Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

5  / 10
(62 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
13
Good
13
Average
6
Poor
11
Awful
19

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 7/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Best value for money holiday we have had by sportsbilly
9 / 10

We are very experienced world travellers and have visited this hotel twice, the last visit ending two weeks ago. The food is now very good and varied and plenty of it. The staff are efficient and helpful. The reason for this is the management. Mr Van Gellis runs the hotel in a friendly but firm way and is on hand every day to ensure your holiday is enjoyable. He is very approachable and we had many chats with him and were pleased to be able to compliment him and his staff. Bear in mind this is not a 5 star hotel , if you want luxury then pay the extra and go elsewhere. Kalithea is only a short bus ride from Rhodes Town, definately worth the effort to visit, and if you are more adventurous then hire a vehicle and explore the many beautiful beaches which are all within 10 miles of the hotel.This hotel can not be beaten for value in our opinion and we will be back in a year or two.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with 118 Travel
  • Advice: Visit the other local beaches either by bus or car to get the best out of your stay
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

If you like to starve this is the hotel for you! by Always looks for the best
2 / 10

Just returned from a 1 weeks stay and will never go back! The food was horrendous, my family and I lived off of bread rolls salad n cheese! My 1 year old who is not a fussy eater went hungry most nights as there was nothing to offer him! The rooms were clean but very basic, air con was free though so that's good. The soft drinks were awful! Tasted like flavoured soda water, they tried to pass off undiluted orange squash as fresh orange juice, yuk!! The hotel is not wheel chair or buggy friendly, I was for ever struggeling to manoeuvre my son from room to pool to restaurant! Our holiday broucher stated there was a children's play area, ha yeah right! If u call a few manky old run down dirt and ant covered out door toddler toys a children's play area then yes there was! Bog pool was ok as clean as an out door pool could be, how ever the small pool was dirty every day and never cleaned, plenty of sun beds. Staff were friendly enough or people that couldn't really understand us. On a whole terrible holiday, worst I've had, never going back. Would never recommend!

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Holiday in Years by roblisacharlie
9 / 10

We've just returned on 24/8/11 after 14days all inclusive (2adults & 1 child)this was an unforgettable experience our best holiday in years! The hotel was very clean, rooms are basic Greek style & cleaned everyday & changed every 3 days, but if anything is dirty place them in the bath & they will change them! Air con is free and required as temperatures can hit 45degs! Staff were very friendly especially Ria the pool bar manager who seemed to have a permanent smile on her face, hotel manager Vangellis who couldn't do enough to help, bar staff Chrissie & tin-tin & the nice man who took the room numbers @ the restaurant who always made us laugh (appreciate his dry sense of humour)& the lovely Estonian waitress.The food was excellent even our 8yr old daughter who is very fussy always found something, remember they do cater for so many nationalities, we also had 5 nights of BBQS within the 14days! The cocktails & spirits were nice & strong but one minus point was the very weak lager! The pool was very nice, clean & larger than expected. There were plenty of loungers but the ones next to the pool were usually toweled up the night before, it didn't bother us as we took loungers to the shaded areas in the garden area then returned to the pool for a cool dip! The entertainment was very good & the atmosphere it generated was brilliant, the Greek dancers were delightful, karaoke was brilliant & the singer was exceptional, one minus point was that they only put on entertainment 3x per week (Monday,Wednesday & Friday), for the additional outlay i would strongly recommend that it would be in their best interests if they increase this! The Kalithea resort itself is a bit sparse but we found a nice friendly bar near the pharmacy which has a free pool table opposite the bar is a hotel where you can find an ATM, this also where you can find bus stops for Rhodes town & Faliraki! At the entry road to the hotel there is a supermarket, mikes bar & very nice pizza/pasta restaurant! Overall exceptional value for money, we highly recommend this hotel & will definitely return!!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: If you want a beach go to Faliraki! If your taking back cigs/tobacco order them as they dont keep much stock!

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Holiday in years by ROB,LISA,CHARLIEXX
8 / 10

We've just returned on 24/8/11 after 14days all inclusive (2adults & 1 child)this was an unforgettable experience our best holiday in years! The hotel was very clean, rooms are basic greek style & cleaned everyday & changed every 3 days, but if anything is dirty place them in the bath & they will change them! Staff were very friendly especially Ria the pool bar manager who seemed to have a permanent smile on her face, hotel manager Vangellis who couldn't do enough, bar staff Chrissie & tin-tin & the nice man who took the room numbers @ the restaurant who always made us laugh (people must be thick if they cant appreciate his dry sense of humour).The food was excellent even our 8yr old daughter who is very fussy always found something, remember they do cater for so many nationalities, we also had 5 nights of BBQS within the 14days! The cocktails & spirits were nice & strong but one minus point was the very weak lager! The pool was very nice, clean & larger than expected. There were plenty of loungers but the ones next to the pool were usually towelled up the night before, it didn't bother us as we took loungers to the shaded areas in the garden area then returned to the pool for a cool dip! The entertainment was very good & the atmosphere it generated was brilliant, the Greek dancers were delightful, karaoke was brilliant & the singer was exceptional, one minus point was that they only put on entertainment 3x per week (Monday,Wednesday & Friday), for the additional outlay i would strongly recommend that it would be in their best interests if they increase this! The Kalithea resort itself is a bit sparse but we found a nice friendly bar near the pharmacy which has a free pool table opposite the bar is a hotel where you can find an ATM, this also where you can find bus stops for Rhodes town & Faliraki! At the entry road to the hotel there is a supermarket, mikes bar & very nice pizza/pasta restaurant! Overall exceptional value for money, we highly recommend this hotel & will definitely return!!

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excellent by igibozic
10 / 10

We just returned from family vacation in a hotel SUN & SKY and we had . I would also like to thank the staff for unique holidays we spent. The staff and management is fantastic, the food is excellent, the atmosphere is unforgettable, pleasant family atmosphere, lots of fun,excellent starting point for the Rhodes town and Faliraki..

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with palma

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Loved it by Rich C-K
8 / 10

My wife and I stayed here for 14 days with Olympic Holidays for our honeymoon (Aug 2010)

we stayed in the middle of a heatwave, the temperature was around or above 45-50 degrees everyday! Rhodes is a beautiful Island, especially old town, which is 15 mins away from the Sun and Sky by bus.

The hotel itself is basic, clean and has very friendly and helpful staff.

The food was adequate, not fantastic, but we never went hungry! they could really do with cooking more Greek dishes.

The pool is a bit small, but again, its well maintained and clean, but not good for a quiet swim!

I liked the entertainment, even had a bash at karaoke and Greek dancing which was good fun!

Kalithea is a bit of a dive, only a handful of bars and shops, but again, 15 mins to Rhodes town or 15 mins to Faliraki by bus, no reason to stay in Kalithea!

the hotel will arrange trips for you (at a cost) or there are several independent places that'll do it cheaper.

if you travel with Olympic, don't expect to see the rep more than at your induction, our girl was appalling. the trips were massively overpriced too...

i fully recommend a visit, but don't expect 5* luxury, you get what you pay for,also dont expect a quiet time, the cheapness of the hotel does attract a lot of young families, so there are loads of kids. the island is beautiful though. we also took daytrips to Lindos and Symi, which are both breathtaking!

i'd 100% stay there again. in fact if it wasn't for pets and families at home, i may have stayed for good. its a lovely slow way of life, bags of sunshine (we only saw clouds on our last day!) and friendly locals

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Quality Cheap Hotel by Jonesy
8 / 10

Went here with my wife for a friends wedding in local beauty spot. Arrived just before 9pm, to an electrical failure... great start I thought after reading some of the reviews. We were quickly assured this was a local fault (and true never happened again in the 2 weeks we stayed there) As the evening meal finished at 9pm, we were asked if we wanted to go down to the dining area quickly to grab something before checking in. I thought this was a nice thought by staff.

After checking into the room, yes it was basic and the bathroom was a little dark due to the brown tiles, but the room was clean and that was most important. We had a balcony but as it was not pool facing we only used it to dry off towels.

Towels and linen changed regularly and floor washed, could not fault it.

Food - not michelin star, but I'm one of the most fussy eater I know, and I managed a meal each day no problem, though I will say, get there early for best cuts of meat.

It did get a bit samey by second week but nto really an issue.

Drinks selection was limited on the free menu, but your plenty to get by with, just mix up your own to a certain extent!

Pool area was clean and no reported broken tiles and loungers as previous reviews. Plenty of area to relax both poolside and on the grassy areas.

Enterntainment was entertaining in the wrong way, but you can't get Girls Aloud in a hotel that charges so little. Me and the wife did wonder how they make a profit.

Staff were all friendly and ready to chat, this also was more so if you spoke German or Greek, as the was a majority split of German/Greek to British. Not an issue to myself as if I wanted to be surrounded by british I'd gone to Cornwall.

The surrounding area was a bit dissapointing as this felt like a one horse town and the horse was in the vets!! but Faliraki and Rhodes Town not too far away on local bus.

Overall a very good experience and I do think this was a little out of relief it was nothing like the bad reviews!!! however for what I paid for all-inclusive, I would recommend staying here if on budget and looking to come to Rhodes. More suited for the older couple or very young family due to the quietness.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: don't believe the bad hype

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

get what you pay for by Ellis's
6 / 10

We have just returned and found the hotel good value for money if you want 5 star then pay 5 star prices but do not complain. The food was fine, the room was fine it was cleaned everday and the towels were replaced everday. There was also plenty of sunbeads. It is in a good location as you are only a 20 min bus ride to Rhodes Town only 2 euros which is well worth a visit. The entertainment was on for 3 nights but that was not a problem as we met some very nice people so we made our own entertainment. My only complaint would be that the staff on the main bar were not very friendly but the lady on the snack bar was lovely (maybe she should train the bar staff) There was no childrens clubs, entertainers etc but the children had access to computers, table tennis and pool my son is 10 and he was not bored at all. One word of warning if you visit Rhodes old town and have a beer inside the old city do not ask for a large beer as my husband did this and it came in a huge glass in the shape of a boot and cost 17euros and held about 5 pints.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Sunshine.co.uk
  • Advice: good value for money

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent Holiday by Pip
8 / 10

Just returned from a 2 week all inclusive holiday at Kalithea Sun & Sky. As it was our first abroad holiday for 11 years and with children (10 and 8 years)I was a little worried when I read some of the reviews on here. However, we could of not wished for a better holiday. Hotel was fantastic, rooms yet basic were very spacious and cleaned everyday, food was superb,certainly couldn't go hungry! Pool area and facilities were excellent. All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The hotel was ideal for exploring the area (20 mins to Rhodes town) beach was a 15 minute walk. We are looking forward to returning to Kalithea and would definately recommend Sun & Sky

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Okish by Gemzii
5 / 10

i recently come back from this hotel. we arrived at 3.45am. the male receptionist at this time didnt know what he was doing and we didnt get in our rooms until half an hour later. walking down the landing i feel like it was a prison with all the grey doors. when we reached our room i opened the door, sat down on the bed and just wanted to go to sleep but all i could do was cry!. i wanted to go home so much after a full day of traveling! the bed were hard and we had no english channels on the T.V. after waking up the next morning at 7am to go down to breakfast it was fun at first to find chips on the menu! towards the 2nd week of all inclusive, the breakfast got really repetative and we didnt go down for it any more. the late breakfast at the pool bar was just a sandwich. the bread had no butter and the ham felt as though it had little bones in it. the pool area was ok. if you went down at 7am and put your towels on a sun lounger. the lady who runs the pool bar is lovely and so friendly!.. the hotel room bathroom was daunting. the tiles on the wall was black the tiles on the floor eas black and the celing dark brown!. they was 3 small spot lights on a red mirror in the bathroom and the door wouldnt shut!. the sink and toliet seat were chipped. the water from the bath really smells so we used half a bottle of shoer gel a night trying to stop the smell. the shower didnt have a part on the wall, so you had to hold the shoer head to have a shower. the all inclusive was ok, but it didnt cover ice-creams. at the pool bar it was self service on soft drinks and pints but you had to use plastic cups. the soft drinks were not very nice and tasted waterd down. the main bar staff were very friendly and always refilled your drinks with out asking. but they was only 5 cocktails on the all inclusive. these got very boring after 2 weeks. the dinner at the resturaunt repeted its self every week and got very boring. i couldnt eat hot dinners every day so we went for the late dinner. wich was only one thing. i.e cocktail sausage one day, pizza another, cheese pie another, fish fingers another day. this got to be the same aswell. again it was the same situation with the tea! the only thing i looked forward to was the BBQ's! these were nice, but the meat did have alot of fat on them. again this got repetative to the 2nd week. the pool did get cleaned out every night but the paint was coming away and left loads of bits floating around. the entertainment at the hotel run 3 nights a week!. monday was greek dancing wich was good on the first monday but boring the next as we had already seen it!.. wednesday wa kareoke wich was great as i love kareoke, but she only had a small section of english songs and i sang them in the 1st week so didnt end up singing in the second. and friday's was internatinal mucic. wich was boring as the 3 musicions couldnt sing properly in english. theres nothing really for kids at the hotel. they dont do a kids dicso or any thing like that. if u go in peak season the air conditioning is free. but if you go in off peak the air con is 6 euros a day!. the internet area has 5 computers and is 1 euro for 15mins wich is good!.. if you order a taxi from the hotel they charge commision so its better to walk down to the strip and get a taxi from there. all in all it was an ok holiday. but i wouldnt go there again, there wasnt any cockroaches or crawlies like that but they was alot of flies and wasps!. sorry if youve already booked your holiday here. but i wouldnt recomend!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: rhodes is lovely just not this hotel

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good for me!!! by Lachnerbrasiliano
10 / 10

I read all the reviews and was wooried about this hotel. This hotel is not a luxury one, but the price is really fair. Rooms ok, food was absolutelly fantastic, delicious. Recepcionists, bartenders, cleaners... Everyone polite, nice, with a enormous smile in their faces. I had a very good time there and wish to return again.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Worth the trip
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good value for money and better than expected by Olliecom
8 / 10

I have just come back from a weeks holiday staying at the Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel. I was worried after booking and reading all the bad reviews. I took my dad away for the week and wanted somewhere with a bit of life but not too full of youngsters and boozy Brits!

It was a great choice. For what we paid for the week I thought it was great. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and beds changed/fresh towels provided everyday.

The food was fine, we only had breakfast as were out all day. We had dinner most nights and there was a good choice of everything.

The location is good, easy to get bus to Rhodes town (only about 10 minutes to the centre, and 2 Euros). Falaraki is easily reached in the other direction. Also 2 Euros. Not great there but beach nice if that's what you want. Would recommend taking a taxi from Falaraki up to the village of Kalithes which is a typical unspoilt Greek village and nice place to eat and drink the Greek way!

Staff in hotel very friendly especially Chris behind the bar who is lovely.

For value for money I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Go ahead and take the chance, we were glad we did.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Great value for money
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel? Share your insight.

Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel also called

  • hotel kalithea sun sky
  • kalithea sun sky hotel
  • Address: Kalitheas Avenue, Rhodes 85100, Greece

Explore area

Map for Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel Closest airport: Rhodes Diagoras (RHO) 7.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
  • by feebaz

    " Kalithea spa , beach for snorkelling,Parrot Bar for fun nights and friendly staff "

  • by Loxley

    " Mike's Bar across the road was verdy friendly. Made my friend a CD and gave us free bottled water. "

  • by LondonNJB

    " Loved paragliding in Faliraki, try Greek food in traditional tavernas. "

  • by Rich C-K

    " Spend as much time as possible in Rhodes old town, you can get lost in its beauty for hours just meandering around! "

Similar hotels around Kalithea

Hotels near Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel?