Els Llorers

Amadeu Vives s/n, Lloret De Mar 17310, Spain
1 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(13 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
3
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
1
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 6.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Bad Place to Go for a Holiday

"First of all the coach dropped us off at the bottom of this road which we had to walk up not quite knowing exactly where reception was. We had to struggled with our luggages with us up this hugh hill before we came to the reception by which time we were completely exhausted. On entering our apartment we just wanted to turn around and walk away. I was willing to loose my money rather than stayed on but as my daughter had paid for herself and her husband they though they had no choice but to stay in the apartment.

The apartment was fitted out with some really old tatty furniture that was filthy and smelly and they even turned out to be extremely uncomfortable. The floor was sticky and dirty. The kitchen was fitted out with less than basic of utensils.

The bathroom had no windows and was fitted out with very dark dingy tiles. Everything was far from being clean. When you had a shower the water would not go down the bath. The bath was slimy and so we had to purchase a bath math. All the enamel along the side of the bath had pealed off. There was a bidet in the bathroom which we never use because of the uncleanliness of the place. The toilet system had broken and would not flush unless we physically lifted the cover of the cistern and pull on the inside lever to make it flush.

To make matters even worst there were plenty of ants and mosquitoes. The ants came into the living room and would literally bit you. We had to purchase some ant powder which we place along the edge of the patio doors and outside along the mini brick walls to stop the ants from coming in. This did help but to our amazement, the ants managed to climb into the front bedroom and entered onto the bed, pillow and sheets. During the night ants had awaken my daughter because they were crawling across her face.

The nights were extremely hot and extremely noisy. Every moment and every chair dragged across the floors above would echo down as if it was in the same room as yourself. When people closes the cupboards the loud bangs would hurt your ears because it was so loud.

Finally please do not eat at the restaurant on site because the food is absolutely appalling. It taste bad and it is definitely bad value for money.

There is absolutely nothing to do at this place but go swimming and sunbath. There was one night of a sole singer who was really bad, worst singer I have heard.

Please do not go to this place if you want to have a good holiday.

Lloret De Mar itself is lovely.
"

Management response from Viktor Dolgopolov, public relations manager 16 Mar 2012

Dear Customer, First of all, thank you for giving us your opinion about our establishment. We would like to inform you that important changes are under way in our establishment for the coming season, in order to increase the comfort of our guests and ensure they enjoy their stay with us. These include changes in furniture, curtains, doors, kitchenware, sleeping systems and reforms in bathrooms. We hope you will have occasion to see these new changes for yourself and that we can offer you the best quality-price ratio. Allow us to say that the staff of Els Llorers attaches great importance to satisfying the needs of each of our customers, and for this reason we would ask you to please let us know your needs in future stays, so that we can do our best to comply with them. If reception had been informed about all the problems you had experienced, it would most certainly have taken the necessary steps to guarantee you a happier stay. Taking as a reference the opinions of our customers, we consider that our location is one of our strengths when it comes to choosing us as a holiday resort, as we are in a residential area that is only 800m from the centre of Lloret de Mar. This means that customers can enjoy a peaceful family holiday in our establishment and use our facilities (pools, restaurant, etc.), in addition to using the option of taking a bus to the town centre, although many customers prefer to walk there. We are very sorry for all the inconvenience you may have been caused in our establishment and hope to be able to continue offering good value for money. Yours truly,

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Ollie 432
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

FAULTY TOWERS GONE WRONG

"we arrived here at 430 am the security guy was there to give us our key, we were told 4 flights of stairs NO lift in the dark as we could not see the light switch we were a party of 7 with kids 15 17 and my son visually impaired not a good start.We entered our rooms omg our room bed full of hair and blood,and very dated furniture the other room the same and expecting a 6ft man to sleep on furniture cottage style a big no no we contacted our rep the next day, the food was from frozen and doesnt taste that good,the only thing i liked was the shop just down the hill who spoke english and helped us out she was not happy our rep SAMANTHA with the situation we were in thomas cook a credit to thomas cook sorted us out with alternative accomadation we were not the only family upset and discusted with what we paid a lot to stay and not recieving at all BE AWARE do not stay here families at all been now told thomas cook are no longer going to send anyone here thank god.We were moved to COSTA ENCANTADA APARTHOTEL and had a great holiday i want to say our rep was a great credit to thomas cook we are now home planning our next holiday next year but never go to els llorers ever if you read this dont go"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Activities: far away from hotel oh yes
by manchestersbest
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

what can I say

"Just arrived back from holidaying at this hotel. Good points.. the family and staff at the hotel are very nice and will do their upmost to accomodate you. However the food which is served is poor quality especially the pepperoni pizza. Entertainment on three times a week, dancers, three singers and muscians, each on poor due to the fact you could not understand what was being said. The walk to the beach is not too bad but would not be suitable for older holiday makers. Lastly there not much to do."

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: poor
by janine.topping
4 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wot a great holiday

"we arrived at els llorers at 4am the coach driver was lovely got as far up the hill as possible, reception staff great we were all in our appartments within 20minutes and a lot of people got off the coach the rooms were spotless and had everything that we required,with us being a party of eight, 5 adults and 3 children they gave us rooms next to each other towels and bedding were changed twice weekly all staff were very helpful and friendly, the hill well costa brava is a hilly place anyway, we managed and had to push two wheelchairs as two of our party was disabled i would fully recomend these appartments to all people, we will certainly be going back.

food and drinks very reasonably priced
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by holiday heaven
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Pretty much as the previous comment...

"Pretty much as the previous comment really. We were sold this holiday as a family hotel which frankly was a joke. No evening entertainment and from a possible 70 odd rooms there were only three families, the remaining rooms taken up of various groups of young men or women, fully intent on having a good time, which to be fair they are fully entitled to. I would ask though if any reasonable person would subject a family to partying up to five oclock every morning from above, below and either side on every night. It just goes to show that some travel agents will sell holidays at any cost without any thought to the customer. It was surreal to see the look on the other people staying upon seeing 'families' who clearly were not expecting such a sight - perhaps the standard of their travel agent was a tad more honest than ours.

I cannot over emphasise how let down we feel with our travel agent, all I can say is that on the up side, at least as a familiy we had the Olympics to watch from midnight onwards until the racket subsided otherwise it may not have been as bearable, because believe me, sleep was not an option in those hours.

So, why did we not complain? Oh, but yes we did. At first to the rep who said he would sort it and after a few days we mentioned it again and a few days after that we gave it up as a bad job with him. Then we complained direct to the manager of the facility who to be fair did intervene for us there and then. Although, it didnt do anything to stop the noise on other nights.

As for Llorett. Well, we did really enjoy the resort. Plenty to do for the family, as in previous posts, we found the local supermarket excellent as was a selection of bars/restaurants and special mention must go to the Orient Express which is an absolute must see; good food and excellent friendly service. It is a good ten minute walk to the town but we didnt find it onerous and given more suitable accomodation I would go again.

Just not with First Choice.
"

by C Fenton
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Where do i start!!!! i went with my...

"Where do i start!!!! i went with my family 3 adults and two children. We arrived early hours at about 2.30 we landed, we only left the airport with the rep at 4.30 after waiting on the coach for about 45 mins for the rep. when we arrived at our hotel it was 5.30 in the morning it was quiet which was the only night it was!!!!!!!!!!! i never slept a wink after that it was like being in the middle of 18 - 30 holiday. we booked it last year it wasnt cheap and it should of been a family holiday hotel with entertainment there was no entertainment what so ever it was advertised as Billy the belly dancer was on at 9pm that was every night if you do happen to see him please let me know what it was like as we never did see anything. Its a good walk into the centre and i dont know what people are talking about on here but it is a steep hill even the coach that dropped us off only managed to get half way up and he could'nt help us to get our luggage as the coach would of rolled to the bottom that is how steep it is!!!!!

My daughter is aged 11 my son is aged 5 they could play in the pool until the 18 year old intalians that swarmed the complex got in with there cigarettes and beer in the childrens section of the pool and they had to get out it was too much

The noise happened all day and all night well into the early hours the police where called by residents who live near by quite a few times but nothing was ever done. the music around the pool was on and so was the music from the guest around the pool in there apartments alot louder so you couldnt relax. i was ready for home after 2 days its took me a week to get back to normal after the loss of sleep and really really wish we had never gone it was absolutely shocking and would not recommend this hotel to anybody unless you are going on lads or a girls hol and you dont want to sleep and even then its a good way from the nightlife or anything for that matter. we had to get taxis everytime we wanted to go anywhere we had to get 2 taxis due to there being five of us this cost us around 20 each 1 way journey just to get to a resturant or even the beach. we are complaining to thomas cook about this and much more. If your thinking of going to this place don't bother!!!!!
"

by D Pearson
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We went early May 2008 2 adults, 1...

"We went early May 2008 2 adults, 1 child and 1 infant. We got there about 1am and the manager was very helpful and showed us to our room and helped with the cases.

We had a first floor room (accessed from the rear of the building) and the view was spectacular (we could just see the sea!). The room was basic, but gave us everything we needed for the week.

True, it is situated on a steep hill, but its a very short one!

The walk into town is pleasant although buses run every hour and a half into town and is very cheap - about 80p. The little shop on site has the timetable.

The food isn't wonderful in the bar so we went to the supermarket which is just before you get to the beach and stocked ourselves up for £60 for the week (including fish fingers etc for the kids!!) fresh bread etc. There is a local shop on site which stocks English food but it is a bit more pricey. The ladies who work there were fabulous and so friendly (and Tyson - the pooch who sits outside the shop all day was a hit with the kids!)

It rained for the majority of the time that we were there so we only went to the beach once which was nice and big (sand and shingle) and the kids had a great time, but they couldn't build anything due to the nature of the "sand".

There are loads of little shops that tend to sell all the same stuff, but have a good look around (especially the wonderful candle shop - magical!) And, of course a McDonalds at the far end of the beach.

We went to the Reptile museum which costs 9euro for an adult and again, was a great hit with my eldest!

We would definitely stay there again, just later in the year so we could make use of the pool!
"

by  K Kelly
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My girlfriend and myself came here...

"My girlfriend and myself came here for 2 weeks and overall were quite happy with the accomondation, the pool was fantastic as it was never really too busy with plenty sunshine through the day for tanning!

The downsides to the apartments is they are pretty scrubby when it comes to the bathroom with alot of it unclean, bedsheets are changed every 3 days which isn't too bad, however you have to change them yourself but that is pretty much expectant of the place.

The walk into the centre of lloret takes roughly 20 minutes, whoever said 10 minutes must of ran at night. Fair walk away but at night the walking back cools you down quite a bit, Buses are very irregular to the apartments with one every 4 hours or so, but at 1.05 euros each you can travel on the bus around lloret to anywhere around the resort.

We found a brilliant place to go for food with very good prices on the main front called The Orient Express, We went there 7 times haha, the staff are really friendly and always helpful and they all speak perfect english.

All in all this was a great holiday except the walk during the day and the bathrooms, i think the apartments are pretty good.

also the last thing, if you are going to budget your money wisely, don't use the mini mart next to the apartments as the prices can be quite heavy, 10 minutes walk down the main road towards lloret centre is a supermarket called Caprabo, very good prices for the money you wish to pay.
"

by G Gaukroger
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Where can I start the hill isn’t...

"Where can I start the hill isn’t that bad just a little steep.

The staff were very friendly especially Dorian who worked in the bar/ restaurant downstairs who kept the my children entertained with his knowledge, I am going back to Lloret again for the 3rd time because it is great for families & Lloret town centre is only a 20 min walk from Els Lloress if you don’t fancy the walk there is a bus stop which the bus comes every 20 mins.

The pool is clean there is 2 pools a shallow pool for the kids & a pool for adults entertainment is on every night something for every one thoroughly recommend to people of all ages keep up the good work.
"

by Elsey
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Thought this would have been the...

"Thought this would have been the holiday from hell after reading the reviews about the apartments we had booked. The apartments were fine and the steep hill that they were situated on - WHAT HILL?

Yes there was a slight hill, but it was nothing. The kids reps were great!!! Towels were changed four times in the week. There is a bus every 20 mins, but it is only 15 mins walk down to the beach as the apartments are situated on the outskirts of Lloret.
"

by C Frazer
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Where to start. The complex is set on...

"Where to start. The complex is set on a hill which you will dread walking every day, You will need £60 deposit for your room even though you have paid for the holiday.

The room was shabby and very basic. We were given a room with 3 single beds one of which was a piece of sponge on a metal camp bed which is under the settee the other 2 were also camp beds but had a thin mattress on. No toilet paper is supplied, Sheets are changed once a week and 4 towels (2 hand 2 bath) must last 2 days , You will be charged 10 euros if you leave the room dirty and will be charged 3 euros for cleaning items ..The walls are paper thin and the whole complex is one big echo chamber so when people come out of the bar which closes at 1 am you will be woken up by any noise.

You are not allowed to take anything to eat or drink near the pools unless it was bought in the bar (and this is a self catering holiday). I must admit there is a good bus service which runs every 20 mins or so, just as well, you will need it because there is nowhere to buy anything at all on the complex. There is a shop just down the road but you will pay through the teeth for everything you buy.

Also my 8 year old Granddaughter won a prize from one of the machines for the kiddies it turned out to be a cigarette lighter in the shape of a parrot luckily I realised what it was before she played with it ....We were on a night flight home so we had to wait in the bar from 8 pm (which is the time you must leave even if you pay the 20 euros extra asked to let you keep the room) till 12:30 am My advice ...STAY AWAY.
"

by M Rowe
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We booked this as a last minute...

"We booked this as a last minute holiday (a week before we flew) so didn’t really know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. It was a nice quiet resort, the accommodation was clean and well equipped. The reps were all great friendly helpful people and the children’s club was a must!

Stacey and Rosie the children’s reps were really good with the children and planned lots of different activities to keep the children amused while we lazed by the pool or had a drink in the bar. They are activities planned for during the day and the evening so you get a break while your children have fun.

The apartments are about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Lloret De Mar but there is a local bus stop that costs 90cents per person if you don’t fancy the walk or buy too much shopping to carry back!

There is a little shop opposite the apartment that stocks all the essentials, fresh bread, milk, water, beer, ice cream etc which is quite expensive but very convenient.

The three pools are all very well maintained and clean. A lovely shallow children’s pool, a quiet pool for swimming only and them the main pool.

All in all a great holiday in a lovely town.
"

by R Collett
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Els Llorers Closest airport: Girona Barcelona (GRO) 14.9 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Els Llorers
  • by holiday heaven

    " orient express, route 66 also little cafe bars set back from the beach "

  • by Ollie 432

    " Amazing fish combination dinner on the beach front. "

Similar hotels around Lloret De Mar

Hotels near Els Llorers

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Els Llorers?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Els Llorers? Share your insight.

Els Llorers is also called:

  • els llorers lloret de mar

Address: Amadeu Vives s/n, Lloret De Mar 17310, Spain