Center Parcs Sherwood Forest

Sherwood Forest, Rufford NG22 9DN, United Kingdom
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(100 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
51
Good
20
Average
10
Poor
5
Awful
14

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 39 »
Peaceful but expensive.

"We have been to 3 of the UK Parcs now.

Sherwood is lovely. It is quiet and well laid out, the wildlife was a big bonus for us, we loved feeding the squirrels, ducklings/ducks and geese.

All public areas are clean and spacious, the main facilities are all close to each other, and these are close to the car park too. Not too hilly, although those with walking difficulties may struggle a little.

The accommodation (we stayed in a 2 story executive lodge) is big enough, but by no means huge. The upkeep is lacking a little with things like the frying pan needing replacing long ago and a dishwasher that struggled to wash dishes.

I also have to mention the uncomfortable (contemporary) sofa.

We have previously stayed in 2 bed villas and they are more roomy and comfortable although with the lodge you do get your own parking space (get there early) and maid service every day.

Activities are expensive so keep that in mind if you want a full week, if you are happy to swim/walk/cycle and have a quiet/lazy week then you can make it a whole lot more affordable.

Restaurants, as expected, are also on the pricey side. The sports cafe burgers are lovely though, 2for1 weds and Thursday too!

Generally a lovely place to get away from it all, relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Make sure you chose villa location wisely, take your own food and plan to cook to save a lot of money.
by Heidi S
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Dont Go Here

"Just returned from a weekend break at the park. Filthy disgusting place. Rude Staff in supermarket need to retire and get a life. Prices scandalous. Cabin which we had a executive one dirty, bed linen smelly, hole in floor, dirty windows etc. etc.. Ladies toilet's in sports area smelly, dirty sanitary towels bins and smelly. No one cleaning areas around sports hall, glasses and unfinished food left on tables. Urine on floor in water dome changing rooms, food on floor around pool area.I developed a rash on my chest from the pool so please don't put your children in this water. Sister has a bad throat also. We came home a day early as we could not take any more The total place needs some management time, putting into looking at the whole park and certain staff training on communication skills. Would not go here again even if it was free!!"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go
by gwen26
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Expensive brand for wha you get

"Ants in toilet ants in bathroom, towel rails did not work so could only swim once. Once you are in you are tied into whatever costs they want to charge. How do you tell a child no !

Would recommend Hoseasons or other companies before center parks. Big brand little value.
"

by Jay W
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our family get together

"Another lovely family reunion at center parts. The family now range in ages from 4 to 74 yrs and yet we still find center parts an enjoyable place to catch up, reminisce, and wind down. We have been visiting the parks for over 20 years spending many happy times with all the family at different ages. We have now gone from spending hours dashing around the poolside in the Subtropical pool and bobbing up and down with the toddlers squealing as we jump another wave. Now we wave off the teenagers from the lodge whilst we the adults, spend an hour over a cappuccino in Starbucks before heading off to the Spa for a well earned massage and tranquil moment in a Turkish Sauna and grandma can have her nails manicured. However it's not long before the parents and grandparents are joining the teens in the pool for a ride on the rapids showing how after just a day in center parts can make you feel young and fearless again! A walk back to the welcoming villa in a early spring evening finds grandad showing the youngest in the party the forest route of the frogs and the first hoot of the night from the owl trying to find his mate. What a great weekend we had meeting up and gathering more memories for the photo album ..... see you all same place.. same time next year."

by tracye
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Centre Parcs Weekend Break

"We had a great weekend, the Woodland Lodge was comfortable and clean and very well placed for all village activities. The staff in all areas were friendly and helpful and there was lots to do. The only downside to any break here is the cost of extra activities and the food and drink in the restaurants and bars, which limited what we participated in."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2014, Booked Independently
by Suzy R
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Center Parcs - August 2013

"The Center Parcs cleaning standards and customer service have, unfortunately, gone down hill over the past two years or so in my estimation. We have seen this happen over the last 10+ trips we've made there. Problems with poor/non-working remote controls on the TV; grubby floors; missing cutlery items; poor quality bedding/towels etc etc are just the start of it. We've just come back from a long break and were awoken by dustcarts every other day at 05:30 in the morning; faulty smoke alarms which when reported to Guest Services took a very long time (10+ hours on one day)to resolve. Technical Services saying they have resolved the problem when they haven't. Some staff are not happy as confirmed with one of the cleaners. Prices especially at peak times are stupidly high as are the activities and eating out. The setting is still lovely in the main and well kept though. For less than 50% of what we paid for 11 nights we are going to a 4* SPA hotel in Austria next year for the same number of nights/time of year and that includes travel and half-board. Customer Services are just not interested in our complaints but dismissed all of them in an email - I am still following this up. Center Parcs - it's previously been nice knowing you but never again."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't go - save your money and perhaps looks at Forest Holidays for a true "in the forest" experience?
by Glyn C
2 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Center Parcs Sherwood Forest

"Over priced and very poor quality accommodation. Damp rooms, lack of kitchen facilities and oversensitive smoke alarm made cooking impossible.Bathroom and toilet dirty and dated."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Be prepared to spend double what you expected as every thing costs more
by don3108
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great place

"Top notch accommodation. They thought about everything while travelling with children. A proper wooden cot and high chair. They could put little gates at the back next to the bbq, so tots don't wander off to the river beyond when playing outside. Extremely clean and spaceous. We went without a car, so we ordered some shopping delivery on the internet and the security were kind enough to take it up to our lodge for us and unloaded everything in our kitchen. The local shop is quite pricey. You have to pay extra for most things and they charge per child, so it all adds up. We went on one of their specials, as we could not afford it otherwise. To be fair, looking at how immaculate the place is, though, you can see where all the expense goes."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Most restaurants have jungle gyms and playgrounds that you can enter without actually eating there - the best are at Sports bar, Forresters, Hucks and Cafe Rouge(babies) also at bowling centre
by onyxus
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Priceless family break

"A welcome, relaxing break for my partner, young family and myself. Lots for the whole family to do and didn't stop laughing the whole time we were there. The 11 month old loved the soft play and aquapark. I particularly enjoyed a couple of hours of relaxation at the Spa while the youngsters had a blast on the quad bikes. Real value for money. Loved it!! Will be back later in the year with the rest of my family to celebrate a family members 40th ;)"

  • Holiday details: May 2013, Booked Independently
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by lisa66
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great experience.

"Well organised, professional fun environment, clean, safe and friendly. We have been about 10 times in the last 6 years and our experience has never differed. It can cost as much or as little as you want it to."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Just enjoy the relaxation and safety the centre offers.
by Sheena C
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

DISAPPOINTING

"Based on my last visit. The new style woodland lodge(oak 549) was lacking in cleanliness and quality standards of fixtures, fittings and equipment. I also found that the activities and services, ie food and drink was very expensive."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: CENTRE PARCS CHARGE YOU EXTRA FOR A CHOSEN VILLA. IT MAY BE WISE TO CONSIDER AS YOU MAY BE GIVEN A POOR QUALITY VILLA IF YOU DON'T.
by eileendkeefe
4 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good family all rounder.

"Booked 4 bed New Style Woodland Lodge. Nice layout, spacious & 2 x twin better than bunks and a cheerful setting. Fire grate for logs lovely evening meal atmosphere. Decor minimalist and very pleasant but some basic family requirements minimalist as well. You are captive in this village to spending on silly overpriced items instead of treats unless you pack for every eventuality.

Remove lights, gel pad seat cushions etc. from bikes when parked up as sadly we live in todays world. Use stout combination locks. CP basic locks get clipped.

No hooks in bathroom or bedroom except single straight 2 inch silver useless stump. 8 identical white personal towels provided so not going to leave in communal bathroom rendering heated towel rail useless when chalet shared with friends rather than immediate family. Nowhere to hang in your bedroom. Take cheapo camping over the door platic hooks.

Granite worktops have just a few lines of groove to drain and a lightweight chrome rack totally inadequate to wash up after 8 people. You have to pay for the inevitable avalanche of glass smashing into the sink and crunchy glass on kitchen floor. Take the Bettaware 6.99 plastic drainer tray to use on other side of sink and reuse on future hols to double up draining space. Shouldn't have to think out and supply such basic things and there is the background irritation as the 'head cook and bottle washer'that they should have sorted this by putting several real families in for several weeks at the design stage.

Massively overpriced fire logs cost £1 if purchased at bargain stores near home.

Overall holiday experience very pleasant and 'away from it all in the forest'. Bird hut a personal favourite. Pancake house a cheerful experience any time of day with little beach and playground.

Good experience with all staff this hol and check in very smooth for time of year.
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2012, Booked Independently
by Alison L
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 39 »

Explore area

Map for Center Parcs Sherwood Forest Closest airport: Robin Hood Doncaster Sheffield (DSA) 21.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Center Parcs Sherwood Forest
  • by Pooky88

    " A walk around the lake is beautiful, and have a try of the yummy pancakes at the pancke housex "

  • by Janet

    " Book activities in advance to avoid disappointment "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Take your own food...if you do want to eat out pre-book restaurant!! "

  • by Jonathan Platt

    " try out as many activities as possible "

  • by Steve Scott

    " Book Well in Advance for all activities and restuarants "

  • by Tordoff

    " It is worth selecting your lodge location to suite your ease of access to your range of activities. "

  • by Julie Icke

    " Book on back of stream for wildlife. Also, outer area so you can get use out of your bikes. "

  • by Alison Lord

    " If first visit ask friends/family if previously been for their packing list based on experience. Take a concertina clothes airer and radiator drying racks for constant wet clothes/swimwear "

Similar hotels around Rufford

Hotels near Center Parcs Sherwood Forest

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Center Parcs Sherwood Forest?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Center Parcs Sherwood Forest? Share your insight.

Center Parcs Sherwood Forest is also called:

  • center nottingham parcs
  • centre parks nottingham

Address: Sherwood Forest, Rufford NG22 9DN, United Kingdom