Elim House Hotel

Hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(9 reviews)

Ratings summary


Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 9.5/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Elim House Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners


Traveller reviews

This place is highly recommended !!

"Pls do not listen to the negative reviews how anyone can complain i do not know !! This is a great bed and breakfast. Remember people do not often write reviews if they are happy with the service and good service should be acknowledged. This is a little gem and should not be mixed up with the neighbouring guest house which has a similar name (although that too may be very good but I cannot comment -- having not stayed there) Elim House is cosy, clean, warm and very friendly, and the breakfast is awesome. The owners are very helpful and help you to make the most of your stay. The location is great just two min walk into a quaint little town, with lots of lovely cosy pubs, tearooms and restaurants, the lakes are here to and access by boat to ambleside is joy !! We usually go abroad this time of year but fancied a change, this place is beautiful and will not disappoint. Highly recommend and will def return...Enjoy and come back a few pounds heavier !!! Thanks Steve and Judith, missing your cosy room.Have a great summer season."

by NorfolkLou
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Lovely accommodation in a Perfect Location

"We stayed at Elim House for 5 nights and couldn't have asked for a better spot and the room (recently renovated) was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The B&B has a pretty garden leading up to the main door and the breakfast room overlooks this and is great on a sunny morning (which we luckily had most of the time). The breakfast was great and the owners cook and serve it themselves and I must say that this is one of the main things that made our stay so good as the service was excellent and you could tell that they were genuinely happy to have guests there (the B&B was full for most of the time we were there).

I would reccomend Elim House to anyone who wants to stay in good accommodation very close to the restaurants and lake (main part of Bowness is literally just round the corner and the Lake is a hop skip and a jump down the road).

by ceverywhere
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Location and breakfast ok, got a loft room which is horrible

"Me and my partner stayed there for 4 nights. Location is good. But we booked a good double bed room but when we checked in saw a loft room. We even could not properly stand up inside the room as the ceiling was very low. We were really disappointed as really spent bit more money to get a standard room. There was a glass door in the room which was the only window in the room. This glass door was also an opening for the fire exit. We booked a double bed but got two single bed together which was also annoying. I would not recommend this hotel. Apart from this room story the hotel is just a normal hotel with nospeciality. Breakfast is nothing special but a normal English breakfast."

Management response from tennispick1, 03 Mar 2010

Firstly, we are not a hotel we are a B & B. Secondly the bed referred to is a zip linked superkingsize bed which you do get in hotelsand is of a high quality. Thirdly, if you were on the 2nd floor with no fire escape what would you do if there was a fire?

by raj_arian52
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes


"My wife and I spent a couple of nights at Elim House as we toured the North of England. The hotel was ideally situated in Bowness and convenient for touring the southern Lake District. The owners were friendly and the cooked breakfast was first class. However, our room was very small and our "wardrobe" was an alcove measuring 2ft 6inches wide by 15 inches deep.The furniture was a mishmash and at best I would describe it as basic. Our en-suite was small but functional. The window seats in the breakfast room were too high for the table and as a consequence you almost felt that you were standing trying to eat. Overall the hotel had a tired feel about it.

It did not spoil our time in Bowness but we would not stay there again.

Management response from tennispick1, 23 Mar 2009

The furniture in this particular room is all matching pine (not a mish mash) as described. There is a small alcove which has been utilised as hanging space to give more overall room instead of the wardrobe which was there originally and has been ok'd by the inspector. No mention that the price paid was for a normal double en-suite not a four poster room or that the same table was used both mornings when there were other tables available. If you require hotel facilities and rooms may I suggest that you book in at a hotel next time instead of a B & B.

by titan85
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Good location but...

"This bed and breakfast has a nice location in Bowness and friendly owners, but the there are much nicer accommodations in the lake district. While the rooms were clean, the room decor was like a mixture of yard sale furniture. We paid $20 additional per night for a four poster bed which was knotty pine and not quite the charm we had in mind. The bathrooms while redone, are very small and an awkward layout. The location is in the town of Bowness with an easy walk to the town and lake. The breakfast was nice and the owners very friendly and helpful. There are no common areas to use except the dining room, which is locked up except at breakfast. With all of the beauty and charm of the lake district, there are much more attractive places to stay."

by logcolb
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Excellent - definitely recommended!

"We stayed at Elim House during a short stay in Aug 2007. The accommodation was spotless and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area and recommendations for places to visit and eat.

Breakfast was also a pleasure - full english! - lovely!

we would definitely go again as the location and accommodation is excellent!

by rose0111
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Very pleasant!

"I stayed here for a long weekend with my boyfriend and absolutely loved it! The location was very good, only a 5-10 minute walk away from the centre of Bowness, but very peaceful. It was very handy for the cinema and there were a few restaurants just a few steps away.

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, and breakfast was absolutely delicious. The room was lovely and bright, and looked out onto the beautiful garden. We had opted for a four poster room, and we were not disappointed. The bathroom was small, but served its purpose, and everything was immaculately clean.

Overall, a superb place to stay!

by babypink83
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Delightful B and B

"Me and my husband stayed at Elim House for 2 nights in June and we found it to be just what we needed.

The room we chose was the four poster and it was really spacious and spotlessly clean. The en-suite bathroom was quite small but it was more than adequate and again very, very clean.

It is in an envialble position- only a few minutes walk from the centre of Bowness and the lake. The garden is beautiful and has won an award in the past.

The owners, Steve and Judith were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Their breakfasts were delicious and were obviously made with only the best produce.

We had a very relaxing couple of days and we would highly recommend this lovely little hotel to anyone wanting top quality and value for money.

by jaclum
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Fantastic hotel!!

"Absolutely loved it, from being greeted at the gate by very warm and welcoming hosts to our last gorgeous breakfast before we left! Great rooms, all refurbished. Very accomodating and you're made to feel right at home. Modern four poster bed room was gorgeous, but bathroom too small. Rising for a perfect breakfast every day was a pleasure. Great location for exploring Bowness and Lake Windermere, and accessing the road network to tour the Lake District. We will definitely be back - probably to stay in the super kingsize bedroom!!!!"

by A TripAdvisor Member
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Explore area

Map for Elim House Hotel Closest airport: Blackpool (BLK) 41.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Windermere

Hotels near Elim House Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Elim House Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Elim House Hotel? Share your insight.