Corona Roja Apartments

Avenida de Italia 6, Gran Canaria 35100, Spain
2.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(81 reviews)

Stayed at Corona Roja Apartments?

Share your opinion and write a review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
17
Good
22
Average
8
Poor
10
Awful
24

Rating by feature

Room: 5.5/10
Service: 6/10
Food: 4/10
Value: 6/10
Cleanliness: 6/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Corona Roja Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 4 57 »
Think twice before you book by Dissapointed
3 / 10

Arrived at this hotel with great expectations,within 24hours wanted to leave!will try and keep this as short as possible!don't accept a room on the 1st or 2nd floor,if you are at the back you have to zig zag through corridors,food was awful,no English breakfast at all,burgers,chips,hotdogs for the whole 7 days,every day.bar staff,especially Marcus,made you feel as if you were not entitled to a drink...eh,whats the point of paying in advance all inclusive.not allowed to take anything on to the terrace at lunchtime,list is endless,worst customer service I have ever had.Oh and no entertainment!

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

go and try for yourself by deadgood
9 / 10

stayed at this hotel for 1 week in may 2011.we booked a 2 bedroom appartment all inclusive.the room was clean and tidy if basic.. the view from balcony was fantastic.food was basic but always something you could eat,even for some fussy eaters with us.bar staff,excellent,very friendly.dont know what people are looking for,this is a budget hotel and that is why you pay cheap prices..been home two weeks and now going back for 10 days on 29 may.cant be that bad if im going back..vodka slush is fab!!also icecream all day for kids and adults..help yourself!!ps..head receptionist with blonde straight hair is the only member of staff who i would say lets them down..im sure she is a witch!!!

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: supermarket next door is reasonable for essencials
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Suprise.. by LxR..
8 / 10

After reading most reviews after i booked this hotel i was not looking forward to staying here. When my boyfriend and i arrived we were completely suprised. Staff were very helpful and cheery, the building seemed very clean and well kept. Once in our studio appartment the room was HUGE. Biggest studio i had ever stayed in. Maids came at good times and always rung the doorbell to see if we were in first. Maids were in 5 out of 7 days. Would definatly recommend this hotel!

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont even think about it by Scratch
1 / 10

By far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, My wife and her parents went there for xmas, we booked 2no 1 bed apartments and got studios [no balcony] the rooms are very small and very very poorly maintained,they operate only economy maid service, our towels were changed once in the week, room was cleaned twice, pool is very poorly maintained and has many broken and missing tiles most sun beds appeared to be broken, the best thing it has going for it is its location, very close to everything

We didnt let it ruin our break and just used the hotel for sleeping and had a great time

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: pick another hotel

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Accomodation so far! by Gazz
9 / 10

My forth time to Playa de ingles, by far the best self catering basic accomodation todate. Staff very friendly and helpful,very clean and regularly serviced rooms. fantastic location,very close to beach, bus station, and all nightlife facilities. will definatly want to stay here again. Well done Corona Roja, you are the best value accomodation and am very impressed!!

  • Holiday details: Nov 2010, Room Only, booked with locostholidays.com
  • Advice: Fantastic basic accomodation in a great location, will certainly stay here again!
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great, Cheap and cheerful (with children) by StaceyAKelly
9 / 10

Well we were at the Corona Roja from 15th - 22nd October. We were self catering and paid £175 for one week for 2 adults and 2 children through travelrepublic.

I had read all the reviews before I went and was to say the least a bit worried. We arrived about 5pm and were met at Reception by nice staff. A nice easy check in. Safey deposit box cost £13 euros for the week with a £10 euro deposit so about the norm. This hotel has 15 floors and we were placed on floor 7, I was a bit worried about this as it seems quite high, but when we got to the room it was lovely, the balcony was larger than average with a fantastic view to the front and side, we could see the Maspolomas Dunes it was lovely.

The room was really big, when we booked I had done a bit of research and noticed from photos I had seen that the two bedroomed apartments looked nicer so we paid the extra £20 odd quid for one and it was really big, with a huge lounge area, very big kitchen and two really nice bedrooms with plenty of room. The bathroom was also very nice and the apartment was clean and tidy.

The cleaners came in 5 days during our week (it says in the welcome pack that they have 2 days off in the week). The room was cleaned thoroughly, if you want clean towels put your dirty ones in the bath and she will replace them. Dont bother buying any washing up liquid because the cleaner even does the dishes!

We did think about upgrading but we made lots of friends who were all inclusive were going out of the hotel to eat as they said the food was very poor so we didnt bother.

The pool area is not the nicest we have ever had and the pool could do with some work as it was a bit worn but for the price we paid we certainly couldnt complain. There was an outdoor pool table and football table, a childrens pool and small childrens area. There was also a selection of birds in cages, a tennis and football pitch.

There are a couple of euro paying computers in reception and a couple in the bar which also have xboxes for the kids. There is also an indoor pool and another indoor pool table.

There was the odd cockroach about but only what can be expected.

Whilst the place was a little worn it was clean and tidy and if anyone did have any problems if they told someone it was sorted out straight away.

We didnt have a lock on our patio door when we first arrived and we went to reception to tell them about it, whilst they initially told us it was not necessary on floor 7 when we returned from a day out there was a shiny new one on the door :-)

We met lots of lovely people at the hotel and to be quite honest didnt want to come home. I would recommend this hotel for someone looking for a cheap self catering base if thats what your looking for, but if your looking for the Ritz then I am afraid you will have to pay a lot more.

There is a great bar just up the road called Cheers, we went there every day for breakfast, a nice full english including a cup of tea for 3 euros - bargain, next door to the cheers bar is a chinese all you can eat, we went there twice and really enjoyed that too.

The hotel is in a great location for the whole of Playa Del Ingles and all of the centres.

Finally, I was worried that this hotel may be a bit much for our children, but they absolutely loved their holiday and we struggled to get them out of the pool.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Bargain £175 for family of 4 one week with travel republic
  • Good For: Beach

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

better than expected by young oldies
7 / 10

I and my wife did not know what to expect after reading some reviews. On arrival we had a room by the pool which we found suffocating but on seeing the receptionist after a few minutes were transferred to a 1 bedroom apt. on 3rd floor that had a balcony [great] but not so great was the very noisy traffic day and nightt and the binmen at 4/5am emptying the 5 large bins. The food was varied and on the 1 night we complained about standard of food [rehashed left overs] the manageress was upset and apologetic. The rooms were always clean [daily] the cleaners always smiled and spoke and generally all hotel staff were very helpful. Only downside as we are both pensioners we did not realise that it was 18/30 hotel and on a few nights there were a few loud noises and daytime around the pool but that is what youngsters do and enjoy. All in all we had a very good time but perhaps not for the older people like me and the wife.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, half board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A Brilliant 18-30's Hotel!! by Healy_91
8 / 10

Ok, we've come to set the recored straight!

After reading these mixed reviews of the Corona Roja hotel, my friends (10x mixed boys and girls ages 19- 21) and i were all apprehensive about staying here and getting our value for money.

On arrival, we noticed the recpetion area was very clean, and the reception staff were very pleasant. We later found that these same reception staff helped us organise our safe for the week (Which costed 23 Euros, 10 of which was a refundable deposit) and also a 'late check- out', which meant we were moved to an unoccupied room, where we could leave our bags and have a shower, before our transfer coach came to pick us up 5 and a half hours later than the standard check otu time.

On our second night in Gran Canaria, we decided to eat at the Hotels restaurant. The menu didnt have a huge choice, but the food was to a good standard, and very reasonably priced.

Our hotel rooms were all spotlessly clean. The maids came round every other day. They would wash up anything that we may have left in the sink, would change the towels over, make our beds and wash all the floors. We stayed for a week, and had our bedsheets changed twice.

As for the complaints that we had read about the pool- it was fine! There were a few tiles that needed replacing, other than that, there was nothing wrong with it. The pool area is huge, and there are always free sunbeds. The pool bar serves food and drink all day (including an all day breakfast!) and plays music throughout the day.

We found this hotel to be great value for money and cant understand what all the moaning was about.

We saw that people had complained about cockroaches and doors that wouldnt close. We didnt experience either! Not a cockroach in sight!

Also, the location was brillaint. Just a 5 minute walk to the beach and local restaurants. Or a 15 minute walk (or 5 minute taxi ride, costing no more than 3 Euros in total!) to the centre of the town where all the clubs are.. REALLY RECOMMEND 'CRAZY BUDDHA'!!!

The only negative we did find with the hotel was the noise pollution of buses and taxis (beeping their horns at all hours) and people coming in/ going out at all hours. But at an 18-30 hotel, what more can you expect?!

We hope this review has helped you decide whether to choose the Corona Roja or not, but we all would definitely recommend it!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

26 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very nice hotel by welshgirls
7 / 10

Me and my friends were a bit worried about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews, but we were all very suprised when we arrived. we had our own little appartment away from the hotel but near the pool very nice as we didnt hear any noise at all. The room was very spacious and clean although the cleaners did not come every day but it did not make a huge different to use. The staff were very friendly. I would go back again as the hotel is situated in a godd place not far from the beach or any main bars.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

not great! good location! by melly
2 / 10

we knew it was an 18-30 but we only booked cause it was cheap! and after reading reviews we were so worried, well we were rite to be we had a room on 2nd floor and we thought we were in luck it was clean and very spacious with a nice big terrace how wrong were we the noise was a nightmare people screaming till all hours in the morning we were ages between 20-24 and it even annoyed us! we had plenty cochroaches, the curtain rail fell from the ceiling so we told the girl at reception and she got it fixed staright away. people from up above threw food down on the terraces so we had ants! maids cleard it all up though we had no complaints with them they were in everyday and were very nice!! we had a flood in the room from the room up above and a man came in with a mop and bucket..the room was like a swimming pool so we got changed rooms into a nice room with no terrace or balcony but it had a nice view and it was clean! the girl at reception was so lovely she done alot for us and got everything sorted! i would not recommend this hotel but if your staying here anything above 2nd floor should be okay! the hotel itself wasnt bad the pool was okay but its well worth walking 5mins to the beach. we didint let it spoil our holiday though we just stayed out all the time there was plenty to do lots of shops and pubs lovely beach 5mins away!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: 2nd floor is a nightmare!
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good accommodation.....no complaints!!!! by Miji
10 / 10

After reading some of the reviews about this hotel my friends & I were not looking forward to our stay here. Once we arrived.....we hadn't a clue what all the bad reviews were about!?!? Okay...the hotel wasn't the most modern, but, for five 18 year olds who only slept & ate in our appartment, we had no complaints at all. The food & pool were good & the staff were friendly, even after we caused havoc playing practical jokes on our neighbours!!!! As for the cockroaches that everyone was complaining about....its a hot country....you should expect to find a few creapy crawlies lurking about!!!! we only found one the whole eight days we were there & decided to adopt it, call it George & it didn't bother us at all!!!! all in all, we had a good stay & don't regret booking here at all.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Loved Gran Can - would deffinately go again.
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont go All Inclusive! by Couple35&40
2 / 10

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights all inclusive. The room was clean enough. We asked for a 1 bedroom appt and got a studio. No balcony. The choice of food was very poor. Breakfast was good, but lunch was same 5 choices (good if you like pizza or burger everyday). Dinner was liver 2 nights although a nice treat of mussels 1 night. Salad was poor selection. There was a distinct lack of fresh fruit for the whole holiday. The bar drinks were ok. The entertainment was 1 male singer for 2 hours over dinner one night. I was glad not to be on the ground floor appartments as I saw 3 cockroaches in the downstairs outside toilet. The reception staff were friendly enough. On occasion we noticed that you got better treatment if you paid at the table or bar than if you had pre-paid on all inclusive. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - but if you must stay - I would suggest you go self catering!

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Teletext
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 1 2 3 4 57 »
Stayed at Corona Roja Apartments? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Corona Roja Apartments Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 15.8 miles

Similar hotels around Playa Del Ingles

Hotels near Corona Roja Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Corona Roja Apartments?