Playa Club

2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(29 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
11
Good
8
Average
6
Poor
4
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Playa Club

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Mixed Thoughts - Date of Stay 7th July 2011

"We arrived at the apartments and within 5 minutes of being in the room we noticed cockroaches! They do have a spray in the room but it doesn't really work.

The room however was nice and big.

The hotel was in a great location, 5 mins walk to the beach.

Id say about ten mins walk from the bars and nightclubs.

The swimming pool is a nice size however there were lots of screaming children when we stayed. So it wasn't relaxing and no one took any notice of the swimming pool rules.

However to get away from the screaming you can go to the green patch at the back of the hotel where it was far more chilled.

The cats are beautiful and so friendly we bought cat food and fed them.

Staff -

Barman - Lovely and helpful, cheap food and drinks!

Maid stole my dress, my friends shoes and fashion rings!

Victor on reception is very rude and sarcastic.

Night receptionist - We saw a Irish man shouting and throwing sun bed chairs around by the swimming pool. The staff just ignored the behaviour.

So we would 100 per cent not stay here again!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Self Cat, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by Links
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

playa club lanzarote

"these apartments were really clean and the staff were fantastic, great gardens for private sunbathing and right in the middle of town. a+"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, self catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: simply great
by weemini
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good location wrong expectations!!

"having heard alot about these apartments i decided too try them out myself, these were an ideal location but not suitable for a baby i brought my 14 month old we had a one small room with a double bed plus a cot which had no sheets we had too supply these there was no room on one side of the bed and very little on the other the pool was hardly washed out and another child had gone too the toilet in it and was left for 2 days no night entertainment in the complex not somewhere i will bring our son again although staff were all lovely apartments not suitable."

by puddypie
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very Impressed

"I booked this holiday not having very high hopes for these apartments but more with the view that they'd do the job. However, I can say that I was very impressed with these apartments and next time I return to Lanzarote I will stay here!

We booked a standard apartment but when we entered our apartment it was to discover we in fact had been placed in the higher star apartments!

they were well equiped for making breakfast and lunch although there is no oven/grill.

Location wise it was perfect! It's situated on the main strip of puerto del carmen, but we found that there was very little noise.

The location was also perfect for day trips as the bus stop is literally outside the doors!!

within the complex there is a pool bar which although small and not the nicest of pool bars, the food was cheap and cheerful, ideal for days when you don't want to bother cooking lunch or breakfast! For example a toasty with chips was 2.50 eruos and an english breakfast was 2 euros.

The complex also has a SPA but we did not visit this during our stay.

There is entrance to a "Hypo Dino" supermarket within the complex. This is the cheapest and best stocked supermarket withing the area and incredibly handy to call into whenever you fancy something. (We found there freshly baked baguettes for 66cents very handy for the mornings!)

Before going away I had read lots of reviews about people complaining about cats. Naturally I therefore assumed that there would be a considerate amount of them running about being a nuissance. (I'm not the biggest animal lover.) Well, we saw two cats the whole week we were there and they were harmless. They simply lay under the shade of some trees during the day and there was only once that they came close to out apartment as they could smell the bacon we were eating!!

Safety deposit boxes were available for 20.50 euros for the week and you got 10 euros back when you hadn back the key.

although we read that we would be asked to pay a 150 euro deposit on arrival, we were not asked to.

there were computers for internet acess in the reception which were one euro for 10 mins.

Also in reception there were books left by other holiday makers that you could borrow at your leisure.

The maid/cleaning service was first class. We had our bed sheets changed during the week and towels were changed every other day. The cleaning of the apartents where VERY thorough. Inside was immaculet after being cleaned and at one stage I even saw that the outside light fixure being cleaned with a cloth!

The pool was an adequate size and at its deepest it was 1.80 meters. There is also a seperate kids pool beside the main pool.

Sunbeds and parasols surround the pool.

For those who want to get away from the pool, there is also a small garden with sunbeds.

The hotel also has it's own restaurant located directly beside the exterior of the reception. Although we did not eat there, we were informed that guests of the playa club got 10% discount.

Overall, I am very pleased with the quality of accommodation I received and would not hesitate to return to the same apartments. I would recommend these apartments to all sorts of holiday makers. There were couples, families and goups of friends there during our stay.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: Fantastic location and service
  • Good For: Beach
by sunlover
10 / 10

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Could be better

"The position of these apartments are very good, central to the main activities of the area.

The grounds are attractive, if starting to look a little neglected in places.

The main problem with this complex is the neglected appearance of the accommodation, scruffy peeling paint on the doors and windows and balcony area, mouldy looking tiles around the bath, bath worn and needs replacing and only one plug to share between the bath, bidet and the basin. Absolute minimum of cooking and eating equipment so don't invite anyone to join you for a snack or meal. Overall the apartment we stayed in had seen better days.

Some attempt is being made to upgrade some of the rooms but that is pot luck if you get one. We didn't.

The restaurant on-site was not worth using, minimum food for maximum money, slow service and you have to shout to order as the staff have the music so loud - certainly not as shown on the website photos.

The swimming pools are o.k., but no attention to the rules by the staff therefore towels on the sunbeds were put out from 6am so if you were not down by 9am every bed was taken. I counted about 112 sunbeds around the pool area and as there are over a hundred apartments some with six occupants, you can see why. Lilos and all manner of floating toys, plus ball games that were in or around the pool was enough to stop you swimming.

The staff are very good and clean the apartments five days a week and change the towels whenever you require clean towels.

The reception staff are very helpful and speak english as well as other languages.

We had lovely sunny weather for the whole 2 weeks we were there and the only hiccup was one day we had a day temperature of 45c and the night temperature of 36c which was a little unpleasant.

The locasl restaurants are good although we usually go to the "American Indian" as the food is excellent, the prices are very good and the staff are good at looking after you.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Self catering apartment, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Lanzarote is great for the sun
by SussexJohn
6 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very Nice - After Booking Hiccup Sorted

"Got there and had to sort out booking mistake by receptionist - we were allocated 2 off 1 bed apts, but had booked a 2 bed apt. After 30 - 40 mins of us refusing the 2 seperate apts, they managed to find one.

After that hol was brill. Apt was lovely - big, recently decorated, quiet, overlooked pool. Had kettle, toaster, full cooker-oven (which we never used!)2 big bedrooms, big balcony.

Pool was never busy, tho most sunbeds had towels on by 10am, I liked the quiet area - sunbeds scattered about in grassy area with trees for shade. Gardens were well kept, saw 3 cats all week and no cockroaches.

The strip is 10 steps from the hotel and was very nice, there are small sandy coves with some rocks all along it. We found most by exploring walkways past cafes & shops. The main beach is 5 mins gentle walk, take flip flops- sand gets red hot. Sea clear, saw a few fish.

All our meals were v nice. Had to wait a while at the Terraza to be served tho. We all enjoyed the submarine safari & Timinfaya, even the 12 & 15 yr old.

Weather was baking hot - reached 40s on our last day, no jackets needed all week!(Got chilly one night - I wore a short sleeve cardi) Loved it - would go back to PDC tomorrow; friendly people, lovely happy atmosphere, beautiful place.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Loved PDC - Ideal for families
  • Good For: Beach
by Mr&MrsM
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

kieron St Helens aug 2009

"just got back from these apartments which are situated in the perfect place for all the ameinities. the apartments themselves are basic spacious and clean the maids where very polite.BUT the one thing that lets it down is the number of stray cats about which sleep anywhere they find. The smell off thenm is disgusting there are signs up saying dont feed the cats but some mindless ADULTS buy food for them.This is causing the complex to become infested with flies which when you sunbathe are try to eat on your balcony dozens just keep on landing on your body NOT A GOOD HEALTH SITUATUION.The complex could do with a pool bar as the bar the have is not at all good.this is why I rate the complex a 5 instead of a 8 if you like cats and flies you will love it.Take plenty of money with you as it is three times as exspensive as England"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: No
  • Activities: Friends Bar cheapest place
  • Good For: Beach
by kieron feeney
5 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great appartments

"these apartments are very spacious, there were 5 of us and we had plenty of space, the facilities are pretty good and the bathrooms are beautiful!! we had to move apartments as we had a problem with cockroaches... we moved beside the pool and we had fewer but still got some.

the reception staff are fabulous but the cleaners, although they come often do very little!

It was my first holiday with my friends, we all all 18 and found these apartments great, plus not far from clubs so we hadn't far to walk.

no air conditioning was a bit of a problem as we went in the middle of a heat wave but we rented a fan and that helped.

would definatley go back to the apartments but this time maybe get a second floor apartment, away from the cockroaches, which fly by the way...
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by lmccullough
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good

"The apartments are clean but basic.the maids were very nice and helpful.

stayed in an apartment that was right in the corner of the "quiter garden area".

very quite and relaxing.

need to like cats because loads of them and some cockroaches live in the garden .

the pool is nice . the staff in recepion were really nice and helpful.

The apartments are situated just off the main street and are very central.

many shops and restaurants just outside the door.

Lots of nice pubs in the area.loads of get places to get ice-cream and pancakes and the one across the road called "sweet ice" is excellent.

in the apartments there is a serious lack of cooking equipment.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Sunworld
  • Advice: the flight is very long.
  • Activities: paradise
  • Good For: Beach
by martin360
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Holiday

"My husband and I have just returned from a 3 week stay in this complex. We had an apartment with a balcony that overlooked the pool area. The apartment was basic but comfortable. Beds and towels were changed regularly and the apartment was cleaned each day. The kitchen could do with some more equipment especially as we cooked quite often. Prices we found were quite high due to the Euro/pound exchange rate.

I liked the location as the complex is just off the main street in Puerto Del Carmen and there were no hills to be negotiated. I have walking difficulties and the location was excellent. The complex is situated midway along the main street so no matter which direction you go there are shops and restaurants.

We found the staff very helpful especially at reception. The only down side to this holiday was the weather. We arrived 8 Jan 2009 and there was so much rain and wind and it was cold. We had to hire a heater for our apartment.

Had no trouble with cats etc., and the grounds were well kept and clean. While we were there palm trees were tended to and dead branches removed. This gave us more sun on our balcony.

We will consider going back to Lanzarote next year. However we will leave it until end February/March in the hope of getting better weather. We want to stay at Playa Club apartments again and would recommend this complex to other holiday makers.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
by PepsiM42
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Playa club apartments were excellent...

"Playa club apartments were excellent during our stay. There was one in particular receptionist who was very nice and helpful. We stayed in apartments 213 and 214 away from the pool and wasnt noisy at all. these were upstairs apartments which i would highly recommend as u have a balcony and if ur eating, people will be passing u if ur downstairs outside.

The pool area is great but mostly quite busy but can be noisy if u have an apartments round the pool.

The Location is great i thought. you are pretty much in the middle of the mainstreet and loads of shops if u take a left and to the right is the beach with a 10 minute walk. and on the right there are loads of shops again and clubs which are 10minutes away. the best reastraunt i thought was straight across the road by the sea as u come out of playa club there is a restaurant to the right of the casino down stairs overlooking a very nice cocktail bar.

We went to the old town one evening to look at a big shopping place( recommended) and had dinner afterwards. a taxi is 5 euro eachway.

The Supermarket right beside playa club is a ripoff hence the name tourist supermarket.. go to spar walk out to the street of playa club take a left walk for 4 minutes (400m) and u will see it on the left.
"

by Gk Kennedy
8 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The apartments were in a good...

"The apartments were in a good location on the main street running the length of the resort it was probably a 20 - 30 min stroll to the sandy beach in either direction. But no beach immediately by the hotel.

We didn't use the pool as it was freezing but we did use the biothermal spa, cost was 6euro for the session and you could stay as long as you wanted. Didn't want to come out of there.

We had some very loud neighbours who seemed to spend the early hours moving furniture around their apartment, unfortunately when we asked to be moved there were no alternative rooms available.

We were self catering, but there were little utensils in the apartment to cook with. So ate out every night. Rooms were basic, but comfortable.

Did read some reports about the restaurant on site having bad food, but we had a couple of pizzas there and they were nice.
"

by D Harrison
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Playa Club Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 3.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Playa Club photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Playa Club
  • by PepsiM42

    " On our last evening we went to The Great Wall Chinese Restaurant. Good prices and wonderful food. "

  • by lmccullough

    " lannis beside the hotel is the cheapest and very very nice, and a restraunt called pinocios! "

Similar hotels around Puerto Del Carmen

Hotels near Playa Club

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Playa Club?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Playa Club? Share your insight.

Playa Club is also called:

  • Playa Club Apartments
  • playa club lanzarote
  • playa hotel puerto del carmen
  • playa resort puerto del carmen

Address: Calle Pedro Barba 3, Lanzarote 35510, Spain