Soreda Hotel

3.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

6  / 10
(93 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
19
Good
29
Average
10
Poor
20
Awful
15

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 6.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Soreda Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
friendly hotel by Alan M
6 / 10

I've stayed at the Soreda twice this year and find the staff friendly and very helpful. The food was of good quality and plenty of it, bar snacks were ok. All the alcohol seemed to be of cheaper quality but ok. Improvements are definitely needed around the hotel, especially around the pool area and the bathrooms. I did find a lot of French day trippers there who caused havoc and were very unfriendly. The bars outside the hotel are very friendly, and would definitely go back again.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013
  • Advice: dont expect the ritz

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR by Kar M
3 / 10

We stayed at the Soreda last january due to the price for a 3 week stay seemed very good which I still have to agree with, however dont expect 4 star quality everywhere in hotel is very dimly lit, on going to room corridors very dark suggest the need of a torch, while our room itself was ok. The fridge although they call in a friga in which you can, as they say keep any medicine you may have, did not work it took me 6 days complaining to obtain one that worked, maintenance was called twice to repair didnt want to know, manager informed twice, it was not until head of housekeeping was made aware and acted was it replaced @ the smell within the bathroom each morning for about 3 hrs because they switch off the sewridge extract every night. lastly staff when booking in @ throughout our stay looked disinterested. I would return to Malta again but I would chose another hotel even though it cost a little more it would be worth it.

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013
  • Advice: Stay out all day using hotel less
  • Good For: , City Breaks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

not somewhere i would return to even for free by Jennifer L
3 / 10

was under impression that this was 4 star not a hope our view from our balcony was a blank wall the room very basic the food always cold and tasteless supposed to be a spar hotel but if you wanted any treatments you had to book 48 hrs in advance no female staff in gym and no locks on lockers reception very unhelpful apart from evening staff on the plus side the girl who cleaned our room was very good as was the cabaret as for staying there again would rather sleep in a tent in the cat colony facing

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: have a waiter service as well as buffet and find a better way of keeping food hot
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

do not go there by Susanfass
3 / 10

This is the worst 4 star hotel I have ever stayed in!!May have been 25 years ago and now its just a tired and tattered shadow of its former self. Wall to wall students who were rude and illmannered. The indoor pool had live wires sticking out of the floor and the paint peeling off the walls. The salad bar was full of yesterdays food cut up in the salads and some of it was chicken...beware!! We payed extra thinking that we would get a superior hotel, not to be, should have gone to our usual 3 star round the corner. We spoke to other couples who were very dissapointed and even one couple said that they had asked if the hotel took studens and they were told there would be any at the hotel. We asked our holiday rep to move us down to a 3 star and she said it would cost us more and told us the food was good, great, no help at all. Please dont go expecting 4 star service because its not there.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with Mercury Direct
  • Advice: get out as much as poss

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Holiday from Hell in the Hotel . by Fuzz109
1 / 10

We booked an all inclusive holiday for 28 days at the Soreda Hotel covering the Christmas and New Year period.On arriving at the Hotel I must admit our first reaction was to turn tail and run. The Hotel was located in an area very similar to Beruit. It was surrounded by shabby, poorly maintained apartment blocks, bars at each end of the street and directly opposite derelict ground, home to numerous homeless cats. The hotel itself was very poorly maintained,dark and dismal. The roof leaked so the floor was covered with buckets to catch the drips, The hall carpets stuck to your feet when you walked on them. The food was disgusting, reheated potatoes (black and dry) tough and stringy meat, the same undercooked vegatables every day, there was no variety. I lived on cheese and crackers and toast for breakfast. There was certainly no evidence of the famous Maltese hospitality at the Soreda. The management were unbelievably rude and agressive and if you dared to complain you were threatened and told to get out. A number of guests were prepared to lose the money they had paid for the month and left early. When you consider that the majority of guests at the Soreda are elderly and vulnerable it is extremely worrying that they seem to get away with been substandard and carry on as if they are indeed a four star hotel instead of what they should be rated which is 0. We relocated to a different hotel eventually, and the final time of our holiday was brilliant. My advice is steer clear of this hell hole if you want a decent holiday. We will certainly not be returning to the Soreda, ever!

  • Holiday details: Dec 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Do not go there under any circumstances

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Thank You Mercury Direct by Jakester
8 / 10

We have just returned from malta and our first holiday booked with Mercury Direct,well,I have to say a very big thank you to Mercury Direct for outstanding value for money and a very much needed relaxing break.We were a tad dubious to start with as we had not had any dealings or knew of anyone that had used Mercury Direct before,now I will definately recommend this company to everyone I know that likes to travel.Every part of our holiday was perfect,the meeting at the airport,the rep was fine,the hotel was great,the food was amazing,we will most definately be booking with mercury Direct again!Thank you for our much needed holiday!!xx

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: If you just want to chill on the rooftop or by the pool and stroll out in the evening to local bars it,s ideal
  • Good For: , City Breaks

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Pleasant Stay by Lexibics
8 / 10

June 2011. Having just returned from our honeymoon in the Soreda Hotel we can report that we had a pleasant stay here. The food was excellent and so was the choice. The room we had (443) was very clean and quiet but air con not good. Infact it was more like a fan than air con (as most of the guests will tell you). We had to move our bed every night to underneath the FAN otherwise we were not able to sleep as it was too hot. We did report this but nothing was done as the hotel does not seem to think there is a problem. But it's not air con as we know it that's for sure. The evening entertainment was very good most nights. But do be aware there is none at all during the day. The swimming pools are small but you can go to other hotels nearby with larger pools at a small daily cost. Most of the staff here were very pleasant except for a couple of female receptionists who were rude to most people they spoke to. Also, one of the waiting staff was very unhelpful when we went for dinner and could not find a table and was simply told there weren't any and he walked away. We seated ourselves in the end and avoided his area thereafter. It can also be difficult getting a drink at mealtimes as there does not seem to be enough staff on duty to cope. I would not say this is a good hotel for children as there is not much for them to do at this hotel. It's very easy getting around in Malta and the local buses are very cheap. But do be prepared to be disappointed with the local places of interest.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Half Board, booked with Mercury Direct
  • Advice: Travel on the local buses, they are very cheap and easy to use.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Value by Sandie
8 / 10

Extrememly good value for money. Rather dated in decor especially bathrooms. Cleaned every day. Large rooms. Close to buses. Breakfast very good.Would use again.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Focus on the positives! Not 4 star standard but you get alot for what you pay.

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

No complaints at this hotel! by Pensioners from Paddock Wood
10 / 10

Four of us aged in our 50s and 60s had a very enjoyable week at this hotel in April. We thought the choice of food was amazing at each meal, and was well cooked and interesting. I do not like meat, but still found plenty of dishes that I enjoyed. I am really surprised that othere reviewers were complaining about the breakfasts, when there was plenty of hot and cold food availabe. Some entertainment was a little boring, but we really enjoyed watching the dance champions on two evenings. The hotel was in a good quiet position, but accessible to local shops, pubs, buses and coast. Our only bad comment would be that the dining room and bar had no natural light, and there were no outdoor spaces apart from on the roof and by the swimming pool, but that cannot be helped owing to the layout. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the spacious room and balcony were cleaned to a high standard daily. Overall we would be happy to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Mercury Direct
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

More bang for your buck. by Fred `n Fay Yorkshire.
8 / 10

Wife and I stayed in the Soreda last November,paid less for a weeks all inclusive than five days self catering in Butlins.Absolutely the best value hotel in Malta,booked again for 2011.We`ve been to Malta dozens of times and this is the best 3/4 star we have stayed at.

  • Holiday details: Nov 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A gem of a hotel by Cartoon-economics
10 / 10

After having stayed in the Qwara Inn three years ago I looked in trepidation at some of the comments about the Soreda. I neednt have worried though. Everything is clean - our room was done daily with fresh towels to a very high standard. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of the staff. Food wise - it is excellent, well cooked and a good variety to cater for all tastes.

The final big plus point for me are the beds. I normally dont sleep well in a twin bed but have slept like a log every night.

Definately worth a visit !

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, Half board, booked with Low cost holidays
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant holiday by mikeandjen
9 / 10

.have just returned from a great holiday,which was made more enjoyable due to excellent staff,who we found to be polite and helpful when approached,the bar staff,claude,simon,and martin were also great,room was clean and fresh laundry every day,food was again excellent.the only thing i would suggest is that they review and improve evening entertainment.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: well worth a visit

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Soreda Hotel? Share your insight.

Soreda Hotel also called

  • soreda hotel malta
  • soreda hotel qawra
  • Address: Andrew Cunningham Street, Qawra SPB 08, Malta

Explore area

Map for Soreda Hotel Closest airport: Malta International (MLA) 4.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Soreda Hotel
  • by libra52

    " See the noon-day salute at Upper Burakka Gardens in Valletta. "

  • by andrew wynne

    " great choice of places to eat and drink and entertainment "

  • by Cartoon-economics

    " Buy a weeks bus pass "

  • by Fred `n Fay Yorkshire.

    " Bus station in Buggibba five minutes walk. "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Walk on the front towards Bugibba & have a lovely cappuchino at the little cafe overlooking the bay. "

  • by Pensioners from Paddock Wood

    " Go and visit Gozo - there are several organizations which do day trips there and it is well worth it. "

Similar hotels around Qawra

Hotels near Soreda Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Soreda Hotel?