Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(88 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
45
Good
25
Average
11
Poor
5
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
Barcelo Magarita Hotel

"My family and I (me, my husband and a 3 year old have )just returned from a 1 week holiday. We enjoyed our stay.

It is good value for money, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Our room was excellent with a pool view . There was even an additional play area with pool for little ones.

there was also a good basic gym.

Rooms are cleaned every day, to a high standard. There is nothing staff will not do take make your stay better within reason of course.

My daughter loved the children's disco every night.

My husband celebrated his birthday on holiday and was very kindly sent a bottle of Cava and a birthday cake by the management, this made his birthday!

I do not have many dislikes but

I have one gripe and that is WiFi connection was not that good. Connection we found to be better outside, but

this could be different for everyone.

Make sure you arrive at a good time for breakfast and dinner as you may have to wait for a free table during busier times . If you go early there is more choice of food( popular foods may not last long, pancakes are very

popular) and you get a table sooner,

but staff work quickly.

We visited August 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel and planned to visit again.

The hotel is centrally located, we were half board, this was ok for my husband and me but we brought our daughter lunch daily , we were quite prepared to do this. From half board to fully inclusive was 15 euros per person per day, because we were not full board we were able to visit other key attractions. My 3 year old loved Holiday world, a fun fair with a bowling alley, for children. The hotel has a free bus to local beaches: Playa dela Igles and Masapalomas, hotel staff are happy to help with a bus timetable.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: visit the beach
  • Good For: Beach
by lynda Wills
7 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Our stay in barcelo las margaritas hotel

"Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for one week the service was first class the food was second to none different choice every night and very tasty also good selection of snacks if all inclusive the rooms were spacious and cleaned daily beds comfortable staff would go out of their way to make sure you were ok two swimming pools one for activities and one for relaxation the hotel is very child friendly with activities throughout the day five minutes walk to yumbo centre were you had plenty of entertainment if you fancied a change from the hotel a free bus to beach ran regularly took five minutes and a three minute walk from hotel to British bars one we visited was kims bar which had sky tv so my hubby was pleased with the football and very cheap beer all in all we would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be re -booking"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Enjoy hotel and all surrounding areas
  • Good For: Beach
by Gaynor P
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Enjoyed the Margaritas

"We have just come back from the Margaritas and found it a pleasant stay. As always when you read reviews before you go, they can always be off putting but we have found over the years to ignore them. The room was newly refurbished although it was strange not to have any drawers or a table in the room and on the balcony. We had a nice new seat and foot rest on the balcony, but had to put our cups of coffee on the floor. The rooms were nice but a little bit more thought could have been put into the design of them. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable but a did miss having a bath. The food was good and there was a variety although it was a busy week and it was sometimes hard to find a clean table but the staff worked very hard and more than likely caused by the lack of staff and not their work. All staff were helpful and the entertainment team tried very hard although we would have liked to have seen some professional acts in the evening rather than just the once. There was a free courtesy bus and was well used. It is walkable to the beach but not for those who aren't as active. The sand dunes were well worth a visit as was the MHT (Music Hall Tavern) but definitely not if you are offended by drag Queens, excellent show if you like that kind of thing. Lifts weren't always working but we were never in a rush. Plastic cups were used but then the entertainment was outside by the pool so it made sense. Overall a very good holiday, I would stay there again but would not consider the hotel a 4* more a 3.5*"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: To the hotel I would suggest a few more staff in the restaraunt
by JulesG
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We loved it!!

"Me and 5 other girls aged 18 came to Gran Canaria from the 28th July to the 4th of August! We loved every minute of it, the hotel was lovely and clean, most of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was gorgeous. The pool is lovely, the entertainment is good for children and keeps you occupied during the day. We came with Thomas Cook who were also very good, they told us the best places to go at night and what to do while we were here. I couldn't recommend this holiday enough!! We met so many different people and it is a great holiday for all age ranges. If you do go to Gran Canaria make sure you take a visit to the Jumbo Centre at night and see a drag show... amazing! We truely can not wait to go back :)"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Jumbo Centre at night and Kasbah
  • Good For: Beach
by Birdy
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

carryon barcelo

"nice hotel, but one of the head bar men jose continualy harrassed our wifes with sexual comments making it impossible to have a relaxing drink at the bar. unless you want to be in an old carryon movie avoid this man.apart from this one barman the other staff and the hotel were fine."

  • Holiday details: Nov 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont take your wife to the bar
  • Good For: Beach
by tg
5 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best time ever

"Me and 4 other girls aged 18 - 24 stayed at the Barcelo las margaritas from the 11-18th of july 2011.I was brilliant, the place was very clean, the rooms were really roomy. We had the best holiday ever and would definatly return, we meet loads of people are age which we spend alot of are time with. Sometimes some of the food is a bit boring but there is loads to choose from. We spent most of are time around the quiter pool where the was not sany entertainment, but that suited use fine because the sun stayed on the pool all day.The entertainment was not excellant but we only use to watch it before we went out for the all inclusive drinks. Definatly return and loved this holiday and hotel so much!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by Emily !
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not 4 Star Entertainment!!

"The Hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. Clean towels every day and room cleaned to a good standard.

We stayed in the Suites which are situated by the top swimming pool away from the lower pool which was nosey and very crowded.

The food was ok but very repetitive. Drinks were self service which was good but beware of foreign people who are unable to queue or say excuse me!!

The entertainment was appalling and that is been polite!

Every night at 8pm the kids disco started and went on for the rest of the night. As far as we are concerned there was no Adult entertainment offered. We had to fight for a seat every night as not enough seating offered. If we were lucky to get a seat then we were subjected to the Same kids songs every night!

The lovely bar pictured in the brochure is NOT open in the height of summer as quoted but only open in winter. Therefore there was no where else to sit other than on white plastic chairs listening to kids songs.

I have 2 children but even they were annoyed by the constant songs over and over again.

If you didnt want to listen then there was no where else to GO!!

This is our only gripe as the hotel and the surrounding area is lovely and there is plenty to do, its just if you are all inclusive you are stuck with nothing on a night unless you spend money elswhere.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by Chichi wa wa wa
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Much better than expected

"This holiday was booked on the recommendation of our travel agent. However after reading many poor reviews I must admit I thought I had made a mistake. Worry not, the hotel lived up to and in some areas exceeded our expectations.

Check In - a little slow but nothing to complain about.

Room - Spacious and clean (we did have a family room so can't comment on normal rooms for a couple. Cleaned daily and fresh towels if required.

Facilities - Two pools, the one situated up the spiral stairs is better as games take place on the downstairs pool nearby to restaurant.

Location - A few minutes walk takes you to a few nearby bars and shops. The Yumbo Centre is about 10 mins walk or a cheap taxi ride away. Make use of the free shuttle bus if you are a beach person or just fancy a look out.

Entertainment - Yes there is a mini disco with the same songs every night but you can avoid this if travelling with no kids. The animation team did a fab job (please take note of how 'Jonnie' can move his hips). Try and catch the Love Show and Mr Barcelo if you can - won't spoil if for you but the Love Show is not your usual 'Mr & Mrs'.

Food - Like every All Inc hotel the food can become a little boring but we never starved. The chinese theme evening was very good. Snacks are available through the day which means that you don't need to dry off and dress to visit the restaurant for lunch.

Drink - Self service, can only comment on the lager and vodka - both good. Never tried any of the All Inc cocktails but plenty of people were.

Summary - would go back to this hotel again and our 6 year old daughter didn't even want to come home with us.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Make use of the free shuttle bus for visits to the beach
by I Must Top Up My Tan
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant!

"I stayed at the Las Margaritas 11th-18th July 2011. After reading many reviews on here i was a little worried - but pleasantly suprised once i arrived (I am unsure as to whether some on the reviewers on this page are commenting on the correct hotel?!). I went with my boyfriend and as we are both 18, after reading some of the reviews we feared we would be surrounded by older people! As it happens, there was a diverse range of age groups staying in the hotel: families, young couples, old couples, groups of young people.

Rooms: We were all inclusive so were in the main hotel block on the third floor, with a balcony facing the pool (as is the case for all rooms i believe). There were 2 single beds joined together, which wasn't a huge problem. The room and ensuite were both clean, plenty of storage space and a hairdryer which although not the most powerful, works perfectly well (plus with the heat of the country it doesn't take long for hair to dry naturally!). Our room was cleaned every day (apart from one day, after we stayed in bed after a wild night out to be awoken by the maid at 1pm!). Overall, no problems with the room.

Food: As all inclusive, we had a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was lovely, everyday there was pasta with a choice of sauces, pizza, fresh cooked meats, salad, vegetables, chips, potatoes, casseroles, meats in gravy. One night there was a huge joint of roast pork which the cook freshly carved for you, that was lovely. At breakfast there was sausages, eggs, bacon, wedges, cereal, fruits, yoghurt, pastries etc. We often skipped the buffet lunch and had lunch in the snackbar, where you could help yourself to burgers, hotdogs, chips, chicken nuggests, toasties and ice cream. Drinks were self service aswell, just beware of the mad rush at 10.55 to get a last drink before all inclusive finished at 11pm!

Entertainment: As a young couple, we found the entertainment at the hotel rather boring but we played pool most nights and visited bars in the Kasbah centre. Although we did have a laugh at the Miss Barcelo competition, where a 60 yr old German woman had to perform a rather provocative dance for a man, very amusing! However, due to the amount of differant nationalities at the hotel, the entertainment staff had to repreat everything in 4 differant languages each time they spoke, which was rather hard to follow and got tiring, although it is understandable. We also went to see a dragshow at the Yumbo centre one night which was quite an experiance!

Pool: We tended to use the pool by the apartment block as it was quieter, due to the day time activities at the other pool, such as water polo and water aerobics. You have to get down early though as it is impossible to find a sunbed after 10.30am.

Overall, we had a lovely stay and the Las Margaritas hotel and would definately reccommend!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by georgie-x
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Holiday

"Just came back from a week at this Hotel we were all Inclusive it was my 60th birthday out there had a bottle of champagne from the Hotel Manager on my birthday delivered to the room with 2 glasses nice stuff to :) anyway the Hotel is clean the food is great just to much to choose from and you help yourself to any drink you want we were on the 5th floor looking down on the Mail hotel pool this pool does not have a lot of sun as it is in a dip but if you go up to the top pool there you get the sun all day the entertainment is not that good but thats the way it goes we would go back to this hotel we went with Thomas Cook"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Nice quiet Hotel for a relaxing holiday with loads of bars and places to eat close by
by margamboy
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Pleasant surprise

"My wife and I have just returned from a two-week stay. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accomodation and food for such a reasonable price.We are both pensioners but the highlight of the holiday was the children's entertainment, it was first class, the young lady in charge of the youngsters was superb.The friendliness of all the staff and the cleanliness was first class! We will certainly return next year and we reccomend it to anyone."

by johnjanrudd
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

enjoyable holiday

"althouth it wasnt like what we got sold- we got told it would be suitable for 2 19yr old girls, full of young lively people, plenty of entertainment when we arrived it seemed the majority of people were over the age of 50 we still managed to have a great holiday thanks to the people we met and the entertainment staff.

we arrived on mon 6th dec and was pleasently supprised with the rooms and hotel itself. the first problem we found was that when we went down for dinner dressed in a skirt vest top and heels we constantly got stared at and felt very uncomfortable even the staff at the hotel were making pervy comments and staring- not a great start to the holiday.

we booked to go to the aqualand and on the supercat boat trip- the supercat got cancelled due to the seas being very rough. aqualand was not worth the 25 euros we payed- not very many slides and lots of hidden costs -6.95 for a locker and 3.25 for sunbeds

the entertainment at the hotel was very good the entertainers made an effort with everyone no matter what country they were from. when the ents team did shows these were the highlights of my night but when they brought outside acts in it was rubbish.

our rep from thomas cook russell was very helpfull and friendly so a big well done to thomas cook for hiring him.

food was adequate good choices the only downside is the drinks finish at 11pm

overall a very enjoyable holiday -a big thanks to miky and sosa from the ramirez job company for making the entertainment great
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: very spanish orientated and not very close to the beach
by redcoat jess
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Explore area

Map for Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 16.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel
  • by lebigmec

    " Great resort if you're Gay. "

  • by Lisa1974

    " VIP Island Tour - full day touring the island and mountains with Gary and crew. Well recommended. "

  • by georgie-x

    " If you travel with Thomas Cook: book the 'Canarian Combo' trip. It's 69 euros, but during the day you go on a jeep safari (which includes a rather bumpy and exhilerating off-road trip), camel ride and boat trip to see wild dolphins. "

Similar hotels around Playa Del Ingles

Hotels near Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel? Share your insight.

Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel is also called:

  • barcelo hotel las margaritas
  • barcelo las margaritas
  • barcelo margaritas
  • barcelo playa del ingles

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 38-40, Gran Canaria 35100, Spain