Sol Palmeras Hotel

Carretera de las Morlas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
4 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

7  / 10
(29 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
6
Good
9
Average
10
Poor
2
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Holiday spoiled by phil
5 / 10

My wife and i arrived in aparty of 17 on 24th Sept 2010 for our 3rd visit to this hotel ,having been before we knew not to expect 4 star service from a 4star hotel in cuba.

However,1st night there was a foul drainage problem that closed the resturant and we all ended up eating cold food in a queue like scoolchildren.

Next day dumpers and diggers and a tractor arrived at 8am ,the pool was emptied and the hedges around the now waterless poolbar were ripped out and 2days later replaced with large rocks.

Next day holes were dug everywhere around the pool area to put in ducts and drains ,only to be covered up with overterned sunbeds.

Next day apaint spraying mobile generator was brought into the pool area and commenced to start painting the walls and bottom of the pool covering the whole area withspray and fumes this lasted 2days.

Bear in mind,all this was going on while people are trying to sunbathe and generally enjoy their hard earned holiday,eventually the pool area was mostly deserted.

To make matters worse everyone you spoke to had sickness and diarrhea problems including several of our party.

Before coming to Cuba we were told some work would be going on at the hotel,at the new fondue bar ,but honestly,the hotel should have been closed while the pool area improvements were taking place.

We love Cuba and the people in the hotel have always been good to us,but we wont be going back for a long time.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Dont go untill the refurbishment has been completed
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holiday nightmare by addi
2 / 10

We stayed at this hotel 23rd september what a nightmare the buffett resturant was flooded on the 24th the smell was terible we found out later this was human sewage

they were replacing drains at the hotel when we arrived a lot building work going on all over the hotel inside and outside

but we were not adviced it was the drains till most of hotel fell really ill a few days later, they say this was all cleaned up by midnight from say 7pm so 5 hours to repair and clean and open next morning. feel this should of taken 5 days not 5 hours and guest should of been moved for health and safty reasons by monday people were dropping like flies hotel started to look like a ghost town so many unable to leave there rooms

as all had really bad vomiting & diarrhoea.

still cannot belive the hotel did not care for there guest,health and saftey were brought in only after we were all very ill our holiday was ruined total waste of money complaint has been lodged with travel agent as this should never be allowed to happen again to anyone poor hygine pipes burst we know this but you do not keep your guest in the dark failing to tell them it was the sewage pipe there is no way i would of eaten in the resturant feel with all the renovation this hotel should not of been open

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A Restful Time at a Very Busy Hotel by Holiday Brit
8 / 10

Our family of four (two adults, two teenagers) spent two weeks at the hotel with friends - a similar family of four.

We all had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay. The checking in process was welcoming and efficient and the rooms were well prepared. Throughout are stay, all four of the rooms we occupied were well cleaned with new bottles of water supplied every day and toilet rolls replaced when necessary. We paid a one tourist peso (CuC) tip per room per day. You might argue that this should be unnecessary but we were genuinely pleased with the service we received. It is also worth bearing in mind that, though a tourist peso is worth only about 70 pence, four tourist pesos equate to around a third of the average Cuban monthly wage.

The main buffet did sometimes get very busy and at peak times the staff struggled. However, this was unusual and most of the time we received excellent and very friendly service. We also found that learning the odd Spanish phrase and tipping regularly helped oil the wheels of hospitality. We particularly enjoyed the various specialist restaurants, had no trouble booking them. By the end, we had decided that the Italian was our favourite. During the day, we used both the poolside and the beachside snack bars. As elsewhere, the service was generally excellent. Unfortunately, we did notice a tendency to pre-prepare burgers and toasted sandwiches and leave them sitting, in the open, above the griddle. The snack bars do attract the interest of small birds and small flies. There was no particular cause - waste food and litter were quickly removed - and we found neither birds nor flies to be any great problem. Certainly we have had more problems with wasps, bluebottles and gulls at UK seaside cafes.

As Brits we assume a Health and Safety and Hygiene culture and, in addition to the snack bars, we did notice some other minor shortfalls in these areas. It is also the case that all four of us had slightly gyppy tummies during our stay. That said, we all admitted to having experienced similar and sometimes worse problems whilst holidaying elsewhere and it is not necessarily clear that today's funny tummy came from a bug rather than the fruit-juice based cocktails drunk last night.

The beach is a very short walk from the hotel, fringed by palms and white sand and shelves at a reasonable angle. The water activities are well organised and supervised. Sun beds are at a bit of a premium but you can normally find some by the pool. We noticed that the two swimming pools were swept (inside and out) at the beginning of every day and the water was tested. They were never too crowded and the design seems reasonably safe.

The entertainment staff in the hotel were both hard working and very friendly. I took part in a number of organised ent activities including informal Spanish classes and enjoyed them all. Equipment for self-organised sports such as table tennis and volleyball is readily available.

Like the buffet the bars in the evening could get very busy. Late in the evening, the waiters would all but disappear and sometimes those remaining would be flagging. Some judicious tipping helped maintain the levels of service.

This hotel gets very mixed reviews both here and elsewhere and last year First Choice re-classified it from Four to Three stars in their brochures. I think that the poorer reviews and re-classification both have two main causes. First the hotel is operating at near capacity all year round (the Hotel Manager told us this). This means that when a fault occurs e.g. dishwasher not working, staff member off sick - it quickly has an impact on the service to holiday makers as there is no slack in the system. The air conditioning in one of our rooms failed during our stay partly - it would seem - because there had been few opportunities to maintain it. Secondly, during the summer at least, this is mainly a Hispanic hotel with most of the clientele coming from either Spain or the Spanish-speaking South American countries. Two issues arise from this: first, there is a natural tendency (not that pronounced in our experience) for a minority of staff to respond more readily to their fellow Spanish speakers; secondly, there is the difference in attitudes to smoking. We didn't find smoking in the hotel communal areas to be a big problem because they are air-conditioned and spacious. Unfortunately, we did occasionally find it to be a problem by the pool. Some of the Hispanic visitors would smoke and flick both butts and ash without much regard for the small children - or anyone really.

Overall, despite experiencing some shortcomings, we had an excellent holiday. Moreover, it was fantastic value for money. Perhaps the best bit was the friendliness and helpfulness of the vast majority of the staff. Be polite and take a little trouble to interact with them and you will get a warm response. Would I recommend it - yes - not least because having discussed how the hotel was working with the Manager, he is both well aware of and has plans to address the issues arising from the high occupancy rates and smoking.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Delivers value for money
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good base for a cuban holiday by havanaclub
6 / 10

feb 2010 was our 2nd visit to the sol palmeras.we go to cuba for the music and dancing. if you're an avid salsanista, go to the bar calle 62 any night. 2009 was the best time for us. there was music to dance to,somewhere in the hotel from midday to 11 at night. the main band,los nortenos, were amazing, the management at the hotel encouraged dancing wherever we wanted.

the only disappointment this year was the music had changed so much,except for one night, it was more like lift music.

unfortunately, canadians/americans pay for service,as we brits reward service.it's the nature of things there.the food is good,varied and plenty of it.

the hotel is a little tired, but the welcome is always warm and sincere.

one word of advice..... please check,at the reception cambio,that you have been given the correct amount for the money you exchanged.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Disappointed by Belle2006
5 / 10

We booked Sol Palmeras as Virgin recommended it to be one of the better hotels. We also had friends staying at Blau Veradero just up the road and their hotel was much much much nicer & the staff were reallt courteous and polite...unlike the staff in Sol Palmeras!

The food is ok in the buffet restaurant but the service is appalling, plenty of tables but hardly ever any clean ones so you have to sit at a table and hope the waitress/waiter has noticed you come in so they will then clear it & offer you a drink. Whatever you do, do not ask them to clear it no matter how politely you ask as they will become very rude towards you, we did ask one night (after waiting for 15 mins and trying to make eye contact and smiling at the waitress to no avail!) and the waitress was so rude....slamming cutlery down in front of us & swearing in spanish (they assume that if you are english you won't understand)...

The steak house and chinese on the other hand was fantastic! the staff were really helpful and the food was really good. Unfortunately we were unable to eat in the fondue, cuban or italian restaurants as they were always fully booked & the reservations officer changes as & when you can book (sometimes you can book four days in advance and other times she will ask you to come back the day before only to find it is all booked up!)

The Pool was lovely, a few leaves but that can't be helped & we saw that it was cleaned every morning.

The beach was gorgeous & there is plenty going on all though you need to get there early as the longers do get reserved even though the hotel policy is not reserve loungers. Also make sure you get there at 9am if you want to do any of the water sports as they are pre-bookable.

The rooms were shabby & dirty, there is maid service but they seem too interested in making swans out of towels & to write letters to you asking for money in a subtle way rather than actually clean the room. Our toilet was not cleaned the whole time we were there and we had to ask for more loo paper as she had not bothered to stock it up. Also she is supposed to provide a 1.5l bottle of mineral water a day but she forgot three days in a row. She did actually miss our room altogether one day which we thought was appalling for a 4* hotel.

Overall, we did have a nice holiday BUT we would have stayed at the Blau Veradero if we had been advised as to how much nicer it is (and cheaper at that!!) I think it is worth going here if you get a really good deal but bear in mind that it is nothing like the 4* hotels we get in europe - I would say this one was more like 3*.

Our holiday would have been far nicer if the staff were nice.... a real shame...

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Virgin
  • Good For: Beach

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very disappointed by whitney01
6 / 10

We were very disappointed in this hotel. The rooms were shabby and everything felt grubby.

We were told a two bedroom bungalow but my 17 year old daughter had a bed in the lounge. The food was not good. Luckily we were only there a week and managed to find something each day, although my daughter didn't eat the last day.

The beach was beautiful although the water cold.

The people were not at all friendly - in general - and expected tips rather than appreciated them. They barely made eye contact with you.

We have been to the Dominican Republic 5 times and had a fantastic time each time but we would never go back to cuba.

We did have a great time though as we met some nice people and made the best of it!

  • Holiday details: Feb 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Virgin
  • Advice: avoid it
  • Activities: Jeep Safari great, Catamaran Trip great and overnight in Havana was £25 pesos special offer good
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Ok by michellex
6 / 10

BEACH IS LOVELY

hotel is ok

food is very very very poor, hardly ever ate

if busy, barmen mostly only serve you if you gave them a tip!

cleaners are polite and some staff were nice

loads of activities to choose from but a shape the red flag was out on the beach so they couldnt get the boats out.

swimming pool was to shallow all round.

the only thing that really made my holiday was the people i met and having fun in the fun pub.... if you go here check out the fun pub its brill!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Stayed at the Sol Palmeras in August... by  J Harold
8 / 10

Stayed at the Sol Palmeras in August & had a fantastic time. Go & see for yourself. We had a bungalow, not even one day of tummy trouble & always found something to eat in the ""canteen"" the food was in plenty supply. {We were there for 3 weeks.} We did meet a lady who said the pool was filthy it had a few leaves in. What do some poeple expect? There are 100's of palm trees. My view is to enjoy my holiday & not look for faults.....

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

dont go there. food is no good. all... by PAUL BESCHIZZA
1 / 10

dont go there. food is no good. all the think about are tips lost one stone due to bad food think before you book cuba is no good.god help who go out there

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

i went to this hotel 2yrs ago with a... by J Tandy
8 / 10

i went to this hotel 2yrs ago with a large group of us, including my kids. We all enjoyed it that much that we're going again in 4 weeks (dependant on huricane ike not washing it away!) we found the hotel staff very friendly especially alberto and the entertainment team. our rooms were always spotless and the maid left a note at the end of our stay to wish us bon voyage. the restaurant staff couldnt do enough for us and there was always plenty to eat for every taste. cant wait to get back there!

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Mrs G Wilkinson yours is the second... by Holley
8 / 10

Mrs G Wilkinson yours is the second negative review I have read about this hotel. I have just returned from this hotel and cannot believe we stayed in the same hotel you describe. The complimetary reviewsof the hotel and resort are spot on from my experience.

Negative reviews amongst so many that praise a resort and hotel make me think some people are looking for something to moan about when in fact there is very little.

My wife and I have just enjoyed one of the best holidays we've ever had. Yes there are shortcomings but put into perspective they paled into insignificance for the good things. Cuba is still a 3rd world country and travellers should bear this in mind if they travel to Cuba.

However, the Cuban people are the most welcoming. We in this country could learn a thing or two from these humble people.

The Nacional De Cuba hotel in Havana where we spent our first 3 nights is a place to behold. The history that surrounds the place is breathtaking as is the view across the harbour and the old fort. You can see that this hotel was most definately the place to be in a bygone age. It did have a smell of damp but this just added to the character of the place. Our room was comfortable and more than adequate for the time period we stayed at the hotel.

The Tropicana show is a must. It's been going since 1939 so it must be doing something right. We thouroghly enjoyed it as did the rest of the audience. It was packed and this on the night of the anniversaryof the revolution when most if not all of Cuba was attending the Carnival in Havana.

Sol Palmeras hotel Veradero.

We had 11 nights all inclusive here. The beach was simply beautiful, the sunsets amazing. We ate the fresh fish for lunch on a number of occasions as it was irresistable. Food in the buffet was plentyfull. If you couldn't find something to eat then you must have an eating disorder !

The themed restaurants were OK the cuts of meat in Cuba are not the best it has to be said. the Creoll was our fav closely followed by the chinese which incidently was cooked by a Cuban ! The Italian wasn't bad as was the Staeak house. We didn't do the Fondu.

We did on our last night take a taxi to the Xanadue mansion and had a meal there. The view and the surroundings of this place are simply stunning and are a must for any visitor to Veradero. The food was out of this world. Try the Chocolate Fondu Cake.

Our hotel room (3094) overlooked the pool and the coconut palms and to the right we had a sea view. The room was surprisingly large and well furnished. The A/C was a tad noisy but then go to the Hilton in Clearwater Florida and make the comparison ! The room was cleaned daily and thje maid made swan figures bow. and hearts out of the towels and left them on the bed for us. Very romantic :0)

Hotel entertainment. Thrre wa sfull programme all day everyday on the beach and around the pool. There was something for everyone and no pressure to join in. The evening entertainment seemd very popular but it was all to our taste.

In summary.. would I recommend Cuba and the two hotels to my best friends and family ? Yes I most definately would. As has been said you get back what you put in this world and the Cuban people as I' ve said were some of the nicest people I've ever met.

I would say if I was to find anything negative it would be those who get up and put towels on sunbeds and then dont use the sunbeds for hours.. Why would you do that ?

There is a very big tipping culture in Cuba even if you have gone all inclusive. Be prepared to tip for most things. This can get tiresome but no more so than if you were in the States where THEY EXPECT to be tipped !

Enjoy you holiday. We did.

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Having previously read other... by R Lawler
8 / 10

Having previously read other comments, I was a little apprehensive about this holiday!

However, upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised.

We'd booked a standard room - this was very basic but still a good size compared to other places I have stayed. We did upgrade though to a bungalow which I highly recommend. For an extra few pesos a night it is well worth doing.

The hotel itself is in good condition. The pool and gardens are well looked after. The beach is everything you'd expect - white sand and blue sea. Its stunning.

My only criticism would be that the hotel could look after the beach more - there tends to be a lot of cigarette ends on the beach and the odd plastic cup. Its by no way enough to ruin a holiday but it would be nice for them to take more pride in keeping the place beautiful.

Entertainment is laid on everyday. Salsa and Aerobic classes on the beach, bingo around the pool, a very strange animal show and plenty more! There is no pressure to join in if you do not want to. It's also not as manic as you may think - its still very peacful despite these activities. The shows they put on in the evenings were very strange but well worth a look. Local bands also play every night.

The food is lovely - please don't be put off by other reviews. The All Inclusive restaurant served everything you could ever want from all kinds of fresh fish to burgers and chips. Also available was steak, pork, chicken, pizza's, pasta, rice, salads, desserts, cheese and biscuits - it would be impossible not too find something you liked in there. This was open for breakfast and lunch also. However, for lunch I highly the beach bar where they grilled fresh fish every day. Paella was also served but again burgers, hot dogs, pizzas and chips were available if fish is not your thing.

Seperate restaurants which you were required to book in advance for were also available for dinner. The Chinese was lovely, the Italian and Steak House were average - although I think that is more down to personal choice.

We booked a couple of trips through the hotel. The catamaran trip was amazing - the island it takes you too was beautiful. We also went to Havana for two days. This is well worth it - the city is lovely and the mojito's served are first class! Club Tropicana is not dated at all - its very camp but the show is amazing. The trips were not expensive and very good value for the money.

All in all this was a brilliant holiday. All inclusive really does mean just that here. I would recommend this holiday to anyone who wants to relax around in the sun drinking cocktails and forgetting about everything!

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sol Palmeras Hotel? Share your insight.

Sol Palmeras Hotel also called

  • Sol Elite Palmeras
  • sol palmeras
  • sol palmeras cuba
  • sol palmeras hotel varadero
  • sol palmeras varadero
  • Address: Carretera de las Morlas, Varadero 42200, Cuba

Explore area

Map for Sol Palmeras Hotel Closest airport: Juan Gualberto Gomez (VRA) 17.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Sol Palmeras Hotel photos (4 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Sol Palmeras Hotel
  • by Belle2006

    " The steak house restaurant was amazing - best part of the holiday & best service in the hotel!! "

Similar hotels around Varadero

Hotels near Sol Palmeras Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sol Palmeras Hotel?