Pontins Southport

Shore Road Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, United Kingdom
2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

3.5  / 10
(395 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
48
Good
63
Average
20
Poor
28
Awful
236

Rating by feature

Room: 4/10
Service: 5/10
Food: 4/10
Value: 5/10
Cleanliness: 4.5/10
Location: 6/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Pontins Southport

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 333 »
Manky

"What a dirty dilapidated place . Treated my family to a break here what a disaster. Chalet filthy to many people to accommodation the half board, pay pay pay for everything. PONTINS YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELVES,

This place should be closed down, they cram 3400 guests in and cannot cope with that amount.

If you're thinking of going DON'T waste you're money go for days out near home .
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: None
by Sandra b
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Ok place but full of horrible people who just give their kids money and then drink lager until their hears content

"Pleasant drive up from west Yorkshire and easy place to find but as soon as we got through the main gates all you could see were people drinking cans of lager and kids running around even on the road. Then as we got out of the car outside reception all i could smell is fags. When we went to check in the reception/arcade was boiling and people were pushing in the queue left right and center. We found it easy to check in and Ive got to say the staff are really helpful. We found our room and as soon as i opened the door all i could see was filth all over the kitchen and all over the windows. ADVICE If you dare to visit this place bring at least one plug splitter as 5 of us had to share 3 plug sockets. Also when you wake up in the morning you cant have a cup of tea/coffee and some toast as there is only one plug in the kitchen. We didn't really use and of the on site facilities because 1. You have to pay for literally everything 2. Because everything had cigarette buts and people smoking around them. Overall nice staff and easy to get to but everything was filthy and everywhere stunk of smoke. AVOID AT ALL COSTS"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Bring plenty of bedding and lots of money
  • Good For: Beach
by wyorks_BD_19
3 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

never again

"Just got back from 6 night at south port,. My son who is autistic was playing while the bingo was on a blue coat approached me and asked me to sit my son down I told him he was autistic and would scream the place down so his answer was you had better leave, I was gob smacked but put a complaint in the following day only for it to be thrown back in my face by the blue coat duty manager well that's what he called himself. We have never had any problems anywhere before and felt our son was being discriminated against by two amateur people who let the side down. Plus the place is so old its like going back in time they walk around with born 2011 I think they mean 1911 that's when the place was built so be aware."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go to butlins
  • Good For: Beach
by Richard C
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

may 2014

"Stayed in may 2014 didn't pay much and my kids loved it cried when we ad to come home plenty to do for the little 1,s blue coats very helpful and polite not a good selection of food for vegetarians ad to travel into south port to eat beds was a little uncomfortable due to springs bulging out apartment was clean when we arrived and checked in straight away all in all it was a good few days away kids loved it so much going again in Aug 2014."

  • Holiday details: May 2014, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Sophia H
7 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Never again!

"Stayed at 2 sites now. What a dump! Southport itself is a nice place, but Pontins was terrible!

First thing we had to do on arrival was mop up the small lake im the middle of the floor! Then get ripped off purchasing bedding for the beds. To be honest I've thrown better mattresses away!

Could go on but only so many hours in a day!!
"

by big ian
4 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

never again

"went to this place my 4 year son cut his head open, we was on 1st floor and someone opened a window which hit my son in the head as it was evening didn't see no one about to help or complain too so went back to chalet which i had to clean throughout myself to clean him up ,,,went next morning to report accident and was told i should have walked all the way to gate house or have gone to hospital i had to make them write it down in accident book ,,,,place was dirty dining area was covered in food from breakfast at evening meal and your shoes stuck to the floor in the club room never again will i go to

Pontins.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: clean it up,,,better help from staff would have been nice when my 4 year old was hurt
by Julie P
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

filthy disgusting...

"The 28th of may 2014 ... booked on the spare of moment.. wished to god i nether .was given first price 110.00 for one night hahaha...then was given the room.for 49.00 for three people good .got to south port not good

soon as I walked in to reception should have walked straight back out .but thought no give it ago ..we were due to book in at 4pm asked if could book earlier said no but asked manager he said. no problem as i had told him i had only been there ten minutes and customers were saying don't do it ..go home.got to room opened door all the way around the room was powder to stop the ants and slugs which were still in this powder.. had to eat at chippy there .disgusting we are all ill with stomach trouble ..today please be careful want you eat .the place is filthy had to sleep with are towels and are on covers thank god we took ..on us sleep didn't get any couldn't stop thinking about the ants ..did tell the receptionist about this his answer was you are down by the sea... i have had food poison before and it feels just the same .going to write to manager and if there's no joy i will raise the issue with .......and see want they do ..your the Renshaws.. i have got photo but i wont submit until had a reply from sight..
"

  • Holiday details: May 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go
  • Good For: Beach
by hannahhannah
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Weekend from hell

"Went for a weekend break, this place is like going back to the 60's, 4 adults in a 1 bedroom chalet, we had to use the settee for somewhere to sleep, if you sat one side of the settee it would just tip up. The kitchen smelt of damp, cooker was filthy, the plastic chairs were spotted with paint, we had to balance the table. The curtain hooks were few & far between. The facilities stated on the internet are very misleading, although the restaurant is situated in the Queen Vic pub, it is filthy and as for the entertainment room full of plastic chairs. We had no intention of having a drink at this pub or having anything to eat or even going to any entertainment, it was just more pleasant to go out into South port and stay out.

We didn't even stop the whole weekend, we came back a day early, never ever again.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't go.
by Julie H
1 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My stay

"We went for the week to South port had to wait two hours to check in very dirty room very cold heaters were on all the time to keep warm and you had to pay for electric you only got forty five minutes to eat your meals food cold had to wait in a line like cattle. Nothing open for kids it was like all our yesterday's and all rolled into one we only stayed three days could no wait to get home,"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't go
by Kath Crowe123
2 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Please take advice this is a throwback to 1970s

"Without been dramatic this place is awful.

Accommodation awful,seen better beds for homeless.our unit had excrement on wall of toilet,filthy pillows and quilt.electric token did not work and tell no for manager had been cut off.food was awful and next to a hall where there was a dance comp on.therefore our dinner was bouncing off plates from music.looked like Phoenix nights with Peter Kay inside are shameless.

My kids refused to stay so had long drive home.even staff said that rooms font get cleaned.

Wrote yo complain and manager as cheek yo offer us another stay there.

Will now follow up with head office see if anyone there got any sense.

Cannot believe state/management of this hole
"

by Lisa A
1 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hell hole

"We stayed at Pontins South Port after booking on group on we did not check the holiday reviews what a mistake that was.we pulled up & our first thoughts were this looks run down.we pulled up outside reception to get our keys cars parked everywhere no organization the reception was in the arcade it was dirty & run down by the way we are no posh family.people were already walking about drunk.we got our key's after fighting through mud & sand. We found our room couldn't see in the patio windows for dirt & old birthday banners i wanted to go home but thought I will try for the kids.we got in the patio windows were held on by duck tape the lock was broke the floors were filthy toilet would not flush there was dust everywhere the tv was 20 years old thick of dust stains on the beds glad we took our own bedding damp on the walls only 1 plug socket had to carry the microwave to plug it in .we went out at night what a mistake 6 bouncers on the doors people falling over drunk we didn't stay long.we were kept up all night with noise.i did not let my family attend breakfast it was filthy & unhygienic queuing like a cattle market. The pool was horrible we didn't go in there ,the majority of the play equipment & rides were broke. No one to complain to either. We left & stayed i. South Port & Blackpool but please read the reviews & don't go there it wants shutting down false advertising & lies."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go somewhere else
  • Good For: , Skiing
by caradog
1 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

avoid this place

"Me & my family arrived at this hell hole on Friday the 13th this place is so run down unclean disgusting.could not see out of the patio windows for dirt,the floor hadn't been cleaned,toilet didn't flush,table was broken,dirt & thick dust over everything,a television that i could not see for dust must of been 30 years old, patio window was held in by duck tape,lock was broken,i felt unsafe for my family 6 bouncers on a entertainment club ,people falling about drunk all day,none of the rides worked,we did not stay our duration & i wouldn't wish this on any other family disgusting, grass growing on the roofs. Please avoid like the plague we escaped.oh & you can't catch the reception open i wonder why?"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: close it!!!!
  • Good For: Beach
by caradog
1 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 333 »

Explore area

Map for Pontins Southport Closest airport: Liverpool John Lennon (LPL) 11.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Pontins Southport photos (10 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Pontins Southport
  • by izzy-claire

    " Southport Pier, Splash World "

  • by beverleyt

    " Mama Mias and the beach were the highlight "

  • by wadsleyowl

    " Pizza Express in Southport was lovely, staff v friendly "

  • by 58829008

    " we travelled to chester zoo and the kids loved it "

  • by mags

    " you get what u pay for great for kids "

  • by charl86

    " blackpool for the day or the beatles story in liverpool "

  • by clickycat

    " Pop to Farmer Teds in Ormskirk - great for kids loads of activities and hands on with the animals "

  • by Claire Lynch

    " better if you can drive so you not tied to the complex and you can go and explore rest of southport as apart from beach nothing local "

Similar hotels around Southport

Hotels near Pontins Southport

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Pontins Southport?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Pontins Southport? Share your insight.

Pontins Southport is also called:

  • pontins hotel southport
  • pontins resort southport

Address: Shore Road Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, United Kingdom