Luis Apartments

Mastichari, Kos, Greece
2 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(22 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
16
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
1
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Luis Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Proper Greek Holiday

"Just arrived back from the Luis apartments,stayed for 14 nights.We read all the reviews before we went and we agree with most of them!

The accommodation and location are probably the best we've stayed in, on our travels around the Greek islands,over many years.Nikos was always helpful,polite and had a smile on his face(despite the very long hours he works!!)

We didn't use the pool,although it looked very clean,because we prefer the beach and thats just 5 min walk away.The village/harbour are about the same walking distance too.We ate at most places and never had a bad meal anywhere. For the four of us(2 teenage kids)it was costing between 36-56 euro's per night.That was a main meal(huge size) and a couple of drinks each.I would recommend the house red carafe at the restaurants (3-4 euro's) very pleasant!The most expensive night we had,was the Saturday Luis BBQ(75 euro's)but having said that,the food was excellent and just when you thought you had finished, more was brought out!!Wine was plentiful and was flowing, all included in the price!

While we were there,we were lucky enough to attend a Greek festival,across the road at the school.Greeks from all over came to it and we were made to feel most welcome,great night! All the food and wine was free all night,what a bonus!!

We hired a car for 3 days from Mastihari cars in the village(110 euro's)received a 5 euro discount for staying at the Luis and it being Nikos brother who owns it.We booked independent from the rep,who we never saw at all, in the 2 weeks we stayed there!We didn't attend the welcome meeting by choice,we have in the past but now think its a waste of our holidays!The car was fully insured and we had excellent service from them.

The beach was great and you had loads of space around you,to spread your wings.The seaweed was a bit of a shock the first day(seaweed boots as you entered the sea) but the next day, there was hardly any at all.

If you want to chill, no quad bikes,no louts or listen to foul language go and stay here and experience the real Greece.If you want the latter go to Kardamena!!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: The real Greece,grab it before it changes!!
  • Good For: Beach
by seach4paradise
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday

"have just arrived back after a great holiday.there was 17 of us some stayed at the luis and some at the christina apartment.staff at the luis were great,we had a pool view and the room was cleaned and fresh bedding every few days.pool was very clean,great location if you want a relaxing holiday.it was our second time to mastihari,but first time at the luis.we might some great people who year after year return back to stay at the luis.would think about going again in the near future...."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: yes
  • Good For: Beach
by reg
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Absolutely Fabulous!!!

"Just spent 2 weeks staying at the Luis Apts , this is our fourth year of holidaying there and we have come to the conclusion Rebecca must have stayed at the wrong apartments.

Yes the rooms are basic but they are very clean,Each room has the added bonus of a tv and hairdryer and are spacious too. The pool too is always clean and well maintained . Maria the cleaner always does a lovely job of keeping the rooms clean and tidy.

maria the cook always does a fantastic english breakfast and lunches.

Nothing is too much trouble for Nikos and his lovely wife Paola!!! If needed, they will help & advise all they can.

The beach , tavernas and bars are all within walking distance.or for a couple of euros you can hop on a short boatride to the pretty island of Kalymnos.

We met up with a lot of people who return to the Luis Apts year after year!!!!And we return there on sept 4th this year :)

So if you want a good atmosphere ,good food, clean rooms and friendly people , the Luis Apts is the place to stay!!!!!

Try it and see for yourself :)

XX
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Loved Mastihari and the luis apts!!! Goin back there in 7 weeks time!! cant wait!!
  • Good For: Beach
by judy n Mike
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Basic and not too great

"Just back from a weeks stay at the Luis Apartments and I really wouldn't rate them highly at all. They are very basic, and I didn't think that they were that clean. They were positioned well though, and in easy reach of the beach and the village. I found Nikos rather rude and I know that he was unpleasant to another couple while we were there. He is only interested in you as long as you stay in his apartments, tip him well and eat in his cafe every day. Mastihari is wonderful but I personally would not return to the Luis."

by Rebecca
4 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brill

"We have just returned from Mastihari after 2 fantastic weeks, the apartments were basic but very clean ( Marie did a brill job ). The beach was one of the best we have seen in Greece the sunbeds were only 5euros for 2 beds. Eating out is a real treat plenty of chose from we seemed to settle on the Harama taverna the food was always first class with a wide choose & Alexander the waiter was fantastic

Nikos & all the staff were all very helpful, you must try there English brekkie it's pretty good.

We are going to Kefalos next year but we will be spending some time in Mastichari.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, booked with Manos
  • Advice: Mastihari is a working town with a busy little harbour
  • Good For: Beach
by puggy
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great

"Just got back from a weeks holiday.

Apartments - basic but clean, Nikos the owner is brilliant.

Situated 2 mins walk from the beach.

Plenty of choice for eating out. Would recommend Al Greco & Tasty Palace.

Nice for a quiet holiday - ideal if all you want is pool, beach & tavernas.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Al Greco & Tasty Palace were our favourite restaurants
  • Good For: Beach
by evans family
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Super Holiday

"Just returned from a great holiday at the Luis. Nicos and his staff are very friendly and the apartments are spotlessly clean.View from our room was beautiful and it was a joy to sit with a drink and take in the view. The swimming pool is kept meticulously clean and there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone. A short stroll from the apartments down a dirt track (shortcut)takes you to the white sand beach. There is a walkway along the beach which leads to the village. Alternatively, you can take a short walk from the front of the apartments down to the village where there are plenty of little travernas and shops to suit everyone. From the harbour you can get a ferry to Kalymnos Island (12 euros return each). Kos Town is about 30/40 mins by bus from Mastahari(a must just to see the harbour and the historical sites). This was our first visit to Kos and our stay at the Luis was memorable. We made many nice friends and will certainly consider returning in the near future. Thank you Nicos for your hospitality (and wonderful coffee!) YAMOS(!)from Stewart and Isabel."

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Very friendly village with plenty travernas to suit everyone's taste.
  • Activities: Kali Kardia was our favourite traverna, the staff really nice, but no traverna disappointed us.
  • Good For: Beach
by StuandIs
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A Welcome Holiday

"Our second holiday with Luis apartments & cannot fault service from Nikos & Family. Maria the lady who cleaned the apartments is a breath of fresh air - always cheerful and helpful. Accomodation basic but clean & comfortable, set in a very peaceful location. Beach a short walk away with all amenities also nearby."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Kos town & El Greco for eats
  • Good For: Beach
by gilead
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just returned from our second visit...

"Just returned from our second visit to the Luis Apartments in Mastichari. Was not disappointed - Nikos and his family and staff are so pleasant - couldn't wish for a better host. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Pool is very clean and well maintaned. Food very good - the BBQ was delicious - the breakfasts were lovely but massive! I asked for half a breakfast one morning and received one with about six less beans than my partner who had a full one!!

All in all a lovely place to chill out and relax - the village is lovely - I have travelled for the last 30 years or so to various Greek Islands and Kos and the village of Mastichari is definitely one of my favourites.

Would definitely go back again.

Julie Thomas
"

by  J Thomas
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just returned from a wonderful...

"Just returned from a wonderful fortnight at the Luis. What can we say that has not been said before? Fantastic accomodation - Nickos is a wonderful and genial host - and he was a star in helping me organise a birthday surprise for my partner - that cake was superb!! Also, a mention for our wonderful Room Fairy - she was so cheerful, and the rooms were cleaned and fresh linen supplied every 2 days - she also bought presents for our two children - a lovely thought!!

The room was great for us, with an 11yr old and a 3yr old. We gave them the two beds in the main bedroom, and we had the beds in the kitchen part - as this has the door to the apartment in it. The room is basic - but that is what Greece is about. We don't go on holiday to cook a 3 course dinner - so cooking facilities are not important. And it has to be one of the biggest appartments we have ever stayed in - a definite PLUS with 2 very active kids!!!

The pool was one of the cleanest I have ever seen, and, being less than 2m deep at the deep end, was wonderful, as it meant my partner could touch the floor, while allowing our 3yr old son to have a good swim. Also, the lunches at the pool are great value - good food, and plenty of it!!

As for the resort - WOW!

It is like the Greece I remember from 20 odd years ago - perfect, relaxing, and friendly. No bars pumping out music at all hours, no louts drinking themselves to death, and no scooters bombing about all night!!

The beach, reached by an easy 5 minute stroll, is great, although on windy days, the waves can get a little strong. A little seaweed, but that is not a problem - the water is beautifully clear.

A huge thumbs up to the El Greco taverna on the beachfront - the best kalimari I have ever had - and make sure you try the prawns - they are out of this world! And a HUGE thank you to everyone there for the surprise birthday cake for my partner - it helped complete a great birthday for him.

Also, the bar just nearby - I forget it's name - but the Shirley Valentines are wonderful and great for enjoying as you watch the world go by.

We hired a car for 3 days, to go and see a bit of the island - and would recommend that to anyone. We hired ours through the Rep, through Avis - as safety is paramount - and we were not disappointed - we even got an upgrade!! Anyhow - Kos Town and the Asklepion were spectacular. The water park near Mastihari is great for kids, big & small, alike. Would recommend Therma Springs and Camel Beach too, for visits - if you can face the suicidal drive down to both!! Otherwise walk down - worth the effort. This is where hiring a 4x4 is a bonus - we hadn't, so we just closed our eyes and went for it!!

I went to Kardamena about 8yrs ago, and hated it - this, in contrast, is wonderful. Idyllic, even. If you want pure relaxation, somewhere the kids will have a great time, and where you return home longing to go back again - then this is the place for you. The sunsets are amazing - and sitting watching the sun set as you look across the beach from your dinner table - it is pure magic! The stuff dreams are made of.

We WILL be going back in a couple of years!!!!
"

by  K Lamb
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Having just returned from two weeks...

"Having just returned from two weeks at the Luis Apts with my wife and two kids, I must say we had a wonderful stay. The rooms we're basic (as they are in Greece) but sufficient for sleeping in ! We would have liked a sofa bed in the lounge/kitchen area but apart from that we found our apartment fine. Nikos and co were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We found there to be plenty of places to eat and drink, we especially enjoyed a large beer or two at the Saloon bar each evening before going out to eat. We didn't eat a bad meal but really enjoyed eating at the Seaside restaurant - the food and people were fabulous. We visited Kalymnos on the ferry one day, which for us was very hectic as it was several degrees hotter and we also have a two year old who really needs her afternoon sleep !!! Unfortunately the ferries only run every few hours so we found it hard to keep ourselves amused. We would recommend Mastichari to anybody who wants a relaxed family holiday."

by L COUSENS
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

we stayed in the luis 1 apartment the...

"we stayed in the luis 1 apartment the view all round was breath taking

maid service 6 days a week

nichos could not do enough for us my partner has a gluten allergy and he went to his baker to have some gluten free bread made for louise. There is plenty of food to eat at the bbq and as much red or white wine as you wanted in the price. The local supermarket is only 2 mins walk down a gradual incline. Its only a 10 mins slow walk down in to the main area of the resort.

All of the tavernas are cheap but most give a really large portion of food so you can get away with only having a main course. The Local specials to try are Stuffed sweet pepper, pastihio, and there is a type of tapas called a pilikia (4 euros per person) the more people then the more courses you will get.

The area is quiet The main taverna that we liked as called el greco (very original) The island is a windy island but very hot. If going on trips then try going to kalymnos, and kos town and there is a nice ruin called the appelion worth a visit

we enjoyed the pace of life and relaxing atmosphere so much that we have alresdy booked to go back in sept 2009
"

by mightypheonix
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Luis Apartments Closest airport: Kos (KGS) 4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Luis Apartments photos (10 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Luis Apartments
  • by gilead

    " Kos town & El Greco for eats "

  • by evans family

    " Al Greco & Tasty Palace were our favourite restaurants "

Similar hotels around Mastihari

Hotels near Luis Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Luis Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Luis Apartments? Share your insight.