Lagoa Azul

2.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(27 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
16
Good
8
Average
2
Poor
0
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Lagoa Azul

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Not surprised

"Just returned from two weeks at The Lagoa Azul Resort (25/03/10 to 08/04/10) and am not surprised that people return again and again.

My only negative comment is that the room was a little tired and in need of a lick of paint. That said, all the other comments about cleaning, linen/towel change etc. are true. No complaints there.

All the staff are excellent. Smiling, attentive and helpful. Special thanks to Tushar, Front Office Manager.

Breakfast was excellent and included. Not just coffee/tea and toast as experienced in last hotet stayed at in Candolim.

Enjoyed eating out at Spice Oven. At St. Sebastian, Agay played guitar and sang. This, as well as providing excellent food. Other, more swish restaurants close by, such as All Spice, Saffron and Mix.

Thoroughly enjoyed Baga beach with excellent service and food at Squeeze Shack. Look out for the fruit sellers,especially Deepa and Mama Ghandi. Real characters.

Would be very happy to go back to Arpora and to The Lagoa Azul. If you go, then enjoy! You wont find that difficult.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by TAS
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very Comfortable & Friendly Hotel

"My wife and I have stayed in the Lagoa Azul three tomes now, and intend to go back there in November, 2009.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned every day and the bed linen and towels changed.

The two swimming pools are well maintained and there are plenty of sun loungers available if you find that you want to stay around the hotel. But why not take the hotel bus free of charge, to Baga Beach where you will find plenty of beach shacks, and there you can soak up the sun or do whatever you fancy at a nice leasurely pace. No one rushes about in Goa !

A taxi to the beach will cost you up to 100 rupees. At Sabastians Restaurant 50 yards from the hotel, you can rent a scooter for around 150 rupees a day.You can also get nice food there and ask Eggy to play his guitar. He will do this until the early hours.

I was not over impressed with the Tabla restaurant at the hotel, but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and the food is excellent and inexpensive.

10 minutes walk away you can sit outside Anands Bar and watch the world go by. An interesting experience I can assure you.

On arrival at the airport, the porters can be a pest trying to grab your cases and take you to the tour buses, but they are all trying to make a living, and a small tip will suffice.

Personally, I prefer to hire a taxi to and from the airport, as you have much more comfort, and see much more of the countryside as you head for the hotel. The fare can be haggled for around 600 - 700 rupees.£9 - £10. Try travelling 30 miles in a taxi in Britain for £10 !

Your first trip to Goa will be a culture shock. The people are poor, but they are not starving.Everyone works to earn a living, and they are very pleasant people. You get the salesmen on the beach trying to sell you all sorts of things, but a polite "No thank you" will usually stop them pestering you. Be firm.

The beach snacks vary obviously, but have a good look around before you select one. The owners will look for you every day if you frequent the beach, and will have your sun-beds waiting for you when you arrive.

Getting back to the Lagoa Azul, I must say that I have only good things to say about it. I have not witnessed anything unpleasant about it, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Enjoy your stay if you go.

William Miller, Orkney, Scotland.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2008, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: Excellent place to relax and soak up the sun. Excellent variety of food and drink. Beautiful scenery
  • Activities: Honey
  • Good For: Beach
by Bill Miller
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant Holiday!

"Lagoa Azul was a brilliant hotel. The people were really nice and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were basic but very clean, you had clean beds everyday and your room was also cleaned daily. The food was very nice aswell and overall we had a great holiday at Lagoa Azul."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach
by Abbie.x
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My friends arrived 2 days before i...

"My friends arrived 2 days before i did. I thought i had almost missed all the fun they had on the first two days but i was lucky that we were staying at Lagoa Azul. I reached at about 7:00 in the morning and after fighting with the hot sun when i reached the resort i had the cool waters of the swimming pool waiting for me. After gulping in a couple of beers i headed for the pool which was an awesome experience. Every one in the resort was accommodating. The only feedback that i would like to give the resort is to keep the Pool Ball tables in a working condition because it is the most favourite pastime for everyone.

Regards and Best Wishes,

Raynold Manuel.
"

by Manuel
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Right... ignore all of the bad...

"Right... ignore all of the bad comments on here about this hotel, and about the water cutting out and the electric cutting out, your in india!!! i think people forget that it is technically a 3rd world country!

ive stayed at this hotel 6times all together. it is a indian 3star, its a very nice, clean and tidy, friendly hotel. most of the staff are all lovely and will go out of their way to do things for you. jerry who works in the restraunt/bar is a star!

the breakfast is manily eggs, u can have them scramled, boiled, made into a omlette, but its alot of eggs, i counted how many eggs go into a 2week stay if u have omlette every morning for breakfast, 64 in total! not to good for the GI.

The rooms are all very spacious and kept clean to a high standard, the bed sheets are changed daily and also are the in the bathroom, the hotel also provide pool/beach towels in the rooms which are changed every other day.

The pools in the hotel. both of them are lovely, the one on the reception side of the hotel is the sunniest of both. both pools have sunbeds round the, so you can catch some rays, there is also two pool bars one on eachside so you can get drinks and food.

You can get a taxi from outside the hotel to baga and calangute for around 90/100 rupees. always remember one thing... HAGGLE!! by the time you come back to the uk you will be a pro!

The hotel also has a courtsey bus every hour from the hotel to the beach, it stops outside silversand beach shack, i would recommend that shack down at baga beach!

But over all this hotel is amazing and its def a 10/10 from me.
"

by V Fortune
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

After reading the comments about this...

"After reading the comments about this Hotel, and having travelled to India 4 times and all over the world, we expected basic but clean accommodation.

The first five minutes produced a broken toilet, thick mould on the shower curtain, mould and rust in the shower, no shelf in the bathroom, lights not working, holes in the bedside furnishings, etc., etc.,

The pool was covered in black mould, all over the sides and bottom, the plastic chairs and tables were ingrained with dirt, and the parasols had to be seen to be believed. Filthy and covered with bird droppings. The sunbeds many of which were broken, had covers coming apart and the stuffing showing.

Twice we had the water cut off, two days there was no money changing, and 6 different parties waited for 3/4 days for the return of their laundry.

We have photos of all this which will be posted on the internet and have written a formal complaint to the travel company.

It is miles from anywhere, and the only good thing we have to say about is is the attitude of the staff, which was very attentive and helpful. Also the chef and the restaurant staff were efficient, which is more than can be said for any of the other staff.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful but does not make up for the short-comings of this hotel, which in my husbands words is "totally unaceptable by any standards".

Think more than twice about booking this hote.
"

by P M Robins
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Firstly, ignore all the rubbish...

"Firstly, ignore all the rubbish reviews written over the last 6 months about this hotel. It has changed management and is now back on track!!

It is what it is - a 3 star INDIAN hotel, so dont expect plush luxury. It's clean, rooms are big, staff are friendly and location is peaceful, but Do ask for a room in main hotel and not the anex over the road - there are too many resident brits who complain about everyone else because they thing they own the place!!

Plenty of good local restaurants within walking distance. Try All Spice, Alfresco,Saffron, Spice Oven and don't forget the hotel restauant which does excellent food at cheap prices.

Taxis outside the hotel are good and cheap for trips to the beachs. Ashwen is about the best.

Warning - avoid booking the waterfall trip with First Chioce as they use the worst/oldest/uncomfortable bus imaginable.

Our flight with FCA was good going out, but lousy coming back as we had been preaallocated 12CDE and 13 CDE and they will not change preallocations at the airport when you are coming home. These are absolutely the worst seats on the plane as you cannot see a window from then and you are adjacent to 2 (yes 2) toiolets so you get no sleep and plenty of unpleasant smells to accompany your meal. They are preallocated to parties of 3 or 6 who have prebooked "sitting together, so you are penalised for paying money."REFUSE TO SIT IN THESE SEATS - tell the booking clerk when you make your booking. My advise is not to pay for sitting together but to get to the airport early and take pot luck.

Overall a good holiday in a reasonable hotel. Remeber, it's India you are visiting, not Thailand or the Caribbean, so don't expect pristine beaches, pavements, peace and quiet and a good breakfast and you'll not be disappointed.
"

by M Stones
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our third holiday in Goa, and yet...

"Our third holiday in Goa, and yet another fab hotel.

The hotel is split into two parts, the new block on one side of the road and the old block on the other. Both blocks have their own very clean pool with lots of sunbeds and a bar service.

The meals at the hotel are good with regular cocktail evenings and entertainment. The rooms are basic but very clean and the staff are exceptionally friendly. Just a miniutes walk from the hotel is the restaurant "Sebastions" which is well worth a mention due to it's cheap but great food, and a fantasic waiter there called Eggie who serenaded us until the smll hours of the morning with the likes of Elvis right through to the Hokey Cokey!

Probably the best trip we have ever been on in India is the Grand Island Trip which is run by Johnny's Boat Trips which can be found in Candolim. It has had lots of press in travel mags and on the BBC. The trip involves a 1 hour 30 mins trip across the sea spotting lots of dolphins on the way, and stopping off in a beauttiful cove for those who wish to snorkel. The boat then takes you to the most amazing, seculded island where the boat boys prepare an exceptional BBQ for everyone. Free drink included all day. Well worth £14 per person.

If anyone is taking over any clothes, toys for the orphange children of Goa, then Mango House is well worth a trip. We have supported this charity for 2 years and it is great to see just how far the charity has come, they hold vistor afternoons for you to go and see how the donations are used, spare change at the end of your holiday is always gratefully accepted. Robert and the rest of the volunteers are most welcoming, and it is a great way to see another side to India. For more information check out their website at www.childrenwalkingtall.co.uk
"

by K Thomas-brander
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

this is our eighth time in goa and...

"this is our eighth time in goa and third time at lagoa azul arpora.

it was a bit off a culture shock the first time we came to goa but after

a few days we loved it, the hotel is basic but it is clean and the staff

are very frendly and will do any thing for you, and the food is good. we have made good friends at all spice just around the corner.we always look forward to going once or even twice a year i give this holiday 10/10.
"

by usan Hadley
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

when we finally arrived after a 12...

"when we finally arrived after a 12 hour delay it was dark. we finally got to the what they call bus which was a total eye opener along with the driving and the roads. our tour ref actually told us we were lucky to arrive at night so we couldn't see the condition outside. needless to say we were apprenhesive of our much awaited holiday.

we arrived at the hotel to be met by the most polite and welcoming young man on reception. the restaurant/bar is really nice, food is lovely and drinks are cheap with lovely bar staff. the rooms are spacious and very clean, cleaned every day. nothing is too much for anybody.

a must for everybody is to visit the k bar at baga beach, the landlord priyok (who we called prozac) is an absolute star, tell him one for the road sent you, that should get you a free drink. eat in the openair restaurant upstairs, the food is amazing. ask joy to make you a hookhai, really nice.

a visit to ashram beach to stay in the beach huts and watch the sun go down is a must - enough to soothe your soul.

it was the most amazing holiday we have had and have already booked to go back november 2008.
"

by C MOFFATT
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This was our second year in Goa and...

"This was our second year in Goa and the Lagoa Azul. Rooms were basic but very spacious. Hotel staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Even out and about no trouble with bothersome shop keepers, just say no or will look around later and they will leave it at that.

People in general very, very friendly. Food everywhere very good and cheap, little bakery just down the road, very cheap bottle of beer twenty five pence and Agy, the waiter, very funny and a good laugh with his guitar.

All in all would recommend Goa to anyone but please remember you are in India. We have just booked this year’s holiday and yes, we are going back to Lagoa Azul.
"

by Murray
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a shock India is - the scrabble...

"What a shock India is - the scrabble for your luggage by the porters who ask for a couple of quid to put your cases on the old school bus with its old fashioned aircon. After the culture shock of the roads, drivers, motor bikes, cyclists who play Russian roulette on the trip to the hotel, Lagoa hotel was like an oasis. It was quiet, clean and the staff could not do enough for you.

Look out for the night security guard he is brill... he says ‘good night, sleep tight’ when you go to bed!

There is a good place to eat called The Spice Oven, you pass it on the left hand side, come off the main road and turn left down the small road to the hotel . The bar owner is called Rana and he will change some of your sterling for you if you get stuck for rupees.

If you want to get about you must get a good taxi driver, ask Rana to get Maheesh for about £10 he will take you most places and he will stay with you all day and he will take you to some excellent beaches.

Would I go back? Yes, I would over and over again.
"

by  P  Johnson
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Lagoa Azul

Travellers also viewed

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Lagoa Azul?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Lagoa Azul? Share your insight.

Lagoa Azul is also called:

  • lagoa azul goa
  • lagoa azul hotel
  • lagoa azul hotel goa
  • lagoa azul resort

Address: Little Baga Arpora, Baga Beach 403518, India