Arcos Playa Apartments I & II

Plaza Sabina, Majorca 07687, Spain
2.5 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(67 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
25
Good
22
Average
13
Poor
2
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 6.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Arcos Playa Apartments I & II

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Not Good by paxton
2 / 10

Just got back from holiday in S'illot stayed at the Arcos Playa, awful apartments not cleaned,no change of bedding,totally basic, shower curtain filthy sofa really stained, I could go on and on, all I will say is never again, loved the island and the beaches are beautiful.but very expensive and food is poor.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: really need some money spent on them
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Mr&Mrs Thorndyke by babs thorndyke
5 / 10

1st time at ARCOS and would go again,we were put across the road from main building but the wife cant do stairs ,so after 2 days we were found a ground floor apartment which was excellent.Cleanliness was,nt so good as regards to maid service but whats the harm in sweeping up now and again yourself? do need to check on towel changing!The weather was very cold and windy which was unusual as we came the same time last year and it was just right. Food in the resturant was VERY good and Danny could,nt be more helpfull if he tried,the pair of them[&TONY]were run off they,re feet to be truthfull. Yes it is very basic but your holiday is what you make it and for the price you pay its value for money.

  • Holiday details: May 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: check times of buses,they,re a lot cheaper than organised trips to take you to the same places.
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

holiday time by reddevil56
9 / 10

hi we are just back from a week of self catering in s;illot.We stayed in the Arcos Playa Apartments.It was a basic hotel.When I saw the apartment at first I thought we had made the wrong decision.Once sorted in the room it looked ok.The week started well and as it came to the middle of the week I thought the bed sheets would be changed.We went out and about the place came back and went to our room.the beds had not been changed. very dissapointed.The area is quiet but that was good.Night life was a bit boring.It was Bingo then a Quizz and then Music.Toni did the bingo.He is very funny once you get him going but looks very grumpy.Danny was great fun.He spoke to everyone.He had a great sence of humour.The beach is literely a few minutes away from the apartments which was great.All in all the holiday was very good and we would go back to the hotel again.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with sunmaster
  • Advice: tour the area and go on the boat trips.
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wouldn't stay here again by Emma P
5 / 10

Basic apartments ...... Not a problem!!! Friendly staff & great affordable food but that's all that Argos playa has going for it!!! Although we met a couple of nice people .... Most of the other guests were noisy & sat around all day watching football & getting drunk .... In the evening the parents continued to sit in the bar drinking while there kids ran riot!!! There was nothing for the kids to do although Toni did try to entertain them & danny was lovely too. Having arrived from a week at arcos playa I am exhausted but not from travelling!! From bein kept awake by the people above us banging shouting & arguing til 4am!!! I cannot stress enough that I was happy enough with the accommodation & the staff fantastic but I would not choose to stay there again as the other guests were very rough around the edges with the odd exception!! The men heavy drinkers the women like fish wives & the kids little devils!!! Not our cup of tea at all!!! S'illot however is a beautiful place & we would definitely go back to the resort maybe even sa coma .... Would go to the across bar/restaurant to say hello to Toni & Danny & grab a bite to eat :)

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Read the reviews before you book
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

very very good by Rhonda D
10 / 10

just returned with hubby 17 year old son and daughters aged 10 and 12 the apartments was huge, the biggest we have stayed in. Hotel was lovely and the food and drinks really reasonably priced. The bar staff work really hard, helpful and friendly. Toni also does the entertainment at night which was bingo, which i have to add is the funniest bingo game ive ever played, musical chairs, karaoke and a horse racing game. If you want bands or singers then you have to go out for that. The beach is just across the road and the surrounding place is lovely. There is a market on Thursday evenings. The swimming pool was lovely, the best i have been in. The beds was only changed once but that wasnt a problem. The kitchen was minimual no cooker only two hob rings but you do get a toaster and kettle but we ate out all the time as that is what we do abroad. I can only add that we are looking at going next year as the children had a blast. Also if you decide to go to the caves of drach then go on the bus. It was nearly 2 euros each there and back. But people there was paying 18 euros to go on a boat. Also yes you do have to hire fans, which we have had to to wherever we have been abroad so we took the extra money for that anyway.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

watch out 4 lady selling flowers! by lynsey
6 / 10

we just had a holiday in s'illot was a very nice place appartments were good but although our beds were not changed once and our room was cleaned once in the 11 nights we stayed there,we were right on the beach which was good everything very close. what we were not warned about was the lady selling flowers! we were walking across the bridge 1 day to the tabacconist and a lady put a flower down my top and asked for 1 euro,we tried to give her the euro and she tried to confuse us with a coin, which we didnt realise at the time!as we walked away my boyfriend checked his wallet his money was gone! when we reported it the receptionist knew of this as did the police! so if your planning on going just be aware of this, dont stop just walk on!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: theres a very good marked that opens up right around the appartments every thursday night

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

week in the arcos playa june 2011 by CAROL AND KEITH ADKIN
6 / 10

after moving apts because of VERYnoisy neighbour(they should have been in magaluf!!!!!!!)marga in reception was very accommodating by letting us change rooms across the road to a lovely apt which was even nearer the beach. Had a fab sunny week lovely resort and had the extra excitement of sky movies filming MAD DOGS 2 in out apt block on location.we didnt use pool which is small but ideal for beach

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, self catering, booked with waltham travel
  • Advice: be prepared for a bit of an old building the 2 star is about correct but is clean and basic pool very small
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not what we expected !!!!!! by The Happy Couple
8 / 10

Having read the reviews and booking for the Arcos Playa for the first time we arrived with a certain amount of apprehension..we were pleasently surprised by the cleanliness and space in our apartment..the Arcos Playa is what you make of it and whilst basic offers a fantastic holiday in a quiet but beautiful resort, and its true that you get what you pay for..only down side really was no air con in the rooms..try the bingo at your peril..Tony is so funny..Danny is very helpful and polite..please try the restaurent just over the foot bridge..Cala Moreya..food and service were excellent...cant wait to go back next year..totally chilled and de-stressed..

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Remembering happy hols in Síllot! by jacksongang
8 / 10

Have been meaning to write a review for the Arcos Playa and Síllot ever since returning from our holiday there last June! Finally got round to it!! If you want a very reasonably priced family holiday in a quiet resort with a beautiful beach - then this is for you!!! We had a great time! Our room was large and clean and the hotel close to the beach. We chose to eat out and were more than pleased with the food at the Red Lion by the sea-front. Very friendly people who actually made our holiday!!! Stuart´s great sense of humour made our children want to come back for more!!!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

true review by gazza me
5 / 10

1st things 1st..we new wot to expect as this was the 2nd time off going ere ((2005))im my opinion u get wot u pay 4..the rooms are very big but basic..we wr there for a week family of 7..to 2 bedrooms..the apartments are very close to the sea((2 mins)) and are close 2 lots of shops and the center of s'illot..very easy to get around..anyways back 2 the hotal..its run by tony((owners son)) and mainly staffed by danny((he cant do enough for you)) top bloke and his mothers cooking is fantastic really really gd food..tony does bingo and a karaoke ant nigh..but to be honest bingo wrnt that gd and karaoke was only gd as me and afew of me family members got up..tony never sung or interacted in any way....hes kinda boring takes alot to make him smile..lol i was going to go back next year but on the last day tony really put the nail in it (as to speak)his mother did the cooking in the morning and it was the worst ever and even had the nerve to charge me 2.50 euro's for an egg..and when i asked him all he said was thats the way me mama does it..and just laughed((we wr all so dissapponted))he things more about money than anything else..as it was our last day...so all in all i'd give it a 7/10 but 4 for danny and his mothers cooking.2 for location and 1 for the size of the rooms...0.0 for tony hes a misrable money crabbing so so.....so if this helps u im glad...but pleasetake into mind wot ive said....

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, s/c, Booked Independently
  • Advice: say away from tony lol
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The Ritz it ain't!! But many good things to report about S'Illot. by Rhili
6 / 10

We've just returned from our holiday at the Arcos Playa Apartments and although we were disappointed overall with the standard of the accommodation there were many redeeming features.

The apartments are very dated although very spacious. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and the balcony was huge! The most disappointing part was the poor self catering facilities - the 'kitchen' which was part of the living area only had 2 cooker rings and a toaster. Having had visions of cooking up some great meals in the apartment we had to settle with just having breakfast there and making a picnic lunch for the beach. Although we had intended eating out several nights during the 10 days we stayed we hadn't anticipated having to eat out EVERY NIGHT! Although this was part of our holiday, it did add extra cost to it. Saying that, we had some lovely meals out in S'Illot. I'd recommend 'Onkel Willy's' which is situated at the end of S'Illot beach. Also Toni's bar offers good value meals - and plenty of it! We also ate in the Arcos Playa a couple of times and this was excellent value - and tasty too! Talking of which, Danni who runs the bar/restaurant practically single handedly is brilliant. He's polite, helpful, friendly and excellent with the kids. Danni's mum works in the kitchen, so credit to her for the food. Toni the owner is a different kettle of fish....miserable as sin!! Still, that didn't spoil our holiday. S'Illot is a really lovely resort. It's not very big but we thought this was a bonus. There's a lovely atmosphere and it's a very family orientated place. The beach is fantastic and another plus for the Arcos - it takes only minutes to get everywhere. The beach is a couple of minutes walk, the supermarket literally over the road, and the bus stop just outside. If you want to go a bit further afield, the buses are very frequent and cheap. We took a bus to the Caves of Drache which dropped us off at the door and only cost 1.65 Euros one way. With such good public transport there's no need to pay out for an organised trip to the caves - they cost 11.50 Euros for adults. We also took a public coach to Palma which takes an hour and a half and cost 13 Euros return. We took the Palma to Soller train which is worth doing if you are prepared to leave the beach for a day! However, make sure you budget for this - all in all this day out cost us about 100 euros for 2 adults and 2 children.

Back to Arcos...the pool was fine for us. Some people may find it a bit on the small side but our 2 kids (9 and 5) were more than happy with it. There's a small children's pool which is a bonus. Don't expect to do any lenghts in the pool - it's mainly for the kids. Fine by us! We tended to spend most of the day at the beach and a couple of hours at the pool later on in the afternoon. We found it too hot to be around the pool all day as there is no breeze. The beach has sun beds and umbrellas to hire and there are pedalos with slides for hire - hours of fun for the family!! Mind you, if you children are under 10 I would suggest hiring one for half an hour only to start with - ours had had enough after 30 minutes despite begging for us to go out for an hour!! They were ready to do it again a few hours later.

To summarise, I would definitely recommend S'Illot and the Arcos Playa to a point. We wouldn't choose to stay there again because as they say "you get what you pay for" and also because of the poor catering facilities. However, we didn't let these negative points spoil our holiday at all.

Enjoy!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Try it if you're not too fussy!!
  • Good For: Beach

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fab food by Tricky
9 / 10

stayed here and found the apts basic but big and clean.the staff were very friendly and had time for the children.we tried food at all the english bars and found faulty towers the best its good homecooked food at a good price with a good childs menu.maz s sunday dinners are a must but its better to book cos she was very busy when we were there.we also tried the red lion but had a cold meal served to us that looked like half a portion and the man in there was quite rude to our children.all in all we had a fab hols and would love to go again.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: fab good value basic no frills holiday with fab beach
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Arcos Playa Apartments I & II? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Arcos Playa Apartments I & II Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 34.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Arcos Playa Apartments I & II
  • by J at essex

    " Fawlty towers for a good value breakfast "

  • by TMac

    " Fantastic holiday if on a budget "

  • by jacksongang

    " relaxing place great for families "

Similar hotels around S'Illot

Hotels near Arcos Playa Apartments I & II

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Arcos Playa Apartments I & II?