Smaragda Apartments

Samos 83102, Greece
1 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

10  / 10
(12 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
12
Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Value: 9.5/10
Cleanliness: 10/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Smaragda Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

A Great Place to Stay

"We return often and love the place,and find Smaragda, and her family are all so friendly ,making their visitors so welcome. No flights from Manchester this year, so had to fly to Athens , and onwards to Samos, this was quite a good route. Hope direct flights resume soon."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: so closeto the beach
  • Good For: Beach
by Scouse74
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Smaragda Fantastic

"We arrived at SMARAGDA hotel /Appartments on 15th Oct 2011 and was greeted by Smaragda herself with such a with such a warm welcome that you would think we were long lost relatives even though we had never met before. The holiday just got better from there with Smaragda seeing that we got everything we needed, she even brought us treats that she baked which was often we have booked to go again next year as we enjoyed it so much it is one of the best (if not the best) holidays we have had in the 15 years of visiting Greece would recomend Smaragda to everyone that reads this you will never be sorry for booking to go there.

Love you to bits Smaragda.

Lynn and Mike Monks from room 12 Smaragda's Hotel
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Just have a good time
  • Good For: Beach
by monksy
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday

"stayed in room 13 july 2010! did homework via internet before hand.room was open plan light an spacious an clean!owner left local dishes made herself in room on numerous occasions,room cleaned regulary..owners smile an laughter were infectious,local knowledge in broken english excellent..15 metres from beach was a bit of a trek lol! excellent local restaurants an bars just metres away, car hire just metres away,fantastic area for a really relaxing holiday, las vegas this isnt,but not as expensive as samos town or pythorgoria, would definately stay their again an would highly recomend to others,our friends went 4 star in pythorgoria an we stayed overnight for 55 euros..wasnt a patch on smeragda! can understand why their always full,felt down on our return to england snif, sob..."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Manos
  • Advice: book it!
  • Good For: Beach
by bashy
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a find

"We have just returned from 2 weeks at Smaragda Apartments Samos. What a find ! a true hidden gem. The Apartments are very spacious and spotlessly clean.We had a 2 bedroom (no 21)at the back of the block which was so quiet. We had views over the mountain from the back balcony and views over the beautiful gardens on the front one.Smaragda is such a friendly lady and her husband George, although not able to speak much English always greets you with a smile. They invited us to have an ouzo with them one night and Smaragda left us home made cheese pies one day. We felt like they were old friends.The apartments are just across the road from the beach so no need to trail half the room over when you fancy a swim. The bars and restaurants were all great, couldn`t fault them. Our fav bar was Para thin alos, now called Rendevous Bar. It has been taken over by an English couple, Wendy and Martin and their Son James. Our fav tavernas were Ballad of Bill & Salome and The Blue Bucket.Car hire is good value from Stefanos at Hermes.Places worth a visit are Kokkari, Pythagorio, the Temple of Hera, and Samos town. Kambos is a fantastic place for a holiday, a resort we wouldn`t hesitate to go back to."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, s/c, booked with Manos
  • Advice: If you like Greece you will love Samos
  • Good For: Beach
by yorkshire jane
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Looking forward to yet another wonderful holiday

"We are looking forward to yet another wonderful holiday in June staying again in Smaragda apartment. Can't fault them, only problem is getting booked into them. We booked for June this year in August last year and despite trying since October 09 to book again for September this year have not been able to do so - just hoping someone cancels. Think that says it all!

Samos is a lovely island, the people are friendly, the scenery wonderful and even after 7 holidays there we still managed last year to find a village in the mountains that we had not been to before.

Can't wait until June, especially now England has reverted back to winter!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Lovely for a really relaxing holiday
  • Good For: Beach
by wandj.morgan
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Loved It

"Hi i went to Smaragda Apartments two years ago in 2007 with my mum and dad, i really really enjoyed staying here. The apartment was fantastic, the people were friendly, good service, clean rooms.

Although there wasnt a pool (which i would of enjoyed) it was only two seconds away from the beach. I'd really really recommend staying here.

At night from our apartment you could see the sun go down over the mountians which is a beauiful site
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2007, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Beautiful Views
  • Good For: Beach
by Rochelle_lovin_Greece
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Another lovely holiday in Smaragda...

"Another lovely holiday in Smaragda Apartments. We cannot fault them and Smaragda and her family we feel are now valued friends. We have already booked for a three week holiday in May/June 2009 (with some difficulty I might add as Manos does not now have the facility on its website to book for 21 days). We were joined this year by friends who enjoyed the accommodation, the location, Smaragda's hospitality as much as we did. Although we have usually have another holiday during the year, we will always go back to Smaragda and have been unsuccessful in trying to get back again in September - we can find other accommodation, but not Smaragda and cannot think of going to Kambos and not staying in her apartments - the popularity of them says it all!"

by W M Morgan
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

When we arrived at Samaragdas we...

"When we arrived at Samaragdas we received a really warm welcome the appartment was spotless 2 large twin bedrooms with a/c a nice kitchen/diner, shower/wc and a balcony either side Just a short walk across the road and your on the beach. The atmosphere is really relaxing. We had a welome everywhere we went, and out of the many places to eat we would recommend the Blue Bucket for brilliant service and good food. Samos is a stunning Island we intend to return again and would recommend it to anyone who wanted a relaxing chilled out holidayy"

by A Burnell
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I had been given some information...

"I had been given some information (via the Holiday Watchdog website) on the apartments and resort prior to going, by someone who has been there for the last 5 years. My expectations were fulfilled in that the apartments were lovely, kept really clean and were in an ideal location. The owner, Smaragda, was a very nice lady, who made sure that everything was run efficiently - she even left home-made cheese pies one day. Like most Greek apartments, these had the usual fridge and 2-ring electric hotplate (who needs more?), but you also got an electric kettle too. Air-conditioning was available for an extra charge - some people did have this during our stay, as the temperatures were in high 30s/low 40s and the night time temperatures were very warm and sticky, but we had a 2-bedroom apartment and just left the windows on both sides open and got a nice through breeze. We were not invaded by mozzies in our upstairs apartment, but our friends, in a downstairs apartment, did have quite a few.

The resort of Votsalakia/Kambos was ideal. The beach - directly opposite the apartments - was very long and clean, albeit a little pebbly (would recommend 'jellies' for going in the sea), but you were never on top of people as everything was well spaced. A very quiet resort, well suited for older people or young couples with small children (definitely not the place for teenagers as there wouldn't be enough for them to do there), dotted with numerous tavernas, the usual smattering of shops, bars, ice-cream parlours and cake shops. We were there during Euro 2008, so most of the bars had put up large TV screens to show the football (unfortunately for me, as I don't like football - but fortunately for my husband and friends as they did)! Opposite the apartments was a little snack bar which, after late nights watching the football, we went in to for crepes (I loved the banana and honey, my husband the cheese and mushroom) and coffee, although you could also get wine, beer, etc. in there too and Yannis, the owner, was a really nice chap who would always make time to have a chat with you if he had time. Thanasis owns the bar next door to the apartments and is also a really nice guy - he plays really good 'old' music, so worth a visit.

There are some very nice restaurants in the area, within just 2-5 minutes walk away: The Blue Bucket had a lovely menu and we enjoyed a few good meals in there. You could even hire sunbeds on the beach opposite and enjoy a nice leisurely lunch in there when it got too hot. Next door was another taverna (can't remember the name) where you could get a good pizza. Romeo II was right on the beach and was one of our favourites. In some places we would never go in a restaurant with pictures outside showing the food available, as our experience has shown these to be the worst. However, in Romeo II, this proved completely the opposite and we went there often (they also had sunbeds for hire). The Ballad of Sadie & Bill was also a lovely restaurant, run by a couple returning to Greece from Australia. They didn't do the same food everyday, and were only too happy for you to order something one day for the next if you wanted something different. Sadie is a good cook who uses lots of fresh produce and is happy to explain everything about the herbs, etc., used in her dishes. There were lots of other nice restaurants nearby but, unfortunately, we ran out of time before visiting them, but the ones we did try we really couldn't find fault with.

Try the local wines, a litre of house white, rose or red was only around 7 Euros and was very drinkable. You'll often get given a glass of the sweet Samos wine after your meal and this is also quite nice although, unless you like sweet wine, you couldn't drink a lot of.

The supermarket nearest the apartments was also run by Aussies returning to Greece and Lisa, the daughter, was a real character. They also rented out sunbeds on the beach and were only too happy to reserve them for you if you asked. They also made up rolls/sandwiches for you to take to the airport on your return journey. Try the 1.5 litre plastic bottles of wine from this supermarket, at just 3.10 Euros it was very pleasant and we always had a chilled bottle (or two) in the fridge back at the apartment!

Trying to find a negative about the holiday is impossible, even returning home via Samos Airport was pleasant, check-in took around 10 minutes, we had plenty of time to shop and the waiting areas were cool and spacious (even had a smoking area).

All in all, we had a fantastic holiday in Samos and will definitely return there and to the Smaragda Apartments.
"

by P Young
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This year was our 5th in Samos,...

"This year was our 5th in Samos, staying again with Smaragda. The rooms are very good with all that you need for a relaxing holiday.

Plenty of wonderful places to eat, we enjoyed Angelos. The island has many wonderful places to visit, please don't be put off by the bendy roads, just take care and you will be ok.

If you feel brave hire a 4 wheel drive jeep and try some of the 'other' roads. Only returned to the UK yesterday and already trying to sort out next years stay in Samos with Smaragda.
"

by  O James
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our third visit to Smaragda...

"Our third visit to Smaragda Apartments in Kambos. We cannot fault them, nor the hospitality of Smaragda who we now feel is our friend. We love the resort, it's quiet, with enough tavernas to enable you to dine at a different one each evening if you so wish. A couple of bars for a quiet drink after dinner looking out over the sea. - what else could you wish for.

We have had lots of holidays in Greece and its islands over the last thirty or so years, but have not returned to the same place three years in succession before - think that tells you all!

The whole islands is striking, blue sea, little coves, majestic mountains with little villages nestled in them and more importantly extremely friendly people.

We will go again.
"

by  W M  Morgan
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We loved these apartments, they are...

"We loved these apartments, they are very well looked after by Mrs Smaragda and are perfect if you want a room just next to the beach as it is straight across the quiet road. The rooms were clean and although fairly basic suited us fine.

There are lots of small tavernas along the beach and where we always had a good meal. The "resort" is very quiet, great if, like us you are looking for a relaxed and laid back holiday on the beach. Do not come here if you want discos and lots of organised entertainment, it's all about the simple pleasures! Car hire is recommended if you want to explore, but you could quite easily spent a week chilling on the beach and swimming in the sea.

I definately plan to return to this idyllic spot and hope it hasn't been commercialised before I make it back!
"

by SMB Batty
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Read more reviews of Smaragda Apartments at TripAdvisor

Explore area

Map for Smaragda Apartments Closest airport: Samos (SMI) 12.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Kambos

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Smaragda Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Smaragda Apartments? Share your insight.

Smaragda Apartments is also called:

  • Smaragdas Apartments