Sunbeam

hotel photo

Average Rating

9  / 10
(15 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
11
Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 9/10
Value: 9.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 9.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
email by Dianne F
9 / 10

has anyone got an email for the sunbeam in kardamena thanks

need to get in touch with the manager

good place to go going again this year they make you very welcome

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, booked with Manos
  • Advice: great stay
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Perfect location by granof9
8 / 10

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Sunbeam. Wonderful location at the quieter end of the resort.Andreas and his family were lovely hosts and made us feel very welcome.Beach literally on the doorstep or if preferred access to the pool at Kris Mari Hotel.

Just a couple of things I feel ought to be pointed out on the negative side. Firstly the stairs....we were in an apartment on the 2nd floor and found the spiralling staircase a little awkward to negotiate as I do have slight walking difficulties. The problem is that the handrail is on the narrowest side of the spiral so care had to be taken....also there was an issue with the first/last step on the second floor(depending whether going up or down)which was slightly higher than the rest so again needed added care.

Our appartment consisted of 2 bedrooms and a seperate kitchen area with table and chairs.Even had washing up liquid provided. Plenty of drawer space in the bedrooms as well as a large wardrobe. We had 2 balconies but sadly only the smaller one had a sea view.This balcony also had a white table and chairs and a clothes line for drying towels etc.

The plumbing leaked at every tap but that's an issue we could ignore without too much trouble.

The cleaner came in most days and was very friendly...however despite her best efforts she was unable to resolve the problem of ants which were in all the rooms EXCEPT the kitchen... we tended to just ignore them after a while.

Although we never saw a single mosquito during our stay both my hubby and I were badly bitten despite using repellants etc...however our grandsons came away unscathed.

Overall a happy holiday with just those few minor issues...certainly nothing to put me off making a return visit. Nothing nicer than drifting off to sleep to the sound of waves lapping the shore.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Perfect location close to bars and restaurants.
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

AMazing cant wait to go back!!! by jonesy_22
10 / 10

Just come back from 2 weeks staying at the sunbeam. Although must point out the pics are not correct. I am so sad to be home...Andreas & Co could not have been more welcoming, we got to know him and his family very well - they all can't do enough for you! everything is really cheap the safe is only 10 euros a week. Only hotel in Kardamena on the beach, and he's just won an award for best customer service in the whole of Kos - it's not wonder hes always booked up!!

Perfectly suitable to both families and people wanting to go clubbing

Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A fantastic hotel in Kos - we'll definitely be back! by Kos2011
10 / 10

We had a really fantastic time at the Sunbeam Hotel and the owner Andreas really made our week. He and his staff couldn't have been more helpful, offering local advice on busses to travel to Kos town as well as restaurants to eat in. The meal of the day cooked at the hotel was fantastic and extremely reasonably priced.

If you're looking for a great family owned and run hotel, literally on the beach, with a lively bar and restaurant, free sun beds and a simple but clean room, this is the place to go!

We would definitely go back to Sunbeam again.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Manos
  • Advice: Great food at the Hotel bar - make sure you eat there at least once!
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

freindly staff by marko and sharon
8 / 10

my husband and i have just returned from a 14 night stay at the sunbeam the views are stunning over looking the sea the apartment was ok but full mosqutos our holiday was made by andreas and his family so freindly and helpfull the happy hours were good and the food really nice we would definatly return just to see andres and his family again marko and sharon

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: great views acsses to beach
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing 2 weeks chillout by sammie2704
10 / 10

Me and my partner have just returned from a 2 week chilled out break from the sunbeam. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment even though they were only 2 of us so it was lovely and spacious. We had 2 balconies one which looked onto the beach and the resturants next door so a lovely view. The apartments were basic like most are in greece but it did have everything you need.

The apartments are right on the beach and you can use the sunbeds for free and we never had any trouble getting one even though we didnt usually come downstairs until after 11. Andrea's who owns the cafe downstairs makes you feel so welcome and is a lovely funny man, even though he owns the cafe you can ask him for advice on where else to eat and he will tell you all the good places, also about where to get good deals on trips and things like that (Also if you catch any fish in the sea he will happily cook them for you). The location is fantastic there are resturants next door a few we ate in and a few minutes walk there are some amazing resturants (Pelagos on the front, posidonia over the bridge past bar street and sun med opposite the cleopatera hotel are the best we found). There are nice quiet bars on the sea front and bar street if you like it lively too! The sea is fantastic and calm with most of it been sand.

If you are considering a self castering holiday in kardamena the sunbeam is the best choice for value and location would most definetly return!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Self catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Holiday Ever! by charlotte92
10 / 10

Ive just returned from a week staying in the sunbeam in kardamena and i really cant fault a thing. The people there are all lovely and will always help out if you need it! The appartments go straight onto the beach, which have a section of sunbeds which are free if you are customers of the sunbeam.There is no pool, but it really isnt needed with the sea that close, but all the hotels around allow you to use theirs if you aren't a fan of the beach. There is no aircon there, but with the breeze of the sea we really didnt need it. Bar street is about a 10 minute walk away with lots of restaurants on the way down, which are all really cheap :) I would definately return to the Sunbeam appartments again. The maid comes in every day to empty the rubbish and every other day to clean. It is perfect if you just need a place to stay after a heavy night drinking.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: It is such a good place to get away with the girls :)
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just returned from 2 weeks at Sunbeam by Jill
10 / 10

Have just spent a fantastic 2 weeks at the Sunbeam apartments. Perfectly situated next to beach. Far enough away from pubs and clubs but near enough to enjoy if you wish. Andreas the snack bar manager couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. The food in the snack bar was delicious and we ate there every lunch time, some breakfasts and even one evening when the football was on!!

There were plenty of people there that return year after year and I can see why. We will be back next year also.

I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Loved it! by Vicky.
10 / 10

Just got back off holiday, loved the hotel manager! he was amazing with all his guests, the rep was amazing too, rooms where cleaned 3 times while we where there but we only slept in the rooms so we wernt that bothered about that, perfect location on the beach, and very friendly family ran business, i would recommend this hotel to anyone that is wanting a great holiday in kardamena kos.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: go to the clubs!
  • Activities: captains, and the boat trip to turkey.
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

we want to go again by sue.robertson6
9 / 10

Our holiday at'The Sunbeam' was one of the best we have ever had!!!The location on the beach was perfect...The apartments although basic (as Greece always has been)was spacious and clean..If I had to pick any fault it would be that the 'bath' towels were a wee bit on the small side.when they were changed,twice in the week, the 2nd lot were larger and more comfortable.(I like to remain in my towel after my shower until I've put on my make up and done my hair)

My husband and I were made to feel very welcome by Andreas and his family,he could not do enough for us,and he was the same with all of the guests as far as we are aware.the food was good and i particularly loved the fresh fruit and greek yogurt which they prepared,it was good for the mornings when I didn't fancy a cooked breakfast,which were also nice.

Our flights were the only bugbear in the whole holiday,especially the return which was bad enough at 5.55am. Again as we weren't getting picked up by the reps until 2-45am,andreas ensured that he left us with some refreshments,which was really going that extra mile....All in all we cannot wait to book up for next year and hope that some airline other than Thomas Cook will be flying to Kos as the timings are just too tiring,especially as there was also a 2 and a half hour delay in our return flight.So Cheers Andreas,see you next year,love Jimmy and Sue xxx

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: something for everybody
  • Activities: pergalos,yianni, but they all served good food no matter where you ate
  • Good For: , City Breaks

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

cant fault it at all by hayleygeorge
8 / 10

We arrived at the sunbeam hotel late at night, room pretty basic but clean and tidy, rooms were cleaned twice in 1 week didnt think much of the cleaner would proberly re-think her job role bless her.

The location of the hotel was perfect no pool but litually a foot stop and you are on the beach so cant fault it at all. You could also use hotel up road which is very nice too.

The food there was nice and pretty resonable price, as for the manager he was great so nice sunbeam wouldnt be the same without his presence, we had a little trouble with our bank out there they decided 2 stop my card and manager bless him offered to lend cash i didnt accept but thought it was very sweet of him.

If I were to go to Kos again which i plan to again I would definitely go to sunbeam, but most definatily not book with thomas cook, plesae do not do any excusions with your hotel rep as they are double the price, other than that sunbeam great.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Such a nice place I really didnt wanna come home from there, plenty to do there.
  • Activities: done lots of extursions that was great, some really nice resturants such as Elles
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

For those of you who regularly visit... by P Keeble
9 / 10

For those of you who regularly visit the Costas you will get a bit of a shock when arriving at Sunbeam. The apartment for four us initially seemed small and very basic. However, as we found over the two weeks of our stay we only slept and got changed in there.

The rooms and facilities were clean and the cleaning staff visited on a daily basis. Oyr towels were chnaged three or four times during the two weeks.

The restaurant below was very good for breakfasts, snacks and lunches and for a beachfront location very reasonably priced. Andreas, the manager, was extremely friendly and made our stay very comfortable.

The Sunbeam has it's own small stretch of beach which we thought would be packed out but it wasn't and there was never any need to go down early to 'baggy' a bed. The sea was very clear and surrounding rock areas good for snorkelling.

Sunbeam is situated at the quiet end of the resort but nowhere is more than 5 - 10 minutes away. The beach front restaurants tended to be more expensive but there are some very good ones a little furthar of the beaten track, namely the Sun Mediterranean.

The Kris Marie hotel to the rear of Sunbeam allows the use of it's pool and sun loungers. Again, no need to 'baggy' a bed early there either.

All in all a very satisfactory first visit to Kos. We are already looking in to booking it again next year and will definately try to stay at the Sunbeam again.

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sunbeam? Share your insight.

Sunbeam also called

  • Sunbeam Apartments

Explore area

Map for Sunbeam Closest airport: Kos (KGS) 2.9 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Sunbeam
  • by sammie2704

    " Palagos resturant! "

Similar hotels around Kardamena

Hotels near Sunbeam

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sunbeam?