Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Stayed at Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel?

Share your opinion.

Write a review

Average Rating

8  / 10
(88 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
45
Good
25
Average
11
Poor
5
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 48 »
First class hotel cant wait to go again

"Arrived at the hotel on the 2nd August till the 13th 6 adults 1 child booking in was so easy we were booked in and were out on the town in 30mins rooms were spotless cleaned every day new sheets on beds every day staff were very helpfull cant wait to go again . we went selfcatering well worth the money i dont know how people can fault this hotel i suppose they just dont enjoy themselves and just like to moan ."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with on the beach
  • Advice: It a lovely place to stay 10/10
  • Good For: Beach
by joeluton
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

=)

"just got back from holiday yesterday and had a lovely time. I was unsure of what to expect from the hotel due to some poor reviews i read on hear, however i was pleasantly suprised. On arrival we were very quickly checked into our room which was on the 3rd floor. Room was spacious and very tidy with a lovely balcony with views onto the swimming pool. Comfty beds, air coniditioned and very clean.

The food was lovely and we had lots to choose from, however after the 4th day we realised that they were pretty much serving the same dishes every night so towards the end of the holiday this got very repetative and we couldnt wait to get back home to some proper food! Still, resteraunt was clean and tidy and wasnt the mad rush to get food that i had imagined.

Pools were nice and kept clean but we found ourselves catching the free shuttle bus to the beach of playa del ingles pretty much every day as it was a beautiful beach and had a lovely warm sea.

The evening entertainment started of with the 'mini disco' and kiddies club which only lasted for about an hour or so so wasnt too painful. Then they had acrobatcic shows, snake shows, miss barcelo and other entertainment throughout our stay which we thouroughly enjoyed! I really rate the entertainment and myself and my boyfriend always had a laugh in the evenings watching whatever was going on.

Now the bad points ( there are only a few) ..

Food was extremely repetative.

You have to pay for your drinks after 11.

mainly dutch and german familys.

And that's it! apart from that we really enjoyed our holiday hear and were sad to leave. We have some great memories of the holiday and the hotel and would rate this as a good place to stay.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Media Travel
  • Advice: Loved Gran Canaria!
  • Good For: Beach
by Georgiee27
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely Holiday and have already recommended this hotel

"I have just got back from my holiday and had a very nice time. There were initial teething problem on arrival. This was swiftly rectified and reception apologetic. Food was lovely and plenty of choice available. Entertainment was good, although this would be suited to families. Hotel very clean and staff friendly. Pool was inviting and plenty of sun loungers available. Entertainments staff were very entertaining and active throughout the day ensuring people looking for something to do were kept busy. A good mix of diffrent nationalities were boarding at the hotel. Drinks are reasonable at the bar. My daughter loved the kids club and missing new friend she met. There was also a free hotel bus to take you to various local places."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, half board, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach
by Pat
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant time at las margaritas

"We have just returned from a week all inclusive at the barcelo las margaritas...now where do i start...arrived at the hotel on Monday 29th March at 2.45p.m...we were given our wrist bands and told to go and have a meal before restaurant closed at 3.00p.m. Very good first impression...then we went to book in and we were given room 116...this room didnt appeal to us so we asked for another room and with no quibble were given room 707 overlooking the pool..EXCELLENT...the room was comfortable perhaps needed a lick of paint..the pool area was very busy but staff coped very well..we sunbathed on the next level up from the pool..now the food..we havent been all inclusive before but found this to be an excellent choice.. the food in the restaurant was of a very high standard...we had no complaints there we could help ourselves to ice cream, cakes,cold or hot drinks from beside the pool...the entertainment from the staff in the evening didnt appeal to us but we would go for a drink to a bar called The Windmill just a ten minute walk from the hotel...so overall our holiday was perfect.. so we would highly recommend this hotel..we are looking into going to this hotel again in September.."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: go and look at this hotel for yourself
by beth and dreja
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Holiday at Barcelo Margarite in Gran Canaria

"We went all inclusive at this hotel last year in August and we had a fabulous time, our daughter enjoyed the first choice kids club, which was avaliable to us at an small extra fee per session, even though we did not travel with first choice. The hotel kids club was fine but we found that a lot of spanish children used that club and our daughter does not speak spanish and the spanish kids did not speak english so discovering that we could use the first choice english speaking club was just great and Nicole made some holiday friends which worked out wonderful for us all. The entertainment was first class, did not need to leave the hotel at all, food was fantastic. We would highly reccommend this hotel."

  • Holiday details: Feb 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: yes
by The Stewarts
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just returned-and want to go back!

"We have just returned from our 2nd holiday in this hotel (11 years apart). The staff who greeted us in the early hours on our arrival (Ricardo) were fab, particularly with our children aged 6 and 8. The rooms although minimal, were always clean and tidy. Fresh towels were brought to us as required. The food was good and fresh - just a little repetative at times. Catering and waiting staff were always friendly and helpful and took great care with our children. Plenty of sun loungers and a lovely main pool. The only thing that I can find to complain about is the toilets outside the restaurant. They were a little smelly and unkempt - maybe because there weren't enough of them? (2 in the ladies and 2 toilets and urinals in the mens). Not many English people were in the hotel, mainly Spanish and Dutch but then again if we had wanted people who could speak English all the time, we would have stayed in England!!!! We had a lovely day out in the mountains on a tour - well recommended if you want to see the "real" Gran Canaria. Mainly we stayed by the pool and relaxed. Entertainment was a let down on one of the nights but thoroughly enjoyable the rest of the time. I understand that this hotel is undergoing a refurb next year. Will definitely go back again."

  • Holiday details: May 2009, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
by Lisa1974
10 / 10

26 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We had a great time!

"Reading through all the negative comments about very minimilistic things, myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Barcelo Margaritas for one week 2nd - 9th May. On arrival around 9pm after a long day we were greeted very warmly by reception and told to leave our bags and get ourselves down to the dinner hall as they were still serving dinner, it was a very good start, we did think somethings bound to go wrong.

On arrival to our bedroom, we couldn't have been any happier, we stayed in room 216 which overlooked the pool and got the sun all day long, it was very clean and we had no complaints - even if the tv stations weren't up to much! We actually had 2 hairy nights when we made a total mess of the room and when arriving back after breakfast, to our amazement it was all cleaned! New towels and sheets were provided every night, we couldn't have asked for more!

The entertainment was only good on a couple of occasions but if you watch light heartidly then you aren't dissapointed. Most of the week we had dinner and had a bottle of wine on the balcony then headed down to see the show then went to their basement disco. I think at full capacity the disco would be much better, but we had a fabby time dancing to ourselves with the bar all to ourselves! The buffet breakfast and dinner can be a bit repeatative but is all freshly cooked.

The poolsides are really clean and pool is refreshingly cool!

The beach is quite a distance but there is a free bus from the hotel which takes 5/10 minutes.

We did, however go on the gay pride week and were quite worried about how busy it would be, but we had the most fun night of the whole week when we ventured down to the Yumbo Centre. We would recommend having a steak in the Steak House (is in red lights).

All in all we have a fantastic time - could be as chilled as you wanted or as mad as you wanted if you were to venture out.

The beach at Maspalomas was great fun as the waves were huge, and be careful of walking along to the nudist beach. Playa De Ingles beach has loads of resturants and shops but would recommend going to both. The sand dunes separate the two of them and what a wonderful sight they are!

The only downfall I would say is that the hotel was taken over by Spanish people as it was their school holidays and alot were over from mainland Spain.... a few were very rude but most were all pleasant enough.

Can't think of anything else to say - but I'd recommend this resort.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Half Board, booked with Through Teletext
  • Advice: Go and experience it - don
  • Activities: Aqualand / Sand Dunes / Beach
  • Good For: Beach
by Mel Hameed
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Barceló Margaritas - The Truth

"Barceló Margaritas

My boyfriend & I stayed here under half board (so breakfast & dinner were included but not lunch) for a week. It was a major emotional rollercoaster, of ups, downs and mediocrity I must admit.

The first day we arrived we threw our belongings down so as to explore, and placed a do not disturb sign on the door.

When we returned we found that one of the staff had helped themselves to 40euros (20 from each of our wallets) this was infuriating since even with travel insurance the hotel and the Thomas Cook reps were extremely unhelpful & unremorseful.

The rest of the review I will put in bullet points:

..: The Good :..

O The weather is great in March

O There are two outdoor pools

O There are plenty of sun loungers

O Reception staff are well mannered

O The decor of the hotel is lovely

..: The Bad :..

O There is little to do after 6:00pm as the pool is closed & the shows are not for everyone

O The catering staff are (for lack of a better word) annoying

O The rooms have no ceiling light so it can get very dim at night

O No English television apart from 2 news channels

O There is no security, so anyone can enter into the hotel (our money was stolen on the first day)

O No entertainment

O Uncomfortable beds

O Cockroaches in the rooms

O Toilet is smelly & seems unhygienic because of this

O The room is blandly decorated

O The room service is poor, as the service takes so long you might as well leave the room and fetch whatever it is yourself

O The staff do not really speak English, so asking for things is usually unsuccessful

O Everything is very expensive... €2 for a tiny bottle of coca-cola...

O The food is of very poor quality; warm (never hot) bland; and very repetitive

O The Bath/Shower was appalling; the tub had ground in dirt and the showerhead was coming off of the wall

O An iron we paid €22 for blew the fuse in the room, and we had to sit in darkness for 30minutes before a technician came to fix it. They didn’t replace the iron or refund our money!

O The towels that were being replaced were dirty & old looking, also the bathroom facilities were the bare minimum.

In brief: I would NOT go here again, and if you want entertainment/clubs/fun - avoid this... definitely not worth the 4* rating.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Not ideal for young couples
  • Good For: Beach
by Marzi_Pann
3 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic !!!

"My family and i stayed at the Barcelo las Margaritas last easter. The hotel was fantasticly well kept and the furnishings in the reception area were fab(computers and playstations so great for the kids).

We arrived in the hotel (that was clearly a great part of Playa Del Ingles) and we were very impressed by the layout and the lucid staff that were extremely helpful and granted to our questions and personal requirments. We checked in and at no time at all we were in our rooms however the room that we required ( for four occupants) had only three beds (which we were quite annoyed about as it was the middle of the night!)

The next day we experienced the fantastic canarian sunshine which was very hot and also the brilliant and unique bar, restaurant and pools. There was a well-equipped gym, both pool and snooker tables, 2 big pools and a couple smaller ones (preferably for babies and children), kids club that hosted many family orrientated activities, big sand pit for football and darts,etc, two bars that had very friendly staff, both serving food/snacks (burgers,chips), a great range of entertainment both in the evening and throughout the day, there was a briliant shop that sold souveniers etc and fantastic beauty and nail place where i had a great manicure!

The resort hosted a range of things, both night-life and bars, etc for famillies. The restaurants were great(although we didn't ever eat at one as we were half-board)

Overall, me and my family experienced a great family holiday and the weather was constantly positive throughout the week that i stayed there. I would reommend it to anyone !
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2008, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Bethannii123
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Beware

"Booked a week H/B in march this year. Superb Hotel, very clean & no problem getting clean towels every day.Food excellant value. Now comes the BEWARE part.

Hotel had 90% German bookings, OK if you dont wish to talk any English or meet English people. Also stated that there was sat TV in every room. YES there was sat TV but the only programmes were either Spanish (No complaint there as its their country) and loads of GERMAN programmes. Only English was Sky News & BBC News which repeated every 15 minutes.

In regard to the resort, very nice but again they mainly caterred for Germans with again German TV. I did find an English Pub though after two days of looking.

So if you dont mind these points then you should enjoy the holiday
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Half Board, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: See above comments
  • Activities: Maspalinos
  • Good For: Beach
by nilnek
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

GREAT HOLIDAY!

"GREAT POINTS!Great holiday, lovely apartment, great food, good entertainment for children, very nice hotel, felt very warm and friendly pool area was lovely and going all inclusive was the best thing we did.  Staff were very good! ANY PROBLEMS WE HAD AT THE START OF OUR HOLIDAY WERE RECTIFIED STRAIGHT AWAY!  FEW TEETHING PROBLEMS!We arrived 2am 6 of us in total with a 2 year old and a 5 year old so we were all pretty tired.  When we got to our rooms we went into what we thought was our room but someone was sleeping in the bed so we crept out very quickly! slightly confused? then realised that it was the wrong room but our security card still worked in the door?  The other family we were with went into there room to find that it had not been cleaned. We finally found our room but no cot? even though we had requested one.  We finally settled down for the night dissappointed about the view from the balcony and the confusing start to the holiday. We got up and started our holiday by explaining our problems to the reception, they rectified the problems straight away and gave us the room for an extra day as we had a late check out! WE WOULD GO BACK AGAIN!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2007, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: GREAT IF YOU ARE GAY! LOVELY BEACHES!
  • Activities: WE WERE HAPPY TO STAY AROUND THE HOTEL AS TOO HOT TO GO SIGHT SEEING WITH A 2 YEAR OLD!
  • Good For: Beach
by CLAREg
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel

"We have just returned from one week in this complex. I honestly couldn't fault a single thing about it. The staff were excellent & always very friendly. The rooms are well equipped & very clean. The facilities are great. All in all, I would totally recommend this place & we would definitely stay here agin without a second's hesitation."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2008, Self Catering, booked with First Choice
  • Activities: El Toro Grill is great, in The Yumbo Centre.
  • Good For: Beach
by lebigmec
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 1 2 3 48 »

Explore area

Map for Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 16.8 miles

Similar hotels around Playa Del Ingles

Hotels near Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel?

Stayed at Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel? Share your insight.