Meandros Hotel

Kalamaki, Zante 29100, Greece
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(17 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
4
Good
5
Average
6
Poor
0
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Meandros Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
NEVER EVER!!!!!

"The worst hotel I ever stayed in. the pictures show all and the management of the hotel - better not to speak about

it was terrible!!!!!

We were there in 08/2005
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2008, booked with Firo Tour
  • Advice: change the hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by Dan M
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

amazing holiday :)

"i had a amazing holiday in meandros. the rooms were big and very clean. the food was nice and the staff were so so so so friendly. there is a realy nice bar man called Ilias who ace and the 1 and only best bar man u will ever meet ERNIE !! Woep Woep !! he is class. kalamaki is a really amazing place with turtles in the sea and delicous restaurants. Hera is the best restaurant. i didnt see a cloud 4 the whole 2 weeks the temputer was 40 decrees really hot but there was a fab pool to jump in!! the pool is never too busy and u will always get a sun bed !! i would 1000000000% recomend meandros. believe me u wont be disapointed. :D :D"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: amazing location
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by me
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Much better than it reads......

" Stayed for one week in June. Good alround accomodation. Clean and well kept. Food typically Greek , perhaps after a week, more eating out would be answer. Excellent location, quiet but restaurants and beach minutes away.Would definately return here, looked at higher rated hotels in this area and they didnot compare on many levels! Forgot to add weather perfect!"

by kh lancashire
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

*Clean and friendly*

"Just returned from 1 week holiday to the lovely Meandros Hotel. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly face of the receptionist daniella, who took us to our rooms and explained the facilities etc. The location of the hotel is fantastic and gives you the option of either the main strip or the smaller strip heading towards the beach, which is only five minute walk away.

The pool is immaculate and a very good size, always spotlessly clean and there was always plenty of sunbeds. The rooms are very nice and have tea coffee making facilities and a small kitchenette, the maids clean every day. 'ERNIE' the night barman is a true star and keeps you well entertained!

The restaurant is very relaxing you can eat on the veranda or inside and all meals are buffet self service. The meals are adequate, but a little repetitive and offer cold meat and salads or a hotmeat/fish dish. Friday night is Greek night and they put on an excellent barbeque, the food is fantastic dont miss it!

If the food is not to your taste or you fancy a change HEAVENS KITCHEN is one of the best restaurants in resort and very reasonably priced. There are lots of bars to choose from, there are quiet relaxing ones, English Bars to disco bars. There is a mixed bag of age groups on this resort but not many young children, although kids are welcomed.

We thoroughly enjoyed this resort, there is something for everyone, the people are so friendly and make you feel very welcome. We will definitely be back.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, half board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Clean and friendly
  • Good For: Beach
by Dmorran
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

a gem of a hotel

"this is a gem of a hotel it is located in an ideal postion close to the beach and the main street. The hotel is clean and the rooms are modern,clean and large. The hotel is small and does not offer too much selection of food at the evening buffet, infact my family ended up eating out in the evenings at a fantastic restaurant called Heavans Kitchen which is on the main street. If you go there be prepared for a large meal but it is well worth it and on your way back to the hotel pop in at Theropia a cocktail bar that is friendly and serves the best B52's and rusty nails ever.

This hotel like the rest in Greece are struggling finacially and that is the reason why the buffet food is not as good as it should be - they only get 5 euros per person per night from the tour operators.

Also if you want to book some boat trips use the local operators not the rep as they are better value, if you can book a Tuesday as this is when there are less Italians on the boats.

Give this hotel a chance they are friendly and try to help with any issues you have and the bar staff are brilliant especially Tony.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: fantastic
  • Activities: Heavens Kitchen Restaurant
  • Good For: Beach
by samthorn
6 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff

"Stayed at this hotel in June for 1 week with my husband and daughter. We had a family room and it was lovely and clean, with a small kitchen area. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were cleaned every day. The hotel is in a great location and the pool is perfect. The food is good and there was plenty. The staff are really friendly. We had been to Kalamaki before and loved the beach, but this time there was a lot of seaweed about. We were told that the turtles had laid there eggs early this year, so they were unable to clean the beach for the start of the season. We had a fantastic holiday and are returning with the rest of our family in September for two weeks."

by willow73
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

A gorgeous hotel in a fantastic location!

"Me and my boyfriend (aged 22 & 23) stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it. We were looking for a holiday that was quite chilled out, but had plenty to do if we felt like it - and this was the perfect place for that.

The hotel is situated right between 2 main strips, but somehow manages to be quiet, relaxing and chilled out. The strip on the left has loads of bars and restaurants, while the strip to the right has even more bars and restaurants, quirky little shops and leads straight to the beach (a 5 minute stroll) The beach is immaculate and really chilled out and quiet, no big groups of noisy young people or anything like that. The restaurant opposite the beach 'Zepo's' is lovely for an evening meal & I can't recommend it enough.

If you're with a group of guys/girls who fancies a wild holiday then this place probably isn't for you, but Laganas is only a short taxi ride away and is full of nightclubs, like-minded groups of young people, and has a McDonalds, KFC and Subway if you're that way inclined! Unless you're a young guy/girl up for clubbing then I wouldn't visit Laganas. We rented a quad bike and drove there one day to see what it was like but as I said, was mainly groups of young guys and girls up for a laugh. Nothing wrong with that of course!

The hotel itself was just gorgeous. Our room really was lovely with a big bath, little kitchen area, TV, dressing table and big mirror for doing makeup :) and a big balcony which was very private. And we had a pool view, which was really nice. The pool is just fabulous, I'm not a pool-person but we literally ended up lounging around here every day. We never once had to get up early to reserve sun-loungers, we always managed to stroll down about 11am and find two together. It was never busy or loud, just lovely and chilled out. The bar does cocktails and food like sandwhiches, pizzas, breakfasts if you get peckish. Tony the barman who works on the evening is absolutely lovely and does fantastic cocktails, he got my boyfriend horribly drunk on our first night! All of the staff were really nice, actually.

We only got up for breakfast once during the week because we're lazy, but when we did go down it seemed fine. Lots of pastries & cereals, which I didn't really like but that's purely because I'm fussy! There is toast and hot food and coffee and juice etc so can't complain really. We normally had a stroll down the strip in the morning and got breakfast at one of the many cafes.

Oh and it also had a computer with internet in reception, which was really handy to drop our parents a quick email while we were there.

So in short, for a nice romantic, chilled out holiday with my boyfriend this was PERFECT. But if you're looking for somewhere livelier then I recommend Laganas with it's many clubs (which looked amazing and I noticed Dave Pearce was DJing at one)
"

by Suziewuzie
6 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic holiday, gorgeous hotel.....

"Just returned from a weeks holiday at the meandros zante greece. The hotel was lovely, staff pleasant.....especially the bartender Tony, who works the evening shift.He was very friendly and made my young daughter who's 5 very happy with his politeness and smiles to her. The pool was perfect and enjoyed laying around it, the food was ok, but then im not one for greek food.....did eat out a couple of times and would recommend mermaids on the strip very nice food!!! The rooms where very nice and spacious but beds and pillows are very hard!! Always had hot water for a shower or bath. Very sad to be home...miss the hot weather we had every day and the hotel especially. Would definetly return to the meandros.x"

by porterNorwich
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Really disappointed

"Spent a week at the Meandros Hotel Zante in May 2009. Were really looking forward to it - it had good write ups and reviews but we were really disappointed when we got there. The hotel should not be rated as '4' by Thomson as in our opinion and from experience it should only be a '2'. The food was very poor and no way reflected the money that we paid. Food from one night was re-used in dishes for the following night and further more the night after that. This was a common occurrence. Pudding choices included banana jelly, banana's cut in half, cheese cake that resembled slop. It was really poor and bland. We decided to eat in a lovely place called 'Zeppos' near the beach where they could offer actual Greek food! The rooms were ok but the bathroom was poor. We were only able to get one hot powerful shower during our stay there - this was reported to the hotel but was not resolved. Drinks were very expensive around the pool. I hope it improves or Thomson re-grade it as it was a really disappointing holiday for us and certainly over priced for what you got."

Management response from DianaHotels, 29 Jul 2009

Thank you for taking the time to add your review. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not manage to serve you the way you expected. We must express our apologies for not letting you carry back good memories like other guests do when departing from our hotel. In regards to our buffet, we are trying to provide the best possible menu covering all European tastes, including Greek specialties and vegetarian options. We carry out a 14day menu that we feel can satisfy all guests and in majority people seem to be happy with it. I must apologize if we missed to keep you happy on this matter and we wish we knew on time so we could add something special for you in our menu. I must inform you that we do not re - use our menu as what is left at the end of the day is used for staff meals. If in any case you saw repeatable dishes, this can happen only when a guest requests it. As for the cost of the drinks, I did a research and I saw that drinks in majority of restaurants and pubs cost 3-4 Euros. In our hotel the cost for a long drink is 4-4.50 Euros, Cocktails cost 3 Euros and in an everyday basis there is a happy hour in our pool bar where you can find the drinks 2.50 Euros. Your opinion is very important to us and we will take into consideration all of your comments, as it is a great help for us to get better. We will be more than glad if you gave us another chance in the future to provide you with the service you expect.

by CSHols
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic holiday! Great hotel!

"We have just returned from a week stay at Hotel Meandros. It is a lovely hotel. Staff are all very friendly & helpful. The 2 bartenders are fantastic & mix some great cocktails.

Hotel is in a fantastic position - one minute walk from the main Kalamaki Main Road for shops, bars & restaurants but quiet enough not to be affected by noise from them. It is also about 5 mins from the beach.

We spent most of our time by the wonderful pool - it really is as blue & clean as the photos show. Asthe beach & turtles are protected (quite rightly) the beach is a bit sea weedy so we preferred the pool.

Rooms are cleaned everyday - maids are very friendly & do their job efficiently.

Breakfast is the same every day but plenty of choice - full English if you want or continental. Evening meal was varied & of a high standard. You can eat as much as you want - our 2 sons (13 & 19) certainly never went hungry!

Airport is very close but there wasn't that many planes so the oise didn't bother us.

Downside (not the hotel) - the mosquitoes! Make sure you take plenty of repellent & plug in zappers!

Otherwise we had a fantastic holiday & just wish we were still there.

Thank you to everyone at Hotel Meandros for a great holiday.
"

by likemotherlikeson
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Super little hotel.

"We were very pleased with our 5 day stay at this small family run hotel. Spotlessly clean and in excellent condition, very friendly staff, good pool and very good food. The only downside was the same as the whole of Zante, drinks were quite expensive at the bar an in the restaurant."

by Poppy1942
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Average Greek Hotel

"The staff are what make this hotel they are fantastic.

We stayed in a family room with kitchenette even though on a Half board basis, we had a bedroom and a living area with kitchenette and sofa bed. Rooms were huge but not four star only one curtain against each patio door when there should have been two as we were on the ground floor people could see in. The kettle didn't work even though I reported it it didn't get rectified, I had to ask about the Air conditioning and was told I had to pay even though the hotel description stated Air conditioning and didn't mention an additional charge when I showed him the print out off the hotel description he let me have the remote control free of charge. Beware the fridge is filled with some water and fizzy drinks and there are crisps, nuts and cheese biscuits these are not free of charge there was no price list but after using some of it the cleaner left me a bill for 10 Euros I think a can of drink was like 2 Euros. Overall it was an average holiday ok but peaceful and relaxing which is just what we needed. Would probably stay in this hotel again on a room only basis and in a suite these looked lovely.

The food was traditional greek and to be honest out of the three different hotels we have stayed at in Zante this was the worst food it was ok but not a lot of choice and again not four star.

The hotel is in a great location located near to the main strip of Bars but still quiet and near to the beach. The pool area was nice and the second week we were there the hotel was mainly greek people who seem to prefer the beach to the pool so we had the pool pretty much to ourselves which was great.

The resort of kalamaki is nice and quiet would recommend you get a hire car so you can see more of the Island
"

by Ernie1
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Meandros Hotel

Travellers also viewed

Meandros Hotel photos (3 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Kalamaki

Hotels near Meandros Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Meandros Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Meandros Hotel? Share your insight.

Meandros Hotel is also called:

  • meandros hotel kalamaki

Address: Kalamaki, Zante 29100, Greece