Blanc Palace Aparthotel

C/ Aries 2, 07769 (Urb. SA Caleta), Menorca, Spain
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(58 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
36
Good
9
Average
4
Poor
5
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
not a 4star 2 star at best

"Just got back from this hotel booked with Thomas cook,food undercooked no choice food all over the floor most meal times dirty,bellow standard rude staff no good rep wil be writing to Thomas cook for refund, totally spoils our holiday."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: good kids club
by menotell
2 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

this should be rated 2 * hotel

"just arrived back from Blanc Palace 11 which we were told has just been re furbished, well the 2 bedroom apartments certainly haven't been touched as we had to keep air con on to take away the smell of dampness, the food was either raw or over cooked for all inclusive not much variety and would struggle to be a 2 star rating,we picked this hotel because of the activities available for our three older sons which is advertised in brochure from June till September, on arrival the football pitch wasn't completed and taped off, were told by rep they don't start until July so there was basically one pool with loose tiles and a pool table, you could use the pool at Blanc palace 1 but couldn't get as much as a juice as you are not allowed to use your all inclusive in the hotel,the staff are the most unpleasant people i have ever had to deal with and I think we were totally miss sold this holiday it was not worth half of what we paid for.we arrived at one o'clock in the afternoon and got access to our room at four forty five, and believe me it was not worth waiting for."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: enjoy the weather
  • Good For: Beach
by Hickson's Lanarkshire
2 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Kiddie friendly

"My disabled wife and I are just back from two weeks staying at the Blanc Palace Hotel. Unfortunately thanks to some girl sneezing and coughing all over me in the flight over to Menorca we both developed Bronchitis for the following two weeks, which put a downer on things. The place itself has it's pluses and minuses. Our room was spacious but the bedroom very dingy even with the lights on. It was cleaned every day, by very polite staff.

The reps were very attentive at all times and made you feel that you were their only concern. The hotel staff were overstretched though. One frustrated girl trying to do bar duties at night, had most of the guests losings their rag, especially when you have been queuing up for half an hour and some cheeky ignorant sod walks up to the front of the queue and is then instantly served. Opening times for the bar is also random, changing their times when they can't be bothered. You can't get a drink at the pool bar till 11'o clock, and as there is no where else near that's open, you sit twiddling your thumbs for half the day. The streets close by are deserted - you'd think it's a ghost town, but it is a very clean destination, there is no litter anywhere. The food in the restaurant is a bit hit and miss. Great choice but usually overcooked and cold. Everyone we spoke to moaned about it. One guy was shouting at the ever watchful manager that he wouldn't feed this crap to his dog.

The paella / chips were stone cold every day, but sometimes if you timed it right you could be in luck at getting a hot spare rib which were delicious. The pizza wasn't a hit with the diners either - resembling a thin square of cold bread without any topping on it.

The soup was nice however, as I say lot's for choice and never repetitive. The waiters were attentive, very attentive - sometimes swiping your plate from under you while you were still eating!!! But they did it with a smile which was nice. The room was big and airy and you weren't forced to eat on tables with other people. The entertainment during the day was great fun, join in the garden games with the reps who were very approachable and genuinely great fun. They also did a kids club which was very well run by the attentive, polite, mad staff. If you have young kids they were very well catered for, day and night. The night entertainment apart from fighting at the bar to get your half a pint (all inclusive - don't fall for that one) was very good, some nights after the mini disco they had live singing which was a nice touch, bingo or Karaoke to win a cocktail which was free anyway? The reps kept kept talking with you all the time, but never intrusive, genuinely nice people, putting up and calming down some very disgruntled & rude guests who maybe should have not have gone to a family orientated hotel like this. The nearby town was lovely, but found that eating out in the pubs very expensive and not that great quality, but we were off colour, so we couldn't enjoy our culinary experiences as much as we might have done. We spent most of the time having lazy days by the pool, which was lovely and clean. Blanc Palace is swings and roundabouts. Half the people staying there were some of the most friendly people I have ever met from all counties, the moaners were some of the funniest. I had a really good time.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2012
  • Advice: Jump to the front of the queque to get a drink!!
by Gordon D
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a Nightmare!

"Staff are rude, arrogant, ignorant and blatant liers. Service is dissgracefull. Food is disgusting; undercooked or overcooked, most things are stewed, no fresh vegatables, packet soup, paella is dire, dog fish is served, no omeletes in sight, everything contains far too much salt, dessert is angel delight. Snacks were calamari and squares of cheese. Buiscuits only in the afternoon. No icecream around pool. No cocktails. No pints. Sangria is made with wine and soda only. The managers deny being the managers when approached.

Not all the pools open. Dangerous playground and pool area. Waterslide is a death trap. Nosoft play as advertised. Pool and table tennis is charged as is the spa and sauna.

The all inclusive is not all inclusive as the staff try to charge for as many things as possible.

Staff are not friendly at all, infact quite hostile at times. Staff are reluctant to help or communicate, they claim they do not speak or understand English.

Not child friendly at all.

Rooms are clean. English kids club is good. Pool bar is ok, main bar is basic and not good at all, restaurant is like a school dinner hall.

Worse holiday I have ever had.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Do not waste your money or time by booking here.
by Jennifer J
1 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

english not welcome

"We were originally booked into the Sa Caleta Apartments but they didnt have a room for us and were sent to Blanc Palace instead. The rooms were nice and cleaned daily with fresh towels. The staff were very polite some quite friendly and the food was amazing. All the reps were German and I would say most of the guests were 97% german which was a problem in the evening as we didnt understand any of the entertainment and they were not prepared to even translate numbers during Bingo so we were very bored at night and found ourselves staying in our room because most of the places surrounding the hotel, pubs and restaurants have closed down since the hotel became all inclusive. The kids club was run by german reps and we didnt know until our last day that one of them spoke quite good english and she was quite happy to look after our son whilst he played there and he did make a couple of german pals during our week there they seemed to communicate somehow but a lot of the parents were quite unfriendly once they found out we were english. The kids park is great, the pools are lovely and the beach is very close but full of italians and is very small and packed out every day. All in all a lovely hotel but the entertainment was awful for us english, car hire is highly recommended although the buses run regularly to other resorts, Cuitadella is about 25mins walk with some nice shops. If you want an unsociable holiday and some early nights then this place is ideal, we certainly won't be returning."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with sunmaster
  • Advice: Learn to speak German and Italian before you go
by granic
5 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not 4*platinum

"After going in aug 2010 we have finally rsolved with thompson the fact that this hotel is not any where near the advertised one in the brochure The restraunt was appaling and some of the food uncooked. Staff overworked frequent delays for crockery etc made for a poor experience .advice for 2011 go somewhere elseyour money would be better spent"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by redcoat
4 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just back not Platinum

"Just back from blanc palace, we were sold this holiday as platinum, no way flies with your breakfast tea coffee machines not working no saucers generally very dissapointing"

by holiday reviewer
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

2-3 star service at Platinum prices

"Just back from two week stay with family. The complex itself is very pleasant-we had a ground floor apartment looking out onto the pools which was great. The apartment itself was adequate and functional although the living area was a bit of a squeeze with-2 kids sleeping on the sofa beds.

The restaurant was completely understaffed with guests having to clear and make their own tables-especially at breakfast. The staff were endlessly running around trying to stock up on plates,glasses,cups,etc. The food was running out faster than the staff could replenish it which resulted in constant waiting/chasing up cutlery,etc...The outside seating area was the most pleasant place to enjoy the canteen style meals however a little more thought and effort could have been given into dressing the area-ie candles,lights to make the experience a pleasant one. The waiter service in the evening was practically non existent and ordering drinks sometimes took a while-we often though of bringing our own wine to avoid the wait and help out the over run staff.

The problem with the restaurant caused us to eat out eight times in out 14night stay-a lot when we had paid for half board! In doing so we found a lovely restaurant on the waters edge just down the road from sa caletta beach called bar Sa Nacra. fantastic sea food and service and amazing views of the bay and sunset-please visit-busy though and reserving a table is advisable. There is another lovely restaurant further around called bahia-also lovely views and amazing food.

we had a lovely holiday despite the issues with the hotel-we would not return to this hotel but definitely to Menorca.

We travelled with Thomson who claimed the hotel was Platinum 4 star. This was definitely NOT the case and we are writing to Thomson accordingly.

We realised half way through our stay that a large apartment block next door was also being accomodated in the hotel restaurant-probable reason for awful restaurant experience. Management should review this. Also sunbeds impossible to obtain by 10am and we were next to the pool!

On a positive note the restaurant did in fact improve the service over our stay as the complaints were noted!
"

by dawnie
4 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent hotel, highly recommended!!!

"We have just got back from a fantastic 2 weeks at the Blanc Palace. It was our first time abroad with our two year old son, and it couldn't have been better!!

The hotel is clean and the rooms are very spacious. Our son loved the kids disco and although he did not attend the kids club in the day, other parents said it was great!

I'm not sure what the food was like, as we went self catering and didn't eat there at all.

The area is very quiet, but the bus stop is literally outside the front door and buses to cuitadella run every 20 mins or so. From there, you can get buses to any part of the island. They are not like UK buses, they actually turn up, are clean and fully air conditioned!

The pool is a great size, and I have never seen a kids pool that was so big.

I can go on and on with the positives and have NO NEGATIVES. We are already planning to go back in a couple of years and I am counting down the months!!!!!!!!
"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Can't comment on food, as we did't eat there!!
by The Brannan's
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Perfect famly destination

"The shiny floors and big entrance into this hotels reception is a clear indication of the service you will get here. The apartments are spacious and very clean with fresh towels and sheets delivered every other day as well as the floors swept and mopped. The buffet restaurant is the best I have come across with excellent quality, quantity and varitation. The chef is only to happy to prepare fresh if there isn't enough on display for you! Wine and soft drinks on tap we were amazed to find the cost for two adults and one child to be only 34 euros, thats three courses and drinks! The entertainment facilities are fun and you are invited to partake but never preyed upon, the children adore the hosts. The Kidzone staff are dedicated, caring and the kids love them too, these sessions are run for two hours a day (5 out of the 7 days) allowing parents some relaxation time knowing their kids are having fun and being looked after. The location is fab too being just a ten minute walk from a cheap supermarket and two cove beaches both very clean and with utilities. Nearby restaurants you have to try include a paella at Bahia while the sun goes down and the Ocean restaurant caters well for kids with bouncy castles galore. A short 7 minute bus ride away is the beautiful town of Cuitadella where you can shop until one in the morning or wander down into the harbour and pick out your desired restaurant from the many on display. Cala n Bosch is a 20-30 min bus ride away and is a bit more vibrant but has more great eateries available and the AquaRock park for the kids ( a great waterpark with slides galore). There is so much of this island we never got around to doing, the boat excursions, Mahon, Ferreres to name but a few so we'll be back. This is a great place to stay in and we met many people who visit year on year."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by sneale1
10 / 10

24 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I was very impressed with the...

"I was very impressed with the accommodation. Unbelievably clean, staff helpful and friendly. We were a bit apprehensive because the hotel is recommended for young families and we are a retired couple but the high standard of the accommodation made it worthwhile. We wanted a quiet resort and this fitted the bill perfectly. We ate in the hotel a couple of times and found the food excellent quality and great value at 12 euros for three courses. there were plenty of places to eat and we were a short bus ride from a large selection of restaurants."

by M Roden
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

i found the prices on average were...

"i found the prices on average were similar to gran canaria (been in June this year) maybe add 10 euros to your dinner but saying sa caleta is a quiet resort is misleading its not a resort its a residential area and quiet as in its a ghost town

Pick this hotel up and drop it in cala n bosh, then youve got a good hotel and id give it 8

Its just im comparing it with better located hotels, and better priced hotels

it is a good 3 star, its got 4 keys or whatever because of the facilities

if its your first time abroad with a small child its a good destination short flight and transfer child freindly and no one bothers if your terrible 2s tantrum kicks off,

as said before its safe for your toddler to run around the staff are top notch,

probably the best staff iv had, my girl even got a present

they are helpful, and friendly, Diva della and cheeky charlie did their best my kid loved them.

the kiddies pool although unbearably cold at this time of year was large square and knee deep all way around. the hotel has inflatables for you to use, suitable for babies to toddlers.

the room is good, clean and big enough for speedy imps. we had a roadside view and it was quiet enough with the windows shut. Dont forget to ask at reception to see the dvd list and they will put a kids film on for you to watch in your room.

Go elvis i enjoyed the show n dellas rendition of bat out of hell was good too go kiddo and good luck in cyprus and lapland

the downside

not much choice for kids, its chips n something else not much veg/fruit when eating out everywhere, and that was my plate too i craved vegertables

the reason why ive scored a 7

the pool wasnt heated

if you go on holiday for food,like me, well youll struggle here if you want to eat well and get back for entertainment at the hotel for the kids disco, all the kids loved this we couldnt do both. it was one or the other. the apartment restaraunt is poor but cheap 15 euros set menu each for 3 courses ( swordfish looked and tasted like salmon vegetables cold and boiled to oblivion)

we ate a few times at the ocean it was passable hit and miss, the suckling pig was lovely and a good portion, but we could relax as my girl played on the bouncy castle. 20 euros 3 corse set menu each. cheap n cheerful we ate there several times so the tot could enjoy the disco

its a 10- minute walk to cala n santandria but with a buggy the paths are crap and poorly lit at night. i was lazy and kept missing the buses which came every 40 mins or so but sometimes one wouldnt turn up or come 10 mins early so i got taxis.

cala n santandria is a beautiful beach cove, (shallow n safe for toddlers quite small n narrow) and 2 very good but expensive restaraunts, bahia bistro and la quaddra, 100 euros for 2 courses and jug of sangria for 2. but the food was very good its a la carte ( seabass and cous cous and wild boar with truffles), ask the staff that is the only 2 they will recommend, and the only 2 id recommend too.

there is also 2 bars here and you can get a good burger at the nordic mist. you can walk but with a buggy the paths are crap and poorly lite at night i was lazy and kept missing the buses every 30mins or so but sometimes one wouldnt turn up or come 10 mins early so i got taxis.

most of menus are not british they are all local (in citudella harbour its very samey)i thaught great as i love seafood and trying local cuisine, but if you are a meat n potato man your gonna struggle and youll be travelling on the bus to cala n bosh everynight (sa negro is good too)

id probably not go back to the hotel even if it was anywhere in menorca as the world is a big place. i enjoyed my stay but each to thier own as people iv talked to have came here several years on the trot.
"

by David Bailiff
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Blanc Palace Aparthotel Closest airport: Menorca (MAH) 21.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Blanc Palace Aparthotel
  • by sneale1

    " Bahia and shopping in Cuitadella "

  • by redcoat

    " good beach poor facilities and staff "

Similar hotels around Ciudadella

Hotels near Blanc Palace Aparthotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Blanc Palace Aparthotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Blanc Palace Aparthotel? Share your insight.

Blanc Palace Aparthotel is also called:

  • blanc palace aparthotel ciudadela
  • blanc palace aparthotel hotel ciudadela
  • Son Blanc Apartments

Address: C/ Aries 2, 07769 (Urb. SA Caleta), Menorca, Spain