Rising Star Apartments

Yianna Marie Resort PO Box 33271, Protaras 5312, Cyprus
3 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

9  / 10
(95 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
68
Good
20
Average
2
Poor
5
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 9/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
Good hotel by Mel M
8 / 10

Great location, great helpful staff especially girls/boys at reception. We went for week beg of June and have booked again 2 wks sept. Only thing i would complain about was no childrens club for youngsters which usually is great. We were B & B which was good. Looking forward to going back.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A little dissappointed by The Gilo's
8 / 10

Arrived at 5am in morning after a long delay, we were put in a top floor apartment which was ok, no prob with that, but then we heard the compressors buzzing on the roof, it was horrendous, we complained and were told no change til maybes Weds, we arrived on Monday. We were changed to another room, and apart from that had a lovely time, I would recommend this hotel but stay clear of rooms 409, and 411.

Email hotel with any requests don't rely on Thomas Cook :-(

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Stay away from rooms 409, and 411

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holiday rising star,protaras,july 2011. by stanno07
10 / 10

just returned from protaras and the rising star with my partner,had a lovely stay in a great location.where do i start,great location on arriving at the hotel just gone midnight we headed straight to the patio doors to see what life was like outside,knocked out by the sight that greeted us.a view of the bay,beach,pool,we was on the 4th floor and room number was even that means that you have this view.if you are in an odd number then you have a view of the fields.from the moment we woke next morning we woke to 2 boats bobbing up and down in the sea then sat up and saw the sea,beach,bay,amazing.these are truly lovely apts with fantastic staff who make you feel so special,especially the reception who where very good.lovely pool stroll down to the lawn then you are at the sea,short stroll 5 mins to the main beach,a few rocks not many though and beautifull clear blue sea.they are currently building a promenade the length of the bay which is nice.great food at the r.s and adrian is a bonus who keeps you entertained all day long,very clean,large rooms with all you need for the holiday.beware though when we were there 13-07-11 it was very,very humid at nght so you cant wait to get back to the air con in room for a drink in comfort.very quiet location,peacefull at night but short stroll[10mins] to the main street in town which can be a bit repetitive after a while.if you get chance go to the yianna marie restaurant opposite which is owned by the rising stars owners,excellent food,great staff with very reasonable prices,would definately recommend these apts for either singles or families.no problem.well done staff.RISING STAR MORE LIKE 5 STAR.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, self catering, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: nothing really,if you dont get car hire then the local buses are very good,went to nissi bay on bus,bargain for 1euro
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fab!! by cazza
10 / 10

was a bit nervous after reading some reveiws but had need not worry, rooms were spottless and cleaned regularly,was very surprised the plugs were english and there was a hairdryer in room,irons were free from reception. sc facilities were ample and aircon free and superb. beach gr8 very close, pool spotless. restaurant good. position brill, main street was bout 10 mins up road full of bars and restaurants to suit evry1, wd highly recommend the kebab shop as sometimes the heat was too unbearable to eat a full hot meal,also the bar on the front walk to the left of the hotel called canes gr8 if u like strongbow on a sunny afternoon and ther were plenty of those! staff were gr8 and the entertainment team,james and andy were a scream! we didnt hav kids with us this time but would deffo take them nx yr, u will never b grumpy they wont let you lol on the whole one of the nicest places ive stayed in a long while and wd highly recommend it!

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: fantastic!

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fun fun fun , by maggie
10 / 10

just got back , 04 08 10 , me and my family had a great time , the staff in the hotel , was very helpfull and frienly , , the beech is very close by , so we didnt have to go far for any water sports . very good if you got kiddies . they get looked after very well by the Dizzy and SHADES TEAM , iam going back there again, at some point

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: its nice and friendly
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Holiday Everrrrr!!! by we love ZODIACC!!!!
10 / 10

four 18 year old girls, stayed in this hotel in july 2010.. This hotel is excellent!! Location is amazing, 2 minute walk from beach, 5 minute from main nightlfe/restaurants!! James, one entertainer really helped us whilst we were there, couldnt ask for anyone better!!! didnt really see much of the holiday rep, but thats mainly because we wasnt in the pool/reception area at arounmd 6 pm.. there was a karaoke bar (ZODIAC) that we went to every night... met some amazing people there and was very good entertainment... Would really consider moving here! went to one nightclub (BOOGIES) with the people we met in Zodiac... It is an excellent place to go on holiday and we would all recommend it for anyone.. suitable for children, couples, and a girly holliday!! the hotel is fantastic, and they have entertainment for children which adults can also join in... hotel rooms kept clean, maid in every couple of days! we stayed in room 431 which was a sea view from the balcony, but we also could see the pool from a window in the bedroom.. it was seperate from the actual hotel, and was a block of apartments, but it was really suitable for our group!! WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT HERE!! WE WANT TO GO BACK TO THE SAME PLACEE!!!!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Yes
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant holiday by carol k
10 / 10

my three friends and i stayed at the rising star from 2-9june.apartment was really nice and clean.there was maid service every day/clean towels.our room hada lovely view of the beach and pool.staff were very friendly and helpful.on arrival at the resort late at night,we went out looking for something to eat,no joy until reaching the restaurant outside of tropical dreams hotel,where the owner costas spoke to us amd offered us a meal.not just anything that was left!he gave us menus to choose what we liked.service was lovely and he could not do enough for us.food was great,freshly madeno need to add we ate there again!you need to go there as the food and service are great,and costas is a lovely man.tell him his special ladies sent you.also the raj indian restaurant on the main road food is lovely there as well.for a lively night out try bells bar the greenery and the sfinx.us ladies will be back again!!!!!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, self catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: lovely place fantastic weather
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant by angie
10 / 10

We just returned from the Rising Star really good holiday ,the hotel is in a prime position right on the beach and close to all bars & restaurants .The hotel is clean ,really friendly staff couldnt fault it at all.We were in the annexe part just off from the main hotel our room was on the 5th floor with stunning views right out over the sea,i would strongly recommend this hotel its kept spotless the rooms are cleaned every day and we will definately be booking to return

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, self catering , Booked Independently
  • Advice: really lovely place cant wait to return
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excellent holiday by fionarob
9 / 10

we are a family of four stayed here in may/june 2010,excellent accommodation, excellent staff, very clean, maids nearly every day, lovely pool area , food in restaurant is lovely, excellent restaurant called Molti, good day out at waterpark. Entertainers at pool are good fun, waterpolo, quizzes but not too much if u dont want to join in. would definately visit again.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: great for kids, beach pool and restaurants
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best hols ever by kaz
10 / 10

Myself and my 4 friends stayed at the Rising Star. We were so impressed with the resort. Clean, classy - everything you want. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean, everything you need, AND HAIR DRYER, maids mostly every day BUT every day clean towels. The entertainment staff were great, you just have to put your name down for the quiz, FUN.

MUST TRY RESTAURANTS -

Astoria, fab, friendly - must try the Meze.

Don Corleone - a must, we ended up going there twice it WAS SO GOOD.

Yianni Marie - good, it hadnt long opened, it is going to get better, i know it, try it.

MUST TRY BARS -

The Square bar - BEST ELVIS YOU WILL EVER SEE (From Barry Island). MATT CRAIG - AWESOME. You will find a good Tom Jones too. If you go check Andy the Dj out. send our love xxxx). Greenery bar great, Karaoke bar great. Fab drink in Only Fools and Horses. JUST HAVE TO GO, CANT WAIT TO GET BACK THERE.

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: try it you will love it
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

this was the best hotel we have ever been to! by elizabeth
10 / 10

I visited the rising star with my brother (aged 7) mum and dad in 2009 and we thought it was the best hotel we had ever been to! Firstly the hotel rooms were very clean with air condition and were cleand by the mades everyday.The balcony views are beautiful especially the room we stopped in, room (101) as it a had a lovely sea view and part of the pool!There is a close beach next to the hotel but we taveled about 20 minutes to fig tree bay the best beach we had been to because it had a resturant right on the beach, the sea was not at all rocky and you could speand hours there just relaxing!The swimming pool has a jacuzzi but it is never switched on however the pool is still great. Overall the rising star hotel is the best holiday we have ever been on and are hoping to return in 2010.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: its great for familys of any age !
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Outstanding Holiday, Best hotel in Protaras by Missy103
10 / 10

We (four girls) stayed here in Easter holidays. Arrived at midnight, checked in very quickly and went to our one bedroom apartment. Lift access to all floors, all rooms have balcolnies. Night Porter helpful when asked at 1am where we could get food and drink. Directed us to The Greenery (excellent pub) which is on main strip and what a time we had there. The hotel sits right on the beach and is only a 5 minute walk to the main strip. People on here have reviewed it as being up a big hill but really if they think thats a hill I worry! The pool area is excellent with plenty of sun beds and direct sunshine until round about 2pm.

After this the sun hits all the balcolnies with the side sea view so if you are a sun worshiper don't get a pool view as after 2pm you will miss the sun. Ask for a side sea view (standard rooms no extra cost) and you'll get the sun at the pool all day then it will hit your balcolny late afternoon.

Hotel has all mod cons and facilities. Maid service every day. Standard british plugs no need for adapters!! Couple of TV channels (but really who goes on holiday to watch TV)Only ate at pool bar and was pretty tasty. Hotel does half board and all inclusive however we went self catering and Im glad we did as managed to try several different places to eat and drink.

Food wise in typical restaurant was roughly 12 euro for two courses, 11 euro for bottle of wine, 2.5 euro for pint of lager. A round of drinks in most places for 4 people cost 10 euro, definately not as expensive as I was expecting.

Protaras itself is an excellent resort for getting out and about. Mostly aimed at families and couples however as a group of girls we didnt want to be right among the clubbing scene in Aiya Napa however it was only 10 euro in a taxi when you fancied it.

Fantastic holiday all in all. Highly recommend the Greenery for some banter, Flora for 2 euro cocktails and Sphinx bar for some cheesy entertainment. Lovely people, excellent food and lovely sunshine.

P.S if you have a late night flight ask to keep your room on until 6pm. Costs 40 euros but well worth it not getting chucked out at 11am!!

Choose the Rising Star for your next holiday, you will not be dissapointed!!

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Choose Protaras for great beaches, great food, great drinks and great weather
  • Good For: Beach

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Rising Star Apartments? Share your insight.

Rising Star Apartments also called

  • rising star beach hotel
  • rising star beach protaras
  • Address: Yianna Marie Resort PO Box 33271, Protaras 5312, Cyprus

Explore area

Map for Rising Star Apartments Closest airport: Larnaca International (LCA) 25.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Rising Star Apartments photos (2 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Rising Star Apartments
  • by jeff and linda barlow

    " waves is reasonable and food good,yianne marrie also good "

  • by Mel McHugh

    " Visit Rising Sun Pub - Good prices "

Similar hotels around Protaras

Hotels near Rising Star Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Rising Star Apartments?