Horizon Beach Hotel

Crete 70014, Greece
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(17 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
5
Good
5
Average
2
Poor
2
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 5.5/10
Service: 6.5/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Horizon Beach Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Dont ever go there!

"I just came back from Crete and I have to say that the hotel is the worst place Ive ever been to.

Not a 3/4 star as there is no standard and locals will confirm that to you when you ask them.

Health/Safety, Fire Safety, Security and Lifts are a concern as none of these was checked sicne 2005. I had life wires sticking out of an outlent above SHOWER!

Staff longfaced, not happy with the job.

Place not cleaned on daily basis, dirty sheets and our towels werent changed for 5 days! to add we didnt get the for the first 3 days of our stay.

Food is awful,cheapest meat and sausages/eggs other specials were questionable and really not fresh.only white bread with no brown bread,rolls or else to choose from. Only thing we went for was the fruit.

Facilities and room is really a back to the future as you get the feeling that time has stopped for them 10-15 years ago. Same applies to cleaning obviously.

Hotel is a family owned business and when you get there the lack of experience,qualifications or manners will hit you.

I booked holidays for 2 weeks back in March 2011. On arrival with no hello, how r u I was told to follow a man who will show me apartment(family apartment)away about 10-15mins from the hotel.Complete ruin, not clean or any close of being ready to accept us.

We were discriminated and treated like pigs with no manners. Attempts of getting anything sorted was a waste of time and we decided and some point to give up as Travel Agents rep told us that the best thing will be to stay out from the hotel as much as possible.

Im opening a case against them as its really unacceptable that tour operator is in no position to resolve a single issue.

Overall a Total Mistake not a hotel so please be aware when booking! if you need any more info email me on ptk82 (at)poczta.fm
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: out of order!
by PTK
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Aimed at eastern europeans

"Arrived at the hotel early hours of the morning and were met by the night desk man. Given a room key and pointed in the direction of our room by use of a laser pointer on the road. Safe 10 euro a week and aircon 40 euro a week. The room was VERY basic but clean. After setling in we found ants on the floor and climbing on to the bed. The all inclusive of the hotel is geared towards former eastern block countries, with only 1 beer available or the choice of 3 spirits, Ouzo, Raki or local Brandy. Fizzy drinks and water were supplied along with tea and coffe. Bedding was changed once and towels twice in the week we were there. A small shop was available off the reception area."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: avoid all inclusive unless you enjoy stews, salads,angel delight and limited drink selection
by Sheffield area
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant

"just back from horizon beach hotel best holiday ever.

staff are very friendly..food great(all-inclusive)

location excellent..views breath taking

i will be back this year (i hope).

peter and patricia(see ye soon)
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Panorama
  • Advice: just relax and enjoy (its really beautiful)
  • Good For: Beach
by brother bear
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Time Great Food Great Staff

"Just returned from a great holiday. Room basic but clean. Staff very helpful. Food traditional Greek, good and tasty. Poor holiday rep. (Olympic) was only interested in promoting Olympic packages. Booked our excursions through Thomas Cook. (Very helpful). It would be good if the complex organised entertainment at night."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by FJWood
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not for young people.

"i came here with 3 of my friends. we are all 18 and when we booked this holiday we got told that we were a 10 minute walk from Malia. well we were actually an hour & half walk from malia. if you want a nice quiet hoilday with your partner .. then come here. its diffinatly not for young people. the place itself is lovelly, but unless you want a young lively place to have a laugh during the day & night then this isnt really the place to be."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
by lorna
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

R & R at its best!!

"We have just spent 2 incredible weeks in Stalis staying at the Horizon Beach Hotel!!. Atmosphere from day one of our holiday was friendly and always helpful. Rooms were good, spacious and clean, sheets and towels were changed several times a week. The shop down at reception stocked everything you would need to survive! Some young people at hotel but we had no problems with noise or any sleep disturbance. Views from the hotel were just out of this world. Pool area was great - very spacious. Stalis itself was about 10 minutes walk with a great selection of restaurants and pubs (good Irish ones).

We have nothing but good things to say about the Horizon Beach Hotel and hopefully we can go back again next year all going well. Many thanks to Christo, Harrys, Cookie and Bobby for looking after us so well!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Bidget Travel
  • Advice: Views to die for - lovely place
  • Activities: Marias & Hellas
  • Good For: Beach
by clairelynam1
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I've just got back from a 1 week stay...

"I've just got back from a 1 week stay with my husband at the Horizon apart/hotel. The view from the hotel is breath taking and the pool area is lovely. However the rooms are very basic and we shared them with a family of ants! We could hear every noise and movement going on outside our room which made for disturbed sleeps each night. When we asked to be moved the manager was quite irritated by this but we insisted and we were moved to a more suitable, quiter area.

I have to say the staff here were overall quite unfriendly and not very pleasent. The shop was only half stocked and they stopped selling the news papers becase they said it was the end of the season even though they had a huge number of guests.

The location of the hotel is ideally situated and is a nice short 10 minute walk to Stalis beach road but I would not stay there again because of the way the staff treated guests.
"

by  S Taylor
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Relaxing resort

"This resort was very nice, he staff at the bar and restaurant we very welcoing, I would definitely recommend these apartments as a holiday destination.

The up points of the apartments was definitely the location, it was on the sea front, lovely views, the room we were staying in had a sea view. The room was very clean also. The maid came most days.

The down points were there was only one roll of toilet roll given to us for the week. Some of the rooms are below basement level although I did not get to see them I was told that they were quite small.

Hersonissos is only a bus ride away, were all the lively nightlife is, in gouves town itself it was on the quite side, but there are still 2for1 offers.

Overall a good relaxing holiday in a nice locaion.
"

by kmmh58
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Loved the Lyda Horizon Stalis

"Firstly may i say that we stayed at this hotel last Sep 2006 as we did this Sept again.

Did not get around to writing my review last year.

Here it is now for both years holidays.

Loved it, the rooms basic but nice and hey when in Greece this is what you get.(no problem to us).

The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

The views from our rooms (both years),were breathtaking,over looking the swimming pool ,the lovely sea and down around the bay of Stalis,wow.

Plenty of sunbeds around the pool and a small pool with a mushroom type waterfall for the children.

Lovely food,theres an evening menu on the board each day at the pool bar good choice for around 5euro,also a full menu too.

There is an upstairs bar and this is also nice, a shop for daily newspapers etc,theres supermarkets quite near the hotel also.

The lady who cleaned our room both years is lovely ,Anastasia ,and although she speaks a little English we managed to have chats about our families etc,in fact she invited my husband and i to her daughters Wedding at the end of the year but we cannot make it,soo nice to be asked.

The manager Rhula was very nice to us along with the rest of her staff esp George and Yanni down at the pool bar,we had some great craic with them.

Must add that last year before going i had read some bad reviews on this hotel,ok there was a bit of noise,people coming home late now and again but this did not put us off and we intend going again next year,or perhaps to Zakynthos again.

Would like to point out one thing, i would like to see this hotel as an over 25s,it is one of the best in Stalis.
"

by maisie713
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Beautiful Place

"A bit disappointed when we first saw apartment.However when we opened the shutters- WOW -The view is breathtaking. Basic but spotless Any complaints dealt with very promptly. Staff very friendly and helpful.Lovely location away from centre but lovely 10 minute walk by sea to all the action Would love to go back.........

Phyl & Fran
"

by morojo
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Best Ever !

"Just back from 2 weeks in Stalis with my girlfriend. Absolutely amazing place. We thought the Lyda apartments were just right for a 2 week break, you have to remember that you are not purchasing a room in a 4 Star Irish hotel. From a sun holiday perspective, we both thought the apartment was lovely, with a beautiful view of the ocean from the balconies of all rooms. The pool was excellent, right on the edge of the ocean giving an amazing view. The night life was outstanding, I'd recommend the cocktail bar Rhythm and the Irish bar O' Dywers! We were scheduled to stay in Santorini for 3 days, we managed one night and went back to Stalis the next day we missed it that much!

Absolutely terrific place!
"

by Will1982
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

loved this place

"my 25 year old daughter and i are just back from a great hol in gouves. we had a large studio apt. overlooking the sea which was beautiful especially in the morning to wake up and listen to the sea and to sit on the balcony with a cup of coffee and watch the world go by or better still in the evening enjoying a glass of wine.the apt was very well furnished and kept very clean. we found the staff lovely and very helpfull. we had lunch here 3 times and was gorgeous. the restaurants in gouves are great , very cheap , good food and great service. gouves is a lovely easygoing resort and the local greek people are so nice. we visited knossoss outside heraklion and went there by local buses which are very cheap. we also did the spinalonga trip organised by budget travel and this is def. amust do trip.we really enjoyed it and great value. overall a fab holiday and hope to return next year staying again at the brill lyda beach."

by Molly50
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Horizon Beach Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Horizon Beach Hotel? Share your insight.

Horizon Beach Hotel is also called:

  • horizon beach stalís