Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Cala Canutells s/n Mahon, Menorca 07712, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7  / 10
(66 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
21
Good
22
Average
9
Poor
7
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 7/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 5.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Good overall hoiday

"We have been to this hotel 3 times, came back late August. Though the hotel does seem worn, we once again had a fabulous holiday. Rooms clean, linen, towels changed nearly every day. Could not fault the staff plus Gemma was excellent with all of the children. The food was such a vast choice every day, and very good, the whole area around the pool inside and out was kept clean by the staff but unfortunately some of the guests were untidy they left rubbish around for the staff to pick up, even though there was plenty of bins provided, Which caused wasp problems at times. Staff moved guests towels in the morning before 8am which then gave everybody a chance for sun beds. What a great idea"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: childrens entertainment finished to late for the younger ones .
by jim 2
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good holiday

"Just returned from a 10 day holiday with 10&11 year old's. We had a great time, pool was fabulous, food was plentiful with a large choice and hot not like others have commented previously. Staff were very helpful and amongst some of the most hardworking I have seen. Room was fine and cleaned virtually every day.Entertainment was a little ropey but the little kids had a fantastic time and some of the more merry adults. Loads to drink. Don't bother booking rip off tranfers from the airport taxis are plentiful and cost us 15.75 euros to hotel which is 15 minutes from the airport.Would recommend 3 hour Don Joan boat trip in Mahon we all loved it. Dont go if you want a lot do around the area there is a small beach not too bad but the swimming is lovely just keep an eye out for small jellyfish 1 or 2 people had been stung but only like a bee sting they said. For those people that have written bad reviews of this place well all I can say is dig deeper and go and book a 4 star hotel next time. I would definitely recommend this place."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with ULOOKUBOOK
  • Advice: Get a bus or taxi or hire acar if you want lovely beaches
by Baldy
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great for kids.

"went with a group of seven 3 kids aged 3 5 and 13 mum dad nana and grandad. excellent pool and reassuring to see a lifeguard on duty . plenty of choice in the restaurant only one night we failed to find a main meat course we liked plenty of veg and salads. entertainment team worked very hard all day and night but could have done with more live professional shows though the kid especially liked the puppet show but then flamenco was a bit of a flop as the kids lost interest at started to run around. bar staff were excellent and the cleaners really kept everything spotless especially around the pool area. would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to return some day."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: none
by taffy
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant time at Mar De Menorca, Cala Canutells, Menorca

"After reading many of the reviews before we went on holiday we were undoubtedly concerned. However, we needn't have worried. The hotel is only a short transfer ride from the airport. The hotel is in a remote area but we knew that when we booked it and all of the information regarding the hotel tells you that prior to booking. I would agree with other reviews that reception does look a bit dated, but don't let this put you off. The room we were allocated was lovely and clean. It was spacious enough for 2 adults and 3 children - the beds were comfortable and the maid service was excellent (5 out of 7 days). The pool is lovely and clean and there were enough sunbeds etc, and we went in the summer holidays. The food is plentiful and we didn't have any problems - we have a very fussy boy who always found something to eat. We all found the food very good and the staff were polite and helpful. The entertainment work very hard and were great fun, ensuring that they gave you time and greeted you personally. The all inclusive drinks were plentiful and were good quality and the bar staff were excellent - great fun! The local beach is small but good enough to feel safe for the children as it doesn't get deep until a long way out - my children were able to go fishing and snorkelling (they even saw a small octopus). A fantastic time was had by all of us and we will definately be going back - if you like somewhere chilled and quiet this is the place for you. It is only a short taxi or bus ride to Mahon so is easy to get to more shops etc. If you are looking for nightlife and lots of bars/shops - you would be better to pick a different resort because Cala Canutells is very untouched by tourism outside of the hotel - absolutely perfect!!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: Don't be put off by other reports!
by Fullard family
8 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

prison camp

"i wouldnt recomend this place to any one ,the food was awful i ate salad for two wks ,my boy ate toast n beans ,the rep was hardly there n nt that helpful,same snacks day in day out ,there was nothing to do apart from games or sunbath ,there was nothing round bout complex it took 5 min to walk round the place ,i had sickness n diorea ,i never seen the manager eat any of the food apert from salad that nt right ,,ive been to the island 6 time to diferent complex n i would rate this one the worst ,dont waste ur time or money going to this place ,you dont even get pack unches wen u gfo on excursions n it was meant to be all inclusive ?????the only good thing bout it was the weather ,"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: dont waste you money
by menorca
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fab basic family holiday

"I agree with one comment that you walk into reception and think oh dear, it is definatley in need of a refurbish. However after a half hour wait before we could get into our room it got better and better.

The rooms are very large and clean, excellent to have one bedroom and one lounge with table and kitchen in an all inclusive holiday.

The pool area is excellent, lots of sun beds available - yes they are the white plastic ones but they were fine. They do clean the area often, staff come round and collect empty glasses (you dont have to pay any money for glasses!)

I would say that this holiday is excellent for families that have young children who like play area's, toddler groups and swimming. There did not seem to be anything to do for older children over 9 say.

The food is what you expect from a 3 star all inclusive. Some days are good some days are ok. always lots to choose from but foreign food is different to english!!

My girls are 3 and 5 and its the best holiday for them.

There is nothing around the hotel unless you catch a bus but we were quite happy staying around the pool all day.

I would go back again.

By the way the beach is not worth visiting!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Great holiday for young families
by Rachonhols
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Really good value

"Suprised to say. Was impressed, for a £ 1500 holiday, cannot complain, very clean, comfortable, excellent service, (soon as you finish your food the plate has gone) kids entertainment is fab, just the ticket for 3 and 5 year old both day and night. Not the newest of buildings but pool was good (cold - but it is end of september) Food was pretty good really, always a choice of two or three different things. Generally impressed. Car hire is cheap, hotel is isolated (quiet, is why we chose it)"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: good value young family hotel
  • Activities: calas coves is a must - Walk around the rocks - good job its a hire car road (track) is rough
by amekltd
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great place!

"I honestly couldn't fault this place. The whole place was very clean, the food was great, the location was perfect for a relaxing holiday, the staff were very friendly and extremely hardworking, the entertainment was good on the whole and we all had a fantastic holiday. We hardly left the complex in the week we were there and never got bored. I only wish we had been able to stay longer. I can't believe that the people writing bad reviews were actually staying at the same hotel!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: We loved Mar De Menorca!
by x_panda_x
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The Chepas Bar

"The Chepas Bar on the complex, was the best bar I've been to in ages! It's run by an english couple who are really kind and sweet. They get on with everyone and you really have a laugh there! When the entertainment at the hotel wasn't good we used to go down there about 8pm and stay there until 12-3am! It's where they only close when they have no customers. If they do they open up alll night depending on when the customers leave. I just want to say everyone that goes to the hotel should go to the bar as the owners are THE BEST!!!! They do english meals which are the best also! So I'd just like to thank them for welcoming and showing us a GREAT TIME! THE BEST HOLIDAY I'VE EVR HAD!!!! XXXXX Alan,Jan & Chelsea!XXXXXXXX"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by cheekychelsea54
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

GREAT HOLIDAY

"We also read the reviews and of course were aprehensive as to what we were about to embark on but to be honest i'm a firm believer of it's what you make it.

The hotel was spotless and would put some english hospitals to shame and the pool was fantastic perfect for everybody any age our son learnt to swim there and our daughter was rarely on dry land, there was 14 of us in our family group and daily we had sunbeds together and next to the pool.

The hotel is remote but there is a regular bus service which our rep was clued up on and informed us of all services we would need to visit different places on the island.

The food was ideal there was something for everyone including the six children there is none of the horror story meals I read about before we went, breakfast was fry-up or toast with a variety of spreads, fruit, cereal . Lunch was to much variety to list really but always something different as was dinner, plus a great selection of ice cream.

For all inclusive drinks you had to pay 1 euro for your glass which you got back when you returned it, we all thought this was a great idea as the pool area was always tidy as people never left empty glasses laying around.

Overall it was a great holiday and we didn't want to come home.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Activities: Bus to Mahon and glass bottomed boat tour, Cala n porter was a great day out (beautiful beach)
by mattncath
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid at all costs

"

I can only say avoid this hotel it is more 1 star than the 3 star plus that Thompson sell it as.

VERY VERY dirty & in major need of refurbishment.

Our room, Broken bed & bed heads, fixtures missing in bathroom, broken chairs, very dirty (long standing dirt & grime everywhere) The local cat was resident in bush on our patio.

General Bar filthy, laminate peeling off its that old & dirty, cigarette ends on floor behind bar 3 days, sticky stains on floor 2 days (only moved when I asked bar to clean it).

Pool, filters filthy, plants & anything pools side very dirty. No attendant or staff so children diving off walls. Pool side bar never open as no staff to staff it, Area never cleaned only moved beds.

All external furniture was the cheapest plastic type which I think used to be white the area was never cleaned full of long standing engrained dirt.

Food, sprouts for three services on the trot including breakfast. Two types of exactly the same margarine in pots or foil no butter (obviously trying to con you) says it all to me very poor.

You pay a Euro for a plastic cup for your drinks, don't be fooled this is not to encourage you to take your glass back, it’s so they can employ less staff. Result no one to clear or clean tables everywhere filthy.

We were there for four days before we moved & never once saw any type of cleaning product being used, the rubbish pool side was there for all four days.

We paid over a £1000 to move to the only available hotel (a supposedly lesser quality 3 Star property) for the last 10 days.....WHAT A DIFFERENCE. Although Thompson will not admit to their miss selling the Mar de Menorca and its poor standards of cleanliness & hygiene & refuse any kind of compensation the move and the extra £1000 was money very well spent.

For those who have given this hotel ok reviews I can only think that they were to drunk to see or dread to think were they normally holiday or live.

My 9 year old daughter now checks every tap she uses & puts paper on every toilet seat such are the long term impressions this hotel has left on her young mind.

AVOID AVOID AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
"

by MLOL
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Well, after returning from our...

"Well, after returning from our holiday it appears that we all have our own opinion. So here goes.

Mr Marsden age 40 - location "quiet", plenty of facilities, I enjoyed the food. I had a good variation of meals, including fish, veal, pasta, salad they even had duck and rabbit. The entertainment was how can i put it, was a little dull, but Joe( one of the entertainment crew) worked extremely hard. Would i go back??? perhaps not, but i did really enjoy it as it was a relaxing holiday. ps. a CAR is a MUST.

Mrs Marsden age 37 (21!!!) - Upon arrival at reception my heart sank! The decor of reception was old and tatty which made me think, if they intended this to be your first impression of the hotel " what the heck is the rest of the hotel like!!!"

We were allocated our room and it was not as bad as I had expected. Although a little dated, the room was comfortable with a TV that actually had english channels ( you may laugh, but you will need it)

The all inclusive bar is GREAT, self service beer and some spirits, other spirits are served by the bar staff in very large measures and are good quality stuff. Tea and coffee are available self service also on the end of the bar all day and night, along with coke, fanta etc... Be warned, you pay 1 euro for a glass and you swap/fill it as required, money is refunded at the end of your holiday at the bar.

Food - a good selection at lunch and dinner, although if you have children who are fussy eaters you may struggle. As a last resort chips are served every meal (not breakfast)so they wont go hungry lol. Breakfast is nice, not english bacon or sausage but what the hell your on holiday, give it a try. Good selection of cereals, eggs, fruit, juices, toast, doughnuts, croisionts (excuse the spellings)

Entertainment - there is a good selection on the hotel grounds to keep you occupied although there is nothing for teenagers, my 12 & 14 year olds had nothing to do. Most of the arranged activities are for adults only and kids club is for "toddlers" so they had nothing.

Location - in the middle of nowhere. literally.

child 3 - aged 7 - it was very fun, the pool is good erm the tennis court was good and table tennis is fun. I liked the food. The beach nearby was smelly like a damp dog.

child 1 & 2 - didnt want to write (sorry!)
"

by MARSDEN
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Grupotel Mar de Menorca Closest airport: Menorca (MAH) 4.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Grupotel Mar de Menorca photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Grupotel Mar de Menorca
  • by mattncath

    " very remote, take advantage of the bus service as it was very cheap "

  • by cheekychelsea54

    " The Chepas Bar also being next to the capital city Mahon and going on the glass bottom boat at docks "

Similar hotels around Canutells

Hotels near Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Grupotel Mar de Menorca?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Grupotel Mar de Menorca? Share your insight.

Grupotel Mar de Menorca is also called:

  • grupotel mar de menorca hotel
  • Mar De Menorca Hotel

Address: Cala Canutells s/n Mahon, Menorca 07712, Spain