Xenos Kamara Beach Aparthotel

Zante 29100, Greece
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(30 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
14
Good
10
Average
5
Poor
1
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Xenos Kamara Beach Aparthotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Not all their fault!!

"The big European Tour Operators control the market in Greece; they buy allocations of rooms from local hoteliers and sell them on to you as a package holiday. However, their mark up is massive (this is how they make their profit) and the amount they actually pay the hotels is very small. Add to this, the fact that they insist on having all the rooms at their disposal but if they aren't selling well, they can also cancel half or even all of the rooms at short notice just before the summer season, leaving hotels with no chance of finding other bookings. And as the Tour Operators don't pay until the season has finished, the hotels can do nothing about it, just hope they don't have to wait too long for their money (Tour Operators often pay late.) And if a Tour Operator goes bust, the hotels can kiss goodbye to a whole year's income. And by the way, if the hotels don't like it, that's tough, they must accept it or the Tour Operators will go elsewhere (they control the market completely.) Given all this, is it any wonder that some hotels cut a few corners with their maintenance/running costs? The sooner we all book direct with the hotels online, and cut the Tour Operators out of the picture, the better it will be for all of us (tourists AND hotels!!!)"

by Justin N
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Poor Quality Appartments

"We went self catering which would of been impossible due to the hygiene standards of the equipment and the general cooking area. Certainly we didn’t have enough cups etc to sit down and actually eat a meal. The divan beds and mattress’s where grubby. The door would not close probably and woke our children up if moved. We reported this to the Scottish receptionist on the day of our arrival and several times during the two week holiday. It became obvious that she was simply fobbing us off with lies that someone would come to have a look which never happened. The shower head had no holder and had to be held, and the bathroom would flood every time it was used. It was said was due to the Greek drains, but we have been to numerous Greek island and never had a problem before. I suspect it was the fact that no maintenance had been carried out on the apartments since they were first built which really was the problem. Nearly all the apartment sun beds were damaged in some way which meant people either sat on the floor or had to pay an additional cost to obtain a grubby sun bed mat.

Although other reviews indicate differently I have never met such an unfriendly bar man as George in all my life who seemed more interested in watching TV and stabbing the inflatable’s in the pool than serving the customers.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Self Catering, booked with Cosmos
  • Advice: Don't go
  • Good For: Beach
by Zeus
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice place /freindly

"Hi All just returned from Zante stayed at the Xenon hotel right on the beach front

the hotel and staff are great (for though that know George the bar man he is back next year )couldnt fault the hotel for a 2 star hotel .YES it's Officialy a 2 Star not 3 as the tour operators have labeled it .The hotel is very clean and well situated it also has Ramps for wheelchairs and even 2 designated disabled rooms with wide doors and with an open shower room (so you can get a wheelchair in easily)

Car hire is a doddle we used the local company the flocas car hire (just round the corner) for 7 days and asked for a car to carry a wheelchair in and got a Hyundi

which was more than big enough .

its a family company and it has good quality cars and service (cheapes in Argassi as well ).

currently the resort of Argassi is very expensive to stay in due to the Euro /pound

there are loads of fine restaurants including the Star, Athenia & Zorbers just down from the hotel .

There are a couple of duffers though like the green frog ,zevz (Bragging they have cod and it aint its crap) the 3 brothers restaurant all have lousy service and the food was very average .

PLEASE not the motor bike hire is cheaper but they are very dangerous on the slick roads seen several crashes and all needed hopital treatment

(your insurance with the bike only covers the bike not you neather will your holiday insurance in most cases . where in a car you are covered

hope this is of help

enjoy the island and the hotel nothing was ever to much hassle for them .
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Activities: currently the resort of Argassi is very expensive to stay in due to the Euro /pound
by Topcatdc
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Clean and friendly but not a lot to do but eat and sunbathe.

"This hotel is clean and quite comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are a very good size with lots of storage for clothes etc. With the exchange rate this summer we found ourselves spending lots of money, a can of cola is 2Euros and a bowl of ice cream averages at 4. The boat tour of the island was spectacular, the sea is so clean and blue. Swimming off the rocky sidde of the island was the highlight of the trip. Well worth hiring a car and touring the whole island - stopped at a snack bar/food van on the side of the road and had the best freshly squeezed orange juice ever. Walked up the hill to see the fortress in Zakinthos town, lovely walk, fantastic photo opportunities en-route but the fort was shut, it is hit and miss as to when it is open. It is impossible to get to see the turtles on the beaches - which is good for the turtles but beware of indications that you can visit them. We ate out every night and did not have a bad meal but would recommend the following:- Ethnic - greek with a twist - two Greek Autralian sisters run this resturant and it is fabulous, Zorba's - HUGE portions, fantastic service, the Thia resturant was a nice alternative to the Greek cuisine with very light meals (still in large prtions though). There is very little entertainment in the evenings, there are lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Taxi to Kalimaki beach, which is much nicer thata Argassi beach, the sea is clearer and the beach is sandy, cost 10Euro nad well worth the visit. The taverna in Kalimaki beach is very good too. On Argassi beach you can hire jet skis etc, but at 50Euro for 15 minutes we felt it a little expensive. The paraglidiing cost 50Euro for two or 40Euro for one and last for 5 minutes. There are very few traditional buildings due to the massive 1953 earthquake."

by MandyMG
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

All in all it was a nice stay...

"ROOM:

Positives:

The room was superb... for only 2 of us we had a room with a double bed, and a room with 3 singles, kitchen and bathroom.. it was clean, comfy and it had plenty of features such as TV, Air con (need a remote from desk which I assume you pay for), lots of hangers in the robes, fridge, toasty maker, microwave, cooker, etc..

Fresh towels daily. Maid service daily. 2 BAlcony's - and overlooked the beach. (Side View).

Negatives:

Only 1 english channel and it was news and i lost the channel trying to change the volume and so we lost that on day 2... but that was my fault.. so don't play with the TV (use the remote only).

Staff are really nice and always available.

Location - on the beach.

Pool - gorgeous and warm... 4' to 6' deep + childrens pool.

Food - excellent and cheap - do not make the mistake we made and go to the shops to get supplies like cereals and toasty stuff etc... its more expensive than eating out 100% time.

Shops - tend to be expensive at the moment - but I think wherever the Euro is used is expensive now and its one reason many in the UK are not planning holidays where the Euro is used.

General Area:

Okay. Enough bars etc for a couple but if I was young I think I'd be disappointed. Okay for older people or kids as there are also small fun fairs scattered about so families would probably like this. Not a large resort.

The beach is rubbish, and it smells a bit near the hotel.

I would not go overboard about this whole place - although the hotel/apartment is very nice the general area is not great and so it's kinda wasted here.

I got a last minute holiday and it was really cheap so that helped.

I would give the hotel a possible 8.5/10

Area 5 / 10
"

by fgib57
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

A great place to stay

"stayed at this hotel a couple of times and what a great experiance,rooms were a good size and cleaned regularly,no dragging your suitcases upstairs as there is a lift to do this for you.ideally located within easy reach of the nightlife but just a few steps from the beach.staff are friendly and the girl on the main reception is fantastic.when i was there they had evening entertainment which was usually well attended.all in all a great place to stay."

by zantepete
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Friendly hotel

"Booked this hotel 24 hours before going and agreed to it based on trip advisor reviews.

Hotel and staff brilliant - apartment was a good size 2 bedrooms - 1 double bed and 3 singles for just the 2 of us. Had a side sea view and could see both towards the hills and over to the Greek mainland - stunning. The apartments had double glazed patio doors which afforded you the soundproofing from the music of surrounding bars although they were not too loud or intrusive but did insure if you wanted to retire early that you would not be disturbed. The finish of the rooms were the best I have experienced in Greece but the kitchen equipment could have been better - we ate out but if you had wanted to cook in then was a little limited.

Sarah Jane and Christina (I think that was her name) on reception were so friendly and very helpful that they helped made our stay, always a smile or a laugh.

The nearest supermarket was at the top of the road no more than 2 mins away and had a good selection of goods. There were many restaurants in Argassi and most had people outside to entice you in - after a few days this did get a little bit annoying. Also people selling trips there were 4 shops that offered trips in Argassi. We booked with Smile (TEZ tours)on the left hand side but would not recommend their trips. We did the round the island tour although it appears good value that is because there is nothing to see after the blue caves and the smugglers cove - the rest is just island and sea - very boring - infact I think you will find most people do not recommend this trip and the locals think it hilarious that you have done it. You can go to Vasilikos and hire a boat for approx 30 euros for 4 hours and go out to various coves etc - that was what the locals recommended doing. We did the jeep safari with Zante Insight but it was a rip off as only got taken to 7 out of 12 things on the itinery - no help from Smile on getting a partial refund so beware. Both smile and Peters used this company.

Buses were very reliable and reasonable cost - to Zante was 1.40 and then from Zante to most other towns was between 1.40-1.50 each way. Not many buses so check the timetable - available from bus stops and the central bus station. Bus station very helpful. Taxis were not too expensive and cost 7 euros from Zante to Argassi and 10 euros from Kalamaki (good beach) back to Argassi should you not wnat to use the bus. They do drive like they are possesed so not a good idea if you are of a nervous disposition. The locals say they are down by about 40% on tourists based on last years figure so should be able to get some good deals out to here. Best restaurant was Granada at the far end of town when coming from Zante town past the Green frog restaurant and then the next one on the right. The owner and his family cannot do enough for you and are very friendly, more than happy to recommend dishes and are concerned that you have enjoyed your meal. They have a wicked sense of humour and a knack of making every one feel special and a friend. The food is cooked by the mother and is of a very good quality - we went 7 out of 8 days. they have a greek night on a Thurs which is very good and have dancers who actually look like they are enjoying themselves and throw themselves into entertaining the diners 100% yet won't push should you not want to join in. They do not charge for this night - they just get pleasure from seeing others enjoy themselves. Good breakfast from Marios about 2/3 way down the main road on the left - great english breakfast, clean restaurant and good service. Flocas cafe close to hotel was terrible - burnt bacon, burnt eggs and tinned tomatoes all served with a cigarette in the mouth and no customer service. Worst breakfast and no atmosphere.
"

by jinnydiv
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Warm and Friendly

"Second visit to the Kamara beach, first time was for one week september 2008 - late booking due to our booked holiday being cancelled. My sister and i were so pleased that we immediately booked up for a two week holiday June 2009.

We were joined by 4 other female friends for our first week.

We were greeted on arrival by the wonderful sarah, always so cheery and bubbly - and it was so nice when she recognised us from last year.

Our room was 204 and was perfect, it was situated on the road side with the most perfect seaview along with zante town in the distance. We had one large balcony which shared the afternoon sun with us - lasted well into 7.30pm. I normally insist on air conditioning but we opted to try before we buy, to my amazement we didnt need it, the room was so cool and airy. (saving 75euros) Paid 35 euos for the safe though.

The rooms are basic but clean and bright. The kitchen was of ample size - Table & 4 chairs, Microwave, kettle and sandwich maker all available for use. One tip - take a decent tin opener with you as they only supply the old fashioned kind with one sharp pointed blade !!

Towels changed regularly and rooms kept tidy every day. The maids were so obliging coming back when need be. Asking for more towels was never a problem.

George was great, always there to supply the late night cocktails - poor guy had 6 demanding woman at him every night !! He also gave me a loan of a mug to use in my room (tea lover and cups in the room were too small)

One of our firends had a birthday whilst we were there, Sarah organised the most fantastic birthday cake ever - huge, fruity and tasted very much like a tiramisu sponge recipe. George was the perfect host that day - presented the surprise cake, sang happy birthday, lit the candles and cut the cake (he even stored it for us in the cafe bar fridge for the following day)

Nic works on reception on the night shift and is such a lovely person, always there to meet and greet you no matter what time of night it was. Perfect host at 4am for those who suffer sleeping problems, as we did one night !!

Pool side hospitality is first class, george was like my private butler, tending to my needs no matter what. Even went and got the two of us dry clean towels when the weather changed suddenly one late afternoon, we were in the pool and had no towels nearby, the wind got up and made it very chilly to come out of the pool. He also makes a mean "tasty toasty" - food always presented well and was always "hot & tasty".

The beach was small and basic, with lots of seaweed at parts, i didnt care as the weather was so hot, we bought a lie low and chilled off drifting back and forth on the sea front - very relaxing. Lie low was 5 euros from up the road, could be found further along the strip at 3.80 euros.

The supermarket opposite the Kamara is perfect, sells almost everything, some things a bit pricey, 2.20 euros for a small tin of tuna. Cheapest milk in town, and most of all, very friendly service.

Our first night was in Zorbas, we even talked the owner into teaching us greek dancing, we had a real smashin' time !! In more ways than one !

The greek rooftop restaurant was excellent too - very friendly staff who talked us round to doing some of our traditional dancing for them, what a laugh - Freejugs of wine was our reward.

Star restaurant was execellent on the first week, food and service was great, but disappointing the second week, when they made a mistake with my meal, which meant i had to wait another 15 mins whilst my sister ate alone ! Poor customer service !!

Evrybody raves on about Ethnic restuarant, i felt that the food was OK but what was uncomfortable was that we were all packed in like sardines, power went off during the meal which meant we had to eat by candle light.

Our last night was back in zorbas but this time just me and my sister, and no plate smashing. We were both treated like royalty and was very impressed when we got our bill - the owner gave us a free carafe of wine as a thank you for a great night of entertainment.

Premier restaurant had a traditional greek night when we were there, 2 greek dancers done a brilliant job of getting all the customers up and joining in, dancing in the street, on the road and in the next door jewellers shop !! Cost me the price of a silver bangel !!!

Ohh and the food was great too !!

If you visit Zante town, be very careful where you choose to have a coffee, we asked for a cup of filter coffee and got a smal cup of nescafe instant@4euros each - what a rip off.

Brilliant coffee bar in the square, free litre of chilled bottled water per visit.

Lots of shops, bars and eating places on the strip gives you the flexability to eat in differant places each night.

Was a great holiday, it felt like we were part of a family with all the staff at the hotel.Well done to all x
"

by JanN2009
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Girls Holiday

"I have just come back from a week at the Kamara Beach Hotel in Argassi, Zante. What a great place to stay. We were a group of 6 ladies. We had 3 apartments which had 2 bedrooms in each apartment. All our bedrooms had a balcony. Ours was a side view, which had a view of the Sea. The hotel was clean and friendly . All the staff were very helpful. One of the girls had a birthday whilst we were there and Sarah, from reception ordered a beautiful birthday cake for the occasion. Thanks Sarah! George was there everyday serving drinks and food, looking after us all. Beer from frozen glasses is just what is required in the hot sun.

The hotel was really quite, but it was early in the season.

Kamara Beach Aparthotel is on the beach, and although the beach was not the best , it could have been a bit cleaner, it didnt stop us enjoying the Sea. There was lots of smelly seaweed in one part. We did see people doing some clearing up, so maybe its cleaned more as it get busier?

I would definately recomend this hotel to friends. Its a great base for the main street through Argassi. Loads of bars, shops and restaurants. Zorba's restaurant was one of the best, we had them teaching us Greek dancing and the restaurant next door, threw some plates in, then everyone was throwing plates, it was such fun. Star was another good restaurant. Also there was a Thai and Greek restaurant, upstairs, we went to the Greek side, that was good too.

If you want an Ideal location, clean, friendly hotel then Kamara beach is it. Its also about 10 mins from the airport. We got a taxi for 4 at 15 Euros.

A taxi into Zante town was 7 Euros.

Beware of the restaurant , Village Inn and a bar called the Ship Inn both on the Front. We got ripped off in both places!!! Ask the price first...most important.

Happy Holidays!
"

by c14cex
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Just what we needed.

"First of all can I apologise for the lengthof this review, but when we read other reviews we found a lot just told you the bad stuff and probably put us off a lot of places that were really ok. So I vowed to write a review that may help people. I hope it does!! So maybe make yourself a cuppa before you begin! LOL!

THE HOTEL.

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks at the end of September. After reading reviews of every other hotel on the island we finally booked it. I wanted somewhere quiet, close to a beach and far away from club 18-30's.

We arrived around 12 in the afternoon and got our room straight away. We had "requested" a sea view room when making our booking, but got a room on the side of the hotel (not the side next to the road).That was ok as we still had a glimpse of ocean and plenty of privacy on the HUGE balcony. There was a stagnant smell that wafted around at times as there was an inlet running along the side of the hotel. Being on the bottom level we could always hear EVERYTHING the neighbours above us were doing!! We could also hear music from the bar next door but it never kept us awake at night. (My boyfriend is a light sleeper and no real complaints.) Although we had our balcony doors closed at night as we had paid the supplement for air conditioning, expensive, 75 euros for the two weeks, but a necessity I suppose if the heat bothers you at night. Another fee that the hotel charged was 35 euros for the key to your safe. We thought this was ridiculous and instead locked all of our valuables in one suitcase and either hid the keys or took them with us. The apartment was sufficient, plenty of crockery, a hotplate, kettle, pans, microwave/grill, and a toastie machine (hint: be imaginative with your creations, bacon beans and cheese toasties for brekky!!) but no washing up liquid and only one tea towel. Towels get changed every few days, but we did ask for fresh ones and the maid obliged, and the rooms were “tidied” every day. Bring your own towels for the pool. Not enough storage space. Tv only had one main English channel- irish sky news! Ive never been so well informed! ( My younger brother suggested that I could have taken Play station and dvd’s and hooked it in. good idea to keep kids amused) The pool was clean, always had heaps of free sun lounges, parasols and lilos and balls (left behind?) to use. We didn’t eat there but the food looked ok, cocktails for 3 euros 50, 2 euros for a can of coke. Asks you to refrain from taking your own to the pool but we bought a few rounds then took our own cokes and water each day. Either nobody noticed or they weren’t bothered.

THE LOCATION.

Right next to the beach, but to be honest we spent most of time at the pool. Too much seaweed (and we could smell what was going into the water!!! )Some rubbish dotted around too, but the water was warm and you can wade out past the seaweed! Down the road was a supermarket called Asda price, found that the cheapest. Some really great restaurants, don’t remember the name of the two we loved. One is run by an Australian lady,(ethnic I think it my be called) with cushions on the window sill, opposite the tour shop and another one is to the left also, further down the street with a big white fountain outside it to the right. (may begin with a P?) We hired a scooter 90euros for 2 weeks from the shop directly in front of the hotel (in a red cage), bought a cheap zante guide book and went exploring. Excellent, do it! We found some of the most amazing beaches, and even took ourselves to the shipwreck (above it of course). The island really isn’t that big. We also followed a sign we saw saying “Panaramia” and “best view of the island” on little home made green signs. Follow them. It truly is a panoramic best view of the island. The owners just ask you to buy something from their shop. Headed to Laganas for a night, a lot busier than Argassi, and people trying to pull you into bars which got on my nerves after a while!

OVERALL

We had a really good two weeks away. The hotel was everything we needed. Loved the pool, explored the island, got a good tan and put on 5 pounds from too much Tatziki, chips and cheese!! Everyone we met was friendly.

The only thing we didn’t enjoy was a boat tour of the island. The weather was too cold, rough seas and people packed on like sardines, plenty with sea sickness!!! Couldn’t get off to swim at all the promised stops, including the shipwreck, which was all we wanted (for sentimental reasons). But I’m sure another day would have been great, only take your own drinks and picnic as the boat is pricey. Karen the sales lady at the tour shop was great. Don’t forget your sun-cream either, for some reason they charge a fortune!!
"

by ShelleyBellz
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

This place is absolutely wonderful we...

"This place is absolutely wonderful we are a youngish couple but didnt want to go to Laganas so we chose here instead

The hotel is spotless, we had a massive apartment which was right overlooking the beach, our room had two bedrooms, a ig kitchen a table, lovely bathrrom and extra hanging space in the hallway, double balcony.

You could also see Zante town from our room

The staff were really really pleasant and the food was delicious

The rooms were cleaned properly and everything worked to a tee

The beds are massive and clean the tv worked fine, not that we watched it but had it on while we got ready to go out

The pool was cleaned every night and it was quite warm even in may

Argassi itself is really nice, plenty to eat and great places to eat, we spent most nights in Avalon bar,

If you do any excursions go on the trip to shipwreck cove, this place is utterly amazing, ust better than any pictures on the web, it takes your breath away. book with the tour operators in argassi as it is much cheaper

There is also a free bus that goes to I think it was st michaels beach which is full of watersports

Also go to the waterpark it is well worth the money

All in all it was a fantastic holiday, and this hotel was just perfect. I would highly reccommend this place
"

by M Glascott
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I would NOT recommend Xenos Kamara...

"I would NOT recommend Xenos Kamara Beach apartments at all, although Zante and the local people were lovely. Go to Zante but avoid the Xenos Kamara Beach apartments at Argassi like the proverbial plague. Our reasons are listed below.

We arrived on 7th August 2008 and we were shown to our apartment, room 103. We noticed immediately that the toilet seat was missing and that there was a pull switch hanging from the wall in the bathroom with exposed wires in the shower area of the bathroom (in fact the whole bathroom was designed as ‘wet room’ without shower curtain or cubicle) We asked the British receptionist if a new toilet seat was available and also to sort out the exposed wires, especially as we have two children who would be using the bathroom. We were told that the toilet seat was on order and they couldn’t be sure when it would arrive. We asked if another room was available but were told that none were. The toilet seat had not arrived when we left on the 14th August. This made life quite awkward for our children and was extremely unhygienic. Whenever we chased progress with receptionist, we got a lot of smiles and platitudes but never any action. Additionally, the wet room arrangement in the bathroom succeeded in flooding the whole apartment whenever the shower was used so we had to purchase a mop on day one to get rid of the water and to prevent our children from slipping and hurting themselves.

We also paid an additional 45 euro for air conditioning for the week. The first night, the children’s room was nice and cool and ours was stifling. The apartment had two air conditioning units, one in each bedroom. The unit in the main bedroom did not work as the external unit had been removed, leaving yet more live wires on the balcony. Another trip to the receptionist, who again smiled and assured us that it would be repaired tomorrow. Tomorrow never came, and again on leaving on the 14th August our air conditioning was still out of action and a refund for the additional fee was not given despite being asked for.

We have been taking our children abroad since they were born and have ventured to many places and we have never had a problem with accommodation or service. Nor are we the type of people of who usually complain or are overly fussy, but Xenos Kamara Beach is the worst place we have ever stayed in as a family and the British receptionist was the most useless, ineffective member of staff we have ever come across. It was so obvious that they couldn’t care less about the problems in our apartment as they already had our money.
"

by A Coffey
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Argassi

Hotels near Xenos Kamara Beach Aparthotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Xenos Kamara Beach Aparthotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Xenos Kamara Beach Aparthotel? Share your insight.

Xenos Kamara Beach Aparthotel is also called:

  • xenos kamara beach aparthotel argassi