Seaside Los Jameos Playa

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(26 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
18
Good
5
Average
2
Poor
0
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 8.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
5★ for 4 star price

"Went back here for 1st time since it offered all inclusive. We were worried it wouldn't be as good as that has happened at hotels wthat have gone all inclusive. Not this hotel. Food was as good as previous visits. Room was newly refurbished and had lovely views of the bay, tennis courts and mountains. Addition was tea & coffee facilities in the room. Biggest problem for hotel was the amount of guests trying to get away with wearing shorts at dinner. This is a definite no-no and the duty managers were going up to these guests and letting them know. Don't try saying you don't have long trousers with you- they will offer you a pair!

Nice to see that towels are not adorning the sunbeds. A few tried but the pool man just removed them to nearby tables. It probably would be better to put the towels well away from the beds as there were a few arguments where towels had been put between the sunbeds when those people eventually came out! though there was always a note from the hotel included. Pools are lovely. Tennis courts are well kept and lessons were available. Gym was adequate- the fit balls could do with being pumped up more regularly. Great mix of age groups with very few kids there at the time we went. There were Germans, Dutch and Spanish so a good international mix. Could do with a few more restaurant and bar staff. We enjoyed it so much we're going again in October! Must recommend the Catalan boat trip- adults day - great fun.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2014
  • Advice: North and South tours if not been before
  • Good For: Beach
by Cocktail lover
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent hotel

"Just approaching our last day at the hotel & I must say its been a pleasure to be here.

We don't usually do all inclusive in Europe but the food here has been marvellous ,we've done some cruises & the food here is on par with that, we paid a little extra for junior suite ,very nice,the staff are great & the place is spotless ,we without doubt will return here,for the canaries I think a 5 star wouldn't go amiss for this,close to the beach but always plenty of sunbeds to use on the complex,been a great relaxing holiday so far & will be sad to go tomorrow
"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2013
  • Good For: Beach
by Ngbland
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely hotel few things let it down

"Hotel is really grand, really big and nice layout. Greeted with champagne on arrival which was a really nice touch. Pools and bar areas really nice and nice surroundings.

few negatives, locations is very quite. there are some bars out the back but they were dead wasnt much fun at night. also service in the hotel at the bars was ridicuallsy slow!! we did all inclusive, on average one person behind the bar and it was take 15 mins to get a drink and im not even exaggerating. Also when you are waiting they would serve any one and not in the order people were waiting which was very frustrating.

Also had a problem with cockroaches in our room.. one night we came in and there was one, didnt think anything of it thought it was a one off and got rid of it. then the second night we had FOUR!!! we caught them and took them to reception, they appologised offered us a can of spray... which i thought was ridiculas for a 4* hotel. so they nxt day we compalined to guest relations shes was really nice appologised, and set us up a nice meal for the night as an appology. but had the same problem again that night! but the next day we were going home so didnt want the hassle of changing room.

all in all nice hotel, quite location, service at the bars is the worst i have ever had! which is a shame. also just to mention it would make it more ok if the staff were friendly and smiled but there were all miserable!

when you were waiting they would just say 'hello' tell them what you would like, take your card swipe it slam drink down and walk off which really annoyed me.

but lovely hotel, few things let it down. but a bit boring if your wanting something a bit more lively. also really close to the beach which was good.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by vickir12
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

5 Star Quality in 4 Star hotel

"The hotel facilities are exceptional. Despite this hotel catering for over 1000 guests, we had probably the best food we have ever had in a hotel. The quality and selection was exceptional for all meals and would satisfy the most discerning of guests. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, leaving the service second to none. Bed linen and towels were changed regularly and the hotel was scrupulously clean.

Two points to mention are:

1. Provision of soup spoons would have made eating some of the most delicious soups ever tasted easier

2. Sometimes the staff were overstretched in the Pool bar during busy day time shifts. However, this did not detract from the overall quality.

However, don’t just stay pool side, the beach areas and proms are almost as clean and tidy as the hotel, with adult exercise machines for the more energetic. We also took the Grand Tour of the island with the local tour provider, Last Minute Tours (not to be confused with last minute.com) and enjoyed a full day tour all round the island, through one of the best tour guides we have had (Michael).

All in all this was a holiday to remember
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Lastminute
  • Good For: Beach
by L & G Waterlooville
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

2 rooms with a wall view

"Lovely hotel just a shame the hotel don´t offer reduced rates to upgrade when the rooms are available, this would encourage guests to return and bring more family members this them! Totally amazed that the ground floor rooms are open. Anybody can walk past and this isn´t mentioned to you on arrival, there is no privacy whatsoever, not at all secure, especially if you have children or washing hanging out. Be cautious we booked a land/garden view and are actually looking at a wall."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Allow more room between sun loungers
by Harvey
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Potentially a Great Hotel

"General: This is a large hotel occupying a large site and has impressive buildings and pool area - it is close to a small number of shops and the beach, and the main resort is a short bus or Taxi ride (taxi around 4 euros).

Rooms: The rooms are OK, we had a nice view of the pool; though was a bit noisy - the beds were very firm and not too comfy, and they had a large square pillow (!)

Pool Area: Nice pool area with good sized pools and pool bars. Service at the pool bars was varied - some times good other times very slow (and sometimes the bars staff served clients at random, without any thought for who was next). Afternoon snacks was a nice touch. My main gripe is the pool loungers - unless you had a towel on a lounger by 8am you were unlikely to get one - and dispite the hotel having a rule that loungers can only be "reserved" for one hour - we saw many loungers reserved before 8am and unoccupied until 11am (even until 2pm) - this just spoilt the whole holiday for us - the hotel need to grip this rule and apply it (take those towels away!!)

Restaurant: Excellent choice and variety of food and plenty of it - Meal times were a little chaotic - again the service was varied being asked for drinks order as soon as you arrived, so having to wait 10-20 mins (the staff didn't seem to be allocated tables - and it was all a bit random). The hotel had dress rules for lunch and dinner - though in the evening (long trousers for men) was certainly not enforced; I think this needs to be made much clearer and enforced - or scrapped.

Bars: As above service was random, soemtimes quick sometimes very slow - and seemed to depend on the staff rather than how busy they were. Piano bar was very enjoyable. Sadly there is no where daytime in the hotel to get a drink or coffee, other than the outdoor pool bars.

Facilities: An excellent mix of equipment and services - chess, mini-golf (though we couldn't work out where the starts were), tennis, boules, sauna etc; plus a kids club and adult activities daily - very good. (Security at Kids club could be better)

Entertainment: Mini disco and kids entertainment was good, and the adult entertainment was generally good (with one or two OK nights) - Abba and Megastars were very good.

All-Inclusive: Good choice and availability of drinks and food - though I think a wrist band system would be much simpler than filling in a paper slip and signing it each time (what a waste of paper).

Beach: Beach area is a short walk and has loungers and parasols (10 Euros for 2 loungers and a parasol) - and there seemed to be good availability of these (with no towels).

Excursions: We didn't go on any excursions, but it looks as though there some interesting attractions (both manmade and natural) on the Island worth a visit.

Overall: This has the potential to be a really great hotel and destination, but for us was spoilt by the management not enforcing its own rules - perhaps we should have put towels over the seats for dinner!! Until this is sorted out, we will not be returning, and would not recommend this hotel for a really restful holiday (unless you like getting up early with your towels!!)
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Go to the beach - its quiet, shallow and there are loungers!!
  • Good For: Beach
by kevinM
6 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Would Definitely return

"We have just returned from a 9 nights stay, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The whole complex was extremely clean and our room, for which we had paid an upgrade price, was spacious, with large bathroom plus separate loo, plus the requested sea view. I was a little perturbed that it was close to the road, but this didn't prove to be a problem. We had a view over the tennis courts and were able to sit on our balcony and watch the sun set each evening. We paid 1 Euro per day for tea-making facilities, which I really think should have been included in this 'up-graded' room. As others mention, there are quite a large number of Germans at the hotel, which may have accounted for many sun-beds being covered in towels long before we even went to breakfast. There is a statement somewhere in the hotel pointing out that towels should only be placed on the beds if they are to be used in the next hour. This is not enforced in any way and we saw beds covered in towels until after lunch without anyone going near them. It must be difficult to police but I do think that the hotel should make more effort to make the beds available to everyone.

The food was excellent, with variety being introduced by different themes each evening, alongside the usual roast joints, steaks, chops together with a variety of fish. I have never been to a hotel where the food has been so varied and of consistent good quality.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and hard working. Nothing was too much trouble and we never had to wait for service at the bar or in the dining room.

We are over 60, this being the age-group of the majority of guests. However, there were facilities for young families - i.e. pool, play area and organised activities. Sports fans were well catered for by the provision of tennis and squash courts, table tennis, plus indoor games room.

The location was perfect, not too near to the noise and bustle of Puerto del Carmen but near enought to walk. The bus stopped outside the hotel if we wanted to do the walk only one way. The beach was immediately to the back of the hotel, an alternative location for sunbathing or just strolling by the sea.

Yes, I would definitely return.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Cosmos
  • Advice: You get what you pay for.
  • Good For: Beach
by Trendy pensioner
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excellant stay in this hotel

"Just have returned from one week stay in Los Jameos Playa. Management staff and food excellant.Entertainment good. Cleanliness excellant . On arrival we were treated to bottle of champayne and two small red wines with fruit what a surprise. Plenty of sun beds at the pool. Recommend this hotel to my friends."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, full board, booked with JMC Holidays
  • Advice: Excellant hotel value for money
  • Good For: Beach
by taylor
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

food poison

"We arrived very late in evening and next morning had bkfst. I didnt eat anything at any other estab, and only consumed bottled soft drinks and tea.Then next meal I ate was evening dinner. Within that I ate three mussles about 7pm. By 2am in the following morning I knew something was wrong. I was totally sick vomiting and passing extreme amounts of liquids. I was in constant agony and in bed for three days. The cleaning staff had to be 'encouraged' to leave extra toilet rolls. In my mind it was those mussles that caused the illness. I have communicated my concerns to the hotel, but have not had any response. I would rate the front public area four star; the restaurant three/four star; the rooms definitely three star; the staff in the bars three; the cleaning staff two stars. In all I would not recommend this hotel"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2010, half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: did
by upsettummy
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Relaxing Luxury Break

"We have just returned from a week staying in this hotel and cannot fault it at all. We had originally booked another hotel nearby but a few months before we were due to depart we were informed by our Tour Operator that it was being closed for refurbishment and were offered this alternative accommodation. After reading up on the hotel on this website, we decided to accept this in the hope it was as good as everyone was saying and guess what.... it certainly was!

The whole complex was spotlessly clean. The staff were always friendly and polite. The food was absolutely fantastic, lots of choice, even for fussy eaters. My only negative would be the entertainment in an evening. There was a show or something on each evening which started at 9pm, however, it only usually lasted 1 hour and then everyone seemed to leave to go to bed!!!

I must say there were not that many English guests during our stay. I think the hotel is German run and there were lots of German guests, however, they were polite and we found this not to be a problem.

We would most definitely return to this hotel and rate it highly.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2009, All Inclusive, booked with YourHoliday.Com
  • Good For: Beach
by Monty Python
10 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What can we say. Why is this a 4...

"What can we say. Why is this a 4 star, felt like we were living it up in a five star. Food was excellent and a different theme every night. Rooms were very large, very bright and very airy with excellent facilities.

Amenities on site were to die for. We even booked the tennis professional and had lessons for the first time ever - and yes we did improve. Two pools - both outside and one heated. It may have been November but we spent every day in the heated pool under sunny blue skies. We usually have a car and go off visiting but this visit was spent just in the hotel and environs. Besides the tennis there were squash courts, badminton, outdoor chess, boules, the list goes on. An added extra to the holiday was the glass of champagne waiting for all arrivals, which got the holiday off to a fine start. Would we recommend it, of course we would. We are going back in October this year and aim to do a couple of tours this time but leaving the hotel will be a wrench.
"

by Mark Purvis
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My family travelled to this hotel in...

"My family travelled to this hotel in August. I had read a number of reviews before I went, and all were pretty much dead on! It’s a nice hotel, clean, spacious and the staff are helpful, polite and keen to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible.

The food is great! You are never short of choices, every taste is accommodated for and as we went all inclusive we could have eaten all day! The hotel is great for kids, one daughter - 6 and son 9, had a ball. From a mini disco every night (and all the kids get hooked), kids club, (free of charge), tennis, table tennis, games room etc. Both the children made friends and the hotel is set up in such a way that you feel comfortable letting them play out of sight, in fact their favourite game was hide and seek (using the whole hotel!).

Our room, was pleasant, clean with the option of a fridge and safe. It would have been nice to have tea/coffee facilities, but I believe there are rooms that do supply them. There is also a few shops, which are reasonable for gifts or treats and a beauty salon, which is very reasonable.

I have only one main criticism and it did effect our holiday considerably. The sun beds! Due to the international flavour of the resort, if you were not down with your towels on the beds by 8am, you were very unlikely to get one with a parasol for the rest of the day.

As my daughter burnt on the first day due to this, we couldn’t take the risk again and had to take it in turns to set our alarm and get up early!! It was crazy and I complained to the hotel and rep, and was told they had tried everything, but for those summer 6 weeks it was impossible.

So, as long as you are happy to be up early and get those beds, then you will have a great holiday!
"

by  D Meese
7 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Seaside Los Jameos Playa Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 1.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Seaside Los Jameos Playa
  • by Monty Python

    " Near to airport therefore very short transfer (approx. 5 mins). Aircraft noise but very slight. "

  • by L & G Waterlooville

    " Ask for a sea view "

  • by vickir12

    " go to the port really nice place bit more lively "

Similar hotels around Puerto Del Carmen

Hotels near Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Seaside Los Jameos Playa?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your insight.

Seaside Los Jameos Playa is also called:

  • los jameos
  • los jameos playa
  • Los Jameos Playa Hotel
  • los jameos playa lanzarote

Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, Lanzarote 35510, Spain