
4 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

noisy hotel

"Am sitting in reception, cant sleep because the hotel is serving drink to drunken hotel customers, outsided under balcony windows. Its 1-30 am.They are singing and wailing Have complained to staff, say they will serve until 3 am. DONT come here unless you are a party animal awake until the small hours. Impossible to sleep, hotel doesnt care, just collecting money."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Dont stay here
  • Good For: Beach
by tired and grumpy
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our holiday at the catalonia consul.

"I have just got back from my holiday at the catalonia consul, which i had with my daughter and grandaughter.We found the hotel to be in a lovely position, with an unforgetable view from the balcony. We found all the staff to be very helpful, we had a small problem with our room and this was put right straight away with no fuss. The food was okay, always found something to eat. The rooms are clean and good value for a 3 star rating. When there we liked to walk thru to Cala Millor, along the sea front, in doing so passed a restuarant called the WATERFRONTand run by Lee and Donna, the food was great well worth a visit, also Julie's sandwich shop near hotel was very good to... All in all a very good hols."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, half board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Request room at front of hotel and on third or forth floor
  • Good For: Beach
by brandygirl.
7 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wonderful

"Have just returned from one weeks holiday at the Catalonia Consul and was a lovely break. From the minute you walked through the reception doors to the minute you left everyone was very helpful and friendly. The food was good, plenty to choose from, ie cold meats, salad, and lovely hot food with a wide variety, puddings to cheese and biscuits, your choice. The pool was ok and had no problem in getting a sunbed and did not have to get up at an unearthly hour to reserve one. Would definetly return to this hotel and the lovely resort of Cala Bona."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont knock it before you have tried it, I was having second thoughts when reading some of the review
  • Good For: Beach
by Majorcalover
7 / 10

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Viva la Consul

"

1/07/2010

Just returned from fabulous fortnight at Catalonia Consul Cala Bona majorca.

We are well travelled and while not of a fussy nature are not easily pleased either.

In our opinion this is a top grade three star hotel which we would highly recommend for many reasons.

The hotel has been refurbished recently to a high standard,the rooms especially at the front overlooking the picturesque habour are top end three star and spotlessly clean.

We'd read many reviews before booking and a common theme was the poor standard of the food.

all we can say is they must have sacked the chef involved because the food on offer was again amongst the best we've enjoyed. You would have to be very hard to please or just like complaining for complaining sake not to find something to suit your taste at every meal. The choices were amazing.

The breakfast again of the highest quality and bacon that tasted like bacon. Thank you chef you did us proud as did the waiters who tended to our every need. A mixture of polish,and Spanish.

The reception desk was the best we've encountered including America.Nothing was too much trouble.

The room we'd been allocated overlooked the heated swimming area and had no view as such,so we mentioned to Jan the man on reception and within a few days we were reallocated to a room overlooking the harbour at no extra cost.Amazing in this day and age.

It was another world,if you can afford it pay the extra for a front room it will transform your whole holiday.

If you are pool orientated you may be disapointed as the three pools are only small and inadequate for the numbers the hotel caters for.

The sun beds need replacing as it was a constant complaint from other residents.

Again I note these complaints have been in place for some time,so I hope they are heeded by the owners.

Would we recommend this hotel knowing that money is tight

in a lot of cases and people only get one holiday a year,without a second thought YES.

We would have no qualms about going there again.

Try it and I hope you enjoy it as much as we have. Thanks to all concerned for making it a very memorable holiday indeed.

Tony and Alwyn Weedon

Bebington Merseyside
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Half Board, booked with Expedia
  • Advice: I'd feel it our duty to inform them of what is on offer
by Happy scouscers
9 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A perfect holiday :oD

"We're a couple in our 20s and found the Consul to be a perfect location for our holiday.. The weather and the beaches in Cala Millor were amazing, not so keen on the little beach on Cala Bona but that wasn't a problem as theres so much to choose from.. Also the beach in Sa Coma was ace and we went parasailing there too!

Hiring bikes for the day was probably the best idea we had all holiday and we had a great time exploring the villages either side of the area.

Eating out of the hotel was much better than eating in and although we paid for half board we chose to eat in other restaurants for 10 out of 14 nights, we wouldn't recommend going for a half/full board basis unless you're sure you'd want to stay in every night?

Theres loads of shops and bars close to the hotel making it an ideal location just on the edge of the main nightlife but still looking over the pretty harbour.

We had a great holiday at the Consul and couldn't complain about the room, the pool or the service, the only thing we disliked was the evening food provided (breakfasts were fine, if slightly repetitive).. would definately recommend staying here :oD xxx
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Eating out is loads better than eating in and definately hire bikes to explore the other villages!
  • Activities: Loved Bar Torremar and the restaurant on the corner of the harbour area by the path to Cala Millor..
  • Good For: Beach
by Lara&Craig
7 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great hotel

"just come back from 1 week half board holiday at consul. hotel was in a lovely location with views of the harbour. reception staff were very helpful. choice of cold meats, cereal, pastries or english breakfasts. on an evening there was soup, choice of fish and meats with veg, salad bar and a variety of deserts. rooms cleaned daily. downside was towels on sunbeds at 6 in mornings so if up late no chance getting by pool and not brilliant entertainment but plenty places to go on night. try bar argos or blue bay which is about 10 min walk. if going into cala millor its about 15 min walk but worth it.i would stop at this hotel again and would recommend people giving it a try."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
by loobylou123
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

stay clear

"we just returned from a lovely holiday in majorca but unfortunately the hotel left a bit of a sour taste.The management of the hotel is questionable!!!awful room cleaning,embarassing entertainment and there seemed to be no desire to stop people putting towels on sun loungers at 6 in the morning and clearing out for the day!!But this was all small compared to the state of the food!we should have been worried when on our first day we were served chips and brussel sprouts as a veg option!And never a good sign when a spanish chef burns paella!!unfortunately the state of the food was a popular dinner time conversation and the breakfast was no better and again management seemed not to care.but thankfully there is plenty of good restaurants locally.so if you havent booked your holiday accomodation yet avoid this place"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: lovelly resort
  • Activities: anywhere but the hotel!!
by liamdoherty
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The Good + The Bad

"Have just returned from a weekaway in the lovely surroundings of cala bona,Staying in the 3* Hotel Consul,we had agreat veiw of the harbour being that are room was on tha 4 floor.Staff very helpfull, sadly to say the food was awful, i e,most days was cold + under cooked.WE spent most of are eveings out,found a good place called the London Inn goog food,great entertainment.The bonus was having the room looking over the harbour."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by janet rutter
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Have just returned from a week spent...

"Have just returned from a week spent in the glorious surroundings of Cala Bona, staying in the wonderful Hotel Consul. We had to be transfered there after discovering that our first hotel was full. Turned out to be the best news we could have ever received!

The hotel staff greeted us with huge smiles and checked us in within minutes. Our room was on the second floor, looking over the harbour and square. What a magnificient view, and it took a lot to move us from our spacious balcony. The room was large, clean and had a TV and fan. Our 8 year old was delighted to get a 'real bed', and not the usual sofa/bed. Bathroom was clean, and stocked with towels and toiletries.

The food was buffet style, and despite reading the previous reviews we found it to be of a very high standard. Massive choice of salads, cold meats and fresh soup daily. There was always a roast, choice of meat and fish and pasta. Desserts were fresh and topped up when bowls were empty. The staff in the restaurant were very chatting and instantly cleared and re-laid tables as required. Breakfast was equally good, with a good selection of cooked and continential style foods. My only gripe was that if you were arriving for breakfast after 8:30am, close to it's closing time, the choice was not as good, but I do not know a single hotel where this is not the case. Breakfast must end at some point.

The pool area was clean and had almost enough beds for guests. There is a policy of beds not being reserved by towels, however this was not really adheared to. Not a problem if you arrived at the pool around 10am but tricky if arriving after lunch. However the bar staff brought out plastic chairs and tables, to accommodate you if there was not a bed. The pool water was crystal clear, and although the pool was on the small side, it was large enough to not feel crowded when the children were playing.

Cala Bona is a beautiful resort. It is clean, well maintained and full of lovely cafes and bars. It has the usual array of gift shops and a fantastic sandwich shop, that was always busy at lunchtime, but well worth the wait. A quiet. peaceful resort, that shut at 11:30pm, allowing a good nights sleep, with no loud bars or revellers.

I will most certainly be heading back to this hotel in the future and will be telling my friends to do the same too!
"

by A Robson
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just got back from a last minute deal...

"Just got back from a last minute deal with Thomas Cook and was pleasantly surprised with what we got. Although this hotel is 3 star it is set in a 5 star location overlooking the sea and small marina separated by a pedestrian walkway. At first we thought it was going to be noisy at night but whether it was because it was October it was very quiet, especially after 11.00pm.

The hotel was clean, the room spacious and the staff very friendly. Some people complained about the quality of the food, but we thought it was okay. However, we don't eat 5 star food everyday like those people (um! I bet?). There was definitely plenty of it and a good variety that should have catered for all tastes, including children. If I wanted to be pernickety, the layout of the restaurant could be better, ie the milk was quite some way from the tea/coffee machine.

One other minor downside to the hotel was the pool area, not very big for the number of guests, so not always able to get a lounger. Saying that the positives certainly outweighed the negatives so I would definitely go there again. Tip: try to book a room with a sea view, it makes all the difference.
"

by RJ Smith
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The best 3 star hotel I've stayed in....

"The best 3 star hotel I've stayed in. The hotel is situated overlooking the harbour of Cal Bona, and assuming you have a sea view, allows you to sit and watch the world go by without leaving your balcony.

The hotel is clean, well managed and the staff extremely helpful and polite. Food is served on a cafeteria basis, which as long as you don't want to spend 2 hours eating is fine.

The food itself is basic but well prepared and its "help yourself" so the portions are up to you. Cala Bona is a small, quiet and modern resort that has a few restaurants and bars that cater for the predominantly British tourists that visit. Beware though, it shuts at midnight and the square (harbour) is clear by 00:30.

If you want to carry on, you have a 15 min walk to Cala Millor down the coast. Perfect for a quiet break to unwind! If you want noise and late night drinking, try Magaluf.
"

by AJ Collins
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Hotel Catalonia Consul Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 35.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hotel Catalonia Consul
  • by janet rutter

    " going out on the glass bottom boat "

  • by loobylou123

    " you can catch bus by hotel direct to caves of drach for 1.65 and 10.50 entry. well worth visiting. "

  • by sandylo

    " make sure youve got a room to go to "

Similar hotels around Cala Bona

Hotels near Hotel Catalonia Consul

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Catalonia Consul?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Catalonia Consul? Share your insight.

Hotel Catalonia Consul is also called:

  • catalonia consul
  • catalonia consul hotel

Address: Passeig del Moll 15, Majorca 07559, Spain