Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(15 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
12
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Fabulous Holiday

"We have just returned from this amazing place and had a truly fantastic holiday, the staff were second to none,couldnt do enough for you and made you feel as if you were the only ones there with the personal service, the Animation team were incredible especially Omar a man of very many talents and with a personality to match. The hotel itself was well maintained very clean, the meals were tasty and plentiful, our room was attended to by our lovely housekeeper Jamilia daily, she was delightful, on our parents weddding anniversary she saw the cards up in the room and when they returned from their day out it was decorated beautifully with two swans in a heart shape made from towels a bouquet of roses and rose petals around the room what a lovely thoughtful lady, it made mum and dads day!! Morocco on the whole was a lovely country to visit - we visited the Atlas Mountains and saw some incredible memorable sights the children were quite humbling just wish we had more to give, bless them. The beach was soft and sandy although hot(ouchy on the feet) the water warm and the waves enjoyable. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any of you planning a trip to Morocco soon. Enjoy"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Just enjoy every moment
  • Good For: Beach
by Ruth C
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great location, excellent service

"Very pleasant hotel. Spacious room, excellent service. Very friendly staff in all areas. Little touches that make your holiday hassle free such as no charge for room safe, generous provision of bottled water, waiter service for drinks.

Good position, grounds well kept, lovely heated pool, though spent a lot of our time on the beach listening to the waves where we never had a problem getting a sunbed. Plentiful choice of food, lots of fresh fish. Beer, wine, cocktails, soft drinks freely available. Agree with previous reviewer regarding mobility issues however, lots of steps to dining room and didn’t appear to be an alternative access.
"

by Ollie134
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant!

"Le Tikida Beach, was brilliant! i would recommend it to anyone!!

the staff are friendly. You really do enjoy your self. you tihk 1 week would be enough but whn it comes to the day you have to leave you wish you could have another week there!! honestly it is a brilliant hotel. after this week of being there, i am going to go back.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: not to wear there football t-shirts haha
  • Good For: Beach
by lauren_x_x
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Situated at the end of the town were...

"Situated at the end of the town were all the best hotels, it had everything you could wish for. The food was of a high standard and the deserts were to die for. But the one thing I would suggest is that you check before you go that it isn’t Ramadan, when the locals fast all daylight hours for a month, because some cafes and restaurants stay closed during the day.

The hotel was mainly French tourists and the waiters usually started to speak to you in French as did in most places but nearly all did speak English. The drinks came in glasses which is not always the case in most all inclusives. If you are a cocktail or shorts person you will love it but be warned you will not get a good drink of beer anywhere the local stuff (Flag beer)is awful.

There is a British pub in town that sells all the usual British beers and lagers but it’s all warm. The beach is fantastic - nice and clean where we were but there is usually a good breeze that picks up sometime during the day. There is a noddy train that runs from one end to the other end of town also taxis both very cheap, but you could walk to the centre in 10 minutes.

You must do the two day trip to Marakesh. A real experience. Most of the other trips are uncle’s shop and brother’s café. On the whole one of the three top hotels in Agadir just behind the Sofitel Hotel and the Atlas.
"

by C Wood
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Had a great time

"We have just returned from the Tikida beach hotel and we have had a great time, the food was excellent and anyone who says they cannot find anything to eat must be extremely fussy they cater for everyone pizzas to the traditional food, tagines ,etc. Although it is all inclusive you still get waiter service for your drinks which is very nice. The staff are very friendly the only complaint I would have is that there did not seem to enough staff on reception especially when you are booking in and the man changing the currancy could learn to smile but other than that everyone was so helpful in many ways, We did not have the disco as it has been renovated it would have been nice as an alternative as the shows where not as good as we have had but they try their best, but as I said we did have a great time

I would add that although you have to haggle to buy something in the shops we did not think it was as bad as Tunisia and certainly not as bad as egypt.

The rooms were very clean and bedding and towels changed every day.
"

by Wondermum
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Well Worth It

"This was our second visit to agidir after three years and we were amazed how much it had changed if you have never been before you must give it a go and if you have its well worth giving it an

another try its much cleaner and smarter now.

TIKIDA BEACH HOTEL this is every thing you come to expect form a rui hotel very clean and friendly check in was fast but we were very disapointed with our rooms at first , we were a party of three with my mother in law who is in her 70"s and ended up with rooms overlooking the front of the hotel with its busy main road and building site right out side mothers balcony and beyond.

but with a big smile and an english bank note the the guy on reception soon got us 2 rooms overlooking the pool and with a sea view thrown in.The first time we went to agidir i was not really impressed with the local food but this hotel changed that .here i found the food very good lots of choice and you can eat in complete confidence; every meal can be taken inside or out and the service you get from the waiting staff is excellent we found the evening buffet really good and with good wine on ice crisp white table cloths it felt a little more classy to some of the all inclusive hotels we have stayed in.The pool area is clean and tidy with lots of sun beds no need to save wich is discouraged by the hotel. it has a swim up bar but sadly wasn"t open while we were there.i found the paving around the pool area in need of some attention and a little sharp on the feet.Lunch is taken in the fish restaurant with its views over agidir"s fantastic beach the buffet has a wide selection of hot and cold fair and its here that Hicham the waiter can be found this man goes well beyond the call of duty the service he gave us was by far the best we have ever had in any hotel we have ever stayed in yes i did tip him a little now and again but i do that little number with them all, this man is a real asset to the hotel very profesional .as we say in the uk [well done that man ] Agidir beach is streched out beyond this point and has got to be the cleanest beach i have ever seen no litter: no weed no drift wood nothing but miles of orange sand we never saw any cleaning being done someone must do it for its prestine And so you may think our holiday was perfect and yes it was almost the only problem we had was with our thomson rep .

[ laura] and im afraid she gave us so much incorect information

along with not turning up when she should have it did cause

some heated words with hotel staff for wich we can only apologise we were misinformed . We took a one day trip to marrakech dont do it i would recommend that you take the 2 day alternative we spent 8hrs on the coach the 2day is much more leisurely

we would highly recomend tikida beach and agidir for your next vacation andy; sue mama pam
"

by minesascotch
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First visit to Morocco

"This was our first visit to Morocco and we spent two weeks at this Hotel. The first week we were with our friends who had stayed here last year.

Check In. Fast and friendly service.

Room. Large room very clean with excellent view of the beach and situated on the side of the Hotel. Cleaned daily with frequent towel/linen change. Hand held showers but adequate hot water. Plenty of space for clothes.

Service. All Management and Staff very friendly. Yes we did tip but only about £1.20 each time. They will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay in their Country.

Other Guests. Again all very friendly in our experience even with the language problems. If you are polite and friendly to everyone you meet then they will be the same to you.

Food. Plenty of food to cater to all tastes. If you try something you do not like all you have to do is go and get something else. The Fish and Moroccan restaurants are well worth a visit. They have to be booked. We enjoyed our evenings there. Monday was Moroccan night in the main restaurant and staff dress up.

Drinks. Again plenty available. Cocktails and shorts were stronger than I have experienced in other all inclusives. Wine was much better than in Greece Turkey and Tunisia. The Rose wine is popular especially at lunch time. Tea at breakfast is Liptons and if you put 3 teabags in your pot it is ok!! You can have as many bottles of water each day as you wish both fizzy and still. We take a kettle from home so that we can make tea first thing in the morning in our room as there are never any tea and coffee making facilities.

Entertainment. There is entertainment every evening such as Belly Dancing, Snake Charmers, Moroccan Dancers and some music and dancing. We suggested they should have more dancing and more upbeat music. The Night Club was not open but there was disco between 11.00pm and 2.00am but we did not go.

Pool and Beach. All very clean and plenty of beds at both. Cannot say if would be beds July and August but the Hotel was full during our second week so it should be ok. You can walk to Agadir on the beach if you wish. You will meet some traders but they are ok. A simple "No Thank You" will ensure they move on to the next person. If you walk the other way you will be stopped by a Guard after about a mile as the Kings Palace is just up from that part of the beach but it is still a good walk to do and no problem. You just have to turn back at that point.

The setting of this hotel is wonderful and very relaxing with both beach and gardens within the hotel.

Out and About. We did not go on the trips as we wished to relax. We took a taxi to the hilltop kasbah and asked the taxi driver to wait for us. Always agree a price first and they will stick to it. They are reasonably priced. He then took us the the main Souk in Agadir. Here you can find whatever you are looking for. We got a guide to show us round. This facility if free of charge as he is paid by the traders but we did give him a small tip. He will take you to traders who are selling what you are looking for and this will save you time and ensure that you do not get lost. The Souk is really massive. Get a price in your mind of what you are prepared to pay and stick to it. They will usually come down to your price if it is realistic. One warning the toilets in the Souk are awful. Make sure you have your own toilet paper if you really have to use them. They consist of two plates to stand on and then just holes in the ground. A very unpleasant experience!!!

You can get on the little train for a look round the resort this cost about £1.30 each for adults for a round trip.

We have really enjoyed our stay at this Hotel and resort and would hope to return in the not too distant future. Because we are a couple we have found out that the best time to go is May September or early October but avoid the half term breaks if you do not want to have children around. June July and August is more suitable for families and people with children.

Hope you have a great Holiday!!!
"

by pop36
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We would recommend this Hotel

"We have just got back from Le Tikida Beach which was our second visit.

Room. clean comfortable and spacious

Staff. Really can't do enough for you always smiling

Food. We can not find fault, there is so much choice and at any time of the day

Pool. Warm with lots of sunbeds

Entertainment. Short Moroccain show every night, which is usually very good, with dancing music later

Overall this Hotel is very relaxing, fab location on the beach. All the staff work very hard to make this stay a very enjoyable one..........you would not be dissapointed.
"

by whippets4ever
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This hotel offered excellent...

"This hotel offered excellent standards of service and accommodation. The location was suburb and the staff very friendly but very professional.

The all inclusive package was excellent value and of a very high standard. There was an extensive choice of food suitable for all tastes and a comprehensive range of drinks on offer.

The entertainment was varied and was entertaining different to many hotels we have visited.

In my opinion this hotel is more suitable for the 40+ age group.
"

by PJ White
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Exceeds expectations

"We had booked a short haul 'week in the sun whilst avoiding the Canaries' in the drab and cold February this year. Not having visited Morocco before, we were somewhat sceptical, but on arrival at the hotel, being greeted by a waiter serving orange cocktails in reception, any fears were quashed. The Tikida Beach is a first class all inclusive hotel, totally unlike the typical 'all inclusive hotels' read about (and experienced) of other places. Staff are friendly, helpful, have a sense of humour, and contrary to other reviews I have read, all spoke very good English, despite the French and German guests being in the majority. The room was very clean, although we were close to the service lift and were awoken early. This was not a problem as we like to be up and around in the sun! The dining room was first class, service excellent, and if there was a complaint, the food could have been a little hotter; and oh, and there were no Yorkshire puddings or gravy with the roast beef! The Moroccan dishes cooking in the terrines were piping hot.

It was one of the few hotels where sunbeds outnumbered guests but even so, the German guests still had to get the towels out early! There is a private beach area and a large pool, no feeling of being overcrowded. A taxi into a small,clean, Western style town (the original Agadir in the nearby Atlas Mountains was wiped out by an earthquake in 1960 and King Mohamed V ordered the re-build to be on a nearby flat plain in a Western style) is very cheap.

We spoke to many people in the week - none had any negative things to say about the place. We will go back anytime for a week in the sun without having to suffer the 'kiss-me-quick', 'fish and chip', 'english breakfast', atmoshphere of the Costas and the Canaries (I know those images are not representative of the totality of those areas!)

The Tikida Beach Hotel website has as good a set of photos as I could submit.

Very good value for money.
"

by siddy123
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Riu good time in agadir

"My wife and I stayed at the Tikida beach hotel for a week at the end of April.

The hotel was great. Ok it's not the most impressive hotel in the world in terms of style & comfort, (not sure how old it is but I personally don't think it makes enough of its position on the seafront) but it makes up for in charm and sophistication.

The setting is fabulous though - right on the beach with plenty of sunloungers available to use. The great thing being that the beach is private so that no beach vendors could get to you due to the security guards at the entrance (the beach sellers were friendly & chatty - not agressive in the slightest) the security there to ensure that the tranquility of your holiday wasn't broken.

The pool is large & is really 2 seperate parts - one bit deep, the other shallow, which means that there was plenty of room for all and a choice of whether to swim or just cool down. (PS there is a pool bar contary to another review - just that in early April (as per the brochure, if those people had bothered to have read) it isn't open.

The food was excellent. The fact that the hotel caters for mostly french people means that the food has to be good. Ok, if you are expecting burger and chips, chicken and chips, steak and chips, fish & chips etc then you'll be disappointed - instead expect french/morrocan cuisine, with the odd staple (pasta) thrown in. Food was buffett style, but at all meals the choice was good and was restocked regularly so there was always something to choose from.

The main bar was great for a few drinks, with the waiters offering table service and entertainment in the form of a man on a keyboard most nights, which provided background music (although his play list was a bit limited).

Rooms were very spacious if a bit basic (twin single beds pushed together) TV, Fridge (unstocked unlike RIU hotels in the carribean) and a decent bathroom. All were kept spotlessly clean.

Staff were really friendly. My french is poor but i tried to speak french where possible - the staff on hearing my accent 99% of the time responded in English to make life easier for me. Go there with the mentality that everyone should speak English and expect the same customs as the UK & you'll get the holiday you deserve.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed holiday in beautiful surroundings with easy access to other parts of morocco or to those who want to stay around the hotel complex and enjoy the service and sun
"

by chats103
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Fab Value For Money

"We stayed at this hotel 20 -27 April 2007. After reading the reviews I was a bit concerned and after seeing some of the comments felt very strongly that I should write this review!!

We stayed at the riu tikida beach , two couples, each with a 6 year old child

We arrived on time - although thomas cook flights must have the smallest seat pitch in the world!! I am 5'2" and my knees were wedged into the seat in front of me.

The transfer was quick and easy.

Upon arrival our cases were taken straight to check in and then immediately to the room. We were all given mint tea, and the children fresh orange juice. Check in was brief and then we were shown straight to our rooms. No pigeon english from the staff at all.

We went straight out to the pool, which was large clean and there were plenty of sunbeds. The pool is a figure of eight shape with a shallow and deep section. Great for the kids.

I must point out that there IS a swim up bar, but like most hotels, not all facilities are open until the season is in full swing - hence the closure.

We found the staff to be extremely friendly and polite at all times and we were very impressed with them.

We agree though that a small tip does go a long way!

We also went to the effort of learning a little basic french before we flew out to help with the communication!!

Yes, this hotel does cater for french and germans more, but that is because they are the majority here. But they also cater for the english as well. Our two children were invited to the mini club by one of the staff and put into the care of a staff member who spoke the best english - however, is this not an ideal opportunity to introduce your child to another language ? (if you want culture!!) Our two kids really enjoyed it. They had the mini club, their own section of pool, a great beach and there was babysitting!!! hoorah!!

The food was great and not one of us was ill ( apart from the hangovers!)

The buffets were of great quality and very fresh.

There were lots of local foods to sample, lamb/beef tagines, cous cous, kebabs, local salads and desserts. However if you are not that adventurous there was pasta, pizza, fries, salads, vegetables etc YOU WONT GO HUNGRY AS THERE IS TOO MUCH TO CHOOSE FROM!!.

Now to the entertainment, yes I agree this is not much to write home about! We saw some acrobatics and a belly dancer that were both good, but only on for about 15 minutes each evening. The rest was a bit laughable- such as the man who spends the whole of his 15 minutes spinning roung and putting umbrellas up and down ?? ( not sure what that was all about?) We travelled with friends and we are not that bothered about the entertainment as we make our own. But if you are, then maybe another hotel might be better for you.

There is a nightclub here, but that was closed for refurbishment ( we knew this prior to leaving the uk). there is also a bar called zanzibar that had a live band each night - the singer was from the us called pam knight - and they were fab. The only downside to this is that the all inclusive option stops the second you walk over the zanzibar threshold!! you cant take drinks in and the drinks there are quite expensive. cocktails approx £4.25 and a bottle of moet £75!!!

There is a large spa here which was great and very well priced. I had a seaweed body wrap ( £14) and a body/face shiatsu massage 1hr (£22) There were loads of treaments available to choose from wraps, massages, hydrotherapy, thallasotherapy, slimming ultrasounds, hammam, rasoul etc etc

Agadir is not the best place for exploring traditional culture, so why not try casablanca or marrakech if this is what you want?

All in all this hotel is an excellent all rounder and we thought it was fab. Learning a little basic french will reward you tenfold. After all, they have to speak english french german italian arabic ! The age range at the hotel is definitely older with the hotel bar being pretty much clear by 10.30, and the speciality restaurants finish serving at 8!! but the main room is open till 10.

If you looking to 'large it' all week then book club 18-30 as this is not the place.

We are not package holiday people, preferring to book online separately - but this worked out cheaper with first choice and to be honest has slightly changed my mind about the package option.

Would we go back - yes
"

by babyharry5
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Hotel Riu Tikida Beach Closest airport: Inezgane (AGA) 3.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Agadir

Hotels near Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Riu Tikida Beach?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Riu Tikida Beach? Share your insight.

Hotel Riu Tikida Beach is also called:

  • riu tikida beach agadir
  • riu tikida beach hotel
  • Tikida Beach Hotel

Address: Chemin des Dunes BP 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco