Colina Mar Apartments

C/. Timanfaya, 4, Gran Canaria 35130, Spain
2.5 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(93 reviews)

Stayed at Colina Mar Apartments?

Share your opinion and write a review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
33
Good
25
Average
9
Poor
8
Awful
18

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 4.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Colina Mar Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 4 58 »
"Good Stay" by Leeds
1 / 10

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Colina Mar.

I have to say that the apartment we stopped in was basic but very clean and not out dated like some people have commented.

The room was cleaned every other day,as were the towels.

The pool and surounding areas were spotless.

Staff were helpful and friendly. 10/10

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Outdated and dirty by albmary
4 / 10

The only saving grace for this block of apartments is the lovely view from the balconies. gorgeous.

I was very disappointed at the condition of the apartments. The bath had rust spots in it, the kitchen ceiling was peeling where water had obviously previously seeped through and the handlebar to the fridge was broken which made it very awkward to open. Fridge freeze box was full of ice when we arrived, so not much use. The electric plates are very antiquated and useless to cook on, it takes about half an hour for one to warm up. Microwave table did not turn so all in all self catering not a very good idea.

The beds on closer inspection were not very clean. Being cool at night we got blankets out of the cupboard only to find that on one of them it looked like someone had been sick on it or spilt something on it. Sheets and covers very old and faded.

Sunday roast lunch was a dismal disappointment, cold dry and tasteless apart from an overpowering onion gravy which made me feel sick later.

No organisation to keep old and young apart, we were besieged by about 12 youngsters on our last four nights and they made our life a misery. All in all not a very good break.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2010, Self catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: OK for the young and not quite so discerning traveller, tacky
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I WILL NEVER RETURN by Hazel2000
1 / 10

I had stayed at Colina Mar about five years ago and really enjoyed it. Imagine my embarrassment when I persuaded my friend to stay at the Clina Mar - enthusing about all the good points, only to find all the good points had vanished.

The Bar and entertainment/tv room used to open at mid day but now opens only in the evening

The tv in the said entertainment room could not be heard even at top volume as the entertainment was a few metres away.

The tv in the room cost 3 euros for 24 hours but certain channels were at the disgretion of the 'customer relations officer' who would make the decision on whether we got sky sports one or two.I asked to see her but she was not available!!!!

bbc one kept breaking up so could not be watched.

The cleaning lady banged on our door every morning at about 9 am

Three seperate mail receptionists were rude and unhelpful - the femail was police

We had to pay 27 euros to keep our room on for an extra 12 hours to avoid vacating at 12 noon.Our coach to the airport did not leave until 11.35 pm

The quiet pool was not at all quiet.

Thomas Cook rep did not arrive at the appointed time. Fair enough, she was unavoidably delayed but she could have phoned Colina Mar to let us know.

I could not believe how much the place had changed. Not one person who ran the local bars,restaurants,cafes etc had a good word to say about Colina Mar as they said many customers moaned about the place. I added to the list.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our hoilday by aussie2008
10 / 10

stayed in colina mar april this year fantastic hotel so good going back end may 09 every thing you need and more cheap beer and great food.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: perfect holiday if your looking for sunshine spot on and the night time is just as good
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our best holiday by paulcherry
10 / 10

arrived back sunday night, staff were very helpfull, beer was cheap and very nice and 1.50 per pint and buy 1 get 1 free during happy hour. food was good for spanish food, views are amazing with a full view or puerto rico including beach and the FULL valley, there are shops and loads of bars 2 minutes away. even got some free tickets to seuex city saving 200 and a trip to anfi by seeing the rep at gate called suki. there is a beach called amadores and its like being in the carribean and is a must. entertainment was good. we only left the colina mar a handful of times theres everythng on site you need. pool was nice, appartments were basic but clean. 40 minutes transfer from airport. we will be going there again 100%

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: beach is amazing, 35 degrees most days
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday by michellexx
9 / 10

Stayed at colina mar for 1 week and it was excellent,rooms clean and tidy.cleaned everyday and sheets changed every second day,basic but thats what u pay for.if u want 5 star u pay for it.was a little put off by some reviews but i was very pleased with my holiday.it was fantastic and im going back at the end of the year.

  • Holiday details: Jan 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Activities: amadores beach is beautiful.the supercat boat is great.
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3rd Time at Colina Mar by andy01
7 / 10

Good Time had by all but once again the strongbow in the hotel bar was watered down for the 3rd year running! Maids very good as usual will be back next year maybe with my own barrel of Strongbow!

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3rd time by pcool32
7 / 10

Another relaxing week at the colina mar just wish theyd stop waterng down the strongbow in the hotel bar. at least the toilets stayed intact this time

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Colina Mar/Puerto Rico by Victoria123
8 / 10

The bad reviews on here do amuse me i must say. I recently stayed here and had a wonderful time. I didnt look at any reviews before i went so i didnt know what to expect.

If i am honest, there isnt much culture in Puerto Rico and is purely built for tourists and holiday makers.

The Colina Mar was lovely and was perfect for half board. If you are going full board our room didnt have an oven but 2 hobs and a microwave, kettle and toaster but for half board for lunch etc there was plenty of cooking options. The breakfast was enough to satisfy with a choice of cereal, continental and cooked. The dinner was varied every night too and didn't always have food that you'd put on your plate at the same time but still each individual dish was lovely and just what you need. The rooms were cleaned everyday, clean towels, clean bed sheets, clean bathroom and kitchen area.

If you are looking for 5* luxury in puerto rico i don't think its possible so don't expect it. If you go with an open mind chances are you really will enjoy as me and my boyfriend did. We looked around the harbour and went to the beach and to the lovely charlie's bar by the beach. The weather is fantastic and the views are amazing and all the balcony's face the sea so don't worry about the views, everyone gets the sun.

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great views by weddy86
9 / 10

Just got back from the Colina Mar and it was a fantastic holiday. All staff were friendly and polite. We went with our 10 yr old girl and there was plenty to do for her with the kids club and various things they do for them throughout the day. the rooms were clean and comfortable and the balcony view was fantastic. Our holiday was half board and we felt this saved us alot of money, the food was good but could of done with a little more choice.

bars and shops are a short few minutes walk away. the pool was clean and a good size.

  • Holiday details: Mar 2009, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: great family place
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

stunning views by buster 51
9 / 10

We loved this hotel and will definately visit again. I booked this last minute holiday for myself and two children after reading very positive reviews. And the reviews were not wrong; the views over the bay and marina are simply stunning, every room has a sea view, good size furnished balcony, clean 1 bed apartment with kitchenette. there are two lovely pools with snack bar, both with seperate kiddie pools (one has daily activity program and one quiet pool where you can have a doze). There were always plenty of sun beds. The hotel staff were always friendly and polite, maids cleaned daily and beds were changed twice a week. we hired sattelite tv in the room 10 euro per week, reasonable considering we had sky 1,etc so got to see lost and lots of good films rather than the usual choice of german/spanish news channels. we booked half board because of the euro rate, we only paid £50 pounds extra per week each and it was well worth it. it is a good walk down to the beach but only 1 euro on bus or 3 in taxi which are plentiful, just factor the cost into holiday and the location more than makes up for the cost. there are shops, other hotels and restaurants close by if you fancy a change to the evening entertainment which was good and varied. I met lots of guests who have stayed several times and i can see why, am already looking to book later in the year.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2009, Half Board, booked with Airtours
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

loved it!!! by XxtottyxX
8 / 10

I was totally shocked to see some of the reviews on here, We stayed at the colina mar for 2 weeks and had a great holiday!!

The maids were there more or less every other day to clean and was always asking us if we were ok for clean towels and bedding.

The hotel staff were amazing...just so friendly and polite and the bar staff were Fab!

We have stayed her before and will definatly come back again.

Thankyou to the colina mar we had a fantastic holiday!!!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2008, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 1 2 3 4 58 »
Stayed at Colina Mar Apartments? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Colina Mar Apartments Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 22.2 miles
Colina Mar Apartments photos (10 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Puerto Rico

Hotels near Colina Mar Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Colina Mar Apartments?