Paladim Apartments

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(43 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
22
Good
10
Average
5
Poor
2
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Paladim Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Great place to stay

"Lovely spotlessly clean apartments ,great location ,friendly helpful staff.These apartments are spacious and clean with air conditioning.Pool area a bit small but this is only a minor gripe as sun beds were readily available.Near Old town and Newton 15mins walk either way. Fabulous cafe with cakes and desserts that are scrumptious just down the road after the supermarket well worth a visit ( the Rivieria ) .All in all everything about the Paladim is top class will def. return."

by Clareman
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Early start.

"These apartments are spacious and made a great base for visiting both the old town and new town of Albufeira, I stayed there with my partner and 3 children, 1, 12 and 15. Although the entertainment is poor for the children they did enjoy "Jorges" karaoke evenings, he is a real nice guy and tries hard with everyone.

We had an enjoyable stay and met some lovely friendly people.

The paladim is not appropriate for people with walking difficulties, the pavements surrounding are very uneven and both the old town, new town and beaches are about a 15 minute walk, a taxi costs around 3/4 euros or you can get on the train outside for 2 euros, the supermarket is literally on your doorstep and sells everything possible it also has food courts, pizza hut, Burger king etc, KFC and Mc Ds are over the road, there are some very nice places to eat apart from junk food, Buddies, Bravo, The Diner to name but a few, these all in the Old Town, portions are large, staff friendly and prices good. Back to the apartments....The staff are friendly and helpful, the cleanliness around the communal areas is spot on, more than I can say for the apartments it's self, if the cleaners could get away with anything they would, towels were changed when you needed and were fluffy and white, but as for sweeping and mopping well that's another story, I did mention to the reception staff and it was seen to straight away, with apologies . One other major problem was the Early Start...selfish people reserving sun beds from as early as 7.30am and not using them unti at least lunch time, the staff would remove towels if this was observed, as I did myself, your allowed an hour to reserve, for lunch etc anything after this is selfish to other holiday makers. There were numerous complaints, on the day we were leaving, the good thing was they put out a number of new sun beds, the pool area needs updating and as read in other reviews the pool tiles need seeing too and fixing, it was cleaned every evening as we're the sun beds,

We hired an iron and ironing board with a refundable deposit also a hair dryer.

We enjoyed our stay...the real problem was sun bed reservations. Let's hope this is sorted for future holiday makers, this was the only real big let down,
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Jet 2
  • Advice: Don't be selfish in reserving sun beds for long periods of time, think about others.
  • Good For: Beach
by M n M
7 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotel overall

"my family and i have just returned from our holiday the hotel has just been taken over and the service and location is brilliant the rooms and amenities are wonderful and are going to get better all the staff were very friendly and helpful we were looked after very well and our stay went without a hitch dai from wales"

  • Holiday details: May 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by David W
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Decide for yourself.

"Just returned home from a self catering holiday at the Paladim Hotel, Albufeira. I would like to make my opinions available to anyone wanting to book a stay there, to hopefully give them an insight into what to expect.

Positive points :

1) Found the hotel employees very helpful and friendly.

2) The room had plenty of space & had air conditioning. The kitchen area had a fridge, toaster & microwave.

3) The room was clean.

4) The balcony was a good size.

5) The snacks in the bar were cooked to order by a dedicated chef and were very nice.

6) Excellent location. The new town (i.e. The Strip) was approximately 15 minutes walk to the right of the hotel, the old town was approximately 15 minutes walk to the left of the hotel.

7) The nearest supermarket was right next to the hotel.

Negative points :

1) The pool bottom had missing tiles in areas of both the shallow end & the deep end. These areas were rough & sharp if you happened to tread on them by accident (a few people suffered abrasions & minor cuts while we were there).

2) There weren't enough sunbeds.

3) The sunbeds they did have were quite old and not very comfortable.

4) There was no lifeguard at the pool.

5) The pool area was not cleaned every day and some mornings the bins were still full from the previous day.

6) The road in front of the hotel was extremely busy.

7) The balcony lights were turned off (by the hotel) at approximately 1.30 in the morning.

Hope this helps.
"

by The Grim Reaper
6 / 10

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Ideal for Families

"The Paladim. Good pool, pleasant sunbathing area. Rooms clean, good size & quiet at night (room overlooking pool better than overlooking roadside - sea view on third floor). Good size balcony. Location is fantastic (equi-distant) for Fishermans Beach, Old Town, Strip and close neighbouring beaches. Hotel snack bar very good value for money, good food (esp. full english breakfast at 5 euro including tea or coffee) & good service. Excellent Supermarket within 50 metres (eg. bottled water 37 cents / 5 litres, 33 cl bottled 4.8% beer 30 cents, 2 litre lemonade 89 cents, large baguettes 50 cents etc etc etc. Good Bar on corner immed. outside hotel. Hotel staff friendly. Entertainment limited but pool tables, TV's etc."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: Plenty of beaches, bars & space to relax
  • Good For: Beach
by john wayne
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

9 nights of hell

"The room we were given on arrival on Thursday (103) is right outside a 6 lane rounderbout this resulted in constant traffic noise from 6am to 3am the next morning . This resulted in us trying to sleep for 3 hours.-guess what no sleep at all!!!

Next morning Friday we went to reception to request another room but we were told they did not have any until possibly Saturday.

We asked the rep Emily if she could help– no luck there so

I asked to be moved up higher—no luck there

I asked to be moved to the rear-no luck there

The only thing she came up with was to move to another acomadation but that would cost us 500 euro Why should we be expected to pay twice for a holliday??

Friday night no sleep!!

If you go with THOMAS COOK this is the best you could hope for!!!

Saturday came and guess what—we were told no other rooms available but people were coming on standby holidays and getting better rooms than us who have booked 9 months in advance.

We have had to endure 9 nights of having next to no sleep-THIS IS NOT THE HOLLIDAY WE EXPECTED AND PAID FOR WITH OUR HARD EARNED MONEY.

We could not even use the balcony for the noise from the constant traffic!

Also-

Gardeners cutting hedges and the grass with petrol powered tools wile we were trying to catch up on some sleep on sunbeds.

Decoraters cloths on stairwells and they used a high reach machine that constantly beeped very loud.

The hotel should be a 2 STAR at the best.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, self catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Do not go!!!!!
  • Good For: Beach
by ant
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant

"Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Paladim apartments in the first week of march. The weather wasn't brilliant but we wasn't banking on it, so it wasnt much of a let down. - It was still weyy hotter than england.

We got the paladim apartments for a VERY reasonable price so were not expecting much from them either. We arrived at mid-day but were expecting to be refused check in until late afternoon as stated on the hotel policy, to our surprise they allocated to our room and were VERY friendly.

We were staying in a ground floor studio rather than apartment, it was very spacious and had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. Air conditioning was free and the kitchen and bathroom were fully equiped with everything you need (even a bottle opener, hurrah).

The only bad thing about the room was the beds, it was a sofa bed and not the comfiest. Nothing to put us off though.

Me and my boyfriend are very young so liked dining out, there were plenty of restaurant around, in the old town and the strip (which there is a tourist train to, operating all day- very useful). WE reccomend the mexican in the old town.

There is a HUGE supermarkeet right next door and directly opposite aswell as a mcdonalds, kfc, subway and pizza hut all on the same road.

We Loved this holiday and would urge anyone to book.

#unfortunately we didnt get to go in the pool because of the weather. There was a bar downstairs in the hotel were the drinks were ery reasonably priced, especially happy hour 1.50 a pint!! Lovely hotel, loely staff, lovely place.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: would love to go back in summer
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by sdsdsdsd
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Paladim Apartments

"The apartments are amazing. okay it was our 6th year hoilday and we weren't expecting alot but we thought we'd won the lottery. the place was VERY VERY clean and the pool was nice and was NEVER over crowded. the bar downstairs was extreamly cheap and the food was good for the days we couldnt walk the length of ourselfs. the surrounding area was also REALLY really handy with the supermarket across the road and local cafes also very cheap for food and drink we didnt have to go far to enjoy ourselves. however on nights out the local 'strip' was visible for the room and in definate walking distance (although there was next to no noise) and if walking aint your thing it was only about 2euros for a taxi. in the opposite direction was the old town also in walking distance but further than the strip this was full of authentic little bars and resturants, and the beach and could be accessed buy the local tourist train 3euors for the whole day! overall an amazing holiday and will definatly go again!!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2008, Self Catering, booked with Flyglobespan
  • Good For: Beach
by nataliet
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed in a studio over looking...

"We stayed in a studio over looking the pool. The hotel overall was nice and regulary cleaned. The bar was cheap and served nice snacks. Happy hour is from 13.00 till 17.00 and a pint is €1.50 which is fantastic. The only complaint I would have is the room. The studio's are over cluttered with furniture and the beds are sofa beds which are uncomfortable and squeak. Top tip 'the sofa bed that pulls out from underneath has legs'. You have to pay €10 Euro's as a deposit on a remote and €50 deposit for a safe plus €15 a week for use of it which I think is wrong. If I was to go back I would make sure I had an apartment as they are much nicer

Both the new town and old town are excellent. Places I would recommend to eat in the new town are The Yorkshire pub, St Mary's & the Celtic bar next door. The old town is lovely but some of the larger restaurants are over priced and charge you high prices for extra's such as bread. We found a strip of restaurants at the far side of the town behind The Funky Fish which are traditional and cheap.
"

by Wolstenholme
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Stayed at Paladim on 17 Aug 2008....

"Stayed at Paladim on 17 Aug 2008. Age group from 20 to 56. Had two One bedroom apartments on the front of the hotel. Yes the road is busy but it was fun watching the traffic. At night once the doors were shut we couldn't here a thing, so we had no problems and thought the rooms were better than the poolside as they are not overlooked. Rooms were clean and towels changed regularly and a well stocked kitchen. Prices for drinks etc were good in our hotel, my daughter was staying a few hotels away and hers was a nicer hotel but dearer to eat and drink in. The day we left and had to get up early we found out that the towels on the sunbed rules DID NOT apply and most beds had gone at 08:15 (no people just towels!). As we used the pool late afternoons we could always find a bed or two. The beach is nice but the sea is very cold. Had some great meals out down around the square and was very glad of the new escalators to get you back to the top of the cliff as it is still a long walk to the top of the main road where the hotel is. Got a taxi to the harbour 5 euros for a trip out on a speedboat to see the dolphins, brilliant time. Also went to Silvas and up the mountain to the highest point in Portugal. Booked both trips from a shop just off the square. we would all recommend the Paladim as a good base and would stay again."

by J Merrett
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Me and my friend just came back from...

"Me and my friend just came back from albufiera a couple of weeks ago. We had a fantastic time!! Paladim was brilliant, the room was really clean, the floors were washed everyday, and we also had clean towels and toilet roll everyday. We were lucky enough to have a family room so it was really spacious, it also had a really nice view of the pool ( number 004).The hotel staff were really nice. We went on the rep pub crawl which was in the strip, this was soo much fun!! really recommend it! Theres also some good shows on in the old town, and lots of entertainment! The strip is really good to especially matts bar!

This hotel is brilliant will be going again!!!!!!!
"

by Es Scott
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My Mum & Dad took me and my best...

"My Mum & Dad took me and my best mate to Portugal for 2 weeks and it was the best holiday of our lifes! The strip is much better than the old town and much more lively.. Matt's bar and Garage were our favourites.. The pool was nice and refreshing and Mcdonalds and KFC were over the road which was good.. The restaurants were good value and there was a nice Itallian restaurant down the strip.. Also we ended up in the kebab house one night! The beach was ok but the banana boat wasnt that good as it didnt throw us off.. It was a brilliant holiday and we wish we were going back! Would recommend to teenage girls aged 15-16 taking a mate on holiday! Reception dindt like us and the boys we met up with much though and there was an old man who didnt like us jumping in the pool in the night!!! Best holiday ever!!"

by aunders
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Paladim Apartments Closest airport: Faro (FAO) 15.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Paladim Apartments photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Paladim Apartments
  • by nataliet

    " the boat trip where they take you to a private beach for lunch! was worth every cent. "

  • by David Williams

    " if you want or need anything dont be afraid to ask they will give you all the help you need and more "

Similar hotels around Albufeira

Hotels near Paladim Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Paladim Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Paladim Apartments? Share your insight.

Paladim Apartments is also called:

  • paladim albufeira
  • paladim aparthotel albufeira
  • paladim aparthotel hotel albufeira

Address: Rua do Municipio Lote 1-5 A Apartado 2010, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal