Costa Sur Hotel

2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

5  / 10
(73 reviews)

Stayed at Costa Sur Hotel?

Share your opinion and write a review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
15
Good
16
Average
4
Poor
10
Awful
28

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 6/10
Food: 4/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 6.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Costa Sur Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 4 57 »
DISGUSTED GUEST by Disgusted Guest
1 / 10

Avoid this Hotel if you can. It is not what it appears on the Costa Sur official website. It looks like it has been a very nice hotel at one time but our experience was that it has been taken over by droves of Stag and Hen parties (some groups as large as 50). The hotel is overbooked and oversubscribed as guests from the adjoining Sol Post aprtments as well other hotels nearby use the pool area and dining room. This means that there is not enough rrom for everyone and not enough subeds to go around. The beach around this area of the bay appears to be shrinking and there is liitle room to sunbathe there either.

The dining rrom can't cater for the numbers using it and meal times are nothing less than a scrum. The manners of some of the people using this dining room are appalling -you can expect to be pushed and shoved as you queue for your meal.

The behaviour of the large groups of stag and hen parties staying here is disgusting and they causee disturbances throughout the day and night. These people should'nt be allowed to stay in ordinary hotels and instead should be staying at apartmants in the party town of San Antonio town as they are only interested in drinking all day and all night long.

The lovely pool area at this hotel is ruined by these large parties of drunken foul mouthed yobs who occupy the kiddies pools and surrounding areas all day long.

Their behaviour is loud, vulgar, foul mouthed and often abusive. We came to the conclusion that the hotel management were afraid of them as nothing was ever done to stop bad behaviour.

You will find it hard to get served a drink at the bar as these groups take over and stand around the bar area all day long - like groups of louts hanging around a street corner.

Night time is even worse, so dont expect to get much sleep if your staying here. We were unfortunate enough to be there at the time England lost the football match to Germany, sfter which some of these drunken louts went on the rampage, wreeking havoc and destroying property all around them.

This hotel is not suitable for families with young children or indeed anyone of any age looking for a relaxing enjoyable sunshine holiday.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Avoid it if you can!
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Don't Bother Going by lotty18
1 / 10

OH MY GOD Please do not go to this Hotel if you have little ones, you get NO sleep, the staff are unhelpful, the pools are dirty, infact the whole place is a nightmare.

I have just arrived back from 10 days with my partner and 5 yr old daughter. We have had no sleep due to all the noise from the groups of parties that partied until 7am in the morning in the complex, banging shouting every night all night and i had to sleep with my 5 yr old as she was so scared. we went self catering, we had no toaster and the microwave did not work, I told reception nearly every day and they did not do anything about it.

I also complained about the noise to reception but they did not care at all, i asked for the manager one day and the reception guy said he wants to see him first as he has still not been paid??????

Do not go to this hotel I am warning you it is a disgrace to Ibiza.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not stay here by zoe.barnes
2 / 10

I have just got home from a week staying in the hotel, and I have to say it is the worst place I have ever stayed in by far, and I have stayed many many places. The staff are incredibly rude and unhelpful. On arrival we recieved no information about meal times etc or even where our room was. We only ate at the hotel once becuase the food was just too inedible, no labels were placed above the food so you have no idea what your eating. Drinks are given in ridiculously small cups so you will have to get 2 at a time. As for our room, the balcony door didn't lock, not all lights worked, bathroom door didn't shut properly. Now for the major problem, THEIFS. We believe the hotel staff are all involved in this because people were being robbed even when they had things in SAFES. One girl had absolutely everything taken from her safe, even her passport. The staff will not help you if you are robbed because they just don't care. Please, please don't stay here if you can help it, if you've already booked to stay, all I can advise is just don't leave anything in your rooms. Its rumoured that the manager of the hotel is in jail for fraud.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: don't stay there
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3star hotel! 0star staff!! by adz
5 / 10

i have read a lot of these reviews and i have mixed feelings about them! i think for a 3 star hotel it was clean tidy and had everything that would be expected for a 3 star. the staff however were dissapointing! they overbooked rooms so half of our party had to move to a different hotel for a night! they had no manners and were very aggresive! i think the pool facilities were good and you could use any pool in the chain of hotels! the food was nice but there wasnt much of a selection! it was the same stuff all of the time! some of the cleaners and even bar staff could only speak spanish so they couldnt understand any foreign tourists which was a bad thing as there was a lack of communication! there was a lot of complaints about theft but we never experienced any of that! overall i dont think it is a family hotel (certainly not a place for kids or couples) but i would recommend it if you are looking for a single sex group going to party! dont leave anything lying around in your room always keep a lock on your luggage and i would recommend hiring a safe which is bolted into the wardrobe in your room! if you keep everything locked away and dont leave anything lying around worth pinching then i think you will enjoy this hotel!! we booked with thomson but when we got there we found that it wasnt a thomson hotel it was a g.p.s hotel!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: single sex groups! ideal!
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Rubbish Hotel by DONNY 2010
1 / 10

Make this quite easy for you.

stay away from this hotel you will waste your money go elsewhere ... Nigel doncaster travelled 10/06/2010/ -17/06/2010

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Global Late Deals
  • Advice: Beach ten min walk, stay away

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

horrendous by The Leslies
1 / 10

Why was this holiday horrendous?

...staff on reception were argumentative (all we wanted was to be given our studio apartment like we paid for), sullen, untidy and uninterested

...food was very basic and not interesting, felt really bad for kids there was nothing really appropriate for them. We had our breakfast there but had to use a big chunk of our spending money to eat out in restaurants

...stag n hen parties took over the whole pool area and left it in such a mess with broken beds, cups etc all lying about. Plus choice antics and language infront of the kids around.

...no security at all. REALLY needed at the pool side during the day and at night due to drink induced roundy behaviour (banging any doors all through the night, banging doors shut all through the night, throwing chairs and glass from balconies, running through corridors all night long.......)

...talk of thieving from rooms while people sleep or out during the day (thankfully we chose to use the safe in our room for the week)

...no entertainment at night

...not enough staff to cope with the demands of big groups of people

...the other hotels in the GPS group around us all came to our hotel for food.....lots of queueing for meals

...the whole place needed re-decorated and changed, especially the carpets in the hallways

...lying on the poolside with the maids constantly walking back and forwards beside us with their cleaning materials in trollies. Would have moved but no room to.

All in all we will NOT be going back and we will NOT be recommending it to ANYONE. PLEASE if you have children don't book your holiday at this hotel or the apartments. Do if you are a stag or hen party...

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very Disappointing! by "O"
1 / 10

I have been coming to this hotel since 1997 and it saddens me to say that it has gone downhill so badly.

I booked this hotel for 30 of us including one child as i was getting married at Sem barcador Restaurant, so all my family came with us for our wedding. I booked the Costa Sur as i have always enjoyed staying there, so i knew that my family would enjoy it there. BIG mistake, it was absolutely awful! Since they've gone all inclusive this hotel has turned into a 18/30's holiday, gangs of blokes and girls basically trashing the hotel and pools.... They were smoking while in the pools and putting their butts out on the edge of the pool, cups and litter strewn everywhere, it was totally embarrassing as i recommended this hotel to all my family. The restaurant was a joke, queue's and queue's all the time, they ran out of knives every night, spoons and soups bowls etc, it was total mayhem, the staff were too over worked which made them miserable, they were taking plates away from under your nose on the last mouthful, it was so horrid and not relaxing at all. The drinks machines kept running out, it was awful there. The rooms were still the same as they were in 1997, basic and a bit shabby, we had a broken sink, the shelf in the bathroom was smashed in half so very sharp ceramic exposed, the shower ran very hot then cold, only plus side was the maids were brilliant at keeping the rooms clean. This certainly was not an all inclusive hotel, as normally you would get food flowing all day, all we had was dry unbuttered sandwiches from the fridge during the day, and the odd cake, they kept running out of drinks, and with only 1 bar staff on most of the time we had to queue for ages to get a drink in a silly plastic cup suitable for children, it was rediculous! They ran out of ice and cups while we were there, then the bar staff said we had to return our old cups, it was a shambles! We ended up going out to beaches etc as we didn't like the atmosphere around the pools, yobs were just trashing the place all the time, lots of shouting and aggressive men just getting drunk all day, they were even getting drinks from the bar then throwing them over each other, it was awful! We didn't have 1 decent nights sleep, the doors slamming the shouting, singing etc when the idiots were returning home at stupid o'clock in the mornings, it was horrendous! The reception area has always been beautiful over the years, but it was totally trashed every night while we were there, you couldn't sit anywhere it was full of spilt drinks, rubbish etc, the outside of the hotel was trashed too, all the cigarette butts thrown in the tree outside, the little water feature outside was full of cans, bottles and rubbish, it was so horrible to see.

We loved Paddys Bar each year, so i told my family how brilliant it was in there, only to be told it's shut down for now! Casablanca Bar always had different acts every 2 weeks, but while we were there for 11 nights, we saw the same acts twice! There's only a few regular staff left there now and they all say they hate the way the hotel has changed since going all inclusive, i hope for the sake of the hotel and everyone else that they change back to half board, otherwise i can see this hotel just going under rapidly. I will never stay here again, and now i wish i had stayed at the Hotel Milord which was one of our options, but i said it's ok to everyone as i knew what the hotel costa sur was like, but how wrong could i be.... it was the worse hotel i have ever stayed in! But we didn't let it ruin our wedding, i had a magical day!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Boycott the Costa Sur!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

do not go by bfc
1 / 10

I have never felt the need before to write a review of my holiday - until now! This hotel was the worst I have ever been to...this was described to me as a family hotel, great for a perfect relaxing holiday! What it really was like was full of yobs who were coming in all hours of the morning, banging doors, shouting, even jumping in the pool at 4am! No security at all in the hotel, so no-one to tell them to be quiet. Went for 2 weeks and managed to get about 6 nights of decent sleep. My son cut his foot on glass in the pool, and had to complain 3 times before they decided to clean it. Complained to reception about the noise and they just didnt want to know. Food in hotel edible but cheese and ham sandwiches and dried up biscuits (which were classed as snacks in all-inclusive) were ridiculous. No entertainment at all at night, so had to go out to various pubs nearby for something to do!

Heard various reports of things being stolen from rooms when the doors were locked...but luckily this didnt happen to us!

If you are reading this before booking your holiday - please, please, please take my advice and do not go!!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Stag and Hen Madness by Sue
1 / 10

We have stayed in this hotel/apartments 3 times over the past 10 years or so and cannot believe how it is now. It used to be a nice family hotel with excellent entertainment for children and adults in the Casablanca Bar. Now it is full of stag and hen parties staggering around drunk all day, their behaviour was sickening to say the least, crude, intimidating with no regard for the hotel or other guests. Sleep was difficult because the noise went on all night until the next morning. Police were called because of vandalism to the rooms and pool area. There was also talk of theft and break-ins.

There is absolutely nothing for children to do. I feel for the families who had booked All Inclusive and were financially tied to the hotel, it must have been hell.

Food was terrible so we ate out all the time. Never stayed around the hotel, day or night because of the yobs.

We went with our two sons aged 19 and 26, along with their girlfriends. They like to go out and party but even they were disgusted.

Still love Ibiza because it is truly a beautiful island but will not be going back to San Antonio now the riff-raff have descended on the bay. Its the other side of the island for us from now on.

Dont go to this hotel - leave it to the animals.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Half Board, booked with Travel Republic. Jet 2 flights
  • Advice: Dont Go
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

total waste of money!!!!! by michelle and mark
1 / 10

went to the costa sur for one week all inclusive and found that we would have been better going self catering as the food was inedible tried it on our first day to give them the benefit of the doubt but ended up ill for the next two days ate out every day after that. the all inclusive bar consisted of the pool bar which regularly ran out of popular drinks such as vodka malibu etc. the complex was full of crowds of young boys and girls who had no respect for anyone as they could be heard running up and down the corridors and banging on doors in the early hours of the morning and playing loud music. the staff were completly un helpful and didnt seem to care. There were lots of reports of people in other rooms having their mobiles etc stolen even if they did pay for their safety deposit box. There was no entertainmemnt for adults or children even though it was advertised and the only television in the bar was a portable tv in the corner. paddys bar that is advertised as part of the complex was never opened and looked like it hadnt been opened in a while. The casablanca which was part of the complex was not included in the all inclusive. You also had a good twenty minute walk at least to get to the nearest thing that resembled a beach. Absolutly loved ibiza and would go back again but to the complete oopposite end and i will never be back in the costa sur again and i strongly advise anyone who is thinking of booking their holiday there to think again and choose another hotel.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: avoid at all costs

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Absolute rubish by kat
1 / 10

This hotel is the worst i have ever stayed in. The food was inedible so we had to eat out every day. The pool was never cleaned out and things were floating about on it. Even though we were all inclusive they ran out of vodka twice and when we asked about it the bar staff just said see the reception and walked away. We saw reception and insisted they get some, and eventually they did, but were not happy about it. One morning my son came out of the shower into the bedroom and found the chambermaid in there after i had told her not to go in. The staff were not helpful at all. There is nothing to do in the hotel, the tv in the bar was a tiny portable one and the pool table had half the balls missing.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Avoid it

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Staff were rude and unhelpful, did not care our room was broken into - worst hotel ever! by ZOE's HEN WEEK!
1 / 10

We arranged our 'package holiday' throught Thomas Cook, 14 in total for my hen week, including 3 mums and 2 children. On arrival at the hotel there were no Thomas Cook reps, only rude spanish staff. It took us nearly 1 hour to check in, at 3am its not what you want! We found our own way to the room in the dark, after carrying lugguage up 3 flights of stairs, not being told there was a lift. The next day by the pool, there was no 'pool side activities' that we were expecting, even though the board said there was. There was a massive group of lads by the pool just being abnoxious and loud, there was no one there to ask them to be quiet. No lifeguard by the pool. They threw my 10 year nephew into the pool as he walked past. That evening the police arrived at the hotel to through some of them out. The board stated that there was bingo and night disco, after asking at reception they said they didnt know anything about it. So i asked at the bar, she could not understand me and someone else said that the microphone was broken and that there was no disco! So the kids were un-entertained! The arcade games were not free so what else could they do. The food was not edible, it was disgusting and everything looked like it was re-heated from earlier or deep fried to disguise it! We ordered a taxi from the reception, waited for an hour, asked at reception, he said it was not his problem and that he could not get through as the line was busy (later that week we ordered one from shooters bar and it arrived within minutes!) So we had to walk about 20mins and flag one down, it took the whole group a long time to get to the main town. Over the week we overheard a few people talking about them having various items stolen from there room, and we thought we were ok as we had a safe. The one day we had come back from the beach and we left one ipod in a beach bag under the bed, came back the later that night, about 12 to find it had gone. We were on the third floor, balcony, door and window all locked, no sign of forced entry. Hotel staff did not care, did not apologise, when we asked where the nearest police station was they said get a bus and ask at the main town! One person even had there bag snatched off the back of her chair in the canteen! I told the woman how unhelpful she was and her response was to give me a complaints form! We all felt very intimidated whilst there as we felt there was noone there to help when we needed it. We were a polite group and we felt that even if we really needed help that they would still shrug there shoulders and walk away. We asked how to get a bus to Bora Bora, she gave us the wrong number and we ended up in Cala Bassa, which was lovely, but not where we wanted to go... plus once there we had to wait for 4hours for a bus to come back. The beach they say is only 300m away- is not nice, its small, not clean and very rocky. Overall everything about the hotel was awful and in my opinion i would not recommend anyone to stay there. It would be worth paying more money as the experience we had spoilt bits of our holiday. To make matters worse, Thomas Cook did not want to know when i rang them from holiday, they did not even apologise.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: prepare to be stolen from, eat the worst food in your life & experience rude and unhelpful staff!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 1 2 3 4 57 »
Stayed at Costa Sur Hotel? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Costa Sur Hotel Closest airport: Ibiza (IBZ) 8.3 miles
Costa Sur Hotel photos (7 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around San Antonio Bay

Hotels near Costa Sur Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Costa Sur Hotel?