Nido del Aguila Apartments

Avda de la Cornisa s/n, Gran Canaria 35130, Spain
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6  / 10
(63 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
13
Good
20
Average
10
Poor
6
Awful
14

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 6.5/10
Food: 4.5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Nido del Aguila Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Worst holiday EVER

"After spending two whole weeks all inclusive we find it very hard to say anything good about our stay/place.

Here are 10 good reasons NOT to stay here.

1) Food awful wife lived on ice cream all the times we stayed in.

2) The name means Eagles Nest which tells you how far up the mountain it is 30 minute walk downhill to the beach ...didn't attempt to walk back too steep

3) Cockroaches and flies in the dining room

4) Inconsiderate swearing and shouting sometimes until 3am lots of big egotistical tattooed I AM don't give a toss about anyone but themselves they push in at mealtimes.

5) You have to pay extra for TV /safe /internet and mattresses for Sun beds

6) The upper apartments and around the complex have very steep steps the steps to the apartments have no handrails so dangerous whilst transferring luggage.....don't think they have heard of health and safety

7) A family was taken to hospital with food poisoning

8) Towels changed twice in two weeks, beds changed every other day.

9) Bath filthy and shower went cold after a few minutes, cheap worn towels

10) Pool cleanliness is a joke, handyman got away with murder took all of 5 minutes to supposedly clean/sweep the pool no chlorine added the area surrounding the pool had a quick flick with a dirty mop every day. The Sun beds uncomfortable and dirty.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: DON'T BOOK HERE!!!!!!!
by MillieB
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

worst place we have ever stayed

"The holiday was ruined !! There was group of men shouting & swear across the pool with no consideration for children or anybody else.

Not enough hot water for even one person to have a shower.

Locks on the door were every flimsy, window in the bathroom was broken, broken toilet seat, open sewer in the bathroom, bathroom door did not shut properly,

Slept in the kitchen next to a noisy fridge on a very uncomfortable sofa bed, there were no curtains or blinds so with the pool lights on all night it was like the middle of the day & freezing cold in the room which made the beds feel very damp, we never slept for a weak !!!

you have to pay extra for the TV, the internet the safe & if you want a mattress on the uncomfortable sunbed you have to pay for it.

we would go to Puerto Rico again as the actual place was lovely but would never stay at Nido del Aguila Apartments again.
"

by maroniques
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

our second stay at the lara apartments

"just arrived back from lara its the second year we have stayed at lara apartments and must say that we have never had a problem with staying here, the staff are so helpfull the receptionist the cleaners and the bar staff. pedro is sometimes a little miserable but this year we managed to get a smile out of him. anna who is the restarant manager is fantastic she will do anything she can to help. we must admit that the standard of food has improved since last year there seems to be more choice and availability this time and yes the apartments need a face lift, but at end of the day its only to rest your weary head after a good feed and drink. see you next year,!!!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: just enjoy the holiday dont look for problems thats not there
  • Good For: Beach
by tony,dawn
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Not the best

"Stayed for new year 2012. Normally stay at the Eden, but seems the scandinavians are priority. Nido cleaners keep apartments very clean and linen changed twice in 7 days. Bar staff not very friendly and pools not very inviting, would not try the food. On the plus side located close to the europa centre and only 3 euros to go by taxi to the main town. Will go back to peurto rico again this new year but not to the nido.New year in peurto rico is fantastic and about 75 degrees."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2012, booked with Travel republic
  • Advice: Try other apartments first
  • Good For: Beach
by M.P.
5 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

our holiday

"just got back monday we spent 2 weeks out in puerto rico. we absolutely loved it the people were lovely and friendly and the food is not what people say. maybe sometimes e.g breakfast did get a bit boring after a few days was very nice though we only had dinner a few times as spent most of the time out in the day at the very good barbacoa in the (europa)having a few drinks and letting my daughter play in the park area there.

also the pools on the complex was very nice could do with cleaning more regular as first few days could see the dolphin printed on bottom then second week water was more murkey as had not been cleaned properly. taxis were reasonable if traveling with more than 4 people expect to be made to get 2 taxis tho as we had a baby and most expected her to sit on her own seat in a taxi. everyone advised us to go to amadores beach as was lovely. we walked there which took 30mins in blazing hot sunshine and yes sand was lovely but the water not clean at all partly blue clean sea and then a green dark shade which was pantyliners and all stuff that had been dumped out there in the ocean had been washed up on the beach. (people still swimming in it tho) i would definately reccommend (turbo bar for burgers) mary'ds for music and friendly conversation and barbacoa if you have children as very family friendly and great entertainment at night) this is all at the europa.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012
  • Advice: nice decent apartments and friendly staff
  • Good For: Beach
by Tiffany K
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely Holiday

"Just home from a really pleasant stay in Gran Canaria. The Nido Aguila Apartments were comfortable, cleaned every other day & had all that was needed for a self catered fortnight. The reception staff went out of their way to be helpful, as were all the staff. The position of the apartments meant that though we enjoyed a quiet holiday & we were able to have many lovely walks, we could easily get to bars & restuarants when we wished. We will be returning next year!!"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2012, Room Only, booked with onthebeach-deals.co.uk
  • Good For: Beach
by Jonah & Me!!
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Needs a re vamp

"Rooms are nice and clean, not much hot water, had to boil a few kettles to have a wash, food is average not brill, staff ain't very smiley or helpful , not enough sunbeds round the pool, pool was freezing !!! , all inclusive drinks are the cheap [xxxx], and only on til 10.30 , no entertainment went Europa for that so spent more money, restaurant is like a big garden shed and tables close together , but we just got on with it, the complex could do with a bit of a re vamp , and the menu a bit more thought into it.."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2011, All Inclusive, booked with On the beach
  • Good For: Beach
by Mez
4 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A nice holiday in Nido del Aguila (Puerto Rico)

"Me and my husband just returned from a 2-week holiday from Puerto Rico, and we have nothing but good to say about Nido de Aguila. Our room was nice and clean and the area was peaceful (exactly what we wanted it to be), and there was a shopping center (Europa) with restaurants and a decent grocery store nearby. We were 100% self-catering so I can't say much about the food or the bar, but the most important thing, the apartment itself, pleased us a lot. And the price was utmost moderate as well.

I'd recommend Nido de Aguila anytime, BUT I'd also recommend self-catering because I've heard that the food isn't that great. Then again I wouldn't take all inclusive anyway myself, so...
"

by Nightfall
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nothing to do

"Just got back this week weather was great holiday not so great

Accommodation was clean and cleaners in every other day meals however not good

Dining area cramped flies every where food cold

Same breakfast every day in the second week we bought our own butter from supermarket and took toast only it tasted so good. lunch was hot dogs or burgers chips ,ice cream

No other choices but ice cream was good but could only have it at lunch or dinner no other time

Dinner was themed to a country eg Spanish each day so ate out on a few days as did not like the look of some of the meals

The drinks were ok you could have 2 at a time but as no where but a small poolside area to drink unless you took them back to your room and then you can't be bothered to go and get more

NO ENTERTAINMENT

Nothing to do at night unless you go to the Europa centre across the road which is ok but you have to walk the gauntlet of venders pestering you to eat or drink in there establishment

We found a place called maryds which had live music ever night ( the rock guitarist is fantastic)and quizzes for drinks and was a good price for drinks and the staff were great

Going back to your apartment at night is very scary as you come through a gate if you have been out drinking at venues across the road this area has a lot of bushes and plants which are very pretty in daylight but at night the paths move with hundreds of cockroaches one of the nights

My wife and I had to walk to another gate as to scared as so many everywhere Bought spray to keep them out of room so only had unwanted visitors a few time

Would not be back

Needs better food proper area to drink and talk to people

Should be able to eat at any time for snacks and ice cream not only at meal times

Would I return to Hotel if
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by Room good shame about the rest
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very Poor

"Read all the reviews before we went and thought it must just be that some people are overly fussy but unfortunately they were right. It would have been Ok if we were self catering as the room was fine. But we were all inclusive and the food was very very poor. some of it was definately reheated from the day before. We were expected to clear our own tables and scrape leftovers into a bin. Staff were at best miserable and at worst down right rude. The catering manager seemed aware that things were not good as she asked me what she could do to improve things. I ended up spending much more money than expected as we ate out most of the time.

Not a good place to go if you are not fit as it's a long walk down very steep roads to the beach but only cost 3 euros for a cab.

An Ok place to go for a self catering holiday but a total waste of money going all inclusive.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Do not go all inclusive
by sharon2609
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not go here!!!

"Just returned yesterday and it was the worst holiday ever! Staff in the bar are rude and in reception don't seeem to have a clue of what they are supposed to do. Food is awful and we had to eat out a few times to compensate. Coakroaches running by the pool in broad day light and also in rooms. Left my suitcases in the garden just in case I brought some back with me. Same food in the morning and even if you like fool english after a few days you had enough. At lunch if you don't like burgers and hot dogs you had it because that's all there is. Food is displayed at least 1/2h before they open and it is not covered up so the flies are everywhere. I love salad but not if it comes with a fresh serving of flies! Children can only have ice cream at meal times and not during the day and all drinks are watered down beyond recognition. The dining room resembles a school dining room from the 70's and is dirty. Tables are so close togheter that you cannot move. There are not enough sunbeds and umbrelas around the pools so people leave their towels on them 24/7. I will definetly not recommend anyone to holiday here."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't go there
by jo
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

defo going back

"we booked it because we wanted a cheap get away, it had everything we needed, it was clean and friendly. we went self catering so dont no much about the food but we did pay one day and it was good food.just across the road is a shopping centre with resturants,bars and a supermarket which was brill,because it ment we didnt need to go to the main town. we found the resort peacefull and spent most of the day by the pool. very good vaule for a £200 holiday and we are booking to go back in 2012"

by shell
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Nido del Aguila Apartments Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 22.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Nido del Aguila Apartments
  • by Lisa McGlade

    " Las Vagas in the commercial centre for the best steak and Tiffanys for the best night out "

  • by leist1

    " For Breakfast you cant beat Flicks in the Europa Centre "

  • by clare_dancediva

    " its average, but not the be all and end all of the holiday. A lovely location for a cheap holiday. "

  • by Crystal

    " Ok for couples but not much for children unless you want to sit by the pool 24/7 "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Fantastic place to go...Make sure you get to amadores beach "

  • by Room good shame about the rest

    " Area for drinking and meeting people and snacks and ice cream available all day "

Similar hotels around Puerto Rico

Hotels near Nido del Aguila Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Nido del Aguila Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Nido del Aguila Apartments? Share your insight.

Nido del Aguila Apartments is also called:

  • nido del aguila hotel
  • nido del aguila puerto rico

Address: Avda de la Cornisa s/n, Gran Canaria 35130, Spain