Mitsis Grand Hotel

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(36 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
13
Good
11
Average
3
Poor
3
Awful
6

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Mitsis Grand Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
our recent stay

"have been here 8 times and since it is now mostly all inclusive the standard has gone down i would say from a 5 star to a 3 star and icing on cake is that on our last day went into toilets in reception area and there was graffiti on the walls and people sitting on glass tables or had there feet on. disgusting."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: make sure you are not overpaying for stay in hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by Grazyna R
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

DO NOT GO

"What a terrible experience. It is not five star-- it is not all inclusive

It is a run down, dirty hotel that was given five star rating over twenty years ago!

The food is disgusting, service is non-existent. You are asked to pay for water, WiFi and the gym. I stayed with my daughter and between us we got diarrohoea, vomiting, and a throat infection. The place is filthy. Everyone we spoke to was bitterly dissapointed by the hotel and everyone felt the holiday had been mis-sold.

DO NOT GO
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, booked with 2bookaholiday
  • Advice: DO NOT GO
by Clare R
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not a great time !

"We are staying at the Mitsis Rinela Beach Hotel, we have had no hot water for three out of the five days we have been here with no apologies, just excuses from the management.

This hotel is definitly not as good by far than other Mitsis Hotels we have stayed in.

Choose another hotel ! as this is very poor,not just in the water situation,there is no air con in public areas & it is poorin the rooms,it is noisy by the main pool, the other has loads of children & when they light the taverna wood oven it sends smoke over everyone.

We have always thoroughly enjoyed our holidays,but not this one.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Go to another hotel that really wants it's guests to enjoy staying with them.
  • Good For: Beach
by Shelagh A
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

For couples

"This is a lovely, impressive and clean hotel. We found rooms clean, could be slightly updated eg. the shower facility - but otherwise very good. Pools were lovely and plenty of sun-beds to be found and food was very good, offering a great choice. Most of all, the hotel was in a great location and we walked into Old Rhodes most evenings - which took around 15 minutes (don't wear high heels though - lots of pebble streets). And if you want to have dinner or drinks on one of the roof-top restaurants - we found that drinks/food was slighly more expensive - so to be aware. Excursions were very good - Love Rhodes and Lindos (much warmer) - but Rhodes has a lovely warm breeze. Jason's No 1 Restaurant well worth a visit. All in all 10 days of sunshine and a great rest."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012
by moorese1
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not impressed

"First impressions were great. We arrived late at night and the Hotel looked very smart. The reception area is very impressive, but when we got to our room we weren't as impressed. We were on the roof! We had a great sea view, but the beds and furtiture were literally made of concrete! Very imcomfortable. The lifts were near by and were very noisey - even though only one worked!

Meal times were a feeding frenzy. Long queues to get into the resaurants and long queues at the buffet. The food was ok, but not great. The hot food wasn't hot, but luke warm. They didn't vary the food much from night to night. The restaurant was tighly packed with very little space between tables. The Italian and Chinese restaurants were good though, with good service - only one visit in each allowed per holiday if you're all inclusive. We ended up eating out one night as we were bored of the buffet and it's queuing.

The all inclusive outdoor bar area didn't have enough seating and the grass was scruffy. Either dead or too long.

A lot of the staff were miserable and didn't make us feel special at all, more of an inconvenience.

Maids and maintenance men let themselves into our room after a quick knock but without waiting for an answer - not ideal when you're still in bed!

The location itself is poor, but it's a short walk to the old town which is nice.

Thomas Cook advertise this as a 4 star hotel, but we've stayed at far better 4 star hotels in Greece and won't be staying here again.
"

by Matt
3 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel !

"My daughter, sister and myself have just returned from a week in the Mitsis grand hotel in Rhodes. We were a little nervous about going bcause of some of the negative reviews that have been posted about this hotel. I can honestly say that the reviews are ( in my mind ) unfounded. We had a problem when we first arrived with our room but this was rectified quickly, and politely, by a very helpful receptionist at the main desk.

The rooms are clean and tidy. there are fresh towel , room cleaned,and beds made every day. The cleaning ladies were very friendly and polite.

The dining room is spotless and the staff friendly, polite and efficient.I did notice that the staff paid special attention to making the children feel at home. As for the food......The seleection is fantastic !. They provided top notch food 3 times a day.

The public areas are kept clean and tidy at all times of the day. I was impressed at all the hard work that ALL the staff put into keeping this hotel ticking over.

Please dont take any notice of the negative reviews unless you are determined to pick over every little hiccup.

It is a nice hotel.......Honestly !
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Visit the old town.....a shoppers paradise.
  • Good For: Beach
by shantijan
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Absolutely fantastic, top notch. Loved the hotel food too much!

"We booked our holiday last minute and after looking at the reviews that many people had wrote had mixed feelings, many people had complained that it was not 5*, to old-falling down, blah blah blah. Well i have to say these people are too fussy. The Mitsis Grand Hotel is absolutely fantastic. We stayed for a week half board and enjoyed every minute. It is only a 10 minute walk to Mandraki Harbour and 15 minutes to The Old Town (10 minutes if you are a quick walker like me!). there was not much entertainment only on Saturday evenings however it is central to Rhodes with lots going on and a nightclub further down the boulevard (did not go there but no trouble in area). We got early nights as there is so much to see and do during the day.

Half board was the perfect option as we got Breakfast and then lunch which was all we needed as we snacked at lunch (mainly the gorgeous Pita Gyros) it was buffet which was ideal as we got to have lots of different foods, such as salads, fish, lasagne, mousaka, steak, pasta and lots lots more. also the deserts were heavenly, the best chocolate cake i have ever ate, cheesecake, baclava's, yoghurt and fruit. The salads were exquisite, many different variations and to be honest we dined like king and queen! Also there is an italian and chinese resturaunt which was very yummy but the menus were rather limited and boring.

As for the layout of the hotel we thought it was very posh and classic. big marble reception, lovley clean corridors of which were not like hospital corridors( i read many reviews stating this). the resturaunt was very posh, rooms nice as carpeted and brilliant AC, however the bed was two singles, rather hard and had to ask ask for more pillows but we slept well and hard beds are good for your back....!

To save you money please take this into consideration, the tours/day trips set by your travel agent(we had a list when we got to the hotel from travel rep) are best done independently, as it saves you 50%, all apart from one. Choose to take the coach to Lindos as it is €20, the boat trip at harbour is €23 return pp compared to that of €40 with travel rep! plus you get to see more of the local area and the beautiful scenery by travelling by coach. Lindos is definatly worth a visit as it has an Acropolis with is breathtaking,the town is very traditional and the little bay is perfect in everyway with clear blue water and pretty flowers. I loved this place!

Panoramitis and Yialos on Symi Island €10 Mandraki Harbour. This beautiful island are worth visiting as panoramitis has a captivating monastry and Yialos(the main harbour) a brilliant place to explore.

the scuba diving is far too pricey for what you are going to see, we explored in a glass bottom boat and were glad that we had not succumbed €45 for the day as there is just a lot of sand, few fish, and few coral!

overall The Grand Mitsis was an enjoyable experience and we will definatley be going back. The staff were very helpful and freindly and a pleasure to talk to. also the 3 swimming pools were very spacious. 2 were salt water and the gardens surrounding were very naturistic.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Half Board, booked with Viking
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by CarlyBug
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

recommend to avoid this hotel

"This is not, by any means, what you would expect from a five-star hotel. The beds, for one, were horribly uncomfortable. There was a lot of noise coming from the corridor which made it even more difficult to sleep. The staff was generally unpleasant. The inner pool was incredibly cold and unusable (unless you're a pinguin). The food was ok, but the endless queues to get it were very annoying. I needed a good day of rest after this vacation."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, half board - breakfast and dinner, Booked Independently
  • Advice: rhodes itself is really beautiful. just choose a different hotel.
by Sara
2 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

we had a great time during our trip...

"we had a great time during our trip to rhodes, and alot of it has to do with this hotel.

the food: excellent! we had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the food was delicious. you have the option to change your dinner to a chiniese or italian restourants allocated in the hotel.

the chiniese restourant wasnt the greatest but still recommended.

the staff: the staff in the hotel is very welcoming and helpful.

they did the nessisary job to keep us pleased and gave us good recommendations on things to do in the island.

the hotel: looks very nice. makes you feel like you are in a 5 star hotel. with that said, you should expect a 4star hotel in european standarts. the service is good and there are 3 pools:1 indoor and 2 outdoor pools with sea-water.

the gym is very small and the sauna is not pleasing. you need to pay 7 euroes to get a pass for the gym and sauna. dont expect anything from the gym. you do get a personal trainer but its very small and crowded.

everyday, you get your room cleaned and fresh new towels.

why come to this hotel?

1) great location. the closest luxury 5 star hotel to the old-city. 15 minute walking distance. plus the hotel is allocated right by the beach (1 minute walk).

all the other hotels like :hilton and rodos palace are a bus ride away from the old-city).

2) 3 minute walk to the main street with all the bars and clubs.

3)a helpful staff. they all speak good english.

4)excellent food (the most important reason :) )

have a great time in rhodes!
"

by AK Keren
9 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The hotel is located about 20 minute...

"The hotel is located about 20 minute taxi from the airport (16 euros) ,it is a short walk over the road to the beach. The entrance into the hotel is quite stunning.We arrived 4.20 in the morning,there were two very nice staff on reception,we were allocated our room and everything was explained to us about where our room was,where the dining room was,they understood we were tired and not quite taking everything in and told us it would be no problem to ask any questions the next day after we had rested. The room was plenty big enough for the two of us,a tv,med size fridge(not a mini bar) dressing table,table & easy chair ample lighting, the bathroom was big enough,the only thing I would change would be the location of the shower over the bath it was fixed onto the width of the bath instead of the length so when we had a shower the water would shoot over the other side of the bath,I did try and turn the head to the side but it kept turning back. The balcony was spacious enough had a nice view overlooking the pool and gardens, had 2 chairs and a table. The hotel was spotless. The dining room was big,we had to take a card we were given on arrival everytime to went for a meal,everyone would wait at the door until shown to a table.I could understand this to a point,but there were so many guests in the hotel we never sat next to the same people twice and found it hard to have any conversation with some guests as there were so many nationalities. There was every kind of food for every meal,meat,veg,salad,pastas,bread,sauces,soups sweets,not everything was everyones taste but something for everyone. We had a meal in the chinese restaurant in the hotel,we went to reception and booked the day before at no extra cost.The food was very nice 3 course.We had deep fried ice cream for the first time definatley recomended,ice cream in like a choux pastry drizzled with chocolate. The only downside in the restaurants was the price of drinks, a small bottle of water was 2euro the same bottle outside the hotel was 40/50 cents. The staff were very busy but usualy had time for a little chat and a smile.

The reception staff were extremely helpful.A key for the safe was 25 euro for a week to keep our room on until 18.00 was 30 euro, until 20.00 was 50 euro any time after that was the full night rate.The shop in the hotel was quite cheap for a hotel shop,sold morning papers,clothes, cigs toiletries and various other items. The pool areas and gardens were very well looked after,plenty of sunbeds,chairs & tables,although some greedy guests wanted sunbeds and chairs. Same annoying thing as everywhere putting towels out in the morning and not returning till evening to take them in having not used them all day.Can't coment on the gym never used it,the indoor pool was great it had loungers all around it,nice to get out of the sun and cool down although there was plenty of shade if needed by the outdoor pools,the pools were cold but nice once you get in. All in all cant fault the hotel or any of the staff,they work hard were friendly,the evening entertainment was a matter of taste we enjoyed some of it.The location is ideal,walk out of the hotel turn left nice coastal walk to ixia,or left and left again to bars,reastaurants,supermarket and shops,turn right follow the road takes you to the bus station,noddy train, the harbour (where you can book trips),old town and loads more shops wthin the castle walls.Watch out for the time share while walking to the harbour,they tell you the same as any other, scratchcard you won a prize taxi to a hotel,they promise it is just to fill in a customer review you have to promise to stay at the hotel for at least 90mins they say it has nothing to do with timeshare,but we were warned by other guests it is timeshare(they were the only ones we saw). It was our first time in rhodes and we couldnt fault it,good food,drink and hospitality wherever we went.We would definately go again and stay in the same hotel.
"

by D Hunt
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Been thinking about going to Greece...

"Been thinking about going to Greece for years, but my wife wasn't keen, after booking this holiday as a surprise for the family she was more than impressed!

This 4 star hotel was absolutely fantastic - 2 outdoor pools and 1 indoor, 3 restaurants, including pre-bookable at no extra cost Chinese and Italian.

The food was excellent, service great and always plenty to choose from! Excellent location about 20mins walk from Rhodes town centre, we certainly wouldn’t hesitate in returning to the hotel! Fantastic!
"

by A Lawson
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We found the hotel quite comfortable...

"We found the hotel quite comfortable but in need of a lick of paint in places. Once you leave the ground floor of the hotel it’s like being in a hospital until you reach your room. By that I mean long, white, none descript corridors with any wall decoration at all, other than fire evac. Procedures.

Whilst the entrance to the hotel initially looks very sumptuous, it becomes clear very quickly that you are not in a 5* hotel, certainly not by UK or American standards anyway.

The rooms are comfortable enough with maid service every day. We asked for a sea view room which we got. Unfortunately this balcony overlooked the roof of the Italian restaurant downstairs, which cut off the view of the garden to the front of the hotel. Also on more than one occasion, workmen at the hotel were working on the roof right outside our balcony, which we found very impersonal and certainly not private. That said, the air conditioning was a standard feature of the room.

The 3 pools were very cold as was the indoor pool which was advertised as a heated pool. It isn’t. We found the gym and sauna facility quite good but the staff which serviced these areas were very unfriendly and intimidating.

The main buffet restaurant is large, clean, and visually attractive. However, we felt that we were herded in to eat and herded straight back out again. The buffet breakfast was great.

There was fresh fruit and hot food served as well as every type of fresh bread possible.

Cereal and yoghurt was in abundance too. Food at dinner was international as well as local but it was repetitive. The Chinese and Italian restaurants were fab! Well worth a visit!

Overall, our stay was a good one and we would probably stay there again in the future.
"

by andywayne278
7 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Mitsis Grand Hotel Closest airport: Rhodes Diagoras (RHO) 8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Mitsis Grand Hotel
  • by moorese1

    " Best to book cruise at the Harbour - much cheaper than with hotel tour operator. "

Similar hotels around Rhodes Town

Hotels near Mitsis Grand Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Mitsis Grand Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your insight.

Mitsis Grand Hotel is also called:

  • grand hotel rhodes
  • hotel mitsis grand
  • mitsis grand rhodes town
  • Mitsis Hotels Grand Hotel Rhodes Town
  • Mitsis Hotels Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes 85100, Greece