Balcon Del Mar Apartments

Calle Reina Sofia 23, Lanzarote 35510, Spain
3 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(44 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
21
Good
12
Average
6
Poor
2
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 7.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
very good

"Just back from weeks holidays at balcon del mar lanzarote . was a bit apprehensive after reading reviews but was pleasantly surprised with appts . we had room with sea view and balcony . it was clean and roomy . seen no cats or roaches . hotel staff were friendly and helpful , pool bar was great as were rachel and jason . if i had to complain about anything it would be having to pay for tv and on our last day we were charged 25 euro cause we didnt vacate room till 4 pm . [check out time is 12 ] which we were not told so 25 euro for 4 hours was steep [ 10 would have been enough ] our appt was cleaned 5 times and sheets were changed twice so we were happy with service ."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by co . kerry
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not great!

"Just back from a weeks stay in the Balcon del Mar apartments and have to stay they weren't great at all. Myself and my husband went on a package holiday and it wasn't all that cheap, so we expected the accomodation to be of a good standard!

On arrival we were greeted by a very nice guy at reception, he was there most of the week we were there and he was very friendly and had extremely good English.

We arrived at our apartment, on the lower level near the 2nd swimming pool and on entering we just found it could have done with a major revamp. My husband had to sweep the whole floor as it looked as if it hadn't been swept at all before we arrived and judging by the amount of dirt that he gathered I don't think it had!

The whole apartment was in dire need of a fresh lick of paint and new furniture, I have to say the best room in the apartment was the bathroom as it was clean and looked nice!

The bedroom also needed updating, although the beds were comfy.

Some of the doors on the kitchen units were wonky and the kitchen floor just looked dirty.

We have been to Lanzarote 7/8 times and unfortunately I have to say these apartments were the worst we have stayed in, however, reception staff were very friendly.

We won't be returning to these apartments again.

(We didn't use the pool bar at all as we went to the beach most days and ate out)
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Room Only, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: La Cascada de Puerto (La Bodega) restaurant in the Old town of Puerto del Carmen is fabulous and La Cantina don Raphael on the front is lovely too
  • Good For: Beach
by WAUD
3 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant place for a relaxing holiday

"stayed last year in july and loved it booked to go in may this year again. staff were lovely in reception had a lovely room with sea views, loved the swimming pools nice and clean rachel and jason were lovely in the bar (cant wait to have my blue lagoons) food was lovely and nothing like a nice cool drink to cool down when it is hot, the cleaning staff were lovely and the rooms were cleaned nearly everyday washing up done and fresh towels.cant wait to go again and visit jinty mc gintys at nite ooooooh hurry up and come may 9th.!!!!sharon x"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Sunworld
  • Good For: Beach
by shaz
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Must be good - we keep going back

"I would recommend the Balcon del Mar to anyone who wants spacious clean apartments and a friendly atmosphere. We have stayed so often at Balcon del Mar that it feels like our second home.

The reception staff and cleaners are lovely and Jason and Rachel who run the pool bar always make everyone feel so welcome.
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, Room Only, booked with Sunshine.co.uk
  • Advice: We've already booked our next one
  • Good For: Beach
by Fifi
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

About the hotel and Puerto Del Carmen area

"Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Balcon Del Mar from 6th to 17th on September. It was an alright place you got what you paid for really, people say that there are lots of cockroaches and cat etc but we only saw 3 cockroaches where we were out there and only 1 was in the room, and as for the cats they are harmless they just wonder round outside they are to scared to come near you anyway.

The apartments are ok nice little front room and kitchen the bathroom is nice with good shower and the bed rooms have what you need, the only problem was the lots of little mites that loved the wood which there is a lot of in the apartment so I advice don’t leave food out or anything you don’t want bugs crawling over.

There are 2 swimming pools they are ok big enough for a few people in but hardly anyone went in when we were there so had the pool to ourselves. Make sure if you burn easy take lots of suntan with you to the pool as there are no sun shades or any natural shade there. There is a pool bar but you have to be bone dry to go in and it is pretty expensive you can get a breakfast there for around 6 euro but if you head down to the harbour you can get a huge breakfast there for around 3 euro’s much better.

There are 2 supermarkets close by to get all your bit and bobs from like water etc there are lots of little cheap shops if you want to get any toys for children etc and enough pubs for the adults. If you are welsh there is a nice little restaurant/bar where you can get some nice home cooked food and some delicious deserts the owners are welsh but you don’t have to be to go there it’s called the purple turtle and if your staying at the Belcon Del Mar or anywhere up the top of the hill you see it when you walk down.

The beach is around a 20 minute walk down the hill which is a nice walk, the sun beds are9 euro’s for 2 beds and a parasol for as long as you want, they have a range of water sports e.g. canoes either 10 euro’s for a 1 man or 15 euro’s for a 2 man, pedalow’s with a slide are 20euro’s and without I think are 15 euro’s. If you like snorkelling there are to fish to see as soon as you get in the sea they come far into the shallows.

We went on a few trips and found that if you booked them with a firm called last minute travel you got good prices and you knew that it was legit they spoke English and were very helpful. I would recommend the full south tour trip, it was 33 euro’s and lasted most of the day taking you around the volcanoes and the green lagoon we both really enjoyed it.

We also went to the local water park which was great fun there wasn’t many people when we went as it was September but even if it was busy I’m sure it would be just as fun with slides for adult and children. It cost us around 45 euro’s that was 2 adult entry and 2 for the bus there and back.

There is a market on Sunday mornings in Tegiuse they collect you round hal9 and pick you up around 1 which gives you about 3 hours there. It’s a huge market and sells anything and everything but it’s a great morning out the but cost us 4 euro’s but I think it’s is round 8 euro’s normally.

We took a trip into the capital but was a bit disappointed as there is not much there, there are a few shops but we went for bars etc and well couldn’t find any really but there is a nice beach there it costs 6 euro’s for 2 adult returns. There is a bus stop rite outside the Balcon Del Mar apartments in which we were picked up from for all the above.

In the night there are plenty of restaurants to chose from to eat they mostly all do a special menu which is a started and a main they are all under 10 euro’s, if you like beer a large is normally around 4 euro’s and that the same for a large soft drink in many of the places. There are some clubs there but we didn’t go to any we went to a few bars and had a drink, there are lots of Irish bars and English bars down on the main strip and down the harbour area.

Well I don’t know what else I can say we used our apartment as a place to sleep and change, there’s lots to do in the day but not so much in the evening. You can make this place as loud or as quite as you want but if you want a loud party holiday then i don’t think this is for you, it a good place for couples that want a chill like we did.

Hope you have a good holiday whatever you decide.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: great holiday for families not for young groups looking for a loud time
  • Good For: Beach
by Amy
5 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Reassuring thumbs up

"Im not one for usually writing reviews or commenting on forums, but I wanted to post a positive regarding Balcon Del Mar - having read so many negatives myself and having arrived fearing the worst.

Just got back and happy to report that actually it was very friendly, clean, spacious, with lovely staff, we had a fab terrace and all the facilities you would really need.

Defo good value for what we paid at least!!!!!

Complaints about cockroaches and food as far as im concerned are a little harsh as your gonna get the odd cockroach running in the street (all we saw) and in the complex they have a little pool side drinky/eatery ideal for snacking - but a short walk down the hill brings you to a massive choice of restaurants!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with on the beach
  • Advice: Nice Location for chilling or partying a short distance away - try the surf - awesome!!!
  • Good For: Beach
by sunnybunny
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Balcon Del Mar? Fantastic!!

"Just back from Balcon Del Mar and I don't know what everyone is complaining about!!!

the apartments were clean, spacious and very, very quiet. We had apartment 52 which was right beside the bottom pool and had fantastic sea views.

Yes, there are cats but if you don't bother them they won't bother you.

We had no problems with noise, in fact when we were there (16th-23rd august) there was hardly anyone around our pool (no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve your lounger!!)

The apartments had everything you needed - fridge, toaster, kettle and even a coffee maker!! lots of pots and pans, lots of cultery and plates.

There was no problem with hot water and even i could fit under the shower (I'm just under 6 feet tall).

Our kitchen light went out and we reported it and went to the supermarket. When we came back (after half an hour) it was fixed. We even got to keep our room on until we were leaving (it did cost un 25 euros but i think that was a bargin!!)

We only experienced cockroaches on the last day but that's because there wer no cats around then.

The hill is quite steep but if you stick to the purple turtle side of the road you'll be fine. We got taxis back from the strip and it was less and 4 euros.

Go and see for yourself and be pleasantly surprised!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: I would definately go back and would feel fine recommending this to my friends
  • Good For: Beach
by 6footsharon
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wouldn't go back

"Just got back from staying a week in these apartments.

First impressions were good but throughout the week we kept noticing more negative points. The biggest problem we had were the COCKROACHES in the bathroom! We saw 10 in total during out stay and they were huge. Complained to reception but the guy laughed and said its nothing to worry about and they sprayed the bathroom but it didn't stop them. The lighting was very dimm and I found the apartments quite irry as it was so spacious and empty, there was also dirty finger prints on the walls and ceilings. Was actually quite frightened at night which I never have before on holiday. Couldn't sleep with the window open as loud lorries and buses were continually going past as were drunk rowdy people. Lots of cats but they were kind of cute and harmless. The ceiling above our shower leaked everytime someone in the apartment above had a shower. Kitchen area was nice, could of done with a microwave or a toaster though. Cleaner was good and regular, she even did our washing up and dealt with all our glasses covering the cockroaches every morning, respect to her. Floors were quite dirty, had to walk around in flipflops. Overall, was disappointed with the accomodation, but maybe we were just unlucky with our room (number 21). Pool area was OK, not many sunbeds and most of them were broken or uncomfortable and the pool was too deep to stand up in. Don't know why people are moaning about the hill, its really not that bad and good exercise, a cab was only 3 euros from the bars anyway. Went on the Grand Tour trip which would highly recommend, practically saw the whole island, beaches and sea was lush. Also be careful in the toilet in reception, my friend got stuck in there, and it took a passer by to save her 30minutes later whilst she was screaming out the window!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Leanne
3 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic

"we were moved here after the hotel we booked was horrendous. These appartments were excellently situated, the pools were great, the lower pool was very quiet. our balcony was a lovely little sun trap with glorious sea view. The apartment was very clean, spacious, well maintained and was cool at night. would highly highly recommend this apartment!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, self catering, booked with low cost holiday
  • Advice: loved lanzarote higly recommend old harbour in puerto del carmen
  • Good For: Beach
by georgie
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Basic but lovely apartment

"My partner and i have just came back from lanzarote after staying a week there ! the balcon del mar apartments are basic but you get what u pay for these were lovely , sea views , patio which was a sun trap and there was walls at either side so you couldnt see your neighbours , it was quiet , there were cats but they dont bother you ,the shower was really good better than some we have experienced abroad ! if you like indian the zaffran in the old town is a must we ate there 3 times in the week , the staff are really nice ! the italian next door are good as well ! we would definately stay at the balcon again !"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: worth the money
  • Good For: Beach
by maza
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Balcon Del Terrible...

"My brother and I took my mum to Lanzarote for her 60th birthday. Lanzarote was great and we got right round the island and the island next door. All the restaurants and bars we went to were either good or very good, weather was fantastic - it rained for a couple of hours just after we got there and that was the end of the rain. 25+ degrees after that.

However the apartments...

Well the cats were friendly and did well out of us. The bathroom was nice - that was the only nice bit actually. The electric failed for nearly 2 whole days and this is a regular thing here apparently. Speaking of which, the lights (if you can call them that) were permanantly dim and you couldnt really see yourself in the mirror etc it was that bad. The tv (such as it was) was on a slot metre and was like something from the 1960s - not that you go on holiday to watch tv but it was a joke! Very very basic accomodation - to be honest, ive never seen anything as basic as this anywhere in the world and ive stayed in some not great places.

All in all - the apartment spoiled our holiday a bit. Mind you, it made sure we filled our days and nights out as we didnt really want to go back home to no electricity or really dim lights! The bus stop/coach stop was right behind us so that was nice being woke up early in the morning etc - insulation was non-existent so you could hear everything.

Why we didnt complain or try for compensation I still dont know, I think we were just glad to be out of there when we went. We made jokes about it all the time saying "there cant be anywhere as bad as this in the Canary Islands!"

Avoid at all costs! (no matter how cheap it seems!)
"

by nick66
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Top apartments

"Ignore people who are moaning on here. Top hotel, clean, comfy, really nice pool etc.

Close to everything, great place.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Lastminute
  • Good For: Beach
by alexxx
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Balcon Del Mar Apartments Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 4.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Puerto Del Carmen

Hotels near Balcon Del Mar Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Balcon Del Mar Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Balcon Del Mar Apartments? Share your insight.

Balcon Del Mar Apartments is also called:

  • balcon del mar
  • balcon del mar hotel
  • balcon del mar puerto carmen

Address: Calle Reina Sofia 23, Lanzarote 35510, Spain