Hotel Edelweiss

Via Fraiteve 19, Sauze d'Oulx 10050, Italy
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(12 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
8
Good
2
Average
2
Poor
0
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Edelweiss

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

Great hotel, brilliant staff, good location...

"I have just returned from a weeks skiing staying at Hotel Eidelweiss and had a fantastic time.

All of the below reviews are pretty accurate.

The rooms are a good size (although the rooms with a view at the front of the hotel were smaller) and always kept very clean. The staff were amazing, nothing is too much trouble for them and they are always available.

I was part of a big group (approx 16) and we were really well catered for, the dining room was big enough for a table which accomodated all of us at once and there was a lovely balcony which we spent most afternoons on relaxing, enjoying drinks and the late afternoon sun, discussing the days skiing.

The ski lift is so close to the hotel, really excellently located.

The town is a 15 minute walk up the hill, but the hotel manager (who is also a ski instructor) was happy to drive people up the hill in the evening to the town. Once up, the walk back down is pretty painless.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, half board, booked with Neilson
  • Good For: , Skiing
by Lucy
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Staff, Great Location

"So 6 of us stayed in the Edelweiss last week through Neilsons and I was so impressed that I thought I'd write my first review ever.....

Firstly let me point out just how close the nearest lift is, It's 20m from the hotel down a slope that is easily skiid and regularly groomed, this takes you straight up to the main staging area of Sportinia. You can also ski almost back down to the door if the conditions are right! So great location from that perspective. Secondly it's worth noting that the hotel is outside of Sauze itself in the little town of Jovenceux, which is nice and quite but only 10 mins walk back from the centre of Sauze. Be warned that the walk to town is pretty steep, but the hotels owner Bruno is happy to drive people up into the town, just give him a little notice! He did this for our group 4 times in the week and picked us up from town once without any hassle. This brings me nicely onto the hotel itself. It's not a luxury place and the rooms are compact but to our experience they are spotlessly clean and the bathrooms are too (other reviewers have pointed out the place was cold but we had to resort to sleeping with the window open it was that well heated). Also if you can get one with a balcony the view is unbelievable! The bar is a nice cosy area with a couple of sofas by a real fire and plenty of tables and chairs to make use of the decent stocked bar (prices slightly cheaper than in town). Now onto food, breakfast was standard fair, but plenty of it but dinner was fantastic, 3 courses every night and great portions. There is a choice every night of soup or pasta,2 mains to choose from with 2 sides and a surprise desert every night. Every meal was good and satisfying, especially the pasta courses! All the staff were fantastic (especially the slightly erratic waiter Giovanni), friendly and seemed to want to make everyones stay as memorable and as pleasent as possible, this also goes for the Neilsons rep we had who knew the place inside out!

All in all I'd recommend this place of you want a good quality ski break on a decent budget, you might go to more luxurious places but you probably wont find friendlier.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, Halfboard, booked with Neilson
  • Advice: Great staff, Great food, Great location
  • Good For: , Skiing
by Nick C
8 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Super Friendly Staff & great location to get straight up the mountain.

"There were 4 of us who stayed at this hotel just last week. The accomodation was always clean and tidy, the rooms have plenty of storage space for all your clothes but there were no tv's or radios though which would have been a nice touch. Both of our rooms had a balcony &lovely views over the mountains and chair lift (4 man modern lift which is NEVER busy)which takes you pretty much up to Sportinia area via a short blue/red run - although if you're a novice and off to ski school it's a little hair raising. Best to avoid sportinia at about 10am which is when the schools start and hit the lift at the same time. there is also a red run that brings you right back to the lift at the bottom of the slope - ideal!!

Breakfast was basic continental but plentiful - tea and coffee & juice included.

Every evening you have 2 options for starter & main. Starters are normally soup or pasta. the main meals varied each day but there wasnt a day when nothing took our fancy. it wasn't gourmet but after a day on the slopes it was just what you needed.

drinks down in the bar weren't overly expensive, it's about 3.5euros for a pint, 2.5 for a half - obviously if you go bottled beer it's more expensive. it was about 11 euros for a bottle of wine or litre of house wine. we do not know how expensive drinks were up in sauze, as on the first day a member of our party damaged her cruciate ligament and was on crutches, then on the 4th day someone skied into me and twisted my knee so we never ventured into town drinking, but we do know that despite first appearance it's quite a bustling town and plenty of places to drink/eat.

The staff were easily the nicest hotel staff we have ever met. Bruno the owner was around everyday and would offer lifts into town at 5pm (otherwise 10 min uphill walk) but you had to make you're own way back. When we injured ourselves they came and picked us up from the hospital, and bruno lent my friend his crutches for the week and lent us ice packs - stephanie and Luca translated the medicines for us.

We would definately go back to both the resort and hotel.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2010, Half Board, booked with Neilson
  • Good For: , Skiing
by storey
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely local hotel, great family running it, easy location for the slopes

"5 of us stayed at the Hotel Edeleweiss in Sauze D'Oulx - it was great, the owners of the hotel were extremely friendly and welcoming and the accommodation clean tidy and comfortable. Situated just next to a lift, it couldn't be easier to get out to the slopes. Although slightly out of the main town, the hotel owner "Bruno" was more than happy to offer lifts into town... It's only a 10 minute walk if he's not around.. We all had a fantastic holiday - we will definitely want to return to Sauze and I know we would want to go back to Edelweiss. Booked through Neilson, their reps were helpful and friendly."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2010, Half-Board, booked with Neilson
  • Advice: Fabulous slopes - a lot less busy than France.. but just as good!
  • Good For: , Skiing
by HN81
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Poor access Hotel

"Hotel 20mins walk from centre of sauze (up steep hill). or get hourly shuttle bus. Access from bus stop still up quite a steep hill then crawling under a locked barrier that has no pedestrian access.

We had a pram for our young baby that was very difficult to take out as a result. Disabled or infirm people would also struggle with this.

Hotel has NO BATHS or connecting rooms (Monster Travel.co.uk lied to us about this and were dishonest about other aspects of our booking - I do not recommend them at all).

Hotel is at 1560m so very unlikely that the runs to the hotel (or to sauze town) will be snow covered after mid March. This means you have to get Jouvenceaux chairlift down from the middle station at the end of the day. The Jouvenceaux lift is a 300m walk from the hotel across a field.

The whole resort closed one day due to heavy snowfall - seemed a little extreme.

Montgenevre day trip means you lose an hours skiing as bus returns from 4.15pm...would be better value if it left later.

Hotel rooms need updating (broken loo seat, cramped shower, poor sound proofing between rooms).

On the plus side staff were very friendly and helpful and the jacuzzi/sauna was superb (wished we'd found out about it sooner in the week).
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Half Board, booked with Neilson
  • Advice: Nice old town, most shops/internet cafe/tourist info closed 1-4pm, too low for late season snow.
  • Activities: Max cafe very friendly and let us breastfeed. Turin very nice historic city accessible in a day.
by mark b
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great ski hotel.

"Great Staff and owners, small rooms but everything you need,comfy beds,tiled floors, we had a balcony, bathroom had loo, washbasin, hot shower, bidet.Hairdryer.Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed mid week. Nice big lounge with bar, TV, DVD,Football Games and Fireplace , which was lit daily. Downstairs dining room, which is going to be extended. Patio to sit and have a beer. Nice when the sun was out.

The food was great, pasta or soup, Meat/ fish two veg. dessert, the Ice cream was yummy.

Lovely staff, goood wine and great italian coffe at the bar. I had a Sauna and Jaccussi, better than the 4 star hotel in town and only 14 euro's for 1 hour.

Could do with better steps down to the field which you access the 4 man chair. By the way this takes you right to the main Sportina ski area and ski school. You can also come down via this lift. Our begginers left their ski's at Sportina 20 euros a week and you can get down on a lift into Town or back to the Hotel. We didin't hire our ski's from the tour company, we had a great deal from the ski shop next to the Stella Alpina Hotel in Sauze, Bruno gave us a lift in to pick the up and take them back. So you can leave them there overnight if you want to hit the town- apres ski!

Max bar in town is great and prices cheap, happy hour 5-7pm also Il Mira great fro Footie,paddie Mc Ginty's gets packed but had a live band on.

Some great shops and restaurants in the old town.

The ski ing is great for intermediates but not much for begginers. Our Crowd loved the skiing and went over to Sestriere and Mongenerve for the day.Ski scool excellent would recomend the private lessons 1 hour 34 euro's. Would definately go again, but would hope the lift system gets updated soon, especially the chair over to Sestriere.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Half Board, booked with Neilson
  • Good For: , Skiing
by Marilyn Selwyn
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My fiancée and I have just returned...

"My fiancée and I have just returned from a week staying at the Edelweiss and we absolutely loved it.

The hotel far exceeded what we expected for the cost and although I am sure we were in the worst room there it was still clean, warm and comfortable.

The staff cannot do enough for you and as many other reviews have said Bruno will give you a lift any time you like, be it 6am to get your coach home or 9pm to have a few drinks in town.

Luca, Stephanie and the waiting-on staff will all go out of their way to make sure your stay is as good as possible despite the fact that they all work 7 days a week (and Luca appears to be a permanent fixture in the bar/reception)!

Although the breakfast was typically basic for a Half Board hotel the evening meal was far better with good portions of very nice food. We could have happily eaten there every night but we did spend one night at a restaurant in Sauze old town (to which Bruno drove us straight to the door) and that too was lovely but made us realise just what value for money we were getting at the Edelweiss.

I would also highly recommend a session in the Sauna/Spa. We weren't expecting much for €14ea but it really is excellent and kept very clean.

Access to the slopes couldn't be easier with the Jouvencaux lift literally at the bottom of the garden, however if you don't like heights then coming back down on that lift is not an option..... We ended up skiing into Sauze town and then walking back to the hotel (which takes about 15 mins but can be broken up by a couple of stops in the bars). I believe you could also Ski back down to the bottom of the Jouvencaux lift normally however some of the slopes were in very poor condition by the end of our stay because it had been hot all week and there had not been any fresh snow for quite a while.

There is plenty of slopes and bars/restaurants on the mountain to keep you entertained all week but if you are feeling more adventurous then a number of other resorts can be skied to if you are quick enough.

We were there for a week of Skiing and relaxing which is exactly what we got but I understand the night life is quite lively up in the town if you want some of that.

Overall the hotel was a massive part of one of the best holidays that I have every had and if you want to ski the slopes of Sauze then you must try to stay at the Edelweiss (as long as there is room for us!).
"

by P Bridgen
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We spent a fantastic week in Sauze...

"We spent a fantastic week in Sauze D’Olux last January. The town and resort are really nice.

Although there was no snow on arrival and the weather was warm and sunny, the slopes were well maintained and the overall condition was good.

The hotel was very comfortable with friendly atmosphere, nice and clean rooms, delicious food, kind staff.

Lounge area was excellent, with sofas and fireplace, TV with collection of DVDs and Nintendo Wii (which gave us loads of fun).

Bruno (the owner) willingly gave us a lift to the town in the evenings.

Just one tip; if you have an accident on a slope, run away because Italians and their lawyers will be claiming against you!
"

by J&A 
6 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Previous reviews were pretty spot on....

"Previous reviews were pretty spot on. A nice quiet hotel situated approx 50-100m from a chair lift, which takes you straight into the centre of the Sauze D’Olux slopes.

The staff could not have been more helpful. Most rooms had great views, although even those which don't were pleasant.

Plenty of food in the evenings with a meat and veggie option each night, and they do try to accommodate other diets too.

The sauna / Jacuzzi is definitely worth a visit; far nicer than expected!

Excellent value for a budget to mid-range ski holiday.
"

by  K Banes
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Had a great week at the Edelweiss...

"Had a great week at the Edelweiss hotel. Our group consisted of 13 of us, all family and were made to feel really welcome.

All the staff were excellent. Luca who ran the bar was excellent and joined in with the odd foosball and PS2 games.

TV had DVDs to watch for those that wanted to call it a day early. Rooms were small but well heated and the view from some of the rooms was amazing.

Those who want to walk to the lift in their ski boots, its ok walking down but a killer walking back up.

There is a restaurant half way up the Jouvensaux lift where you can leave your kit and change into your normal footwear if you want.

The walk to Sauze has 2 options, either the long way which is easier or for those more adventurous there is cardiac hill which takes half the time with just a little more effort.

For those who are a little lazier then from 7.30pm Bruno the owner will run you into the resort centre for free.

Definitely heading back next year all 13 of us.
"

by L Vickerage
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed at the Edelweiss for the...

"We stayed at the Edelweiss for the first week in January this year. There was myself, husband and 3 children.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were made to feel very welcome by the owners and staff.

The rooms are quite small but very adequate and cleaned every day. The food was excellent with plenty of it!

The children were made to feel very welcome and can't wait to go back!

Bruno and his family could not have been more helpful - giving lifts up to the town for anyone who needed one.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.
"

by  A S  Prince
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed in the hotel Eidleweiss in...

"We stayed in the hotel Eidleweiss in January and it was one of the best ski hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff we very friendly and helpful, always smiling.

The food was superb and they would come around offering you seconds. Very comfortable bar area with very good music ranging from Coldplay to Bob Marley.

All in all I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in sauze d'oulx whether you are young or old. They also had a Jacuzzi and sauna in the basement which you could hire out for 10 euros which was of 5 star standard. The rooms were a bit small but modernly furnished and were spotless - they were cleaned by the maid every day.

They were also very warm with plenty of hot water for the shower.
"

by Not Specified
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Read 18 additional reviews of Hotel Edelweiss

Explore area

Map for Hotel Edelweiss Closest airport: Turin International (TRN) 40.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hotel Edelweiss
  • by Marilyn Selwyn

    " Max Bar, Il Mira Bar. Long red runs.Great snow and groomed runs. "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Great ski area, good prices. Friendly and only short transfer from Turin. "

Similar hotels around Sauze d'Oulx

Hotels near Hotel Edelweiss

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Edelweiss?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Edelweiss? Share your insight.

Hotel Edelweiss is also called:

  • Edelweiss Hotel

Address: Via Fraiteve 19, Sauze d'Oulx 10050, Italy