MSC Opera Cruise Ship

, MSC Cruises
hotel photo
Check the latest prices for this cruise
Thomas Cook Show Prices
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
MSC SINFONIA by Mercia P
2 / 10

If this had been my first cruise, it would have been my last! There is very little to recommend an MSC cruise. The best rate if were compared to a hotel would be two start. The food was extremely bad - if a chef cannot fry an egg, what hope is there??? The fried eggs were raw every day. The main dining room for evening meals was dismal. On our first night our choice of chicken breast arrived - a chicken breast - nothing more. When we asked if there was not more to the meal, the plates were return with HUGE helpings of rice added - nothing more. When we asked if there was no sauce - two bowls of tomato soup were brought to the table!! We decided to eat in the terrace dining area - on one night during our cruise, the potatoes were cooked - every other time they were half cooked or half raw - your choice. The pasta was inedible - also raw and tasting of flour. Guests were allowed into this dining area in wet swimwear - leaving the padded seats wet! The whole ship needs a revamp - the carpets in the cabin smelled, the mattress on the bed should have been replaced years ago. In general, things were very badly organized. Leaving on a pr ebooked optional outing was chaotic - long lines of people in no order whatsoever. Disembarking was another situation without any prior knowledge. We had pre booked transfers to the airport - on the day before departure we found we could have booked a visit to the local aquarium but as we had pr ebooked the shuttle, could not add this even though we had the time to fit it in. In general, the staff were friendly and tried their best.

Would I recommend this line? NEVER!

  • Holiday details: Dec 2013
  • Advice: REVAMP THE WHOLE OF MSC SINFONIA - EMPLOY CHEFS THAT CAN COOK!

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Msc is the worst company ever! by Dino M
1 / 10

The incident happened in Civittavechia when we were late for the ship by a fault of a third party.

18:30 was all on board time, and 19:00 supposed to be the departure time. We planed to leave Rome and be in Civittavechia one hour before the all on board time, but we missed that train as it left 10 minutes before the time it was written in Roma Termini train station. We took a next one wich supposed to be in Civittavechia at 18:18. This train stopped in middle of nowhere, between two stations, and we stayed there one hour without electricity, with doors blocked. Couldn't go anywhere and helpless. As soon as train stopped, we called emergency numbers on MSC cruise cards (both numbers we called). At first nobody answered the phone. When we reached them, they told they are going to wait 5 minutes. We had 3 years old baby with us, it was 9 of us. We were in touch all the time with ship, we told them the whole situation and baby pissed it pants. We ordered taxi who picked us up at next station, and when we called for 15th time already (19:20) to let them know that we are driving in taxi, and that we are 10 minutes away they said they are not going to wait, and in few minutes they sailed out.

We drove back to Rome, to take rent a car at Airport, but didn't get the car. Than we went to another train station, where we had a train to Genova. We got to Genova at 6 a.m. with no sleep, driving at old trains with illegal immigrants and drug addicts. 3 years old baby will probably have traumas for life! When the ship sailed in Genova, they didn't let us in for next 45 minutes. Furthermore, the staff of the ship dropped out the passports in Civittavechia, of Israelis and Russian people who were with us. These people were not informed that their passports stayed in Civittavechia, so when they reached Genova they couldn't go back home.

Upon our arrival in Genova, we came to reception, and requested to speak to manager. A young lady from Italy (we don't remember the name) spoke to not politely, and she said she doesn't care, she said we need to pay our bills and leave the ship because other guests will be coming on board.

It seems to me we had problems with silly company who doesn't care about their customers, and not with world renowned company as MSC. Completely unprofessional, rude and careless way of treating human beings. First of all, all 9 passengers had 4 cabins with balcony which costs around 2000€ each. Furthermore, we spent big amount on board (around 6000€) in their services which were low quality and extremely expensive! We spent around 500€ on different transports after we were informed about ship leaving us. We spent big amounts on our phones, speaking in roaming, trying to get 10 minutes extra from their unprofessional staff. We were told that ship was waiting us until 19:20, but the ship was late in departure in every single port (15 to 20 minutes) so there was no waiting! In Tenerife, ship decided to leave one hour before schedule, and brought that decision when already few hundred people left the ship. So if they could change schedule for one hour, they could have give us 10 more minutes.

Day before Civittavechia, a drunk man was trowing glasses around the restaurants, walking around our table pushing chairs around and there was 10 security people walking after him, doing nothing to protect us, and asked us to leave our dinner tables and restaurant. Even MSC security staff is terrible!

We will never go to any other events organized by MSC and we suggest other customers wishing to go to cruise trips, not to chose this terrible and unprofessional company! They will rip you off and leave you like dogs! All they care about is money! You will regret it if you make mistake and chose them like we did!

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Sold the wrong holiday, not sooted for Disabled person. by Susan Y
1 / 10

Thomas Cook sold us the holiday cruse on the opera,we asked them first if it would soot my disability . They ashore me it would,and I could take my mobility scooter with me and use it on the cruse and execution and I could not. I struggled to get on and of the couch,I had to sit twisted in my seat very painful. I felt I was a prisoner on the cruse and could not use most of the amenities. I was so upset all I wanted is to get home,I was not the only one disable on this cruse and they were unhappy and had the same problems. When I contact Thomas Cook they said I had to complain to M S C. But they sold me the holiday but they don't care as long they got there money. M C O. Only offered us £100 when we book a norther cruse with them. I would not take another cruse ever with them again. But I have contacted papers and I won't stop there, I am fighting for us the Disabled. The holiday company should check to see if the cruse would soot the disabled and not just take there word.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Help the disabled more, use modern bus or coaches built to make it easier aces and seating for the execution. It would be nice to have swimming pool safe for us.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

6 WEEKS PRE DEPARTURE by Jae B
1 / 10

MSC OPERA Chef has decided to refuse to cater for my sons special diet 11months after booking and agreeing to it at time of booking, now just 6 weeks pre my departure they tell me this and just say they gonna cancel our cruise and refund!!

REFUND 6 weeks before departure date???

my kids and i have saved for years for this holiday of a lifetime!!! This is disgusting treatment, all the efforts MSC have put in to UK consumers recently and they casually treat me like this???

Its Discrimination and totally unacceptable!

Its a very common diet dairy egg wheat and soya free

he eats all meats potatoes veg and rice

i offered to provide prescription pasta and bread, i dont understand??

I cannot take a cruise with another ship as none of the fleet aside from the opera depart from uk!

all the effort research and planning that has gone into booking this cruise for my family is incomprehendible and a refund is simply not acceptable to me, its july peak season there is no affordable or practical way of booking something now.

HAPPY TO TAKE FULL PAYMENT IN APRIL WITH SPECIAL DIET REITERATED!!!!!!

AND NOW ADVISE ME THAT THEY SIMPLY DONT CATER FOR SPECIAL DIETS ON THE OPERA??????

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, booked with CRUISE.CO.UK
  • Advice: dont have food allergies

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

No complaints from me by castaway97
8 / 10

I just returned from a 18 day trip Capetown to Genoa on the Opera and

found nothing to complain about. All the staff were hardworking, friendly and went out of their way to please. The ship is spic and span

and my towels were replaced every day and my sheets every couple of days. The food was not great but so what? There was always something on the menu that appealed. Desserts were not as good as on previous MSC cruises but I figured the less I eat the better, especially in the dessert section! The shows were fantastic and just about the right length at around 45 minutes as there were other things to go to, i.e. casino, dancing, etc. I think it is very unfair that some passengers on this website found it ok to deduct the service charge - it certainly does not go to the captain as one person stated and it enables unseen workers in the kitchen, laundry, etc. to receive a little extra. One more thing that I like is that the passengers are a mix of nationalities on MSC ships with a minority of British and therefore adding to the trip as far as I am concerned, so you must expect to hear announcements all in 4 or 5 languages.

22 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Take your money from your credit card and don't refund it. The money was put on hold and after 20 days we still don't have it released. by Desiree Gagiano
1 / 10

we booked a cruise online and the payment was declined, we contacted the merchant Msc Cruises and they said we should wait 72 hrs and check and do the payment again. ONCE we did it again both payment went off, we put in a dispute with nedbank and Msc cruises and both debits were credited R7070 29Des 2012. on the 25/01/2013 2 amounts went off our bank, one for goods purchased on the ship an another amount, when I contacted the merchant they said it was for every Rand (dollar) spent they put a hold for the same amount in Rands (dollars) but the amount would be kept on hold for 15 - 20 working days. We used our debit/credit/cheque card and the amount is still out of our account as of today. now we keep on contacting the bank and the card division but they say that the amount was taken by the merchant on the 28th Dec 2012, by that stage we hadn't ever gone on the cruise and the cruise confirmation was sent to us before the 25th Jan. This is pathetic, as we are now paying interest on our overdue account and to stop the interest we are transferring funds from our home loan access account to the cheque account and now our home loan interest is going to be more because of the lessor amount, WHAT CAN WE DO TO GET OUR MONEY BACK??????

24/01/2013 www.msconline.4923110002066622 -7,638.94 64.47 24/01/2013

MSC OPERA 4923110002066622 -5,729.08

Overdraft balance -5,664.61

Desiree Gagiano

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: none because we are very unhappy

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Terrible service - worst cruise I've been on! by Kat28
1 / 10

Disgusting food, dirty dishes, rude and moody waiters. Entertainment was mediocre. The Costa mediterranean cruises I've been on were amazing but I would definitely not recommend this cruise!

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't go.

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

msc opera by Wayne C
1 / 10



THIS IS OUR COMPLAINT LETTER TO MSC

Cheshire

England; UK

WA14 xxx

Saturday 22nd September 2012

Complaint about MSC Opera Cruise (19th – 27th August 2012)

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to express my extreme dissatisfaction with my recent holiday onboard your ship, MSC Opera.

My issue with the holiday began with a series of unsatisfactory dealings with my travel agent, however these issues have been addressed in a separate letter of complaint which I have sent directly to the travel agent.

My first issue with the MSC Cruise was the food. I told the waiting staff upon my arrival of my needs as a coeliac, despite having previously filled this information in on booking forms prior to the holiday. Despite this, my food was consistently served wrong: I received bread in meals, food which later turned out not to be gluten-free, and food which the staff did not know the contents of. On two occasions (including one formal night, when my wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary) I had to leave the dining hall due to feeling incredibly ill as a result of eating gluten; a feeling of ill-health which I suffered throughout the night. My wife was very distressed that when the photos were taken for the formal, she had to have these photos taken without me. When booking this special celebratory holiday, we had weighed up our options including other cruises with other companies, and after careful consideration, our decision was swung by your full page advert (copy attached) in the Coeliac UK magazine. We decided to go with MSC due to your supposed understanding of catering for Coeliacs. We understood that by booking on the Opera, we were not going to have fresh gluten free products, but were more than happy reading that we were going to be able to get packaged gluten free bread and cakes. We did in fact receive only one bread roll each per day, for me and my little girl who is also coeliac, and in fact did not receive any cake throughout the whole cruise. Desserts were limited to fresh fruit or sorbet for the whole cruise for both of us.

On top of this, we received only one hot meal the whole time whist we were on board, the majority of meals were ‘lukewarm’ at best, and some absolutely cold, which we found disconcerting, and unacceptable.

We received a letter from Jenny, who advised that she could give us additional help regarding our dietary needs, but after going down to reception and making a complaint about our meals, we were advised that Jenny would contact us - she never did, despite us making several requests for her to do so.

On top of this, our room was directly above a disco that played music loudly until 1am every morning; had this been the only thing that was unsatisfactory, we probably wouldn’t have written to complain, but unfortunately, this just became one of many things that disappointed us about our cruise with MSC.

We had the need on several occasions whilst trying to sort out dietary issues, to contact reception; sadly we found the majority of staff there to be incredibly hostile to our complaints, making us feel like trouble-causers for daring to question the onboard service. On multiple occasions, I was spoken to by the reception staff like a second-class citizen.

Our all inclusive drinks package should have included a choice of wines at the table, but we were given only one type, after the wine waiter told us that he didn’t drink, so would choose a bottle for us, as he couldn’t advise us on taste. Additionally, after the first glass each evening, it was very difficult to get the wine waiter’s attention to receive any more drink. At this point, I should add that the service that we received from the evening table waiter was outstanding, pity the same couldn’t be said of the wine waiter who was quite frankly very rude.

In terms of ports of calls, we were bitterly disappointed to discover after paying quite a lot of money to get to Ijmuiden, that the place was possibly the worst place that I have ever been unfortunate enough to visit! At no point during the cruise were we advised that this city is not a suitable destination for tourists, had we been warned, we would have taken a shore excursion to Amsterdam! (Instead, we wasted an entire day of our holiday in a vile place with nothing to do. We also paid quite a lot of money to visit Bilbao (which did give notice that we should be prepared for quite a lot of shops to be shut, due to a festival), we were outraged however to find that when we arrived there, ABSOLUTELYT ALL of the shops were shut. This left us feeling very aggrieved, and again, very disappointed.

My eldest son had his own room, and the service that he received was quite pitiful, including rare changes of towels and the folding up and reusing dirty towels that had been put on the floor for change due to having blood from razor cuts on them. Additionally, the toilet was not properly cleaned during the stay onboard, and by day 6 of the holiday, a horrible thick black circle of grime had build up all inside the toilet – I have photographic evidence of this which I can provide via email should you require to see it.

On the day that the bills got settled, we yet again had to go and complain that somebody else’s drinks bill had worryingly been put on our account. We were treated nicely by the gentleman on the counter, but he had to send for a supervisor, who quite literally treated us like criminals until after half an hour, she found that we were correct, but we still received no apology for the way that we had been treated.

We as a family, have been left hugely disappointed, that we were celebrating our 25th wedding Anniversary, in what should have been a joyous occasion, and one in which we can never replace, and our holiday has been ruined by a catalogue of errors, rudeness, and poor service.

I trust that you will take seriously my complaints, and respond to me in a timely manner indicating how you intend to correct these faults for future customers, and more importantly from my perspective, how you intend to reimburse me for the elements of my holiday which were not up to standard. Upon receiving your response and proposal, I will respond promptly.

(I have also sent a copy of this e-mail to you through general post)

Yours Sincerely

THIS IS THE RESPONSE WE GOT BACK OFF MSC



Mr Wayne XXXX

RE: MSC Opera– 19 August 12 Ref: 8166925

Thank you for your letter we received regarding your cruise on MSC Opera.

We must apologise for the delay in responding to your concerns. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the way in which we wish to treat our valued guests at MSC Cruises and we do thank you for your patience and understanding.

MSC always hope that our cruises will either meet or exceed the expectations of our guests, and therefore we read with disappointment that certain aspects of your holiday marred the enjoyment of your cruise.

Regarding your request, we can confirm the following. MSC Cruises work closely with the Associazione Italiana Celiachia (Italian Celiac Association) and now we are in contact with the Coeliac UK Association to provide gluten-free menus in the restaurants of MSC Splendida, MSC Fantasia, MSC Musica, MSC Orchestra, MSC Poesia, MSC Magnifica, MSC Divina cruising in the Mediterranean and in Northern Europe. Training courses on coeliac diets are taken on all the above ships, where the kitchens are equipped to provide this service.

We are unhappy you found the service lacking in certain areas. MSC generally receive favourable feedback in this area. However, MSC will not tolerate any rudeness from any member of staff or crew. I have personally spoken to the head of the guest relations manager at head office regarding your comments. He is a real asset to the company and will take immediate action regarding your remarks.

The company were obviously sorry reading your observations in your son’s cabin. MSC have thoroughly investigated all your claims and have contacted all relevant management and staff regarding this to make sure this does not happen again in the future. We are disappointed at any upset or inconvenience this caused.

With reference to the issue you encountered with your onboard account, we would explain that we do have a tried and tested procedure onboard regarding onboard accounts. That said we accept that there will be rare occasions when things do go wrong. We are pleased to note that the situation was resolved prior to your disembarkation.

In view of your disappointment we are pleased to offer you a 10% reduction on a future MSC cruise. This is a gesture of goodwill and no admission of liability, based on a cruise only fare. It is valid for booking before December 2013 and is not valid at peak holiday times. It does not have any cash value and is non-transferable and non-refundable. Acceptance of this is in full and final settlement of any and all claims relating to the above cruise.

Also we would like to offer you a £100 voucher to spend onboard a MSC cruise in the future. This voucher is per cabin, and has no cash value and non-transferable. Please, advise our reservation department at the time of booking regarding the onboard credit. When received please check your tickets and booklet, which will enclose this voucher.

We value and appreciate the time and trouble taken to write to MSC, as passenger feedback is very important to us.

In the meantime, please accept our very best wishes.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Rachel Green

Head of Customer Relations

MSC Cruises UK and Ireland Office

Rachel Green

Head of Customer Service

MSC Cruises Ltd

Queens House, 55-56 Lincolns Inn Fields

London, WC2A 3LJ (United Kingdom)

Phone (UK): 020 7092 2886

Fax: + 44 (0) 207 831 1927

Visit our website: www.msccruises.co.uk

Visit our press area: www.mscpressarea.com

Discover the MSC Yacht Club: www.mscyachtclub.com

Follow us: Facebook & Twitter

OUR REPLY TO MSC MD Gianluigi Aponte

Dear Sir, further to your invitation, we really feel let down and disappointed in your company (re- correspondence ABOVE).

We had a dreadful time on your MSC Opera, whilst we were celebrating our silver wedding Anniversary, and what should have been a trip of a lifetime has turned into a sad remembrance of our time spent on your ship. Even after complaining, we felt that Rachel Green in her offer had missed the whole point that this was supposed to have been a trip of a lifetime and feel insulted and let down by her response. We could get the same offer by booking with another company by going to the travel agents again, except that wee will never be able to afford a trip like this again.

Many thanks, Wayne and Diane XXX

MSC THEN HAD THE CHEEK TO SELL US THIS HOLIDAY

Pierfrancesco Vago

CEO of MSC Cruises

December 10, 2012

Dear Traveller,

On 23 March 2013, MSC Preziosa will be launched in spectacular style in Genoa and we would like you to be among the first guests to experience everything that our stunning new ship has to offer.

As the precious fourth and final addition to our celebrated MSC Fantasia class, the theme of preciousness has inspired every detail of MSC Preziosa’s design. From her 18 decks named after precious stones, to her stunning new features and fabulous itineraries, we’ve ensured that every moment of every voyage is as precious as the ship herself.

In breathtakingly beautiful surroundings, MSC Preziosa offers features including a stunning ‘infinity’ pool, a relaxing adult-only solarium and the secluded paradise of the MSC Aurea Spa. Together with the fantastic Galaxy restaurant, an all day buffet with open kitchen and a disco with panoramic sea views, there have never been so many innovations in dining and entertainment to discover.

As a family company, we pride ourselves on making sure that there’s never a dull moment on board, so it is no surprise that one of MSC Preziosa’s major innovations is dedicated to children and families. Doremi Castle, the new and extensive children’s aqua park, boasts the longest single rider waterslide on the seas, Vertigo, with 120 metres of fabulous twists and turns offering amazing ocean views.

What’s more, the MSC Yacht Club, an exclusive area located on the most prestigious and desirable foredecks of our Fantasia class ships, will be taken to new heights on board MSC Preziosa. Enjoy sweeping sea views, butler-serviced superior suites, a dedicated restaurant, pool, solarium, panoramic lounge and private decks.

From 24 March to 3 November 2013, MSC Preziosa will sail a series of 8-day/7-night cruises from Genoa. Visit the beautiful Italian ports of Naples and Taormina, take in the stunning sights of Tunis’s enchanting medina, marvel at the architectural splendours of Barcelona and experience a delightful blend of history, culture and outstanding seafood in Marseilles.

To find out more, please contact your travel agent, call us on 0844 561 1955, or visit www.msccruises.co.uk

On behalf of my staff and crew, we look forward to welcoming you on board MSC Preziosa soon so that you too can experience some truly precious moments in the Mediterranean’s most inspiring destinations.

Sincerely,

Pierfrancesco Vago

CEO of MSC Cruises

THIS IS OUR COMPLAINT LETTER TO MSC

Cheshire

England; UK

WA14 xxx

Saturday 22nd September 2012

Complaint about MSC Opera Cruise (19th – 27th August 2012)

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to express my extreme dissatisfaction with my recent holiday onboard your ship, MSC Opera.

My issue with the holiday began with a series of unsatisfactory dealings with my travel agent, however these issues have been addressed in a separate letter of complaint which I have sent directly to the travel agent.

My first issue with the MSC Cruise was the food. I told the waiting staff upon my arrival of my needs as a coeliac, despite having previously filled this information in on booking forms prior to the holiday. Despite this, my food was consistently served wrong: I received bread in meals, food which later turned out not to be gluten-free, and food which the staff did not know the contents of. On two occasions (including one formal night, when my wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary) I had to leave the dining hall due to feeling incredibly ill as a result of eating gluten; a feeling of ill-health which I suffered throughout the night. My wife was very distressed that when the photos were taken for the formal, she had to have these photos taken without me. When booking this special celebratory holiday, we had weighed up our options including other cruises with other companies, and after careful consideration, our decision was swung by your full page advert (copy attached) in the Coeliac UK magazine. We decided to go with MSC due to your supposed understanding of catering for Coeliacs. We understood that by booking on the Opera, we were not going to have fresh gluten free products, but were more than happy reading that we were going to be able to get packaged gluten free bread and cakes. We did in fact receive only one bread roll each per day, for me and my little girl who is also coeliac, and in fact did not receive any cake throughout the whole cruise. Desserts were limited to fresh fruit or sorbet for the whole cruise for both of us.

On top of this, we received only one hot meal the whole time whist we were on board, the majority of meals were ‘lukewarm’ at best, and some absolutely cold, which we found disconcerting, and unacceptable.

We received a letter from Jenny, who advised that she could give us additional help regarding our dietary needs, but after going down to reception and making a complaint about our meals, we were advised that Jenny would contact us - she never did, despite us making several requests for her to do so.

On top of this, our room was directly above a disco that played music loudly until 1am every morning; had this been the only thing that was unsatisfactory, we probably wouldn’t have written to complain, but unfortunately, this just became one of many things that disappointed us about our cruise with MSC.

We had the need on several occasions whilst trying to sort out dietary issues, to contact reception; sadly we found the majority of staff there to be incredibly hostile to our complaints, making us feel like trouble-causers for daring to question the onboard service. On multiple occasions, I was spoken to by the reception staff like a second-class citizen.

Our all inclusive drinks package should have included a choice of wines at the table, but we were given only one type, after the wine waiter told us that he didn’t drink, so would choose a bottle for us, as he couldn’t advise us on taste. Additionally, after the first glass each evening, it was very difficult to get the wine waiter’s attention to receive any more drink. At this point, I should add that the service that we received from the evening table waiter was outstanding, pity the same couldn’t be said of the wine waiter who was quite frankly very rude.

In terms of ports of calls, we were bitterly disappointed to discover after paying quite a lot of money to get to Ijmuiden, that the place was possibly the worst place that I have ever been unfortunate enough to visit! At no point during the cruise were we advised that this city is not a suitable destination for tourists, had we been warned, we would have taken a shore excursion to Amsterdam! (Instead, we wasted an entire day of our holiday in a vile place with nothing to do. We also paid quite a lot of money to visit Bilbao (which did give notice that we should be prepared for quite a lot of shops to be shut, due to a festival), we were outraged however to find that when we arrived there, ABSOLUTELYT ALL of the shops were shut. This left us feeling very aggrieved, and again, very disappointed.

My eldest son had his own room, and the service that he received was quite pitiful, including rare changes of towels and the folding up and reusing dirty towels that had been put on the floor for change due to having blood from razor cuts on them. Additionally, the toilet was not properly cleaned during the stay onboard, and by day 6 of the holiday, a horrible thick black circle of grime had build up all inside the toilet – I have photographic evidence of this which I can provide via email should you require to see it.

On the day that the bills got settled, we yet again had to go and complain that somebody else’s drinks bill had worryingly been put on our account. We were treated nicely by the gentleman on the counter, but he had to send for a supervisor, who quite literally treated us like criminals until after half an hour, she found that we were correct, but we still received no apology for the way that we had been treated.

We as a family, have been left hugely disappointed, that we were celebrating our 25th wedding Anniversary, in what should have been a joyous occasion, and one in which we can never replace, and our holiday has been ruined by a catalogue of errors, rudeness, and poor service.

I trust that you will take seriously my complaints, and respond to me in a timely manner indicating how you intend to correct these faults for future customers, and more importantly from my perspective, how you intend to reimburse me for the elements of my holiday which were not up to standard. Upon receiving your response and proposal, I will respond promptly.

(I have also sent a copy of this e-mail to you through general post)

Yours Sincerely

THIS IS THE RESPONSE WE GOT BACK OFF MSC



Mr Wayne XXXX

RE: MSC Opera– 19 August 12 Ref: 8166925

Thank you for your letter we received regarding your cruise on MSC Opera.

We must apologise for the delay in responding to your concerns. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the way in which we wish to treat our valued guests at MSC Cruises and we do thank you for your patience and understanding.

MSC always hope that our cruises will either meet or exceed the expectations of our guests, and therefore we read with disappointment that certain aspects of your holiday marred the enjoyment of your cruise.

Regarding your request, we can confirm the following. MSC Cruises work closely with the Associazione Italiana Celiachia (Italian Celiac Association) and now we are in contact with the Coeliac UK Association to provide gluten-free menus in the restaurants of MSC Splendida, MSC Fantasia, MSC Musica, MSC Orchestra, MSC Poesia, MSC Magnifica, MSC Divina cruising in the Mediterranean and in Northern Europe. Training courses on coeliac diets are taken on all the above ships, where the kitchens are equipped to provide this service.

We are unhappy you found the service lacking in certain areas. MSC generally receive favourable feedback in this area. However, MSC will not tolerate any rudeness from any member of staff or crew. I have personally spoken to the head of the guest relations manager at head office regarding your comments. He is a real asset to the company and will take immediate action regarding your remarks.

The company were obviously sorry reading your observations in your son’s cabin. MSC have thoroughly investigated all your claims and have contacted all relevant management and staff regarding this to make sure this does not happen again in the future. We are disappointed at any upset or inconvenience this caused.

With reference to the issue you encountered with your onboard account, we would explain that we do have a tried and tested procedure onboard regarding onboard accounts. That said we accept that there will be rare occasions when things do go wrong. We are pleased to note that the situation was resolved prior to your disembarkation.

In view of your disappointment we are pleased to offer you a 10% reduction on a future MSC cruise. This is a gesture of goodwill and no admission of liability, based on a cruise only fare. It is valid for booking before December 2013 and is not valid at peak holiday times. It does not have any cash value and is non-transferable and non-refundable. Acceptance of this is in full and final settlement of any and all claims relating to the above cruise.

Also we would like to offer you a £100 voucher to spend onboard a MSC cruise in the future. This voucher is per cabin, and has no cash value and non-transferable. Please, advise our reservation department at the time of booking regarding the onboard credit. When received please check your tickets and booklet, which will enclose this voucher.

We value and appreciate the time and trouble taken to write to MSC, as passenger feedback is very important to us.

In the meantime, please accept our very best wishes.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Rachel Green

Head of Customer Relations

MSC Cruises UK and Ireland Office

Rachel Green

Head of Customer Service

MSC Cruises Ltd

Queens House, 55-56 Lincolns Inn Fields

London, WC2A 3LJ (United Kingdom)

Phone (UK): 020 7092 2886

Fax: + 44 (0) 207 831 1927

Visit our website: www.msccruises.co.uk

Visit our press area: www.mscpressarea.com

Discover the MSC Yacht Club: www.mscyachtclub.com

Follow us: Facebook & Twitter

OUR REPLY TO MSC MD Gianluigi Aponte

Dear Sir, further to your invitation, we really feel let down and disappointed in your company (re- correspondence ABOVE).

We had a dreadful time on your MSC Opera, whilst we were celebrating our silver wedding Anniversary, and what should have been a trip of a lifetime has turned into a sad remembrance of our time spent on your ship. Even after complaining, we felt that Rachel Green in her offer had missed the whole point that this was supposed to have been a trip of a lifetime and feel insulted and let down by her response. We could get the same offer by booking with another company by going to the travel agents again, except that wee will never be able to afford a trip like this again.

Many thanks, Wayne and Diane XXX

MSC THEN HAD THE CHEEK TO SELL US THIS HOLIDAY

Pierfrancesco Vago

CEO of MSC Cruises

December 10, 2012

Dear Traveller,

On 23 March 2013, MSC Preziosa will be launched in spectacular style in Genoa and we would like you to be among the first guests to experience everything that our stunning new ship has to offer.

As the precious fourth and final addition to our celebrated MSC Fantasia class, the theme of preciousness has inspired every detail of MSC Preziosa’s design. From her 18 decks named after precious stones, to her stunning new features and fabulous itineraries, we’ve ensured that every moment of every voyage is as precious as the ship herself.

In breathtakingly beautiful surroundings, MSC Preziosa offers features including a stunning ‘infinity’ pool, a relaxing adult-only solarium and the secluded paradise of the MSC Aurea Spa. Together with the fantastic Galaxy restaurant, an all day buffet with open kitchen and a disco with panoramic sea views, there have never been so many innovations in dining and entertainment to discover.

As a family company, we pride ourselves on making sure that there’s never a dull moment on board, so it is no surprise that one of MSC Preziosa’s major innovations is dedicated to children and families. Doremi Castle, the new and extensive children’s aqua park, boasts the longest single rider waterslide on the seas, Vertigo, with 120 metres of fabulous twists and turns offering amazing ocean views.

What’s more, the MSC Yacht Club, an exclusive area located on the most prestigious and desirable foredecks of our Fantasia class ships, will be taken to new heights on board MSC Preziosa. Enjoy sweeping sea views, butler-serviced superior suites, a dedicated restaurant, pool, solarium, panoramic lounge and private decks.

From 24 March to 3 November 2013, MSC Preziosa will sail a series of 8-day/7-night cruises from Genoa. Visit the beautiful Italian ports of Naples and Taormina, take in the stunning sights of Tunis’s enchanting medina, marvel at the architectural splendours of Barcelona and experience a delightful blend of history, culture and outstanding seafood in Marseilles.

To find out more, please contact your travel agent, call us on 0844 561 1955, or visit www.msccruises.co.uk

On behalf of my staff and crew, we look forward to welcoming you on board MSC Preziosa soon so that you too can experience some truly precious moments in the Mediterranean’s most inspiring destinations.

Sincerely,

Pierfrancesco Vago

CEO of MSC Cruises

or read on http://msc-nightmare.webs.com/

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go with them

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

MSC Divina by diontour
4 / 10

We have just cruised on the above ship

We booked on line but when we arrived at Port we still had to wait in a queue for half an hour. The organisation was chaotic.

We soon forgot this when we boarded the most beautiful ship I have ever seen and excitedly arrived at our cabin No. 8134. The cabin was lovely and we were lucky enough to have balcony but thats when everything changed as outside was a steel monstrosity which held the platform for getting on and off the ship. We had been informed that all cabins Grade 7 had unobstructed views.

We went straight away to Reception, I had taken the confirmation of 'unobstructed view' from MSC direct and this was photocopied and we were informed that they would contact by Email Head Office and leave message in our cabin. We therefore did not unpack as we expected to be moved.

Arriving back in our cabin later that night - no message.

Next morning we went back to Reception - had received no reply.

We still did not unpack.

Went back later in the evening - no reply.

After 3 attempts at Reception we phoned Planet Cruising - we knew they could not do anything but we asked if they could log our complaint.

After 7 visits to Reception we gave up.

The steelwork covered 4 cabins and we would ask that no one books

Cabin 8134 or the other 3 (not sure which way numbers ran)

The entertainment was awful (we have been on 12 cruises and this was the worst ever)

The food was okay but mainly for the Italians - loads of pasta, pizzas etc. English food - burgers/hotdogs every day and not much choice.

At our dining table in the restaurant in the evening the vibration from what we presumed to be a propeller or similar was so bad that on 2 evenings 2 bottles of wine tipped over and the noise was very loud.

We were so terribly disappointed with our cruise and would like future travellers to note these comments.

We are not complainers as a rule and have never had to go and complain about anything in the past.

It was such a shame that such a beautiful ship had disastrous consquences.

We have written to MSC and sent a copy to Planet

Diane Walters

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012
  • Advice: We were on the Divina 26th November - 11th December and would never curise with MSC again

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Some People no pleasing by johntose
8 / 10

we left from southampton and reading some other reveiws they said weather horible what they expect sept we were heading to Amsterdam

then back france actually left best weather in england for a long time

nice in amsterdam lovely in France then got really HOT going to Med

Food was Excellent these people must eat in Michlelen Restaurants

Steak Chicken Pork Vennisan Rissotto Paela Soups Desserts to die for

and for not Burgers and hot dogs and chips etc for Kids

Staff could not be more Helpful fun all the time in Bars Sometimes asked to much would you like a drink Rooms very clean and cleaned every day

No Proplem Embarking and Disembarking Did Learn % new Languages But not

problem Drinks Package a must £20.oop per day Exscursions rip off but which Cruise does not Shows Medium if you like Opera and magician good

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Icmeler Travel Centre
  • Advice: Drinks Package £20.oop per day cost £20.oop for Bottle of Wine @ Dinner
  • Good For: , City Breaks

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

MSC OPERA - We had a fabulous time! by maries
9 / 10

Ignore bad reports!!! Read this one...

We have just returned from a Northern Europe cruise - Imujden/St Peters Port/La Coruna/Bilbao/La Rochelle, We had a great time.

Yes they say things 3 or 4 times in different languages but then there are different nationalities on board, you learn to switch off. Always recommend taking the time to get ready to dine in the main restaurants for breakfast and lunch if on the boat the service there is great and food always piping hot. Always pasta /chicken/steak and burgers available each evening and a great variety of 7 courses for those that want to try something other than English food,

Would definately use MSC again.

Tips: Imujden - a bus available as you walk off for 3 people to Amsterdam only 13 Euros return total cost, but you must ask for return ticket, we paid individually and it cost twice as much.

St Peters Port - Boat tender to land, get ticket number (no cost) early else you could wait up to 3 hrs to get across.

La Coruna - Great reasonable shopping, just 5 mins walk from docks.

Bilbao - Walk off at this port and to the left a beautiful beach.

La Rochelle - Get early bus into town this will allow you time to take a boat ride to "Fort Buoyard". The bus tickets available on board 10 euors per child 13 euros per adult.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently

36 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice cruise,but some staff let it down by Thirsty
7 / 10

Just returned from the MSC Opera Cruise,this was our 1st cruise and so we really didn't know what to expect,but seasoned cruisers told us that it was not up to much compared to what they had experienced.

All in all it wasn't too bad,but badly let down by the bar staff on the pool deck,it was nothing to wait 20 minutes or more at the bar for a drink,all you could see either side of you was long fed up faces looking really cheesed off.

Whilst the queue got longer the 2 barmen would have a nice little chat about whatever,if someone was lucky enough to step into a gap vacated by a thirsty customer who'd just got served,then he would get served,regardless of the others who'd been waiting ages.

There was nowhere near enough staff on duty at this bar and the 2 that were there had just simply given up trying to please the masses.

As we spent most of the time in and around this bar,this was a big downside to this cruise.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with //
  • Advice: Take a book to read whilst waiting for a drink at the pool bar.

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »
Stayed on MSC Opera Cruise Ship? Share your insight.

Traveller Ratings

Write a review
Overall
6 / 10
28 reviews
Brilliant
9
Good
5
Average
4
Poor
2
Awful
8
Room
6.5/10
Service
6.5/10
Food
5.5/10
Value
4/10
Cleanliness
6.5/10
Location
5/10

Need a hotel before or after your MSC Opera cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Top traveller tips for MSC Opera Cruise Ship
  • by lass1

    " Use the main restaurants to eat in, not cafeteria. "

  • by alcaz1wolf

    " get the drinks package ,as the prices are high "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own MSC Opera Cruise Ship?