Hotel Marvel

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(65 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
13
Good
14
Average
13
Poor
9
Awful
16

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 6/10
Food: 3.5/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Marvel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Hotel Marvel..

"Just arrived back from Bulgaria,stayed at the Marvel Hotel Sunny Beach.Found the hotel itself very well kept clean and tidy,always saw cleaners down by pool cleaning the area of all rubbish left.

Found food ok but was like a cattle market at certain times but thats what you get when supplying the mass of people on all inclusive they cater for !! if your not inclusive there are good few bar and steak houses there,one attached to the Marvel which i used and was good.

Never had a problem getting a sun bed by pool put my towel there at 8am then went for breakfast,but the beach is 5min walk away with sunbeds and parasols for hire from 6am-1800 a day.

I would stay there again,but not all inclusive as you can found lots to do on few excursions to experience there culture alittle. After all not every one whats to bake by pool all day..

Dislikes are the staff not all that warm and friendly but where helpful,and labeling of food not great especially if you allergic to something some people like to know what they eating.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: don't do inclusive unless that's what you want get out experience there culture
  • Good For: Beach
by Chris G
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Don't go

"Horrible hotel ignorant staff food absolutely disgusting worst hotel I have ever visited please don't waste your money. Things you think are free aren't you will be charged."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Plenty money to eat out as you won't eat the disgusting food here
by Raymond C
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

DONT GO HERE

"Worst hotel I have stayed in. Yes, cleanliness is ok and the rooms themself were nice but nothing else is good.

Shockingly bad food. No variety, cold, stale bread, and even got food poisoning from bad meat.

3,000 guests about about 150 sunbeds. Saw people putting towels out at 9pm the night before. The one night we do this and a guest threw ours (and other) towels in the pool. Staff didn't care.

3 of us in a room and only given 2 towels daily. When we asked reception for more they gave us 1, but the following days we only got 2 again!

Cracked tiles in the pool.

Checkout is at midday. Late check out is available by paying per hour!! Our pick up time was 1am the following morning. When we complained about all of the above and asked for a free/discounted late checkout they said no. They didn't even offer or try to help, or even apologise.

Had to pay to use the spa showers which were dirty.

Location is great. Beach is lovely. Hotel is terrible!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't
  • Good For: Beach
by laurenbussell
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

a hotel to avoid

"I booked this hotel with my wife and two grandchildren i paid the full price for my grandson who is 14 who had to sleep in a pull out bed which was totally unacceptable and my 9 year old granddaughter was also in a pull out bed , this hotel is classed as a 4 star and was supposed to be alinclusive well what can i say but rubbish i wouldnt give this hotel any stars the food was discusting and i wouldnt give it to pigs to eat very dissapointed . the toilet wasnt screwed to the floor it moved every time you went to the toilet it moved not safe for children or anyone , the sheets were dirty found makeup marks on them when we arrived, the staff were ignorant unhelpful and wouldnt crack a smile our drinks were in plastic cups and just split when you lifted the cups it felt like being at a childrens party .they would not speak english to us and any requests was totally ignored all they could do was shrug shoulders and say see a rep but never seen a rep all the time we was at this basic hotel .so much for the cleanliness in the rooms on arrival half eaten icecream in the freezer. nothing good to say about this hotel at all. raw meats greecy food, had to spend trips money and spending money outside hotel on food cause all inclusive was so bad how dare they call this a four star hotel ."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by suewest
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday

"just back from sunny beach, had a great time, loads to do and very cheap. Marvel hotel was very clean, rooms were done every day,and staff were always cleaning day and night.Staff were lovely. Found it difficult getting a sunbed by the pool, but pool staff said if no one returned by 10 am to move the towels people had put down earlier.Glad we were not all inc, as the food wasnt great, but so cheap to eat in the restaurants in the resort it didnt matter."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: eat outside hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by graceb
6 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

bulgaria holiday

"we have just come back from the hotel marvel, we stayed there for 10days, and everything was fantastic.

all the staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them. i would definatly visit this hotel again and recommend it to my friends and family.

i would give this hotel 10/10.

jarrold family
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: nessabar
  • Good For: Beach
by nannycats
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fabulas holiday

"my partner, daughter and I stayed here. the staff really helpful, the rooms and hotel beautiful and clean. towels changed regulary, room cleaned daily. food was buffet stile quite nice and plenty of choice. some people never happy i would recomend this hotel and would stay there again."

  • Holiday details: May 2010, half board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: nice walk to centre, but far enough away you don't hear noise
  • Good For: Beach
by wrighty
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cleaness 10 food and staff 0

"The Marvel Hotel is very clean as i went in July 2010. Maids in everyday and emptys the bin and sometimes changes your towels. Food is disgusting all catered for french and german. For example on the menu there was yogurt rice. staff very rude doesn't help you. Bowels and cups never get cleaned and theres never any hot water for tea or coffee.All forneirs there nobody speaks english. No entertainment at night but they did try sometimes. Pool is very clean and theirs a bar in the pool but only for all enclusive. Would go back to Bulgaria just not to Marvel Hotel. If you want to starve then go but if you dont then i would envise you not to."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: The foods disgusting but hotel is good.
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by X Chloe X
3 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

i wish i never stayed here! not safe for small children!

"we specifically stated to thomas cook that we needed a low floor having a toddler & a cot, but when we got there, we was given the 6th floor, & no cot, they had a sofa bed but no bedding to put on it,we was told cos we arrived at 4am because of the time, we couldnt be moved & have to wait untill the morning, so we went down to the reception to be told the best they could do would be to move us the 4th floor, they then put a cot in the room, the only form of a lock on patio door was a handle that you pulled up, easy enough for our 23mth old to open, but thank god it was the last day, the mini disco was hopeless, our toddler was the only baby present & the 2nd night the played foreign nursery rhymes,even though, they knew our toddler was english & a girl dressed as a clown doing some actions, odviously he got bored, & couldnt understand the songs! The food was disgusting, & abit cold, the upside was the desserts was ok, so we had more of that, so none of us went hungary. We only stayed for a week & on the the 5th day our room was cleaned, but we wasnt left any toilet rolls, so the abrubt staff asked us our room number & stormed off, the outdoor pool slide had a sign on it, that it was out of order but it looked fine to me, i believe this is because the so-called lifeguards thought, id rather lie on the sunbeds & play volleyball which is what they did. We was charged 5 lev to use the indoor pool, 8 lev for the jacuzzi, even the all inclusive guests tolds us they had to pay. The bulgarians are stand-ofish people they dont want to know your name, or like to make small talk, the odd few was nice, the cleaner was pleasent also, but our bedding was never changed, also if you hire a safe the bellboy has to put the masterkey in before you put your key in & open it"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, half board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by babbington
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotel ok need more towels

"room clean when walked in, but after a day no maid* had bag of rubbish there for two days not taken away* after 3 days we had to go looking for clean towels* and on day one we asked for more pillows we still not got them when leaving* bar was nice very clean but very very quiet.young fella wking in bar was very friendy. women not so*anywhere u go bring change with u if not they will keep it for a tip even though they not do anythink they not give u back*as for people wking in supermarkets how rude they will throw ur goods and changed at u only that u paid for them u throw them back at them*the only think i can say about the food was terrible.terrible.terrible we booked b/b after first mor never went back* found a place that selled bread rolls thats what we lived on*beach was very clean and nice. 10 of us went to bulgaria so we had good laugh would go back again but not for a couple of years and to diff hotel ........"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: yes if looking for a very quiet hoil
  • Good For: Beach
by brandy
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotel from h**l

"it is the worst hotel we have stayed at.

myself, husband and two kids aged 2 and 5 stayed here from 6th aug 2010 till 14th aug.

we arrived at 0430 to be faced by the most unfriendlyist receptionist. to top it off we were given small carrier bags each which contained an apple, bottle of water and the toughest piece of bread the apples were near enough rotten.

the room in which we were put in the air conditioning did not work properly it would come on for a minute then switch off for hours on end when we contacted reception, we were faced by the most rudiest and unproffesional staff whom would tell us they are too busy to deal with the matter and put the phone down as we spoke. we expected better from the management but they were just as rude and ignorant. no people skills at all. as a result of no air con facility my husband and i had to take it in turns to watch the kids at night as we had to leave the balcony door open as it was too uncomfortable within the room due to the temp. management were aware of the matter and did not care.

the food was awful, meats were always undercooked, chips were tough, all food was way to greasy it dripped off it. the other guesta within the hotel (germans/russians) had no concept of thankyou /please or even to wait there turn people would push you to get to the food. we went all inclusive on this trip what a waste as we only ever ate the once which was enuf to turn us away we had breakfast, lunch and dinner out the hotel.

our bed sheets did not get changed i had to ask for them to be changed.

the animation team were not the most child friendly of people, they would put on a mini child disco on every eve which was catered for there own, there own language songs were played my children could not get involved as they didnt understand and were not made to feel apart of the disco.

no other entertainment within the hotel.

the pool water was filthy our room overlooked the pool and we never saw it get cleaned once whilst we were there.

the russians/germans would wake early 0530 and place there towels on the loungers so no body else could use them and then bog off.

the childrens pool was alawys crowded by adults.

we decided to take a bus ride to nessebar as my son is two he was in the pushcahir as we waited for the bus, as the bus arrived people jumped over my son too get on the bus that i wasnt going to tolerate.

the bulgarians never have change to give back to you, which is rightfully yours.

i would not recomment this hotel to anyone esp thoughs who have young children as there is nothing for children

children are frowned upon like there aliens

stafff are rude, there answer too everything is no english.

no order at the hotel esp meal times. and when waiting to be served even tho you have been waiting people will jump in before you same when using the lifts. i have never come across such a bunch of miserable looking people. all i can say is we are glad to see the back of that place and will inform others of our awful stay at this hotel
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: not to ever book at this hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by shanban
1 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

worst hotel food ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"Myself, my husband and my brother returned home to the UK from the marvel hotel in sunny beach today. Whilst the hotel itself was clean and the rooms were fine. The only complaints I have is they really need to have more sun loungers by the pool. But the biggest problem is the hotel food. Having booked and paid for half board, meal times were a free for all, guests mainly foreigners would think nothing of filling back packs with food to take away from the hotel, and the staff must have known that this was going on, but did nothing about it, there was also a distinct lack of cutlery, the food itself was awfull, british holiday makers are not catered for at all, after being at the hotel for two days, and trying to make the best of the food, we all developed severe upset stomachs, which lasted approximately eight days, we did hear other holdiay makers also complaining of stomach problems, the meat served quite often was very under cooked, cold chips if eaten had to be microwaved, and as a result we ate out most of the time, which makes a mockery of having booked on half board basis. The staff in the dining room did do their best to accomodate where possible, but unfortunately, were understaffed most of the time which is probably why there was always a long wait for cutlery etc. My advice to anyone thinking of booking this hotel would be dont do it if you want to eat in the hotel."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, half board, booked with Balkan Holidays
  • Advice: The only thing I would say is avoid this hotel.
  • Good For: Beach
by Disappointed - Rawtenstall
2 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Hotel Marvel Closest airport: Varna (VAR) 36.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Hotel Marvel photos (4 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Hotel Marvel
  • by sshaw

    " Have a great holiday but only exchange money at places with a crown or at the hotel "

  • by MikStone

    " all the restraurants were excellant. Nessagar for local sight seeing 1 lev on the bus "

  • by welshtourist

    " Lovely Beach but sun loungers and sun umbrellars are to expensive "

  • by ScottJ87

    " 1 lev bus to nessebar. it's good there! Beach is ok and pubs and bars are cheap "

Similar hotels around Sunny Beach

Hotels near Hotel Marvel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Marvel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Marvel? Share your insight.

Hotel Marvel is also called:

  • marvel hotel
  • marvel hotel sunny beach
  • marvel sunny beach

Address: Slantschev Brjag 57, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria