Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

4.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(50 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
36
Good
7
Average
1
Poor
6
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

About Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

The only way to describe this family friendly, 5-star property is the epitome of luxury. Set in El Basha Bay, around 8 km from Naama Bay city centre and 11km from the Sharm International Airport, the resort is within easy reach nearby cultural attractions. With a variety of exciting facilities, comfortable rooms and exquisite dining options, the final piece of the puzzle is the warmness of the staff, for whom no service is too much. With both adult only bars and a family friendly vibe, there is something for everyone. The hotel’s large pools and aqua park, its sublime spa offering holistic treatments and its professional diving school provide everything you could want for a luxurious Sharm El Sheikh holiday. To top it all off, the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort boasts a beautiful private sandy beach, stunning views of the Red Sea and a perfectly manicured garden. By the time you are sitting by the infinity pool with the sun going down and a cocktail in your hand, you will be supremely relaxed.

Facilities, Entertainment, Activities

With the Egyptian sun beating down, you will want to cool down quickly and the facilities at the Reef Oasis Blue Bay resort make this very easy! The aqua park’s three slides and abundance of pools keeps the kids entertained while the adults indulge in open-air Jacuzzis, steam rooms and thermal pools. Out on the Red Sea, diving classes are held by the resort’s PADI certified diving instructors; starting from Open Water Diver course and working upwards in skill and experience level. If this sounds a bit intimidating, the school offers a free daily introduction course to give newbies the chance to try a quick dive and see if it is the hobby for them. If scuba diving isn’t your thing, snorkelling courses are also available. Either way, the world-renowned coral reef is not to be missed. Back on shore, the other activities on offer include tennis, volleyball and use of a fully-equipped gym with state-of-the-art exercise bikes, treadmills and weights. In the holistic spa, a wide selection of massages and beauty treatments are offered. Each treatment has its own dedicated room, from Thai massage to facial treatments.

Room Information and Room Facilities

From the standard room to the honeymoon suite, the Blue Bay Resort’s guest rooms are luxuriously decorated and gloriously spacious. With views over the landscaped gardens, the pool complex or the spectacular Red Sea, the resort’s 696 rooms are spread out across the grounds to give all guests a sense of privacy. Throughout the resort, king-sized beds ensure the most comfortable sleep possible and a combination of mini-bar, satellite TV and individually controlled air conditioning means that relaxation comes guaranteed. Rooms also come with a safety deposit box, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities and much more. Striking a good balance between traditional elegance and modern design, the resort’s rooms never fail to impress.

Food and Drink Options

The hotel has a great selection of bars serving every tipple you can imagine, from fresh fruit and vegetable juices to energy drinks, cocktails and local and imported beers and wines. With the Leisure Pool Bar designed especially for families and the Relax Pool Bar strictly adults only, families will feel well looked after and couples can enjoy a romantic evening.  The resort’s six restaurants offer a good range of all-inclusive buffets and reservations-only restaurants for a special occasion. The Bay View serves excellent breakfast and dinner buffets and a wide variety of local beverages. For a genuine taste of Italian cuisine, Al Dente serves a selection of all-inclusive plates and some at extra charge. The same applies for the Fisherman’s seafood restaurant and Kabagi, the popular al-fresco venue; plating up speciality Middle Eastern food in the open air. The hotel’s restaurants profit from a wealth of locally sourced ingredients, especially when it comes to the seafood caught straight out of the adjacent Red Sea.

 
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
Very Dissapointed

"Stayed 2 weeks All Inclusive booked through Thompson, in Sept 13. See Breeze Restaurant not open for duration, many items not included in AI like Orange Juice at breakfast and Ice creams during the day for the kids which is normally expected.

Management leave a lot to be desired, their attitude is very bad indeed even to perfectly reasonable calmly put concerns about situations around the hotel, its as though they take the attitude that the guests are an irritation, we have had your money now all we want is more of it by extras, such as, various dishes on the menu in restaurants, Orange juice at breakfast, upgrade rooms, late check out, wine at meals, ice creams for kids, entry fee for the lounge in the lobby the list goes on and on, come on this is supposed to be an AI Platinum Resort - genuinely more like a 3*Plus. Resort and rooms a little dated, Old TV's in rooms (steam driven) our did not even work for the 2 weeks we were there, never fixed even after many reports (guess that would cost money). Really I could go on but won't.

This resort is potentially top draw, but the management for some reason are driving it downwards in standards. Very little of no entertainment in the evenings, we will not be returning to this resort ever and urge caution to those who are thinking about it, go with your eyes wide open and be prepared to have to spend extra money whilst in the resort, which is a real pity. We booked it and went with very high expectations that was our mistake, if you do decide to go, do so and go with the knowledge that the Egyptian staff are good, the weather is going to be good but the managers and they way they run the resort is bad, unless that is you are prepared to spend more money whilst there!!

We are a family love Egypt been going there since 1999, and have stayed in many different resorts, so great, some good but this is the first real disappointment which we have had when we left Egypt this time around we were disappointing, not in Egypt but that a group of individuals (the management) could get it so wrong, we all book All Inclusive Holidays for just that All Inclusive!!
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Be Prepared to pay out for extras whilst there!!
by ginger56
3 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED - PLEASE READ GENUINE REPORT

"We have traveled to Sharm many time but our first to this hotel, chose it simply by the raving reviews on Trip Advisor - first mistake. Take care since returning home I and my family did post several reviews on TA but initially posted they were removed, seems that TA only like to post positive glowing reports, not good for people wanting to have a genuine review before deciding to spend their hard earned money on a family holiday. Basicall this hotel is definitely NOT 5* and Thompsons list it as a Premium resort and charge Premium for it.

The management did not take any of our reports seriously, far from it, twe were on the ground floor and the sliding room door did not lock, we reported it but it never got fixed for the 2 weeks we were there!! The resort itself potentially could be good but the management seem too concerned about "squeezing a lemon" getting more money out of you, many items on the menus have extra charge (not what we are used to on AI holidays. The mini Bar you have to walk and carry soft drink only in the Aug Heat - ridiculous!! The food waqs repetitive and poor quality, all 5 in our party suffered from mummy tummy, something we have never had in the many times we have traveled to Egypt, no evidence of chefs wearing gloves or no evidence of guest hand sanitizer!!

Now the serious stuff- when we were there a small girl from another family was electrocuted whilst playing in the dancing fountain, paramedics were called and the 2 year old was unconscious from the electrical shock, despite this the management NEVER condensed off this area for the whole two weeks we were there. Maintanence was being done in the infinity pool on the electric lights during the day time when the pool was full with no apparent knowledge that electric and water just don't mix, I immediately instructed my family to get out of the pool while this was going on!!

The service was definitely not 5* more like a 3* and for what you pay it is just not on. We were very disappointing especially because of the high expectations before going and the price we paid as a Premium Collection Resort. The hotel is definitely not an AI resort, the drinks served are of poor quality (locally produced) and we ever saw the waiters washing Straws after collecting them in from around the pool areas YUK!!

The management have really a lot to answer for, you pay a good price mto be there you do not expect to have to pay as you go in any AI resort for things like Ice creams, Orange juice at breakfast etc etc....

It is really disappointing that Trip Advisor do not allow genuine reports of any negative nature to be posted it is wrong especially when people want an honest review before deciding where to spend their valuable family holiday and hard earned cash.

This is my first ever posting non this site in the hope that it gets posted and it can help some one in their decision making process on where to choose to go on holiday - we will see if this review gets posted!!

One final thing, sorry this is a long report, but on TA there have been several postings as to the bad entertainment team, well I think that I may have uncovered why the lack of enthusiasm of the team exists, whilst we were there one of them told us that the 9 persons (all from Europe) in the team 5 girls 4 boys) had to share 2 small rooms, and even share a double beds when they arrived they were complete strangers, no wonder they were unhappy and it showed in their work, they are lovely kids and nobody should be treated in this manner, one can only imagine how the resort treat the Egyptian waiters!! no wonder their morals are down and this reflects in the level of service they provide.

Last Aug we as a family stayed at the Sensatori in Sharm, excellent, but what is strange is that their rating on Trip Advisor is far worse than the Reef Oasis Blue Bay?? very strange and I rest my case, choose another hotel to stay at PLEASE do not encourage these sort of practices by the management of this hotel!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Do Not Go
by cufty
3 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not yet visited - But can't wait

"To all Management and Staff

My partner and myself will be visiting your beautiful hotel for the first time in September this year on recommendations from friends and work colleagues.

This will be our 7th visit to Egypt, and hopefully our best.

We will arrive on 19th Sept 2013 for 2 weeks, and we can't wait to meet you all, we have reviewed your hotel on behalf of our friends.

See you in September

Gary Andrew and Patricia Dickson - Manchester
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by pdickson
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Must read!

"My husband and I have have just returned from a week at R.O.B.B hotel and it was fabulous - the hotel is clean and staff are really helpful with great service from pool attendants to porters but a special mention to all the waiting staff in the many bars and restaurants. Ali in the Fishermans restaurant at breakfast always found a nice table for us and served with a smile. The room (we upgraded to a suite) was spacious and the bed very comfortable, shower had good power and the bathroom was clean with nice toiletries supplied. We found the food very good quality with lots of variety - especially enjoyed the fish curry and great salads every day!

Only a couple of negatives really and that's no Internet in room only hotel lobby and lack of English channels on TV - the 4-5 english speaking news channels are so repetitive and once you've caught up with headlines how many more times a day do you need to hear it?

All in all a really fabulous hotel and we are already planning a further trip in Dec
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2012, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by agough48
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

You must try the Fish Restaurant

"We had a lovely holiday there at the end of August, the weather was perfect - hot but perfect - and the accommodation superb but the Fish Restaurant was great. Ayman and his staff really put themselves out to make our holiday one to remember and were so friendly. We spent some time at the leisure pool which was very entertaining and the food and chef there were also first class. All in all a very good holiday and we will return there again."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Carters
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Disappointed - Bad hotel

"We chose this hotel based on an excellent past experience in its brother Reef Oasis Beach hotel during 2007 where we enjoyed our time so much and moreover we also expected to have a better quality of everything as we have heard that it is better than the elder beach hotel specially it has a premium rate

Our trip was from 3rd -7th of June 2010, the first trouble we faced was that the hotel name and location was not known to anyone in Sharm El Sheikh and there has been no sign to guide car drivers for the location however all neighbour hotel has signs at the beginning of the drive way to let people know where the hotel is.

Once arrived to the hotel we checked in easily to a well furnished clean and spacious

room and with some negatives like the TV was small and old fashioned compared to other hotels in Egypt who most of them have big LCDs, second the mini bar was not working efficiently and its door did not close, Third the Air condition was not powerful enough to cool the room during the hot day times

The hotel architecture is simple and not luxurious but I like simple designs

The location of the rooms deserve the word very bad as most of them are on gardens not looking at any swimming pools and no rooms have a sea view

The location of the hotel is far from Neama bay and you have to take the shuttle bus then a taxi to get out of the hotel

Coming to food and drinks you can find whatever you are looking for but you have to spend some effort to travel between food and drinks outlets according to a challenging schedule put by the hotel management and coming to the quality and as I am Egyptian and familiar with what is good and what is bad in this country I would judge the quality of food to equal a 3 to 4 stars hotel with very low to average quality of everything (Juice, Bread, cheese, oil, Chips, meat, fish, fruits .....etc ). Surprisingly when we planned to get the dinner in the fisherman's restaurant, we found that all the fish included for the all inclusive package are the lowest quality of frozen fish in the Egyptian markets which we normally do not eat which proved to me that the management is very conscious to saving

The desserts are their biggest problem; Most of the hotels serve better qualities

If you are Egyptian accompanying your family, watch out as the staff is exchanging a very bad language at the hotel depending on the fact that few guests can understand Arabic

At the end I would say that we enjoyed our trip because we are in sharm however disappointed from the hotel management and policies
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Do not go it has a terrible management
by dan
4 / 10

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

On balance

"I have just arrived back from the Reef Oasis Blue Bay hotel having spent seven days in the sun. To set the trip in context, it was me and my girlfriend, in our late twenties, looking for a week of five star complete relaxation, all inclusive, we don't have kids. Lets start with the PROS: Spacious clean and tidy room with lovely view over the pool and attentive service from the room keeper. Lovely resort that was clean and not overly busy, although we are in off peak season. Weather was around 25-30 daytime and 16-20 night time with bright sunny days. Selection of food was excellent and service with a smile. Look out for Ahmed in the Bay View as his section of the dining area is by far the most popular and he never fails to entertain and exceeds expectations in every area of service. I would also hasten to add that the ''mummy tummy'' that adorns some of the reviews didn't present itself in any way shape or form during the break. I have a fairly sensitive stomach and was completely fine for the duration of our break. My advice would be not to eat any apples or fruits with a skin, not only should you not drink the water, but also do not brush your teeth in it or let it in your mouth at all if possible. Other than this pretty much everything else goes. The night time lighting of the resort is spectacular and every nook and cranny holds another interesting feature which makes an evening stroll a delight. The beach is long with fine sand and wonderful views over the Red Sea and the sunset near the infinity pool is breath taking. The adults only pool is quiet and a sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Now the CONS: The tip culture was a bit of an irritation as I dont mind tipping the room keeper, pool attendants, waiters and anyone who provides a genuine add value service. The problem is that a lot of staff look longingly at your hands in anticipation of a tip for everything from pouring a drink to opening a door or you looking in their direction. The locals prefer dollars and over the course of the week we worked our way through around sixty dollars and fifty Egyptian pounds. Not grudged but less emphasis on tips from the staff would be appreciated. Cross selling was mildly irritating with staff from the spa, submarine cruises, newspaper sales making a near daily appearance touting for business. My end game was to wear shades and fain sleep. Seemed to work but they should be confined to their respective areas and not allowed to roam the resort. Finally and purely as an observation point, the night time entertainment was not great. If you are after a quiet relaxing day by the pool or on the beach followed by a chilled evening meal and an early night, then you are in luck. If you want anything else then you need to venture into Nama Bay the nearest source of bars, clubs and a Hard Rock cafe. This would perhaps relate more to other people, for us the lack of night time entertainment wasn't a deal breaker. I hope this has served to give you some comfort that a trip to Reef Oasis Blue Bay would delight and amaze, it certainly did for us.

Stephen Brown
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Delights and amazes
  • Good For: Beach
by stephjbrown
9 / 10

125 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

AWESOME

"Pros = Beach, food, location, friendly staff

Cons = evening entertainment.

If you are going to sharm then look no further and book into the Reef Oasis blue bay resort and spa, the hotel is stunning, rooms very large and spotless, the many resturants provided excellent food and plenty of choice (as a chef i am normally very critical but couldnt fault the food)the private beach was excellent, towels provided, there are 4-5 pools with one that was for adults only. The only downside was the evening entertainment was more geared to kids, my wife and i met another family, had it not been for this i think we would have struggled to find any suitable entertainment in the evenings.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by karl and jeni
10 / 10

35 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very good

"very good hotel we had a good time we will go back one day but whiv the kids the drinks are good the rooms very clean if you are going u will have a grat time so have fun cos i no we did thanks for looking at this p.s have a grat time ther"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: good
  • Activities: the see food / the swiming activities
  • Good For: Beach
by streety
10 / 10

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

FANTASTIC

"Four of us went to this hotel in April this year and it was fantastic, the rooms were very big and immaculate.

We had a great view over the gardens near the relax pool which we used every day, the endless cold drinks and soft music was lovely.

There were plenty of places to eat and the food was really good, loads to choose from, we ate in the Italian Restaurant one night and that was very nice, well worth booking.

We did the quad biking/camel riding/dinner at bedouin camp trip and would definately recommend this, it was a great afternoon/evening out.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing break, we spent most evenings in the outside bar overlooking the bay, then the disco started at about 11pm and went on to 2am.

All in all a really good relaxing holiday..... give it a try!
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by abrickell
10 / 10

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hope to go back next year

"Both my partner and myself were a bit apprehensive of going to Egypt until some friends of ours went and recommended this hotel and it really lived up to all they had told us.

Everything was wonderful. From the room, the staff, the pools, the cleanliness, etc.

Just a five and a half hour flight in march and the weather is so good.

The staff are on the go all the time and can't do enough for you. Sameh at the slide pool and Faddy and Haney in the sports bar became great friends throughout the holiday. What a pleasure to have such lovely people around. They made our holiday. (Don't forget to tip if you are happy with the service).

There was a great choice of food from all of the resturants, making it a different choice every night. This is so good when in a complex. It can be a bit boring when eating in the same place every day. There was also a great choice of places to have a drink in the evening.

We did a couple of the trips while away. The V.I.P boat trip and the Quad bikes and camel ride. Both were so different but well worth doing.

We both can't wait to go back again next year.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by statham
10 / 10

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Beautiful Location

"We have just returned from the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Hotel. The Hotel setting and the Hotel itself is fantastic. Very clean, tidy and we were very lucky with the location of our room. We upgraded to a Junior Suite which gave us lovely treats for example breakfast in the fish restuarant which was quiet and offered a much superior service, 20 minute massage included in the upgrade. 2 bags of laundry and early and late check in/out which is a god send. The weather was fab. The main thing I feel let the whole holiday down was the food in the main restuarant, bland, luke warm and all much of a muchness !!! The only god send is that you can book the Al Dente italian restuarant (2 days booking in advance is required) and if you can get in more than once it is worth going. The food is of a higher standard and the service is excellant. You dont have to spend anything. There are four courses and choices for all inclusive and extras if you want to pay more but I stuck with the all inclusive choices and they were fine. Watch you dont order drinks off the menu as these are chargeable. Just ask for a drink from the all inclusive option. The house wines are just fine. Its a shame that they dont allow this restuarant to get full. We renamed it the alf empty (rather the the al dente !!!) People are desperate for decent food and the hotel are reluctant to allow you to have it. The service in the main restuarant was at times chaotic. avoid going for dinner at 8pm as everyone else does and the restuarant just cannot cope. The waiters are falling over each other trying to clear tables and get drinks and it becomes a real shambles. The beach restuarant is okay again the same things served everyday and the service is very intermittant. I found some staff rude and unless you tipped excessivley they actually went out of their way to be downright awkward. They certainly have a problem with women asking for drinks/food etc. Overall a great holiday but I do wish someone would get a grip of the staff and get them to realise they are working in a 4/5 star hotel and should treat their guests as such. We had a daily walk through reception just to see if we coud see any smiles on the staff faces. Once or twice we thought we saw a smile but then realised that it was in fact wind!!!"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by lesleywalker
8 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort Closest airport: Sharm El Sheikh (SSH) 4.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
  • by hamij002

    " 'Le Petite' , Quadbiking with Thomson, The Beach and everything else!!!!!! "

Similar hotels around Sharm El Sheikh

Hotels near Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort? Share your insight.

Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort is also called:

  • hotel reef oasis blue bay
  • reef oasis blue bay
  • reef oasis blue bay hotel

Address: El Basha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt