Kavkaz Hotel

Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
3.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(9 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
3
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
4
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 6.5/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Kavkaz Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

Never again

"We arrived at Kavkaz hotel early morning, It was dark and no lights was on apart from a sign saying 'HOTEL'

the rooms are very clean but very basic.

we went all inclusive and what a mistake that was.. Breakfast was a choice of sandwich meats, boiled eggs, cheese and toast, nothing moist in sight. Lunch was OK with a few different things to choose from, and the dinner was just the same as the lunch but not as nice when its been warmed up twice.

SOME staff was friendly but the others just looked straight though you like you wasn't there. (very rude) And they didn't know much English at all.

There wasn't many English guests in the hotel.

THE GYM... NOT one thing worked.. crosstrainers arm was off, rowing machine had no pedals, bike had no seat and the weights had no bars :S - no point it even being there

THE SAUNA... they have lost the keys so couldn't even check that out

There's a lot of NICE hotels in Bulgaria, I wouldn't recommend staying here.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Fleetyway
  • Good For: Beach
by dani
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A hotel of 2 halves!

"As soon as we arrived at the Kavkaz we realised we were in for a rollercoaster! The booking had been made for 2 people not the 3 people which was stated on our form, the receptionist nor any other employee could speak English and made us sit and wait for 20 minutes before grumpily leading us to our room.

The positives

- The place was very clean rooms cleaned daily

- Very close to the beach

- 10 mins walk to the strip

Bad

- The food was uneddible, considering in a student I ate nothing but salad for 4 days before I gave up and at ate out.

- However considering that we payed £30 "upgrade" to full board, it was probably worth it for the free drinks all day up until 10.30 - just having payed for food i expected to get something.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Stay there if its cheap but eat out.
  • Good For: Beach
by Mikes
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Super Hotel

"Geat hotel.Very clean.Very good location, the distance to the beach was very short.We had booked halfboard. There was a good assortment of food.The staff were sometimes a too quick.The rooms were always very clean,the staff were very friendly and obliging.Nice hotel))))"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, HB, Booked Independently
  • Advice: great
  • Good For: Beach
by Lisa
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A GREAT HOTEL

"I was in juni 2009 in Kavkaz.The hotel was small,but in a very good location.The beach - 2 minute walk from the hotel.Very clean and cosy hotel.The staff friendly.I won’t be going back to Sunny Beach to this pleasant hotel."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, HB, Booked Independently
  • Advice: GREAT
by Tommy
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Crap - Kaz

"Me and my boyfriend decided to go to bulgaria on our first holiday this year as it was recommended to us by our local travel agents and taking there word for it we booked up straight away, what a disaster from arrival!

when we arrived and saw the hotel our first impressions were 'oh my god' we took it as a laugh and though the rest of the stay would be lovely how wrong could we be.

first morning we went down to breakfast to find there was no one english in the hotel apart from us and the food was continental but lacked any real english cuisine! you were stared at whilst eating by the rude waiters who keep your change when buying drinks!

Tea time came and the food was the same, no labels of what was served and was again lacking any english cuisine!

we were woken up every night of our holiday by other holiday makers,even though the book left in our room said that there was supposed to be no noise between 11pm-8am WHAT A JOKE THAT WAS!

the food was the same every night of our stay and we only eat twice out of the whole week!

our personal opinion on this place was that it was a total rip-off, when we got on the coach to come home the lady infront of us said ' is it really as bad as it looks?' doesn't that say enough! they paid an extra £10 each and stayed in the gorgeous iberostar hotel down the road from us!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: The area of sunny beach is gorgeous and i would defiantly recommend it again !
  • Good For: Beach
by amy harris
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

would not recomend any one going in...

"would not recomend any one going in may we arrived at hotel to find we were the only ones there we desided to go out and have a look round to find no shops were open and was told beguining of may is not there season went back to hotel and could not get hold of rep as we were also told when booking hotel was in elienites and not sunny beachwent down for tea to find no chef food was disgusting after sitting there for two hours waiting for a meal got up in the morning tofing anougher couple had arrived they had same problems rep arrived at last she was no help things just got from bad to worse hotel bar was not open for first week there was that many complaints supviser arrived and we just had to make the most of things icould go on forever with a list of complaints hotel was more like fawlty towers never again"

by Fleet
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This hotel was in a good location,...

"This hotel was in a good location, 20- 30 minutes from airport. The beach is a 2 minute walk from the hotel, the town centre is quite a distance away 20 - 30 minutes, again you can hop on the noody train which frequentley passes or alternatively for the same cost get a taxi.

Hotel is extermely clean as are the rooms, airconditioned and spacious.

The food is mostly local cusine may not be Kid friendly but stall are keen to accommodate alternative dishes for the children.

Pool area is quite spacious with plenty of sunbeds to go round for everyone, kids pool is segregated from main pool. Pool side Bar with pool table.

Staff are very friendly although the language barrier can be an obstacle, but there is always some one in hand to overcome.

Entertainment is lacking with only a two piece band at night in the bar, during the day there is none, which is sometimes a good thing.

If you want a quiet holiday with no dsitractions,especially if you have young children then i would recommend.

My family and I had a great time at the kavkas and have rebooked for next year.
"

by R Walker
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The Kavkas was a gorgeous hotel,...

"The Kavkas was a gorgeous hotel, spotless all the time. The cleaners were amazing, they would even decorate the beds in the morning with swans, etc made from the sheets. The only fault I will give the hotel is the language capability of the staff. I know its not a British hotel but none of the staff could speak much English although one of the people on the change desk could, plus she was really nice.

The food leaves an awful lot to be desired. We went half board but the food was better outside of the hotel (especially Brothers bar) just jump on the Noddy train and it's just at the last stop. They are amazing in there, very grateful if you go back more than once as well. 2 main meals, 2 desserts and drinks were about £8.00.

The Noddy train stops right outside the hotel which was convenient. The touts are a little overpowering, hundreds of leaflets every night. I would highly recommend this hotel on a self catering basis, not b&b or half board. I have re-booked again for September but not at the Kavkas but the Planeta this time.
"

by D Hurndall
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This hotel was in a good location,...

"This hotel was in a good location, very close to the beach although it is a bit of a walk into the centre.

The best thing to do was take the noddy train to the centre as this kept all the touts away from you. It got a bit much with these people trying to get you to come to their bar, restaurant, we ended up with piles of leaflets every night.

The rooms were kept very clean and were comfortable too.

The food was really good, we were in a higher star hotel last year but found the food better at the Kavkaz. Go early with the Germans as they seemed to get better food and once it’s gone, it’s gone.

If it gets too busy and you can't sit outside then you'll find you will have to share a table with a few people. Watch out for pickpockets as children seem to be used to distract you.

I won’t be going back to Sunny Beach as I was unfortunate to see the bear being pulled along and it broke my heart. There are also people standing around with snakes etc charging money to take pictures, please stay away from this kind of thing.

Get your hair done at the hotel as it’s very cheap and the hairdresser is very nice.

The pool was fab and we managed to get a bed most times but preferred the beach.

This is a good hotel if you don’t mind being too far from the centre.
"

by A Adrian
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Read more reviews of Kavkaz Hotel at TripAdvisor

Explore area

Map for Kavkaz Hotel Closest airport: Varna (VAR) 36.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Sunny Beach

Hotels near Kavkaz Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Kavkaz Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Kavkaz Hotel? Share your insight.