La Tahona Garden Apartments

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

4  / 10
(88 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
6
Good
22
Average
12
Poor
4
Awful
44

Rating by feature

Room: 5/10
Service: 5/10
Food: 4/10
Value: 5.5/10
Cleanliness: 5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for La Tahona Garden Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
Im returning again , second year.

"Yes this hotel is basic, but its very clean and all most of the staff spoke great English.Two adults all inclusive for under £300 bargain.

last year we arrive at 21.00 and were told that although we'd missed our meal, they'd plated/kept a meal for us and a complementary drink (we were half board). the room was clean, freshly decorated, the bed comfortable, and as our room was upstairs, we got a breeze with the windows open, security louver shutters closed.

we've stayed in many of Caletas hotels over the last 10 years,and this is the one which ticks most of our boxes. Its the first in this area we've found with a heated pool, its a couple of minutes walk to the commercial center, 15 minutes to the beach. so close yes so quiet.

I always hire a small car,because there are so many great beaches to find.

nb best value car hire is Pay Less, no nasty surprises,

we found the food very good, the dinning room is cool and clean, enough choices for most people.Thereis also a nice bar and TV and reading area, with free WiFi. I book with A1 travel less than £22/night in September, the best value ever. not sure what those who have knocked this hotel expect,

we've stopped at the Barcelo, Caleta gardens and the Castilo elba to name just three, and we much prefer here, and the location hard to beat. hope this helps.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: hire a car, and ask the staff at receiption what to see ect
  • Good For: Beach
by plumbero
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Peace and quiet at La Tahona

"My fiancee and I are just back from a week at La Tahona. Thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and the gentle peaceful air of the place. We went self catering so I can`t comment on meals etc. but the accomodation was fine. The maid was in three times during our stay, and a problem with the hot water was speedily resolved. Staff polite and courteous at all times. All you need food wise if self catering is just a short walk away; I recommend the Brit Corner cafe as an excellent breakfast spot. Plenty of choice for evening meal, with drinks averaged about 20 euros for the both of us. Hotel cats very friendly, even the couple of ferals too!! A word of warning though; as engaging as the pigeon/dovelike birds are, do not feed them otherwise you will have very tame visitors all the time! In conclusion, I am of the "You pay your money, you takes your choice" bracket; for what we paid we got excellent value for money. PS resort currently undergoing a major revamp."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Enjoy the solitude.
  • Good For: Beach
by Richard Cropper
7 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great family holiday, u do get what u pay for!

"the hotel was very basic, it wasn't spotlessly clean but it was livable. the rooms that are pictured ain't really true but there not too bad. pool area great for the kids nice and cold to cool u down as its very hot! reasonabily clean! poor service at the pool bar as they are very short staffed and everyone does a bit of everythink! we kept having to go to reception and asking where the bar staff where! the food was ok, when it was good it was very good but when it was poor it wasn't very nice at all! not much choice at all!! breakfast was the best meal. we eat out most of the time for dinner but lunch was ok. the hotel at night is very borng! no entertainment as it states on the site! luckily there was 6 of us to keep ourselves entertained! we always went out at night till about 1030 to get the free drinks back at the hotel! the staff here are friendly but dont speak much english at all! the place where the hotel it situated it brilliant theres lots of places to eat and its quite cheap! the beaches are beautifull! and theres lots of parks around for the kids and lotas of shops!! u would never get bord here!! we had a graet holiday and will defenatly be going again but i think we will think twice about going all inclusive!"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with bookable holiday
  • Advice: just have bed and breakfast! as there much more to do away from the hotel!
by Laura H
5 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just got back from a week at the Tahona Gardens

"Booked all inclusive, big mistake, ended up going out for meals and bought things from supermarket for lunch. Apartment clean but needs a makeover, plenty of sunbeds but again need upgrade, pool ok and surroundings but pool bar not always manned."

by Gary T
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

winter holiday

"Stayed here last year 2011 after reading reviews got very worried, my advice would be see for yourself ok the room was not 5 star but it was clean enough and the staff where very friendly, one of the pools was heated to my surprise so very happy i could swim. great places to eat just down the road near to everything."

  • Holiday details: Nov 2011, booked with lowcost
  • Good For: Beach
by Elaine A
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotel review

"we spent a week here 25th august 2012 was a bit put off by reviews but hey we had a great time booked all inclusive food was good lots of choice i had my girls with me 6 and 14 you know how fussy they can be. apartment was basic but very clean had all the fresh sheets and towels we needed. staff were friendly and did all they could to help had extra bed and fan within an hour of arrival. pool area was exceptionly well kept clean and tidy .cleaners were always around the place and all you had to do was ask if you needed anything computers in lobby thankfully so my teenage daughter could keep up with facebook ."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: just enjoy the sun hotel is great
by Claire S
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Would not return

"Myself, my husband and our daughter stayed here at the very end of August into September, the weather was fantastic but the La Tahona was very disappointing, if I hadn't got such a cheap deal I would have been fuming, as it was, we got a bargain so can't compain too much. It was sold to us as a 3 star, it is defnitely NOT!

Positives:

- Pool was a great size, was kept very clean whilst we were there.

- Apartments were a good size.

- Great location, 5 minutes walk from main restaurants/bars and shops of Caleta de Fuste.

- It is really cheap to eat out in Caleta de Fuste, really recommend Fado Steakhouse, Slow Boat chinese buffet and Nestor's. If you stay here, book self catering and eat out!

- Great atmosphere around the pool, when we stayed there were some lovely friendly people staying too, this may just be our good fortune :-)

Negatives:

- On arrival, our room had 3 dead and one huge live cockroaches, we had to change rooms, luckily we had no more uninvited guests in the new room! They seem to be a common problem all over the Island though, not just here.

- No air conditioning! Which would be fine in October through to March, but this was early September and it was 28 degrees at night. It made sleeping comfortably very difficult.

- Food served for dinner is appalling! Unidentifiable meat in greasy looking 'stews' for the most part.

- Breakfast was substandard, the breads and cereals would be fine I think, but the bacon and eggs were left on the heated trays and far too overcooked, frankfurters looked half raw and there was not enough protection from flies.

- Poor service from staff, there is one lovely lady receptionist, the other receptionist was a man who was very moody and had zero customer service skills!The pool bar opening times are a vague guide at best, staff open the bar late and close early, and often disappear altogether.

- The AI package is a con, the food in the restaurant is inedible, the pool bar serves hotdogs, chips and burgers and pizzas that are fine but you have to pay for these, never known anything like it!

The negatives sadly outweigh the positives for me, I would return to Caleta de Fuste, but recommend the Barcelo Fuerteventura instead!
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Low Cost Holidays
  • Advice: Stay elsewhere! Or if you must stay here, buy cockroach spray for peace of mind and go self catering.
  • Good For: Beach
by Jo1985
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

colditz camp de calleta

"dump.stay away we arrived 22 august 12 the room was filhty on arrival the patio outside covered in bird poo even more when we left.2adults 2 kids 2 beds and a sofa.asked 3 times for a bed in the end i went and got the only one they had left a fold up camp bed for up to 5 year old my daughter is 9. the matress stunk.we were in room 120 directly behind the bar it was like an oven in there no aircon. got a big fan waste of time. we also had the pleasure of the foul mouthed drunken brits on a night time congregating at the closed pool bar wonderfull.the pool never cleaned while we were there 2 kids poo d in the pools and they just scooped it up.with goggles on you could not see a thing underwater beware.the food omg the worst i have ever seen or tasted.inedeble cereals. burnt or just boiled water with flavouring in was classed as soup.everything was yuk and we can eat anything.

the staff none spoke english and had a dont care attitude.we went all inc.did not expect much but honestly i would not give it to my dog.a stray cat actually refused some fish my daughter smuggled out.the pool bar served fries pizza s and burgers but guess what we had to pay even though we were all inclusive dont think so.we ate out most night s and went to peiro s for entertainment.even the locals pulled a facewhen we told them where we were staying.the best things i can say about our hol was the people we met especially elaine and chris from liverpool.calleta is clean plenty to do man made beaches fab main beach awfull.would go back but never tahona dont go awful 2 out of 10
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with ola holidays
  • Advice: best tip dont stay there nothing to do other than dirty pool
by yenrac
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not believe the bad reviews

"We have just returned from staying at the La Tahona Garden Apartments, ok the apartment is basic, we had a kitchen ( though we booked all inclusive ) a bathroom with bath/shower, toilet and lounge with two pull down beds, plus a bedroom all very clean. We were situated at the back of the pool which was really good as we went with our family who had a one year old baby with them, so it was nice and peaceful if they needed to put him down for a nap.

The staff were very helpful, though some couldnt speak english very good, the reception area and kiddies room were execellent and clean, though no entertainment for the children at night, which was a bit disappointing for the youngsters. The dining room was very clean and so were the kitchen where food was cooked and prepared ( i know because i went in there ) the staff were very obliging and didnt mind you looking if you asked, they thought it quite funny. The food basically consisted of, cereal scrambled eggs, beans, frankfurters, boiled eggs, bread rolls, salami, cheese and pastries for breakfast, lunch was lasagne, chips, chicken nuggets, rice, pork chops, kebabs, salad bar, chicken breasts, mussels, and evening meal consisted of --- burgers, chips, chicken nuggets, fish, kebabs, salad bar, vegetables, bread rolls, as much beer and cold drinks as you wanted, tea, coffee, milk which after a week most people would be fed up of eating, but it was varid if you didnt want that it was cheap to eat out, we found a lovely 60's bar in the little town that done a good full english breakfast with a drink for 4.50 euros and a restaurant that done a 3 course meal for 8.95 euros if you ever got fed up with hotel food, you cant really spend money as it was cheap to eat,drink and buy your goodies to bring home.

Our family had a fab holiday at the La Tahona Garden Apartments, we didnt want to come back to dreary expensive britain, the weather was fab with a lovely breeze, overall we will deffo go back to the apartments again, we met some lovely people from all over britain and other countries who all joined in the fun at the pool area, even a family who go back every other year to same apartments, so dont be put off, go see for yourself, 10 days was not long enough for us future will be 14 days. The sunbeds were chained which was good because everyone got there just before 10am and you were guranteed a sunbed the lifeguard was execellent, he wouldnt stand no nonsense if anyone got out of hand in the pools, he was very fair to everyone the area was spotlessly clean and the pools were cleaned everyday after 6.30pm, one hot pool and two very cold pools, La Tahona Bungalows were kept very clean, we had two lots of clean bedding and towels in our 10 day stay with an abundance of toilet rolls if needed.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Just go, lay back and enjoy im sure you wont be disappointed with the apartments at all, even if the food is not to your liking, you cant fault the rest
by Karen H
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Don't be put off by negative reviews

"We have recently returned from a two week break in Fuertevenura, where we stayed at La Tahona.We were self caterng so cannot really comment on the food. We were very sceptical when we arrived as we had read some very negative reviews, however, we found the apartment clean and comfortable.Towels changed three times each week and linen changed once a week. The pool area was kept clean and tidy by the staff and the other real beauty was that sunbeds were not unchained until 10am which meant there was no need to be up at the crack of dawn to get a spot. Staff extremely helpful and pleasent. We would recommend this complex to all, please don't believe all the unecessary negativities as they are just not true. We will definately be returning to the Island and would quite happily stay at La Tahona again. Andy and Lisa"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012
  • Good For: Beach
by leelee68
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

do not go

"o my god what a hotel know thats the wrong word i meen dump please beleive these reviews they are real the rooms where a hazard waiting to happen people could so easy catch something fron these rooms cause if these sheets where clean i would not of liked to of seen the dirty ones the pool was ok life guard was a joke my daughter had to save a little boys life as all the life guard did was sit at the pool bar its nice to know your kids are safe not the food was bad i mean who wants to eat burger and peas for breakfast in a red sause i mean what happened to bacon eggs please if you do go check your pork and chicken as it was pink and if you have kids you only have two main choices and chips so if your kids like chips then that will be all they will be eating but not for getting the green jelly no icecrean just green jelly and to end with the hotel put out food for the cats and they didnt eat it so what hope to us hummons have hang your heads in shame low cost holidays i bucked a three star hotel not a one star you have let me and my family down."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: its close to the centre
  • Good For: Beach
by Jayne R
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

its not that bad

"i have just returned from here and yes whilst the food was very poor it was on some days edible,the staff were pleasent enough and there were places down the road with great value meals.pluses nice clean pool area with plenty of sunbeds,freindly helpful staff,adequate rooms size,and the faults are,food,bar closing at 23.00 every night,no entertainment,but in all myself and my wife had a very relaxing pleasent hols,this was made better because of the people we met between us we all had a good laugh,as i said to them you are on hols no good moaning kick back and enjoy yourself.not the right place for kids as poor food choices and no entertainment day or night.THIS IS A TWO STAR NOT 3 AS WE WERE TOLD"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with Lastminute
  • Advice: bring money to eat out on occasions
  • Good For: Beach
by John D
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Explore area

Map for La Tahona Garden Apartments Closest airport: Fuerteventura (FUE) 3.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Caleta De Fuste

Hotels near La Tahona Garden Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own La Tahona Garden Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at La Tahona Garden Apartments? Share your insight.

La Tahona Garden Apartments is also called:

  • la tahona garden apartments hotel

Address: C/ Alcalde Marcial Sanchez Velazquez 17, Fuerteventura 35610, Spain