Residence Pins Platja

2.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(16 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
2
Good
5
Average
4
Poor
1
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 6/10
Food: 5.5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Residence Pins Platja

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
disappointed

"just returned from a mini break at this hotel. location was good we stayed in the block directly facing the beach, lovely veiw even when the weather was not good. The room was of a good size and quite comfortable, however was quite disappointed when we arrived noone there to greet us we was not told that the hotel was closed it was the end of the season. we arrived at 9am in the morning and we had to phone a number for a care taker who could not speak english very well, anything we asked him he was not helpful at all. nothing was open in the complex and never seen anybody else staying there. I was really disapointed that we was not informed of this when we booked the hotel. would go to the resort again but not to this hotel."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, booked with on the beach
  • Advice: do not go in october
  • Good For: Beach
by donna parkinson
5 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

ok

"we have just arrived back from the pins platja and cannot fault the room the pool the reception all great BUT avoid the 6euro buffet brakfast at all costs my mum had some stuff that looked like bacon think it was parma ham fried and she was very ill didnt leave the apartment for 3 days think it was off...not good . We ate at the rugby tavern and the mucky duck these were great......found bus drivers very rude and nasty and the supermarket staff also.....surrounding area i thought was tacky....will stick to majorca in future.."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: eat out at the rugby tavern or mucky duck
  • Good For: Beach
by sallyboo
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Nightmare Holiday

"We have just returned from a family holiday in Cambrils Spain staying at the Pins Platja Apartments. The one bedroom apartment was on the end of a row in block 5 close to the beach and on our 4th day there, whilst we were out, our apartment was broken into and all our items were stolen.This happened in broad daylight and yet no one seen anything. We reported all to hotel staff and police but we were not moved from this apartment until the following day. My family were left deeply traumatisied,having to stay in that apartment overnight.Our rep did not see us either until the following day.Disgraceful!! We will never set foot back there again. There are no safety measures taken here and the whole surrounding area makes my flesh creep. Not a place to take a safe holiday.surrounding areas covered in graffiti. Our son has not slept since this nightmare happened."

by fido
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Definitely one to avoid

"We stayed here for 10 days in July/August and were disappointed from the start. The noise level is simply unbearable and not at all suited for families or those looking to recharge batteries. Blocks 1 and 2 are located literally 10 m from the train track and trains from Barcelona - Valencia run at high speed and blast their sirens from 6am to at least 9pm at night. Blocks 5 and 6 are located on the beach which is a great location / view. There are a number of pubs beneath these apartments which are great if you like Irish tv / food and the noise level is fine. However there is one pub called Cafe Teatro which has outside sound system aimed at the apartments and attached to the apartment balcony itself (! ) and playing incredibly loudly from 11am till at least 1am. After complaining to the complex staff, we were told that the cafe " shouldn't be playing loud music" but "loud levels" were normal during July and August. We took it upon ourselves to complain to the cafe manager who eventually agreed to turn it down but turned it up again an hour later. It should be noted that this cafe was nearly always empty throughout our 10 day stay while the other pubs were full. There seemed to be no need for this noise pollution. In addition, none of the other pubs on the 8km promenade between Cambrils and Salou seemed to need to play music at that level. As part of the Platja Pins complex, surely it is up to the staff to ensure that pubs WITHIN their buildings keep music at an appropriate level. Having lived and worked in Italy we realize that Summer is generally louder in these beach resorts but we have never experienced it at this level. Spanish guests also complained about the noise and even called the police who seem to have no power in this area. The noise within the complex itself is also incredibly high as other reviewers have pointed out - it seems as if guests are moving furniture all night although this is probably due to the lack of insulation and tiled floors so that every drawer movement, sliding door movement, door closing, table / chair moving is amplified throughout the entire building. Despite a fantastic beach location we were unable to enjoy sitting on the balcony / listening to the waves at night due to the noise - we were advised to keep windows closed for security reasons and to keep the air conditioning on to block out the noise. The impression given by reception staff is one of 'couldn't care less' to guests of all nationalities. Added to the noise problem, we would confirm that the apartments are generally in need of a makeover with kitchen cupboard doors hanging off hinges, beading of tables missing, handles missing , only two tiny hobs for cooking, rust in bath, cracked tiles, communal areas not swept / cleaned etc. None of these matters bothered us ; the problem for us was the noise issue and the lack of response in dealing with a very manageable problem. For this reason, Residence Pins Platja is definitely one to avoid."

by anet78
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very Basic Accommodation

"Pins Platja is a resort on it's own between Cambrils and Salou. A very peaceful and quiet area except the apartment we had was in front of the railway line with frequent trains sounding their hooter on occasions but we did get used to it. Altough we should have had a pool view, we had to hang over the balcony to see this which was the pool attached to the hotel next door. Accommodation was very basic (only one mirror and that was in bathroom) not good when two women trying to do hair,and 4 people needing to use bathoom. In saying that it did suit us as we were out and about a lot. Did take our own travelling kettle but had to hire a toaster for 12Euros for week did know about this before we went as other reviews mentioned it. Air conditioning was great and the heat it give out on the balcony dried our clothes/towels in next to no time. Did a trip to Neu Camp through Bus Plana much cheaper to do this. Regular buses outside apartments and supermarket on door step as was many restaurants. You can get a Rover Type ticket from the many TABAC (Tobbacconist) shops around for 10Euros (10 trips) or 20 euros etc. Very very reasonable. We eat a lot at O'Driscolls Rugby Tavern as my son is a coeliac so we could not experiment the spanish food but they had a very good menu to cater for all. And in fact McDonalds did cater for coeliacs so my son was well impressed to be able to get a bun with his burger which we cannot do at home."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Self Catering, booked with Thomson
by Pebble58
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

nice quiet relaxing

"we have just returned from pins platja. we was in a party of 8 taking up 3 rooms. my room was very comfortable with two single beds in a spacious bedroom with a large wardrobe. and sofa bed in the living room, which my daughter said was quite comfy. balcony over looking the beach. in the rooms there is plenty of pots pans plates etc etc.. a microwave,an iron, but you do not have a kettle or toaster in the rooms so be advised to take your own or you can rent them from the main reception for a few euros a week. you get a bag of towels and bedding left in your room for you to make your beds up.. if you need extra towels during your stay you will need to ask the maids. the majority of the staff are lovely just one maid was a bit annoyed when i asked for an extra pillow, its end of season and the apartment block was not full but she still refused to let me have another . if your eating out try mucky duck or the tavern which are both at the apartment entrance. theres a large supermarket on the complex which is very reasonbly priced, it has an instore bakery the bread and cakes there are very nice.cambrils and salou on the whole are quite expensive places so be prepared to pay over the odds for meals. also 3 drinks ( pint of lager, 2 malibu) came to 12 euro.. esmareldas, just down the road have a full week of entertainment pleasing all age groups. sunday dinner at popeyes (on the beach front) is very nice. all in we had great time and will be going back there"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by lynn
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

10 days of sunshine!

"we have just returned from Pins P. we stayed at the 2nd site which is on the beach front, we considered this the better of the two sites. The first site (with pool) we found quite noisy due to all the kids, the pool was always busy and situated in direct contact with the sun. Although we had a side appartment we were still able to see the beach. The appartment itself was clean and basic, be warned the cleaner actually entered without knocking! Air con a bit dodgy and the bedroom had no aircon and no opening window, it was very stiffling. The beach althogh a little grainy still ok, much better beach in Salou, you can take the bus which costs between 1.45 to 1.80 i think the price depends on which stop, cabs cost about 6.00 one way or it is actually a nice walk about 45 mins from Cambrils. For late night drinks try Poppies on beech front, nice staff and the Mucky Duck for food."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Give it a try
  • Good For: Beach
by kelee
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

best place to go

"I stayed at the Pins Playa in July with my 2 children aged 8 and 11 and had a fab time. Room was big with air conditioning, cleaned once every week and sheets twice in our 2 weeks. food at local resturants was good especialy The Rugby Tavern, staff had a lot of local info and were very helpfull. best steak I have had in years. beach was very clean. did not like entertainment the same acts could be seen all over Salou.

Going back in September.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: lovely place to go Cambrils town comes alive at night
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by maggieandrews
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great holiday

"We have just returned from a 2 week holiday to Pins Playa II apartments in Cambrils/Salou. Have to say it is one of the best holidays we have been on. There were 7 of us in total and took 2 apartments, 3 adults and 4 kids ranging from 4 - 12. The area it is in is lovely, just over the road from the beach which is beautiful. The pool is great, would advise being down at the sunbeds at about 10.30 though if you want to secure one, they could buy a few more as there's plenty of room down there. The entertainment in the evenings is a good laugh, and if you don't fancy that there are loads of bars etc a short walk away that cater for kids, Pure Genius is a great spot which do evening entertainment for kids and lovely food. The kids club on site however is a bit of a joke, as they're allowed to come and go as they please and it's just a room with a girl in, they don't really do much. My 2 smallest kids went there the first day and didn't really ask to go back, which tells you everything. They were more interested in playing in the pool. One the whole though can't complain at all, fantastic holiday and definately thinking of going again next year."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Budget
  • Advice: Cambrils is lovely, good shops also
  • Activities: Mucky Duck, Pure Genius (Stay away from Rugby Tavern, food and service is awful)
  • Good For: Beach
by Darren2407
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

i have just came home from pins...

"i have just came home from pins playa, there was a gang of 32 there and none of us would recomend it.. there is no railings round the pool in the evening for the baby, no mats or people mopping around da pool we had 3 incidents with that slipping etc.

not enough entertainment for all ages, the security are too strict u cant even go home and have a chat with out getting warnings and with 3 u get thrown out with no deposit, it was a bad place for kids.. budget travel recommended this to us for the kids and it was all false information they required to us..

i wouldnt recomend it with young children..

there is entertainment a bus ride away but we shouldn have to travel every night if we paid for the stuff we wanted..
"

by C Berney
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This was a great holiday. Our...

"This was a great holiday. Our apartment was a two bedroomed with a big balcony. We had 6 people staying in our apartment-2 on a pull out bed and one on the couch which was like a bed, another two each in a single bed and 2 others in a double bed in the other room. We had a fridge,a cooker and lots of cutlery there was also a table and a tv.

The pool was huge, there was a smaller one in Pins Playa I Apartments but that could only fit a small group, a lifeguard was on duty from early morning. There was a great supermarket and bakery just outside the apartments and a great selection of pubs and bars across the road. The beach was just a step away and it was a lovely one too. There was buses going frequently, there was no need to get a taxi as the bus is cheaper!

Entertainment good but not great but still if you get sick of it you can still go over to one of the pubs or go for a stroll on the beach, you can rent bikes or go on the internet.

NOTE: there is a railway track behind Pins Playa Two but that only came once or twice in a day and it was gone within seconds!

Make sure you take a trip to Portaventura theme park which is great fun for everyone. Highly suitable for families with young children and especially teenagers.
"

by M.B Buckley
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My family and I stayed at Pins Playa...

"My family and I stayed at Pins Playa 1 and had a fabulous ocean view, we were there with four other families who stayed in Pins Playa 2. We all found it to be a wonderful holiday.

The only complaint I would have would be the pool was very very cold and was not very safe at night as there is no railings around and the nightly entertainment was at the bar beside the pool.

Our accommodation was very clean, and if you wanted more towels, sheets pillows etc the staff would have got them for you. The staff were very helpful and polite at reception, bar and kids club.

Pins Playa was a fabulous place to stay with its lovely restaurant+ bar, free entertainment day and night, both for children and adults and everything reasonably priced.

This year we are going back with another family who were at the last holiday too and both couples and 9 children are looking forward to returning.
"

by L Lynch
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Residence Pins Platja Closest airport: Reus Salou (REU) 5.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Residence Pins Platja
  • by lynn

    " lovely walks along the beach. "

  • by Pebble58

    " Try not to get apartments in Block 2 as this is where you are in front of the railway line. "

Similar hotels around Cambrils

Hotels near Residence Pins Platja

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Residence Pins Platja?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Residence Pins Platja? Share your insight.