Haroula Apartments

Sidari, Corfu 49801, Greece
2 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(24 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
19
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 9.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Haroula Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
The Best!!

"Having traveled to Greece for the past 20 yrs, I can quite easily say that these apartments have something magical about them. They aren't the best furnished, they are a good half an hour walk from the beach, but they cant be beaten. We've been to Corfu 4 times now, and these are the only ones we'll be going back to. Don't expect 5 star, but a nice neat accommodation with everything you need, Makis is a wonderful host who will bend over backwards for you. And that's what makes your holiday, and mama's cooking takes some beating!!! Book in confidence, you wont be disappointed"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Eat there! Food is beautiful
by Keric1418
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

see you next year maki

"spent 14 days here... what more can i say ( nyorks.steve)says it all. excellent holiday we even left one of the suitcases behind for next year.oh and im the man with the (guiness) hi steve."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
by carolyn2012
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

amazingly friendly

"Stayed for a week with my mother and it was fab. Safe, friendly and family are most amazing people i have met. It is a little out of the way but wasn't enough to spoil the holiday. Would go back again when i need a quiet relaxing break with fantastic company."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
by welsh lass
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant Holiday

"We spent 2 weeks at Haroula and loved it. My boys didn't want to leave the complex because they found friends to play with, in the pool and at the pool table. Everyone was so friendly and there was a community spirit within the complex. Makis and Dimitris couldn't do enough for us all, and they were great fun. The apartments were cleaned regularly and the food was excellent, better than in town. We hired bicycles, which was a great way of exploring - and safe because car drivers are considerate to cyclists. This was a very relaxing holiday and we recommend it."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, self-catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Relaxing, friendly, great food
  • Good For: Beach
by Happy Hols
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Haroula Fantastico

"This hotel is over priced and under rated. Thompson put this place as a 2T yet charge the same rate of a 3T or even some 4T. The place is absolutely spotless, immaculate compared to some other places I have stayed that have a higher 'T' or '*'(star) rating. The hotel is a little out of the way so dont be fooled by Thompson Rep saying its less than a kilometre to Sidari town as it is in fact 2.4K, however the walk is gorgeous and takes about 15 - 20 mins. The Thompson tours are really expensive it cost us 138 euro for 3 adults to go on Theo's BBQ Boat Tour as it is exclusive to Thompson but boy it was worth it in the long run as it was the best laugh we have had in ages and Theo the captain made the whole trip entertaining. Maybe he does forget at times that he isnt on the 18 - 30's trips that he organises and this trip is a family affair! A few comments where very close to the bone, so if you are afraid of getting soaked with shaving cream, being asked if your daughter has had sex yet or getting drenched with water fights, this isnt for you, it is good fun though and attracts all ages. However it was enjoyed by most and the wine flowed and the BBQ was absolutely delious counldnt fault it. There are excursions down town which cost a lot less but you have to walk into town or get a taxi 5 euro, but we booked the East Coast Cruise, 12 euro each and 6 euro each for the bus transfers so you can see 54 euro is a lot cheaper for the 3 of us, use the tour operator opposite the 3 brothers hotel, fantastic really look after you. If you want to hire a car, ask at Haroula, Thompson cars a damn rip off and dont be fooled by the Insurance Rubbish as they all have really good insurance policies and they are far more protective toward tourists than their own Greek people. You can hire a good car with air conditioning (Hyundai mostly on island including 4x4) from 20 euro a day or even less if doing a 7 day deal. Dimitri, Makis, Georgia, Mama and Papa make this holiday one of the most comfortable and lovely holidays I have ever ever been on. They are the most generous people I have known, show excellent hospitality toward their guests and have so much respect for the British. The hotel has a recently new built area and you have TV in your rooms,full self catering facilities and lots of pillows. All rooms sleep 4 with two bedrooms but you can book for 2 people at no extra charge, the pool is so clean papa cleans it every night with a massive water hoover. Food is cooked between Dimitris during morning, and Mama at night with Maki chippin in as well as running the bar, the food I have to say is lovely as down town and some things a lot nicer (Mama's chicken and the Steak wow! out this world). Sky sports is here for the football and sky news on a massive TV. Dimitris English Breakfast (yes I know we are in Greece)you cant fault it and its english back bacon from the local butcher down the road, scrummie, if you can eat it all for e4.50 then you have one hell of an apetite. 2 bacon, 2 egg (mama's chickens), 2 english sausages, tomato, mushrooms, beans, fried bread, 2 slices of toast, butter and jam scrummmmmmmmmmmmmmie! Maki makes the most fantastic shorts I have ever seen so when I went down town and asked for the same drink it was so weak at the same price, so we trekked back to the hotel for the Maki specials. I couldnt fault this holiday and if you want to get away from it all the hustle and bustle of the busy town with its long nightlife then this place is just perfect, in beautiful gardens, you lie there and say listen all you hear at the birds oh such bliss. It does have its own BBQ area for Greek nights, and there is entertainment offered, and a small kids pool with a slide, seasaw and swing. What I loved about this holiday so much was they included you into their family, and made you feel special, but respected you enough to still allow you your own privacy. Cleaners are in 6 times a week and towels changed 2 - 3 times a week which is good, bedding changed 1 a week. No toilet roll get your own its tradition in Greece so dont moan if its not there. Try Mama's bread and let me tell you toasties are not flat and boring, go for the them and it the fresh uncut bread toasted, and baguettes to die for. I cant flatter this holiday enough and some may say I have gone OTT but if I have something to rave about then I will publicly say it, and that goes for if not good either. Biggest let down for this holiday was Thompsons itself, the staff on the flight over were as much use as a chocolate teapot, and had no manners. If we had a camera we could of let you see the rubbish we were left with right until the end of the flight. The buses that picked us up with bear cans and empty bottles rolling on the floor, which had obviously not been cleaned, and the availability of a non existant rep who said she had 3 other hotels to run so couldnt be at ours but the 24 help line would benefit and also if you were late for the meetings she just said oh book your excursions down town far cheaper. Dimitri and Maki put Thompson to shame, they run this hotel and bend over backwards for their customers. Thompson you should be ashamed of yourselves you know this hotel offers a first class service to its customers so you take advantage of it. After all said fab, lovely lovely people and lovely place to stay. We will be back guys no doubt on that, and as we wont see you before next year, congratulations Dimitri and Georgia and safe pregnancy and hope its a boy!!!! Remember the cotton and wedding ring. Bavia (fantastic typically greek), Salt and Pepper, Red Lion Pub nice places to eat! Hope you all have as much of a good holiday as we did! 5 star rating for a 5 star service."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Bavia, Haroula, Dimitris, Salt n Pepper, Red Lion
by cacalamore
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Holiday !

"Having read the other reviews we were more than prepared for Haroula being out of the main resort. Only 5 Euros for a taxi or hire a car locally from 20 Euros a day and explore the rest of Corfu.

From the moment we arrived Dimitris made us all feel very welcome and could not have been more helpful. Rooms are clean, tidy and overlook the nice pool.

There is a very good choice of tasty bar food and many guests seem to spend their whole holiday by the pool. We chose to spend some time poolside and some at the very child friendly Sidari beach as well as the two brilliant water parks Aqualand and Hydropolis.

There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in Sidari including a very nice Indian if you cannot live a week without a curry ;o)

Haroula is a great place to take the kids and we would go back without hesitation.
"

by Mark A
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

had a great time at the haroula nd...

"had a great time at the haroula nd will be defo going back next year.

all staff brilliant and really friendly

good service

loved it so much didn't want to come home

about a 20 min walk to the centre of sidari , lots of things to do karoke bingo etc.

lovely swimming pool great for kids.

apartments very clean.
"

by Js Spears
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Holiday First time in Corfu...

"Fantastic Holiday First time in Corfu and now totally converted!!! Apartments were basic but really clean and nothing was too much problem. The Family were so lovely and Derek organised great Karoke and quizz nights so there was always something to do.

Although slightly out of the Night life of Sidari it was only 5 euros into the centre which was great.Will definatley be back next year so see you there!!!
"

by Lorna Adamson
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have just come back from 2 weeks...

"We have just come back from 2 weeks at the Haroula and have to say that we had one of the best holidays ever. It is true that the haroula is a little out of the way, when we first arrived I was a little worried but the friendliness of the family more than made up for the location - a lot of the time we were happy to stay in with the family rather than trecking off into town. Makis and Dimitris were amazing hosts, Dimitris is an excellent cook and Makis is the best barman ever and so funny too. I had my birthday at Haroula, Makis decorated the bar with baloons and stuff and mama even made me a cake, they all really made us feel so welcome. The apartments are basic but very clean, the pool is lovely, no fighting for sunbeds, plenty to go around, staff AMAZING and although I say it is a little out of the way it cost 5 euros for a taxi into town so that was hardly a problem. We only booked 2 days before we went, had a wonderful time, have some lovely memories and were very sad to leave. We will keep in touch with the family and will definitely go back. I would recommend the Haroula to anyone."

by  T Brewster
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

FAB,FAB,FAB, there is noway anyone...

"FAB,FAB,FAB, there is noway anyone could complain about these apartments, there out the way from the hussel and bussel and the family that own them are the best, you couldnt ask for a nicer family, we just got back from the haroula a week ago and are already looking to book up again, the rooms are spacious and very well equipt for your needs, your about a 25 min walk from the town centre but its only 5 euros by taxi, if u want a lazy quiet holiday this is ideal for you and even with children its great, i have a 18 month old son who had a great time, no need to go out every night the food and entertainment in the apartments is a must, greek night and bbq is not to be missed, if you do go into sidari for a meal dont go to dorethys worst meal we have ever had in greece, fabulous holiday and a fabulous family, the forster family june 2008."

by KJ FORSTER
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Haroula apartments is probably the...

"Haroula apartments is probably the nicest place i have stayed at the family are so lovely and will do absouletly anything for you.

The family dont just run the apartments they become your friends and join in with all the fun!

During our stay at haroula one of our party members had a birthday and the family put decerations up and baked her a cake it was the lovliest thing that they could have done.

Although the town is a fair walk the family make up for that completley and its only a 2 minute drive in a taxi.

i would like to thank haroula for the best holiday ever! and i will definelty be returning very soon!

thanks.
"

by A.B Brewster
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Considering we only booked this the...

"Considering we only booked this the day before the arrived we couldn't have been more pleased.

The reviews previously read were definatley true...the family at the hotel are friendly, helpful, chatty, funny...Dimitri cooks fantastic, large and very reasonable food (breakfast baguettes, Salads or Melts are a must!) whilst Makis is a great evening barman who's measures equally match the size of the food! Though don't expect to much from his music!

The pool is fantastic, as are the number of sunbeds and space for them. The rooms are simply and spacious but definatley at the top end of what you would expect for only a 2 star. Rooms are cleaned daily. It has an extremely safe feel about the place too.

The walk to the edge of town is 20 mins and you will find a large supermarket and plenty of bars and restaurants here without the loud music of the town centre which is a further 10 min walk (as is the main beach). As to which are the best places, well that really depends on personal choice.

Hire a car for a couple of days (best place is Value Plus cars, and this is the nearest too) - the owners were very helpful and deliver & collect the car. Definately cheaper than going with the agents. You must go to Sunset beach, as well as the coasts both east & west as there are far more, and better beaches here.

Enjoy your holiday there...we did

Jane & Graeme
"

by J Bellamy
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Sidari

Hotels near Haroula Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Haroula Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Haroula Apartments? Share your insight.