Filia Studios & Apartments

Skiathos 37002, Greece
2 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(37 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
24
Good
9
Average
2
Poor
1
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Filia Studios & Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Best hotel ever in troulos friendly friendly friendly

"We stayed at these appartments 2 weeks ago as an anniversary holiday, first 2 week holiday without our children since forever, I cannot stress enough how friendly the owner of this accommodation is, he couldnt do enough for us to ensure we had probably the best holiday ever. the rooms are traditionally greek and basic but clean and you always get a hot shower !!!!!! some people complained about the small towels, let me tell you that all you have to do is stand on your balcony in your smalls for 2 minutes and you were dry so towels not an issue for us (how rude)!!!

Chris the owner is an absolute darling and he is so friendly and helpful, your really dont need a tour rep as he is the person we went to when we needed advice. food in the pool bar was above the usual pool bar food standard and chris mum used to do regular home made recipes for us all to try which were all fantastic. eggs were from the hens on the land and the best eggs you could ever taste, omellettes the best, no need to put towels on your sun bed to save a bed as there are plenty to go around. pool lovely and small enough to get warm but large enough to have a swim.

other guests in hotel were lovely and all had a funny story to tell, at our age we arent looking for new best friends but to be able to have a chat and a laugh most nights and days with lovely people was a real bonus !!

This is my 5th stay in skiathos and i can honestly say this was my best hotel stay, i am reluctant to give such a good review as i want to go back next year for 2 weeks but have to wait to see if my hubby has a job still until i rebook so i cant commit and am worried that you will all book a holiday here before i can and i wont be able to come back as it will be full. but i would be doing the filia an injustice if i didnt put this review on as chris made our wonderful but worrying holiday (he knows) abosolutely as stress free as possible and for that I am so grateful to him he is a star. book this hotel if you want traditional greek hospitality, good food, nice people and a relaxing stay.

dont book this holiday if you want 5 star facilities, pretentious guests, and have to pretend that your a stock broker for 2 weeks.

I think some people may have commented on the hill......well let me tell you that ok it was steepish, my cuddly hubby managed it so unless you have real mobility problems then it will be ok, you can either do the steep hill (which we did a few times) or the windy hill (more popular) .......and the plus side is 1 the views and 2 no outsiders invading the bar.

if you do book hopefully i will meet you next year......but have fun regardless....ps the greek (barbeque) nights no barbeque but who cares are a must to get to know your fellow guests.

for meals i would strongly recomend the sunset taverna, an english chef but not your egg and chips rubbish, we went there loads and can honestly say it was great food like home made food, english chef....

salt and pepper .....nice bit pretentious

for all your sport the sky bar, down the slope from hote, first bar on right.

loads of resturants too many to list.......HAVE FUN and if you are going soon I am so jealous

one last comment if you book this holiday DONT use cosmos, they claim that a hotel if full when its not!!!! go via thomas cook, think its cheaper any way.
"

by raymondleavy100
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Peaceful Haven

"Just returned from our first holiday in Skiathos.The Filia Apartments are in a delightful situation.The family are lovely-nothing is too much trouble.The weather was beautiful.A perfect place to chill.Thankyou very much Christos and Filia.

Sue and John
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by Suze2011
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday would go again

"have just arrived back from 2 weeks at the filia we had a great time rooms are cleaned daily and the family couldn't do enough to make sure your holiday was everything you wanted.you must try the food and bbq. fantastic!"

by jeanetteandroy
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Fantastic!!

"From the moment we arrived at Filia, we were made to feel so so welcome by Christos in particular, nothing was too much trouble and his English was superb so there were no problems with the language barrier. Just to refer back to the 'hill of death' that people have mentioned, the alternative route takes about two minutes longer and is absolutely fine to walk up, so please don't let this put you off. The apartments themselves are very basic, but cleaned every day and are more than adequate. The water is very hot contrary to previously mentioned and is more than adequate for an evening shower! Our only critism of the room, albeit personal preference is that on the middle floor the barrier between balconies is a partition made of an ornate type ironwork, therefore you are exposed either side to your neighbours, and have little or no privacy, however, I will mention that are neighbours were lovely and it wasn't a problem particularly, but I'm not sure that I would appreciate it if my neighbours weren't quite as pleasant... the views however are stunning and the balcony is a good size. The pool area is beautiful, the pool is a great size and the surroundings are well kept, colourful and clean. The seating area at the pool bar is lovely, with plently of shade and comfortable seating. The food is superb and reasonably priced. We didn't join in with the evening barbecue night, this was again just down to our preference, but a great time was had by all! The resort of Troulos itself is superb. There are many tavernas within walking distance, when you get to the bottom of the drive way that leads to Filia, don't make our mistake and turn right, there is nothing there! Off left you will come to Ratatouille, which is fantastic, also there are a few more that we didn't try, but had mixed reviews from other guests. It is worth a visit to Troulos beach in the evening - ask the rep or Christos for directions, the tavernas down there are lovely, but our favourite of all was Sunrise - (a mean lobster thermidor, which we had twice for 19 euros), which you can't miss if you follow directions to the beach from Filia, as you will pass it on the left. Bus stop 18 is where you will catch the bus for Skiathos Town, which is always worth a visit. There are plently of supermarkets all within walking distance. For those who haven't visiting Skiathos before, the bus service is fantastic, you never have to wait longer than 10 minutes and it is so easy to navigate along the bus route. All in all our trip to Skiathos was our second one, and we thought the first one couldn't be surpassed, however, Filia and Troulos gave us such a wonderful week, and we will certainly be back again."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Have the lobster thermidor at Sunrise!!!
  • Good For: Beach
by Filia Fans
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We love this place.

"Had the best time here. The staff could not be more helpfull, they went out there way to make sure you had a good time. Everything was clean and tidy. We hope to go back some day. Big thanks to the staff!!!!!!"

by Ste30580406
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Can't wait to go back

"What a superb place - nothing is a bother for the owners of for the lovely family who run these apartments. From the minute you arrive you are made to feel so welcome, nothing is too much trouble and Christos, Filia, the lady who cleans the rooms, the guests - all were so nice because the owners create that ambience. They go the extra mile - and are proud to show off and promote their beautiful island. Their food is excellent - especially anything made with their free range eggs!! Their dogs - Lola, Ellie, Azore, Lekky, Bobo are absolutely delightful. The pool area was just right and the area immediately round about had some lovely restaurants - all very reasonably priced. The beach is only a walk away and the charming Skiathos town an easy taxi or bus ride away. Best Greek Island and holiday ever!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: enjoy the hospitality offered by the owners - don't hesitate to ask for or about anything
by karen
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The best holiday ever!!

"Just got back from a wonderful holiday in Skiathos. We stayed at the filia apts in Troulos and we had a lovely room with fantasic views overlooking the sea. Christos and his family who own the Filia apts are really lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would recommend 'Momma's' Lamb Kleftico is it's superb!! We had such a lovely time that we can't wait to go back. We had a couple of bbq evenings which were really good fun and brought all the guests together . I would highly recommend Skiathos and the Filia Apts and a big thank you to every one involved for making our holiday so special."

by misstipsy
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Dirty room, not cleaned all week. Not sure why the other reviews are so good!

"I have been to many Greek islands and stayed in many apartments/studios so I know what to expect, usually basic but almost always clean. Our room at the Filia was basic but very dirty. The room was not clean when we arrived, the sink in the bathroom was dirty with toothpaste and water marks and the floor was dusty and covered in bits. We dropped some sun cream on the tiled floor and when we used a tissue to wipe it up the tissue came up black. The floor has obviously not been washed or even swept recently. The room wasn't cleaned all week, the maid came every day and emptied the bin and folded the sheets but did nothing else. We had the same sheets and towels all week. By midweek we found a brush out on the landing and swept our own room.

I read the previous reviews before booking the Filia so was disappointed at the state of the room. Other reviews mention the lovely family and the Greek night at the pool bar. Neither were evident to us. We were collected in the minibus by an older man who didn't speak to us and shown to our room by a less than interested lady. I don't know who these people were as no names were offered. No Greek night was put on while we there, it was the first week in September so hardly the end of the season yet. There was never anybody about at the pool bar and on the last day we left our key on the bar and dragged our cases down the steep hill to the road as there was nobody about the take us in the minibus as promised. The location of the hotel was good and we had a lovely sea view from our balcony. The pool area is nice and secluded but the pool bar could do with a little tlc. Its a shame that the cleanliness and service let this place down.

I would certainly return to Skiathos and to Troulos, they are both wonderful places and we had a great holiday despite the accommodation. There are some lovely tavernas, particularly Ratatouille and Sunrise in Troulos and Selini in Skiathos Town. Excellent bus service, beautiful beaches and fabulous island, just stay somewhere other than the Filia!
"

by A3P0
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

beatiful location - great accomodation

"Just arrived back from here and have had a lovely time. Our first time to Skiathos, Troulos and the Filia Apartments and it won't be our last. The travel brochure really undersells this place as it's very peaceful and much more well equipped than we thought it would be. It is really only a 10 minute walk through a track (easily accessible even with a pushchair) to get to the lovely beach. It's a 5 minutes walk to some great tavernas where you could dine somewhere different every day for a fortnight. The local bus service is better than where I live in the UK - every 15 mins from 7am until 1am - stop just 5 mins from the apartments. The bus in to Skiathos town is well worth it as it's lovely there. Yes the hill is steep, but it's short and we did it with a pushchair everyday and there is a longer access road that's less steep- but it affords the apartments the most beautiful, interrupted view of the sea and a very peaceful location.

The accommodation was great for us - 2 adults and a toddler - we got 3 wooden single beds (not a camp bed as other hotels often use for the extra) and there was plenty of room for walking around. Other people had 4 single beds in their larger apartments. There was a separate kitchen with small cooker, hobs, kettle, fridge, loads of cooking utensils; very large balcony; bathroom with shower; tele; desk; wardrobes and storage. The lovely pool area was never crowded even though we went peak high season.

Please don't book tours through your rep - we booked the round the island boat trip directly with the boat (they are all along the harbour in Skiathos town selling tickets for various trips) for 10E each less than the reps were charging and they use the same boat! The transfer fee through the tour operator is also quite hefty seeing as though it was only 20 mins from the airport (longest journey possible is 30 mins!)

It was lovely on the island - the most beautiful beaches - we went peak high season and it was not packed out anywhere - and we had a great time at the FILIA apartments.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by teacher35
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Filia is a wonderful place to stay

"Just returned from 2 great weeks in Troulos and the Filia apartments. I have to agree with all the positive comments by other reviewers, it's a really friendly, family run establishment. Filia is great and taught me some useful phrases, which are now a permanent addidtion to my smartphone's word documents, Christos is a top lad, and looked after us tremendously. We went to the bbq night and had a great time. I'm not usually up for all the contrived Greek night stuff - especially as I don't drink, so it's embarrassing doing the dancing etc.... however, it was fun, I did dance! and it didn't feel contrived. We went with Christos, in his minibus, to their beach and spent the day there. It was great. The loungers comfy, the music perfect. The coolness of banana beach, but on a smaller, quieter scale, with the friendliness/family feel of Troulos beach. A perfect symbioisis (my big word for the day!)

I'm going to list some key points that may help others decide whether to stay here or not.

The hill of death is steep! although that didn't stop me running up and down it in the name of fitness! The less steep option only takes a short while longer and at least gives those less mobile an easier route back home.

The pool area is lovely - the jacuzzi a great bonus, and the swinging sofa fantastic, for a spot of relaxation in the shade.

The rooms are typically Greek, and surprisingly comfortable. I usually get a bad back in the beds on holiday, but I didn't here. The aircon (35 euros a week) was a welcome addition on our second week. Usually in Greece, the showers are cold after 7pm - not here! In contrast, they were boiling, and powerful, and if anything, cold water was the sparse commodity.

Cooking facilities were very good (in our room). We had a small (microwave type) cooker, with grill, and hobs on top of it - some rooms only had 2 hobs built into the sink area, and I'm not sure, but some rooms may have no hobs? If you want the cooker, ask for room 20 ;-) The kettle was good, and the utensils/pots and pans perfect for the job.

There was also a tv in our room, which worked well. The maid was a lovely woman, and on top of providing a good service, also used to put away our pots, and wash them, if we hadn't remembered too! We actually felt quite guilty.

This was our first time in Skiathos, and most of the other people that were staying at the Filia are multiple repeat visitors - some 12, 14, even 23 times! This is testament to the quality of the accommodation, and the friendliness of the family. Despite our usual stance of not visiting the same place twice, we will definitely return to the Filia however, maybe even this September?

The location is good. A 50 metre walk to the right, through a gate and a small field, leads you to a shop, lovely restaurant (Sunrise taverna), and towards the beach, 5 or 10 mins away - depending on your speed.

Turning left out of the Filia leads you to the majority of Taverna's and restaurants of Troulos - all of which (we visited most) were fantastic.

The bus service really was very good. A bus every 15 minutes (really can't understand bexkitten's views?) all the way to 12.30 am, and either 1.80 or 1.40 euros depending on distance.

So, in summary: Filia apartments are comfortable, friendly, well equipped, great value, and well worth a visit.
"

by dj_davo
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Love the Filia Studios

"This is our 4th time to Troulos and the 3rd time we have stayed at the Filia Studios. We love it here. Christos and his family are so nice and friendly, they cannot do enough for you. From the moment you arrive Christos is waiting to take you up to the accomodation. We love it in Troulos, the resort is quiet and has a nice relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are cleaned daily and have recently been refurbished and now have lovely new soft furnishings and TVs. Filia has a lovely pool and bar area and Christo's Mum cooks all the food herself she makes a lovely Moussaka and Greek Salad. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they even took one of the residents down to the local super market during thunder storm so that he could get some provisions in their minibus, there is not many who would do this. Every week they have an authentic greek night with barb-b-que and greek dancing. Hiring a car is a good option as you get the peace and tranquility of the filia with the option to tour round the most pictureque island I ever come across, Skiathos has some of the best beaches I have ever seen. Im looking to book again to the Filia in September. Cant wait to go back again."

by cgriff9575
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Troulos

"Just returned from 2 weeks at Filia. They have done a lot of work to tidy up the approach to this little oasis, and are in the process of refurbishing the apartments. It was lovely to see Christos and Filia again, who made us so welcome, and the Thomas Cook rep, Christine, was very helpful and friendly.

There are some beautiful walks in Troulos, to the monastery and Assilinos beach. Another lovely walk is from bus stop 13 round to bus stop 12, or you can stop at the beach and get a water taxi to Skiathos Town. Villa Rosa has a really good menu but we rather liked the new little taverna called "Ratatouille", part of Hotel Morfia.

Skiathos is our favourite holiday destination and, though very basic, Filia would always be our first choice for accommodation.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Coral
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Filia Studios & Apartments Closest airport: Nea Anchialos (VOL) 34.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Filia Studios & Apartments
  • by coraljeffery

    " As a veggie, I found the Troulos Bay Hotel menu excellent; loved the blue cheese and walnut salad. "

  • by suetoots

    " Loads of great Tavernas, try the barbecue at Filia Studios, and have a boat trip around the island "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " A visit to Troulos is like a step back in time - ideal for peace, tranquility and relaxation. "

Similar hotels around Troulos

Hotels near Filia Studios & Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Filia Studios & Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Filia Studios & Apartments? Share your insight.