Paleo Inn

2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(20 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
14
Good
3
Average
1
Poor
1
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Paleo Inn

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
paleo inn

"just got back one off the best places we have stayed in.

all the staff were the tops rooms were very clean some great views from the room we had

217. breakfast was fine hired a car from next door got a good deal just say you are staying at the paleo and they will sort you out.

paleokastitsa is the best resort we have been to in the last ten years & we cant wait to go back next year
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: its just stunning with some great views
  • Activities: all the restaurents we went were good but do hire a car & see some off the rest off the island
  • Good For: Beach
by corin
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

paleokastritsa

"Just got back all i can sy is this is the best place i have stayed in in all the time i have

being going to greece all the staff were great & the resort is fab
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: it just took are breath away
  • Activities: all the ones we went into were fine
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by corin
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

paleo is a great inn/resort. relaxing...

"paleo is a great inn/resort. relaxing , great veiws, restaurants, nice people. the only down side really is the main road through it which is manic and noisy and many coaches come sightseeing through it during the day. andreas runs a great little hotel and throws in breakfast at no extra cost despite receiving pitence from the tour operater for having us. clean, friendly, helpful, they even drove to the next village to get my daughter some medecine when she got an ear infection . avoid 'dimitries' boat hire nearby as this is run by an english lady who tries to charge you extra when you get back with the boat claiming various reasons and holds on to your passport as ransom !! make sure you try/snorkel all the bays in the resort (mind the black spikey sea anemones, they're poisonous) as they're all superb. definately worth going !!"

by G Young
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Had great time here, clean but basic...

"Had great time here, clean but basic bedrooms, excellent balcony views. Hotel pool lovely but could do with being little warmer!!!! Paleokastritsa beautiful island, lovely views, great restaurants Nereids and Spiros in particular.

Worth a little twenty minute walk right out of hotel to the harbour and a nice sandy beach. Theos beach barbecue trip was well worth the money. Hiring a car is a must to really appreciate the stunning views and other beaches, Kassiopi is worth a visit and Agios Giorgious.
"

by H L HAZZARD
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

This is the ultimate chill out...

"This is the ultimate chill out holiday. The resort is very quiet, and very beautiful. There is a great little beach just down the hill, the water is icy cold but very refreshing.

There is a snack bar at the beach, and boats for hire etc. Hotel is pretty basic but in a "getting away from it" sort of way. Lovely terrace overlooking the pool, where breakfast is served.

The food is brilliant, they ask what you want and cook it to order every morning, we had Greek yoghurt with honey and eggs on toast with coffee and juice - just perfect sitting in the sun overlooking the sea.

The room was nice, but basic, specious and clean, balcony with shutters. Quite romantic in a rustic way. We were made to feel very welcome.

Not much in the way of nightlife, good little bar just round the corner and lots of nice restaurants though.

We stayed for a week which was just right; think we would have been a bit bored staying longer.
"

by J Lowes
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Unless you want to walk walk walk...

"Unless you want to walk walk walk don't go to Paleokastritsa. There is one bus in and one out every 2hrs to Corfu town with the last one in at 6pm. Miss it and your paying for a cab. If you want a cab in Paleo be lucky there is only 2 in the whole place and if its change over day your not getting one they will be at the airport.

Paleo is not like anywhere I have been before. It is one long very long road no street lights and they drive like they are being chased by the police day and night. There are no pavements so you take your life in your hands if you venture out of your hotel it is also very hilly.

The Oasis taverna on the way out of Paleo is the best for food. The food is excellent, the service is a bit slow but worth the wait and the staff are very nice.

To finish would we go back ? One word NO!
"

by T MASTERSON
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Relaxing break

"We stayed in early October 2006, although we also stayed in July 2006 for a week. The reason we returned was for the friendly atmosphere of the family run hotel, and the area of Paleokastritsa which has amazing views and the area is relatively peaceful even in high season.

The rooms are typically Greek, although basic are equipped with a fridge which is neccessary for your cold beers and white wine, whilst you relax in the evening on your balcony. Breakfast is a leisurely affair as you would expect in Greece, with Stravoula telling you that you are "Welcome" all the time and for everything.

Safety deposit boxes are available for a small charge as are ironing facilites and we believe kettles (although we took our own). Purely from our own experience, we would recommend taking a taxi from Corfu airport as the coach visits various other hotels en-route which if you caught a night flight can seem ages before you arrive at the Paleo Inn.

The beach is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel, it is a pebble/ sandy beach. Which has sunbeds avaliable for a small charge. There are some water sports including skiing, banana boat, peddloes and rings. You can also hire motor boats. There are 2 beach bars that serves nice food and drink.

There is a nice kidney shaped pool which is open to early evening. It is safe for children to play in although there is no supervision.

The bar is open until the early hours of the morning, run by Spyros. He is very friendly and welcoming. There is no noise from the bar in the rooms.

There are lots of cats and kittens which is typical of Greece. So if you don't like cats be aware!

When we last went air conditioning was available on the top floor of the hotel, for a small charge. The owner intimated to us that this would extend to the whole hotel in 2007.

All in all a thoughly relaxing break in 2006. We are returning for a third time in Sept 2007 to the Paleo Inn.
"

by RayKrystal
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

A lovely friendly little place

"Date: 21/5/07

Reviewers: Bob & Rosie

We've just returned from the Paleo Inn in Paleokastritsa and we couldn't have stayed in a more charming, friendly little hotel, the rooms were basic but more than adequate, the staff were so friendly and welcoming, Andreas, the owner always had a smile for you whether welcoming you at mid night or serving breakfast at 8.00 in the morning, and Spiros is probably the best and friendliest barman in corfu, the Pool although almost right on the main road is not noisy and is very nice and clean, the bar serves snacks throughout the day and also serves international and local brand beer (Amstel / Mythos), Spirits (Smirnoff / Metaxa) and wines (all Greek).

There are a few feral cats which weren't a problem to us although they were to some people.

All in All a really lovely stay.
"

by BobSearle120656
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Basic accommodation but very clean...

"Basic accommodation but very clean with very friendly and helpful staff.

The pool is beautiful and Stevroula who serves breakfast is completely mad and on a one woman mission to teach the whole world to speak Greek!

She also runs a restaurant with her husband a few hundred yards way which serves superb quality very low priced food. Try the spit roasted lamb, it is fantastic, and the local wine which is made by her grandparents is also very good.

Her sister owns a bar called Angels just around the corner from the Paleo which has a great atmosphere and is ideal for anyone travelling alone as everyone is so friendly.

The beaches are small but beautiful, car hire is cheap, the scenery fantastic and the people are amazing. Food and drink throughout the resort is cheap and good quality.

If you a looking for a quiet relaxing holiday with friendly people in a pleasant environment you couldn't do much better although, I do think that teenagers would soon become pretty bored and the elderly might struggle with the hills.

Probably best suited to the 30 to 50 age group and ideal for people travelling alone.

I went with a friend in October and intend going back in May, I enjoyed myself so much.

That is my only gripe! Thomsons won't let a single person book to go alone to the Paleo Inn, so I have to go to a Hotel just around the corner with Manos.
"

by P McClarnon
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

The area was in a beautiful location...

"The area was in a beautiful location with many restaurants to choose from. It was a very private area of the island with a small beach and cove near by. You were able to get a coach ride into Corfu Town which is worth doing one evening. Thomson offered a vast range of activities you can do.

The hotel itself was perfect for couples though a couple of families stayed there too, the staff were very friendly, fantastic lunchtime food and brilliant barman providing a huge amount of entertainment in the evening. The hotel had its own swimming pool which was really clean and well maintained.

I think it is a perfect location for a 7 day holiday but two weeks would be too much as there is not much to do in the immediate area though you are able to hire mopeds and cars to drive around the island.
"

by N Waters
9 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Paleo Inn a Great Little Hotel

"We stayed at the Paleo from 20 to 27 October 2006.

Transfers from the airport took about an hour and a half as the coach first had to drop some people off at Agias Gordias. If we had been taken directly to Palekastritsa the trip would have only have been about 35 minutes.

The hotel is a small two storey family run hotel with just 20 rooms. It is sited just a couple of hundred yards from the sea and a small stony beach.

The accommodation was basic but very clean and was everything we expected. Hot water was available at all times and unusually for Greece the shower even had a shower curtain. A large fridge was provided in each room and kettles could be hired from the reception. An iron and a hair dryer were available for use free of charge from the reception.

Our room was on the first floor and had a balcony with a side sea view. We were east facing so got the sun throughout the morning while those on the other side on the first floor got the afternoon sun. Those on the ground floor were a bit less fortunate as their rooms had a terrace with trees and bushes just a few feet away which meant they caught very little sun especially those nearer the back of the hotel whose rooms were overlooked by a staircase.

The hotel has a small pool with sun beds and another sun terrace on the first floor. Sun beds are free but there is a €1 per day charge if you want a mattress.

The hotel has small library, a television lounge and a bar serving drinks and snack meals throughout the day.

A small terrace overlooks the pool where breakfasts and snacks are served.

Breakfast (served by Stavroula) was eggs (cooked to your choice - fried, boiled or as an omelette) two slices of toast with butter jam & marmalade, tea or coffee and orange juice. Continental breakfast was available if required. A English breakfast could be bought after 10am for €3.50.

Several tavernas were within easy walking distance of the Paleo as were two or three supermarkets.

The resort is quite hilly but presented no real problems to us (we are both in our late 50s) but I think anybody with a walking difficulty would struggle to get around.

There were large numbers of feral cats in and around the hotel which were a bit of a nuisance but this was not a problem exclusive to the Paleo, the cats were everywhere in the resort.

We had heard that mosquitoes were a big problem in Corfu and went with a load of repellents and after bite treatments. Thankfully the mosquitoes were no worse there than any other Mediterranean resort we've visited. We were bitten about six times each but this is the norm for us. Some people who went on a trip to Albania came back bitten to pieces so be warned.

There have been a couple of recent improvements to the Paleo. Air conditioning has been fitted to each room but because we were there late in the Autumn the night time temperatures were not too bad so we didn't use it. We assume that you have to pay extra if you do use it. Also each room has a new set of louvered metal window shutters.

The resort was beginning to wind up for the end of the season while we were there with many places already closed but there were still plenty of tavernas open. We found the Grill House where Stavroula worked (turn right out of the hotel and walk for about 5 minutes) to be great, providing excellent meals at great value for money. For example a meal for two including a litre of local wine was only €23.

We enjoyed our stay at the Paleo and would definitely return.
"

by charlieryan
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Excellent value for money

"Simon and Karen, Wirral, England

Just returned from this hotel which was great value for money. We paid £310 for the two of us for one week. We had a lovely stay here and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was better than expected with various choices including toast, eggs of your choice, fruit and yoghurt along with orange juice and coffee or tea. This place is basic but adequate with clean rooms including a fridge but steer clear of booking a double room as we did this and the room was tiny so changed room to a twin. The bar area was nice with Skytv and money changing facilities. The pool area was good and was quiet.

We feel we took a chance going at the end of September/beginning of October as the weather can be changeable but we were lucky with lots of warm sun. Paleokastrista is a beautiful resort with a choice of beaches and watersports. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the main resport/bay down a gentle slope but there is a beach across the road from the hotel (pebbly). We tried lots of restaurants and here are a couple of our favourites - the Dolphin and the Grill House (where you will see Stavroula who serves breakfast at the hotel). The Moody Blue Bar was good for a drink with a live DJ every night and Angels was lovely for a quiet drink (run by Stavroula's sister - a new, small hotel which can be booked through Manos for next year).

We hired a car for a couple of days and the highlight for us was travelling up the North East coast from Ipsos to Kassiopi. The scenery was fabulous.

Overall a great holiday, a good hotel surrounded by wonderful views. We would definitely return.
"

by wilfred_123
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Paleo Inn Closest airport: Ioannis Kapodistrias (CFU) 1.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Paleokastritsa

Hotels near Paleo Inn

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Paleo Inn?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Paleo Inn? Share your insight.

Paleo Inn is also called:

  • paleo hotel corfu